Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

SurveyMonkey.com

Phone: (503) 225-1202 Fax: (503) 225-1200 111 SW 5th Ave Ste 1700, Portland, OR 97204 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.surveymonkey.com


Click for BBB Rating on SurveyMonkey.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers software and instructions to create, gather, publish and view the results of custom surveys.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SurveyMonkey.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for SurveyMonkey.com. BBB of Los Angeles and Silicon Valley has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for SurveyMonkey.com.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2004 Business started: 11/01/1999 in OR Business started locally: 11/01/1999 Business incorporated 04/29/2013 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Veghte, CEO Mr. Ross Moser, VP Customer Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ross Moser, VP Customer Operations
Principal: Mr. Bill Veghte, CEO
Business Category

Market Survey Companies Marketing Consulting Services (NAICS: 541613)

Alternate Business Names
SurveyMonkey Inc
Additional Information

On June 21, 2012, SurveyMonkey.com notified BBB that a company called Mystery Shopper has been using SurveyMonkey.com's company name and address to lure consumers into a counterfeit check-cashing scheme. SurveyMonkey.com states the phone numbers listed in the scheme's correspondence do not belong to them, and the counterfeit checks that are being sent to consumers do not have the company's name on them. If consumers have received these counterfeit checks, they are encouraged to report their experience to their local state Attorney General's office.

On August 23, 2013, SurveyMonkey.com notified BBB that its company name and logo are being used on coupons not endorsed by SurveyMonkey.com. The company states the counterfeit coupons claim to be powered by SurveyMonkey.com or provided in exchange for responding to a survey; the coupons tend to be for fast food restaurants, nutritional supplement discounts and Visa gift cards. The company states while it does allow its users to offer their own coupons tied to their surveys, SurveyMonkey.com itself does not provide coupons to survey respondents. The company states if a coupon has the SurveyMonkey.com name or logo but is redeemable at another company, it is not legitimate.


Additional Locations

  • 111 SW 5th Ave Ste 1700

    Portland, OR 97204 (503) 225-1202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********** account manager advised I could upgrade service and secure a refund for the initial service purchased. This was a verbal agreement, and the offer was confirmed by a company "Billing Specialist". Invoice provided as per their request for the upgraded service, and company stopped communicating/responding when they received this, despite numerous email update requests. ********** account manager offered he would facilitate a refund as well during the sales process in case there were any issues. Email sent out to ********** account manager, who promised to look into it. We advised them of the lengthy delays and provided a date by which we would like to have it resolved. This issue remains unresolved and billing is not responding to any email communications. Billing does not provide a verbal contact number.

Desired Settlement: We've incurred a time costs in trying to resolve this issue; however, we are only asking SuveyMonkey to keep their commitment as promised.

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear about this user’s support experience. We always aim to get back to our users as fast as we can, though escalated cases managed by specialists do occasionally take a bit longer. We are glad to hear from this customer through this channel so we can ensure we’ve followed up as expected. At this time, we have tracked down the original support requests and resolved this with the customer externally.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ***********

4/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We made a purchase for a SurveyMonkey product, a full year was charged on our credit card which we provided We did not use the SurveyMonkey product and asked for a cancellation of our account and for a full refund to be made to our credit card. We were informed by SurveyMonkey that they would not honour a refund - which is against Trading Standards and unethical. We were not informed that the charges and prepayment for 12 months - which we have NOT used are non refundable at the time of making the purchase

Desired Settlement: We expect a full refund of the unused period prepaid by us

Business Response: We hope that users are able to choose the level of service that works best for their individual survey projects. When upgrading to an annual plan, such as the one chosen here, we do present that the purchase price is on a “per year” basis. This is explained further, along with our refund policies, in our Terms of Use which were agreed to upon sign up and again when confirming the upgrade. Since our Terms of Use do indicate that upgrades are non-refundable, we do our best to ensure that upgrade decisions are made with full terms and facts presented.

All customers are welcome to sign up for a free Basic account with access to many of our features before choosing to upgrade to our paid professional plans that hold additional features at differing levels. Upgrading to a professional plan is an optional choice for those customers that require a higher level of features and options. For customers in the EU, we do comply with the Trading Standards referred to by this customer. This policy grants users in the EU a period of two weeks after sign up in which to request a cancellation and refund. In this case, the request was received more than 75 days after upgrading to the paid subscription meaning that this policy no longer applies.

We are sorry to hear that this customer is no longer interested in using their purchased plan at this time. We have ensured that the account's subscription will not renew at the end of the current cycle and instead will downgrade to our free Basic plan. We will be more than happy to work with this customer to help them get the most out of their remaining subscription and features for any survey projects they may have.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on SurveyMonkey.com
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart