Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Golden North Van Lines Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 349-3511 Fax: (907) 349-7938 940 Raspberry Rd, Anchorage, AK 99518

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential and commercial moving and storage .

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Golden North Van Lines Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Golden North Van Lines Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 26, 2006 Business started: 03/01/1974 Business started locally: 03/01/1974 Business incorporated 03/01/1974 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

U.S. Department of Transportation
Secretary of Transportation, 400 7th Street, S.W., Washington DC 20590

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Steve Halverson, President Mr. Brian Atkins, Manager Ms. Serena Kraft, General Manager Ms. Suzanne Thompson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Halverson, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Suzanne Thompson, Office Manager
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Trucking Transportation Brokers

Alternate Business Names
Agent of United Van Lines Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Golden North Van Lines Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 940 Raspberry Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99518

  • PO Box 90176

    Anchorage, AK 99509 (907) 349-3511


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brian with Golden North Van Lines came out to assess the amount of household goods to determine a price quote and vehicle size that would be needed for my move. A move was scheduled for the next morning at 8:15 am. The movers arrived at 9:00 am and by the time that they had arrived we had already moved all of the household items on to the driveway with about 10 items still inside. The vehicle sent was not able to accommodate all of the items and the movers took 4 hours trying to fit all of the items into one vehicle. We took an hour to unload. It took way too long to load the vehicle because it was too small to accommodate all of the items. I was charged for 5 hours, when it should have taken 3 and a half hours to load, drive, and unload. Therefore, I was overcharged by $225.00. I would like a refund for this amount.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for $225.00.

Business Response: I received this notification today, will look into it and get back to you.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have not received any form of communication from Golden Van Lines. 


**** ******

Business Response: I reviewed the order with the sales associate who surveyed the move, Brian A*****.  Below is his reply.

My name is Brian, and I am a representative of Golden North Van Lines. I surveyed the household goods of **** ****** on the afternoon of August 6th. She needed her household goods to be moved the following day. She informed me she would have several family members moving goods from the basement to the garage to help the process. I informed Ms. ****** that I estimated the move to take between 4 and 5 hours. We sent the largest box truck we had to load the household goods into.  We did get all of her household goods into the van and accomplished the move in one trip. We also accomplished the move within the estimated time originally quoted. The shipment was transported and delivered with zero damage to the goods or personal property.  

Loading household goods properly into a moving van involves wrapping with protective furniture pads, stacking properly to prevent damage, and is certainly going to take longer than the removal from the moving van.  

Services were rendered as quoted.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The response that has been submitted is untrue.  Brian did assess the household goods that needed to be moved on August 5th and stated that all of the items would fit in one load.  The truck with 2 movers was supposed to arrive at approximately 8:15 am.  The truck did not arrive until 9:00 am and we had already moved all of the household items out of the residence, minus about 8 pieces still left in the residence and we moved them all onto the driveway for easy accessibility for the movers to load.  The movers were not able to fit all of the items into the truck and a trailer still needs to be rented to move the items that were left behind.  The movers stated that bigger trucks are available, but they were not given one.  The movers had to load, unload, and reload due to the limited space in the truck.  This is a type of job that has a set price and not by hour.  There was some damage done to the bottom of 2 dressers (chipping of the corners).  


**** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Golden North Van Lines Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart