Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Olympic Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 753-2344 Fax: (360) 753-2559 View Additional Phone Numbers 935 Poplar St SE, Olympia, WA 98501 http://www.olympicmovers.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local, interstate and international moving service for residential and business customers, including packing and storage.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Olympic Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Olympic Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Olympic Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1999 Business started: 02/01/1999 Business started locally: 02/01/1999 Business incorporated 07/20/1994 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
1300 S Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.wutc.wa.gov
Phone Number: (888) 333-9882
consumer@wutc.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

US Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jill Ihly, Vice-President Ms. Jillian Ihly, Admin Manager Mr. Kris O'Bannon, President Mr. Jim Sanders, Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jill Ihly, Vice-President
Customer Contact: Ms. Jillian Ihly, Admin Manager
Business Category

Movers Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Warehousing Services Office Records Stored Relocation Service

Alternate Business Names
Olympic Moving & Storage Inc Wheaton World Wide
Additional Information

According information provided by Olympic Moving & Storage of Olympia, Wash., they are not affiliated with Olympic Van Lines of Tacoma, Wash.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Olympic Moving & Storage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7010 150th St SW

    Lakewood, WA 98439

  • 935 Poplar St SE

    Olympia, WA 98501 (800) 459-4201 (360) 753-2344 (360) 753-5500 (253) 582-4656

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used Olympic Moving & Storage, Lakewood, WA, to move our household goods out of a residence we sold and into storage while we lived in an apartment waiting for the new house to be completed. We were told the fee we paid would cover the move out and also the move in to the new residence when it was ready. We also paid a monthly fee for the interim warehouse storage. We contacted Olympic when the new house was move in ready and were told they had made a mistake in the original agreement and we'd have to pay the original amount again to deliver our furniture from storage. When the truck arrived and the trailer was opened, our furniture was piled haphazardly in the trailer, much of it without pads or covers. A lot of it was either damaged and/or destroyed. We found out later that the trailer was left out in a yard, closed up but subject to the changing temperatures and humidity. The company has since done everything possible to delay or deny our claims process. We purchased full replacement value insurance but Olympic would only address the simple fixes that involved repairs to the wood furniture caused by their physical neglect or moisture issues from sitting outside in the trailer, and those repairs have taken well over a year. They would not address or replace the items that were damaged beyond the point of repair, even though we had purchased the additional replacement insurance. It's going on 20 months now and they still have not provided equitable restitution for the damage they inflicted.

Desired Settlement: Refund of fraudulent (secondary) moving charges and payment for damaged and non-repairable property.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* originally contracted *********** ****** *** ******* in Seattle, to move his items into storage.  They are a separate company from ****** *********, with different ownership.  When *********** went out of business, they sold their storage lots to us.  We notified Mr. *******, that would continue the storage services, unless directed otherwise.  We have no knowledge of the arrangement of services agreed upon between Mr. ******* and *********** ******.  We presented Mr. ******* a written estimate for charges necessary for delivering his items out of storage.  He had agreed to these charges, and signed the estimate.  We are unsure what Mr. ******* is referring to in regards to payments he prepaid *********** ******, as we had no involvement, nor have any documentation of his original agreement.  If Mr. ******* has documentation regarding this, we can make our best efforts to reach out to *********** ******, or attempt to resolve this matter.

In regards to his damage claim, we feel that we have done everything possible to resolve this with Mr. *******.  Mr. ******* had Full Replacement Coverage, which requires that "The Mover will repair damage to the item, or reimburse you for the replacement cost if not repairable."  We had our repair firm repair multiple items.  For the remaining items, we attempted multiple times to settle based off of repair quotes and the customer declined both settlement and multiple attempts of repairs.

It is very important to us that we resolve this matter, and make our best efforts to satisfy Mr. *******.  I have turned this damage claim over to our insurance company, so they can work diligently to finalize this claim.  They will be contacting Mr. ******* Shortly.

Consumer Response:

 

After reading the message from Olympic, I sent an email using their contact information from the web, asking the author of the response to please get in touch with me so I could pursue their offer to reach out to Accountable to attempt to resolve the double charging issue. I have documentation that states that the fees paid for the original move would also cover the return trip from storage to the new residence and I feel like a victim of a bait and switch since that agreement was not honored.

Olympic stated that I agreed to their charges and signed the estimate, but that transaction was engineered by the person that originally put together the previous agreement with Accountable, a Joshua C******* general manager. He apologized for misleading us the first time and we were basically told that if we wanted our belongings to be delivered, we would have to agree to the new fees. We agreed under duress.

I have been contacted by Olympic’s insurance company and I’m waiting to see if the damage claim process will improve from here on out,  and I’m also hoping to get in contact with the response author to pursue Accountable’s portion of my complaint.

Thank you,

*** *******       

Business Response:

We have been in contact with Mr. *******.  He has been working with our Insurance company, to get reimbursement or repairs to his satisfaction.  I have also been in contact with Mr. ******* via email, to resolve his other concerns.  We hope to have this full matter resolved for him, within 2 weeks.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and feel that my concerns are being addressed and I'm optimistic that a satisfactory resolution will be reached in the near future.

Sincerely,

***** *******

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Worst moving company and customer service I have experienced in 24 years of military moves. Let's just start with the rudeness and lack of customer service from Kim ? and Betty H*****. This was compounded by the ineptness of the planning of the move which led to an incomplete unpack. After many promises from the company about coming out promptly to pick up the debris, I'm being told they will look into it. I would sooner move everything I own by hand without a truck than use this company again. I'm not really sure if I have been articulate enough... but this is the worst moving company ever.

Desired Settlement: Remove boxes and debris as agreed.

Business Response: We hold ourselves to an exemplary standard of customer service and it is a top priority to make every effort to resolve our customer's concerns and address any issues in a timely and professional manner, therefore, we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this customers complaint.

Moving is a stressful time for our customers and our goal is to make this part of the transition as seamless and as stress-free as possible.  As a Company, we hold ourselves to a high level of professionalism and customer service and therefore, it is disheartening to hear of the customer's dissatisfaction and that they felt our customer service was rude and lacking.  I can assure that this certainly wasn't the intent, our staff was diligent in making every attempt to work through the frustrations and conflicts experienced during this move.  Following an investigation, there are two main issues I would like to address that we feel were out of our Company's control and contributed to the customer's overall dissatisfaction.

This was a local move, that was scheduled over 4 days (6/30, 7/1, 7/2, 7/3, 7/6) by the local military base.  The military dictates standard protocol and sets the rules for the move.  Once the move is scheduled, the military base advised the customer that they needed to be available for all days of the moving spread.  During the second day of packing, on 07/02/15, it was revealed by the member's spouse that they would not have keys to their new residence until the day before the final day of the move spread. The member's wife was insistent that we complete the load, delivery and unpacking to its entirety on 7/6/15. It was advised to the customer that we were allotted 4 days in which to perform the move and that we needed 2 days to pack and 2 days
to perform the load, deliver and unpacking.  We have specific state laws, DOT and Labor regulations that we are required to follow which strongly dictate our scheduling.  On 07/02/15, we promptly contacted the base to advise via email letting them know that we needed to remove 7/3/15 from the allotted moving dates and add 7/7/15.  In addition, we let them know the member's expectation of loading, delivering and unpacking 17,800# in a single day was not sufficient due to the federal DOT hours of service rules among other rules.  The Quality Control Office at ***** ***** agreed that we are required to keep to the mandatory schedule, as already scheduled.

Following the completion of the move, the member called in upset because we had not performed a debris pickup of the items that he had unpacked himself after the move process was fully completed. We advised him that debris pickups are a courtesy only and are not a part of the military local moving contract.  Because this is a recent change with military regulations, he may have not been aware that this is no longer a service that moving companies perform.  He continued to argue that it was included in all military moves. Again, our General Manager advised him that the military moving contracts no longer include debris removal after the final day of unpacking, but as a courtesy, we would be happy to pick up his boxes at our earliest time and as soon as we had a crew in the area.  (The customer lives approximately 45 minutes away from our office).  Ultimately realizing the customers strong dissatisfaction and frustration, we sent a crew out the very next morning to perform a debris pickup on 7/14/15. We were not able to complete the customer's full unpack due to their change in schedule.

We are aware that we may not be able to change the customer's dissatisfaction regarding the move due to circumstances outlined above, however, we were optimistic that by going outside the scope of the job and offering to pick up their boxes would help demonstrate that we care about our customers and want them to have a great moving experience.  Undoubtedly, we were not trying to be difficult, rude, or unhelpful over the course of this move.   

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Contractually Olympic Moving and Storage was supposed to open all cartons and haul away debris on the last day of the move. The employees they sent failed to do this and left 60% of the cartons unopened. This is in violation of their contract with the military. To make up for this they said they would return to haul away the debris. Again this would not have been necessary had they done the job they were contracted to in the first place.

Sincerely,

******* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Olympic Moving & Storage
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart