Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 365-4454 Fax: (206) 365-1262 View Additional Phone Numbers 10750 Aurora Ave N Ste A, Seattle, WA 98133 http://www.hansenbros.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local, long distance and world wide moving services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1890 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1890 Business incorporated 07/08/1970 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
1300 S Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.wutc.wa.gov
Phone Number: (888) 333-9882
consumer@wutc.wa.gov

US Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Nelsen, President Mr. Dave Cullen, CFO Mr. Dave Jedlicka, Quality Control Manger Mr. Eric Rovner, Marketing Coordinator
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dave Jedlicka, Quality Control Manger
Principal: Mr. Larry Nelsen, President
Business Category

Movers Moving Sales Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Storage Units - Household & Commercial Storage Units - Portable

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, checks, MasterCard, Visa
Alternate Business Names
Agent For Allied Van Lines Hansen Bros. Transfer & Storage Co. PortaBox Storage

Additional Locations

  • 10750 Aurora Ave N Ste A

    Seattle, WA 98133 (206) 365-4454

  • 2902 Lincoln Way

    Lynnwood, WA 98087

  • 6860 Coal Creek Pkwy SE

    Newcastle, WA 98059

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having stored many valuable vintage items using Hanson Brothers "Port-a-Box" container system, most of my valuables are ruined by insect damage. I have incurred financial lost and personal lost in this agreement.

Desired Settlement: $5000 compensation And three years storage fees reimbursement.

Business Response:

We received customer complaint #******** regarding insect damage incurred

to his belongings during storage.  Thanks for giving us an opportunity to

address this unfortunate situation.  The customer initially rented one of

our Portabox self-storage containers in June 2012.  At that time he was

presented with a detailed storage contract which he reviewed and signed,

indicating his understanding and acceptance of the associated terms and

conditions.  He accessed his storage container at our facility one time on

October 6th, 2012 and then had the container redelivered to his residence

on 12/22/15 - we then retrieved the empty container from his residence on

1/5/2016.

He reported to us that his goods were damaged due to insect infestation.

We investigated his claim and determined the following:

In approximately 18 years of operating the PortaBox storage system we have

never previously had a report of any insect problems in any of our

containers.  The containers are stacked 3 high and 5 deep in climate

controlled warehouse.  No other containers adjacent to this customer's

container had any sign of insect presence or damage.

The customer reported he had stored rugs as part of his storage items.

Our research shows rugs are a common source of insect infestations.

Insects lay eggs in carpeting or rugs which can remain dormant for long

periods of time.  If the rugs are not professionally cleaned and treated

prior to storage, they are often a source of insect problems.  We believe

the customer's rugs contained insect larvae which hatched following his

one visit in October of 2012.  The newly hatched insects used his goods as

a food source but quickly ran out of anything to consume and died inside

the container.  No live insects were present in the container on 12/22/15

nor was there any other evidence to suggest other possible scenarios.

Regardless of whether this is specifically how the insects came to be in

the container, PortaBox carries no liability in this matter.  Our contract

clearly states, "PortaBox Storage is not liable for any loss of, or damage

to, the goods from: (I) Perishables; (II) Customer's act or omission,

include failure to keep the promises made in this agreement; (III) defect

or inherent vice of the goods; (IV) Insects, moths, vermin, ordinary wear

and tear, or gradual deterioration".  The customer was given an

opportunity to review these terms prior to signing the contract.

As a final note, the customer was presented with valuation coverage

options at the time he rented the container.  He chose the basic coverage.

Even if there was any liability on our part, which there isn't, it would

be limited to 10 cents per pound per article with a maximum value of $200

per container.  This is also clearly stipulated in the contract signed by

the customer.

While we can understand and empathize with the customer's frustration at

the condition of his goods, we had no fault in how the goods were damaged,

nor liability for the condition of the goods.

We are certainly available to answer any other questions or concerns by

the bureau regarding this complaint.

Dave J*******

Quality Control Manager


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because want copy of contract  that i  signed.& this is NOT RIGHT.

Sincerely,

******** (*****) ******

4/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hansen Brothers Moving and Storage did not honor their insurance policy with regard to damage they did during their work with my appliances. They initially indicated they would pay for all the damage they acknowledge they did, then they said they would not pay anything for the damage they did, then they said they would pay the minimal insurance amount printed on their contract and sent an email implying that we were trying to make money on an insurance claim for damage that their two workers admitted and acknowledged that they caused while trying to move our appliances without the proper equipment.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Hansen Brothers to honor their verbal commitment from their employees to repair the actual damage they caused to our appliances when they moved them. I'm not asking for additional money for all the work I had to do on their behalf because their employees were not properly equipped or trained, I would just like my appliance repairs to be done at cost and they have all the details on that.

Business Response:
Hansen Bros.
deeply regrets that the customer felt the need to file a claim and BBB
complaint related to this relocation. There were some atypical circumstances
involved with this small moving project (total cost $230.80) and after
reviewing the complete documentation, we would like to provide the following
response:
 
We once again offer a sincere apology to the customer for any inconvenience and stress caused
during the course of this move.  The customer knowingly selected valuation
coverage of 60 cents per pound per article.  This selection is documented
both on the Basic Liability of the Carrier form and again on the Bill of Lading
with signatures.  We will be happy to provide copies of those documents
upon request.  Based upon the coverage selected, the customer is entitled
to 60 cents per pound if they choose to consider an item a total loss.  In
this instance, we could provide compensation at that level and then take
possession of the claimed item(s) as salvage.  However, that approach doesn’t
seem in the best interest of the customer as the minor damage was of a cosmetic
nature and the appliances are in current use.  We regret the damage
incurred and will cut a check for $125 for cosmetic damage to the item(s)
claimed without taking possession of them as salvage.  This may not be as
much financial compensation as the customer requested ($310), but our offer
transcends our legal liability as we will refrain from taking ownership of the
claimed items.  If this amount is acceptable, we will have a check processed
and mailed immediately.

4/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family & I used Hansen Brothers to perform a move out out of our condo into my mother-in-laws home. After a long 9+ hour day their management team raised the price by over 125%, broke the legs to my antique table & damaged my mother-in-laws home in many areas. After spending a lot of time discussing our issues w/their branch manager w/*** ****** we thought they were well on the way to making things right. They agreed to have my mother-in-laws home repaired, didn't charge us the overtime fees & agreed to have my table repaired. However, when they brought my table to me I told them I was not satisfied & I wanted to move forward w filing the insurance claim. I was told by *** that I could accept the table as they didn't want to hold it & they would assist me w/the claim. After sending an email & leaving a voice mail I finally heard back. He went on to tell me how much money they had spent because of their staffs mistakes & my claim was closed. I told him I was not satisfied w/the work to rebuild the table & they are now not returning any communications as they've washed their hands of the situation. They've ruined a $9,000 dining room set & have no further desire to see things through. As far as I'm concerned this is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like the insurance claim to be processed to replace my table or dining room set as it's an antique & I would like to have my money back for the move as using their company was the worst decision I've ever made.

Business Response:

This complaint was submitted to the BBB following extensive communications between our company and this customer.  We regret that, despite our provision of professional repairs/restoration and significant financial remuneration beyond our legal obligations as a professional mover, this customer unfortunately remains dissatisfied.  We have carefully reviewed all of the actions by our managerial staff, the moving crew, and the documentation for this move.  In addition to providing timely and respectful communications with this customer, the following steps were taken to address their concerns:

1.      Repairing the dining room table legs (via our expert furniture restoration company) then delivering the table at the customer’s convenience on a Saturday.  We spoke with the customer by phone upon delivery and were told that they were pleased with the quality of the repair.

2.      Hired a construction company requested by the customer to repair the marks on the door jamb at the origin address (customer’s mother’s home).

3.      Waived approximately $400 in legitimate and legal charges related to additional time required beyond that anticipated in the original estimate, due to access challenges.

The customer has now stated they are unsatisfied with the expert repair done to the table and there has been a decrease in antique value to the piece of furniture.  Please have the customer refer to the document, Basic Liability Of The Carrier.  It clearly states in the 3rd paragraph that replacement cost protection does not include antiques.  It explains customers should retain 3rd party insurance if they wish to have antiques covered during their relocation.  The customer signed and dated this document prior to the start of their move.  We have done as much as we can with regard to absorbing legitimate charges and making professional repairs.

While we regret that the customer perceives that this was a negative experience, we believe Hansen Bros. acted in a professional and ethical manner in this matter and has made a good faith effort.  We certainly apologize again for any additional inconvenience and stress caused by the problems resulting from this move.

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During our recent move we had many valuable items of ours broken in the process. Hansen Brothers was unprofessional and the movers were inexperienced. We are very upset that these items were broken beyond repair. We got our lawyer involved and our lawyer contacted Hansen Brothers and asked for compensation and they refused to replace or pay for our items. Our next move is small claims court.

Desired Settlement: We are asking for compensation of around 5,000 dollars for our antique furniture.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/21) */ We received your complaint dated 5/14/14 on 5/21/14 and find it disappointing that *** and **** ******** elected to escalate this matter given the clearly documented circumstances surrounding our delivery of moving services. We certainly regret any inconvenience or unnecessary stress that the recent move has caused for the ******** and we expressed an apology in previous correspondences with them. To summarize the circumstances; On March 24, 2014, Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage delivered the full scope of moving services requested by the ********. Early in the move, a chest of drawers in poor condition sustained some accidental damage. The crew informed **** ******** of this damage and she, in turn, inquired about the cost for disposing the dresser as she did not want to keep it. The crew explained that there would be a charge for any additional drive time and transfer station fees - **** ******** replied that she would consider this. Later that day, a dining room table (also in poor condition) was accidentally damaged. Upon reviewing the damage, **** ******** proposed that if the crew would, at no charge, remove and dispose of the dresser, the dining room table, and the chairs, she would waive filing a claim for the damage to the dining room table. The crew reconfirmed this proposal with **** ******** and then contacted their Operations Manager to make sure this was an acceptable approach - he reluctantly agreed. The crew proceeded to complete the move and then returned to our warehouse with the dresser, dining room table & chairs. Upon their return, we elected to dispose of the furniture in our dumpster rather than taking it to the transfer station as we had some extra space in the dumpster. In order to fit everything into the dumpster, we disassembled the table and chairs, causing additional damage in the process. On the following day, our office called **** ******** to follow up on the move and she stated that she had changed her mind and wanted the dining room table and chairs back. We immediately accessed the dumpster in an attempt to recover these items. Unfortunately, the process of loading the dumpster damaged the chest of drawers and chairs beyond repair and although the table may have been be salvageable, it would have required extensive repairs. We expressed our sincere apology to **** ******** and explained that as much as we would like to accommodate her change of mind, the original, definitive instructions she gave the moving crew initiated a chain of events that was now beyond our ability to reverse. And, as such, our obligation to pay any damage claims was dismissed by **** ******** when we took possession of the items in explicit accordance with her directions. As mentioned previously, we genuinely regret the inconvenience and stress that this move caused for Mr. and **** ******** and with this in mind, offered them the following compensation; "Given your original selection of basic valuation coverage at $.60/lb, as an act of good faith, we will compensate you with a check in the amount of $172.80 (based on a combined weight of 288lbs). While we realize this amount is considerably less than the claim form you submitted, given the circumstances, any reimbursement is beyond the requirements of both local transportation regulations and our responsibility as a professional moving company." The ******** claimed that they had never been informed of higher levels of valuation covering their goods for the moving process. I refer to the Estimate and Bill of Lading paperwork. These sets of paperwork, which are in strict accordance with local transportation regulations, clearly identify the $.60/lb valuation protection and the option to purchase valuation protection beyond the basic $.60/lb. The ******** knowingly selected $.60/lb protection on both sets of paperwork with their initials and signatures. In summary, Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage performed the full scope of moving services requested by Mr. and **** ******** with integrity and complete transparency. Based on local transportation regulations and the specific circumstances surrounding the ******** move, Hansen Bros. does not bear any liability related to the claim filed nor is there any basis for financial compensation. As a reputable service provider, we will maintain our good faith offer of a check in the amount of $178.20, now with the following provision; receipt of a written statement from the ******** indicating that that this claim will be dropped in its entirety and that any unfounded grievance will not be posted on social media channels such as Yelp. Copies of the referenced documents are available for inspection as is the extensive collection of emails sent back and forth between our office and the ********. If you have any additional questions, please contact us. Thanks. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Some of the statements are untrue that Hansen Brothers has responded with. My husband and I were never informed to check one of the boxes of coverage of our items. Also Hansen Brothers stated that our furniture was in poor condition to begin with....which is also very untrue! Our furniture was antique but in no way in poor condition! Also during our move Hansen Brothers damaged our walls when they dropped a chest of drawers while moving it down the stairs. We let that slide and did not have them fix it but breaking multiple pieces of our property and doing nothing about it is absolutely ridiculous! We are very irate with this company and feel that we need to be compensated. Our next step is to take them to Small Claims Court. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/05/22) */ We are disappointed that our original response was not accepted by the customer. Nothing that we stated was untrue, although one may consider an evaluation of the furniture condition to be a matter of opinion. We certainly meant no disrespect and apologize that our observations of the condition differs from the customer. As previously stated, the customer clearly directed us to haul away and dispose of her furniture (dresser, dining room table, and chairs). After we had completed the furniture disposal, the customer said that she changed her mind and demanded significant compensation for this furniture. As to the customer not being aware of the valuation coverage, we have the formal documents showing that the customer initialed and signed multiple times on their choice of $.60 per pound standard valuation on their goods. We serviced this move with both complete transparency and in accordance with local transportation regulations. We deeply regret that the customer is dissatisfied with our services but there is no basis for this claim nor any level of compensation due for the furniture we disposed of at the customers explicit direction. While we have no desire to take this matter to court, we believe that the facts are self evident and will easily defend our position. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I called back and told Hansen Brothers how much my items cost and that I was not happy at all with the damage not only to my home but 2 of our antique pieces....at this point they had not disassembled my furniture and thrown it in a dumpster because **** ****** told me he was going to try and fix my table and have it done by the time we moved into our new home. I had to keep nagging him via email if he knew when it would be fixed. He emailed me about a week later staying that he couldn't fix the table. **** told me to fill out a claim form and submit it back to them, which I did. Also one of the movers that helped that day was very inexperienced and it was his first week on the job. He had no idea how to move our stuff with care. We are so disappointed with all of the damage that was done to our property and we will not stop perusing this until we are compensated for Hansen Brothers lack of customer service and experience.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)