This business is not BBB accredited.

Encore Mechanical Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 746-2705 Fax: (907) 746-2706 View Additional Phone Numbers 16070 E Virginia Ave, Palmer, AK 99645 http://www.encoremec.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating, ventilation, plumbing and mechanical contracting for commercial and residential structures.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Encore Mechanical Inc include:

  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Encore Mechanical Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2006 Business started: 05/01/1998 Business started locally: 05/01/1998 Business incorporated 05/11/1998 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Clint Nelson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clint Nelson, President
Business Category

Mechanical Contractors Plumbers Ventilating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Duct & Duct Fittings Ventilating Systems - Cleaning Ventilating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Encore Mechanical Incorporated

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16070 E Virginia Ave

    Palmer, AK 99645 (877) 446-1528

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1788

    Palmer, AK 99645 (907) 746-2705

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Encore Mechanical replaced two hot water heaters in a duplex. They had to return 3 times to fix leaks in the piping they had worked on. One of the times, the leak was bad and was literally spraying all over the inside of my boiler room and on the boiler for the heating system. I asked at the time if the water could cause damage to the boiler. The technician said it would not. That was about 9 months ago. Today, I found my boiler not to be working. I did not connect that to the issue of the pipes spraying on the boiler when Encore Mechanical did their work previously. I called a different, more reputable company to come check out the boiler. It was found that several parts were completely rusted over and not functioning, due to the previous water spray. I took this information to Encore Mechanical and the Owner refused to provide any compensation or pay for any portion of the repair bill, as I did not call him to repair. I stated that I didn't know the issue was related to the damage his company had previously caused and asked him to at least split the bill with me. He said no. In addition to this work, Encore installed a furnace at another location. They had to come back to that location 3-4 times over Christmas and New Years holidays to fix. During the middle of this time, they stopped trying to diagnose the problems with the furnace and told me it was a problem with my homes' electrical system and that I needed to hire an electrician. I asked them to do that and if it was indeed a problem with my home and not the furnace they just installed, that I would pay for it. They would not, so I hired an electrician, who told me there was nothing wrong with the power to the house. I relayed that info to Encore. They finally sent someone out to work on the furnace again and found faulty parts that were replaced. It should be mentioned that it was very cold outside during this time and my electrical bill was exceptionally high, because we had to run electric heaters to keep the house from freezing..

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to reimburse me for the cost of the repairs needed to fix the damage they caused when their pipe install leaked all over my boiler. I would also like them to compensate me for the cost of the electrician that had to come and look at my home's electrical.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/09/22) */ Encore did replace two water heaters and after several days a leak did occur, a technician was sent to repair the leak but when he got to the duplex the city had the water shut off to that neighborhood. After talking with the tenant to try and figure out where the leak was the technician repaired what he thought was the leak but had no way of testing the repair since there was no water pressure. When the water pressure was restored it was apparent that the leak was not fixed and another technician was dispatched to repair the leak.The owner was told that if he had problems with his heating system to call us and we would take care of it. The boiler and the components are old and although they did get wet they dried quickly rust does not develop in such a short period of time. It is Encores opinion that the repairs to the heating system were not caused by a one time leak but were more likely caused by a poorly maintained heating system. Encore did install a new furnace for the above customer, the furnace worked for a short period of time. When problems occurred a service tech was dispatched, he talked with the furnace manufacturers technical support to diagnose the problem with the furnace, they recommended that the pressure switch be changed but that did not fix the problem, then after testing the incoming voltage they said that there was a problem with the house wiring. Finally a decision was made to replace the main control board on the furnace, which did correct the problem. Faulty parts are beyond our control and getting parts in Alaska sometimes takes extra time also with technology constantly changing technical support from the manufacturer is is usually the right call. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/09/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response indicates that Encore did everything in their power to fix the problems. That is not true and they were not prompt, even though I had a new furnace that wasn't working in -20 degrees temperatures. I understand they have to follow technical support instructions to satisfy the furnace manufacturer. However, forcing me to hire an electrician to 'prove' my electrical system is good enough for the furnace is ludicrous, which is what the electrician told me after confirming that there is nothing wrong with my home's system. It should be noted, that the furnace is not the only electrical piece of equipment in my home, but it was the only malfunctioning piece of equipment. As for the water spraying all over my furnace.. Metal cannot rust without water. The only water ever sprayed around the inside of my boiler room was from Encore's faulty repair. It was negligent to fix where they 'thought' the leak was, then leave the water on and walk away (Encore failed to mention this was the second attempt to fix the leaky installation. During the first attempt, the water was on to the building and Encore could have/ should have tested that repair and would have never needed to come back again, when the water happened to be shut off). When the city did turn the water on, I had a mess on my hands from the water spraying for hours INSIDE my house, on the boiler and all over GWB walls. There are rust streaks running down from the damaged parts (I have photos). That signifies a large amount of water was sprayed on the boiler for a sustained period of time. It did take some time for the parts to finally rust out and fail, but there is not doubt who or what caused the rusting to start (Encore). To suggest that it is my fault because the system was 'poorly maintained' is insulting. I have receipts of all of the regular service I have done for the past 10 years. The damage was clearly caused by Encore's faulty water heater install. The owner says he would have sent someone out to fix it. I told him I do not want his technicians working on my home any more and that he still would have had to pay for their time and the parts. However, he would not compensate me even for the costs he would have had, to help offset the bill I paid... Again, it was my fault that I didn't call him first... He says he would have fixed it and incurred those costs, but could not write me a check for those costs... doesn't make much sense. Although he could have still tried to make it 'right', he refused. Very poor business practice.

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract included insulating pipes, using copper for heat pipes, and provide combustion safety tests results. The business refuses to provide those tasks included in the contract price and refuses to lower the contract price. The business also refuses to provide a final accurate bill for final payment. The business provide an initial estimate of $14,180. Then, sent an invoice with a higher amount to receive the 50% down payment. We verbally agreed to the correct amount on the estimate. The busines has never submitted a corrected billing for the remaining 50%. We need an accurate accounting for our records.

Desired Settlement: Reduction of the final bill for the cost of insulating the pipes (labor and materials), reduction for the cost of the materials for heat pipes (used pex instead of copper), completion of the combustion safety test, and an accurate accounting (final bill).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/22) */ The contract in question did include insulating all necessary pipes and using copper pipes for heating, however Mr ***** changed his plans on where the pipes were to be located. Originally the pipes were to be straight lengths located overhead, the new plan was to install the piping in a wall that had many other pipes in it, creating more labor for the installer. Therefore the decision to use a flexible pex pipe that is rated for heating. Encore Mechanical did not bill any extras on the contract even though Mr ***** changed plans on a regular basis costing extra labor throughout the entire project. Mr ***** also had Encore do extra work above and beyond the contract work and then didnt like the fact that we were charging him for the work that had been done. We sent a worker over to install the pipe insulation and Mr ***** told him not to install the insulation he said he would need a to use it as a bargaining chip to get his bill lowered. In an effort to keep good relations with our customer our estimator *** ******* and owner ***** ****** met with Mr ***** to discuss the entire project, we covered all aspects of the project including the contract work and the extra work that had been done and negotiated a verbal settlement in which Encore Mechanical lowered the total on the entire amount owed, Mr ***** agreed and said send the bill and he would pay it. When Mr ***** received the bill he did not pay the total amount, instead he wanted a credit for the insulation and the copper pipe and continued to try and negotiate a lower amount. The initial estimate had two totals on it, which was a clerical error on our part the correct total was the higher amount but we did not charge that amount, instead we charged the lower of the two. We have submitted billing paperwork to Mr *****. As for as the combustion test results go we would be happy to do that for them. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to your letter, Encore never stayed with the original plan made by *** and me, *** *****, from the beginning. *** did mention to me his frustration from the lack of communication within your company. I suspect this to be the reason he no longer is with you as he is detail-oriented and communicates well. This I have experienced working with *** on previous jobs. He estimated this job to take about a week. It took over a month. At times, Encore would send up to 4 guys at once to work in a 5 ft. x 16 ft. room. This would slow down work, with a lot of waiting on each other to finish something. With regard to plan changes, *** discussed with ****** and me that I may be without heat for one night. I agreed this would be OK as it was the middle of summer. It was July 10, when ****** disconnected the heat downstairs (half the house). It was not until August 8, that the heat was finally connected and turned back on to the entire house. Before the heat was turned back on, Encore sent its final bill for the completed job. As I told *****, the owner of Encore, I would not pay the full bill until the job is complete. I did say that I would pay him $5,000, which I did, so he could make his payroll. I would pay the rest when everything in the contract was completed, because he sent his plumbers out of town for other jobs rather than complete the work at my house. It was 20 days into the project that ****** told me he had finally read the contract for the first time "last night." He didn't know what the scope of work was until then. I was thinking *** would be there to keep everybody informed what the job was. Instead, he left Encore. While *** still worked for Encore, I did change the planned pipe route from the route I first discussed with ***. When I talked to *** about it, he informed me he no longer wanted to be involved and said to talk to ******. *** mentioned that others at Encore did not communicate very well and that I would be better off talking to the plumber directly about the job. I felt abandoned by *** but concluded with ****** that it would be easier to run the pipes along the cinder block wall which was a straight full length wall, with the existing two heat pipes rather than along the ceiling which has two levels with a 6 inch beam to go around or throughnot a straight length pipe shot at all as Encore mentioned in its response to our complaint. This would also eliminate working off a ladder (more time-consuming) and create a more finished look for the end result. The new route would be along the 40 inch high cinder block exterior wall with only ******'s drain pipe to go in and a gas line, that would leave over 36 inches of open space to run 4 heat pipes. I would, as discussed and agreed upon with ******, add framing and blocking to make it easier to connect ******'s pipes to the wall, so ****** wouldn't need to fasten pipes to cinder blocksanother time-saver. I completed my work that evening. I did agree to the pex pipe used instead of copper, because ****** assured me it's better and longer lasting. I still would like to know the price difference between copper and pex. I'm sure this was a significant savings to Encore. I am not aware of any other plan changes. I did ask for a correction to be made as the vent pipe ran through a "mock up" wall. I thought I was clear that this phony wall wasn't at its exact location. Just an approximation to give ****** an idea of why I was having two sinks so close together. I felt this was just a misunderstanding and no big deal. To save time, I asked ****** to just run it outside his pipe area so not to cause him any lost time. Anything ****** suggested I needed to do for his pipe I completed that evening to speed up the process. I asked him to move the water softener closer to the wall as *** and I discussed where it would be located close to the wall. ****** hadn't hooked it up yet so not much time was involved with that. I asked that as he adds the pipe to the pressure relief valves that he directs them into the drain pipe instead of onto the floor. I did add an exterior spigot that wasn't mentioned in the contract. That took less than 1/2 hour but call it one hour. I also helped ****** replace a coupling installed without glue in the drain pipe that was leaking. I made wedges to apply enough pressure to remove the pipe to add glue. This too took about 1/2 hour. I am alarmed that someone forgot to glue a joint and hope this isn't repeated in other locations. I did not change plans on a regular basis as you insinuated. The rerouting of the pipes resulted in an easier layout, which would require less time. The extra work was OKed by me to add. I just wasn't aware it would cost $4,000 to add 5 junctions to the approved drain system installed under the contract. You did agree to lower that price by cutting down on so many hours reported to do this task, and I appreciate that. You also told me that you estimate your jobs at $600 a fixture. I felt intimated by you and *** telling me this was the going rate and agreed to pay it. Later, I mentioned this to others in the construction field to see if it was a close figure and was told if it includes the fixture. You did not mention including fixtures, so I'm guessing it doesn't. We paid this right away, and we are still waiting for your final invoice for price changes and mistakes made by Encore. To our knowledge we have paid the bills in full, despite our belief that we have been overcharged. The pipe wrap as we discussed was in the contract. I did see some in your van when ****** was here. I asked ****** if it was for here and he said yes but he said that he was mighty proud of his pipes and would not be as concerned as I was about wrapping them. I would be much better at wrapping them. I then talked to ***** about it as I wanted it wrapped regardless of who wraps it. It was then I realized ***** didn't know what pipe was to be wrapped as he said only what is "as needed" gets wrapped. From our energy rater, I understand that all hot pipes should be wrapped, and ***** didn't agree. He never told me what "as needed" in the contract included, but it wasn't all the hot water pipes. Encore never wrapped any pipe on this job. I had no intentions nor did I ever say to get my bill lowered I "need this as a bargaining chip," as Encore stated (not a phrase that I ever heard until now), but wrapping pipe as needed is in the contract. I did spend over $100.00 for materials and several hours to wrap the pipe. I do, however, now understand why ****** didn't want to do this tedious job. 1. Yes, we still would like a combustion safety test and the results as I asked *** at the start. He wrote it into the contract. Please arrange with me a time to do the test, so I can be here. 2. I would also like an accurate receipt for our payments. 3. We also would like to know the difference in the cost of copper pipe vs. pex pipe. I figure at least a day saved in labor to run pex pipe at knee level at straight lengths rather than at different ceiling elevations and a beam. Having this information would help us better understand Encore's pricing.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Encore Mechanical Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)