Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

G Loomis Inc

Phone: (800) 456-6647 Fax: (360) 225-7169 View Additional Phone Numbers 1359 Down River Dr, Woodland, WA 98674 http://www.gloomis.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers graphite fishing rods and accessories manufacturing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that G Loomis Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for G Loomis Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on G Loomis Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 08, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1982 Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 03/01/1982 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Lisa Cates, Dir of Bus Ops
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Lisa Cates, Dir of Bus Ops
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Fishing Tackle - Wholesale & Manufacturers


Additional Locations

  • 1359 Down River Dr

    Woodland, WA 98674 (360) 225-6516 (800) 456-6647

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The end of 2006, I bought STR1025S G-Loomis GL3 (8’6’’) Salmon/Steeled Spinning Rod with lifetime warranty. The manufacturer claimed to either repair or replace the product at no charge if defect in workmanship or material occur for the lifetime of the original owner. I recently send my rod to G-Loomis for warranty repair due to the problem with reel sit. Despite the fact that rod was never abused and damaged occurred due to defect in material and/or design that forced lover nut start cutting through the cork, company denied warranty repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like company to honor their warranty promises and repair the rod as they promised.

Business Response: We received the rod back from Mr. ******* with the tip top ceramic piece missing - which we waived the $10 fee covered at no charge. In his note it also mentioned that the reel seat had started cutting through the cork. Our repair department evaluated the rod and found that the cork damage was not covered under warranty.  The rod has a Production Code of "KA" which means that it was built in November 2005, which means the rod is over 10 years old. The rod has been well used over the past 10 years and a warranty break occurs it will normally break within the first few times the rod is used, this rod has been used heavily for a long period of time. The G. Loomis warranty has been the same since the company started, we have a Limited Lifetime Warranty against defects in workmanship and materials for the lifetime of the original owner. Damages due to neglect, accident or normal wear and tear are not covered under warranty.  Please let me know if you have further questions or need clarification.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1.  I bought this rod in 2006. The warranty starts from the time customer purchased the product, not from the time the product was manufactured.

2. Regardless of production/purchasing date, I bought the rod with lifetime warranty.  The manufacturer promised "warranty against defects in workmanship and material for the lifetime of the original owner. Should damage occur due to a defect, G.Loomis will, at the company’s discretion, either repair or replace the product at no charge."  The is/was no provision about cork handle to be excluded from warranty. This is an indication of bait and switch tactics company is employing.  I bought Medium-Heavy salmon rod. It must be designed to handle fighting big fish (salmon), so reel must be well tighten. It looks like the cork used was not strong enough or was not reinforced - bad design. 

3. It appears that company is trying to convince the customers that defects should appear withing first year from the product purchase date. In that case, why company is charging for lifetime warranty against materials defects and craftsmanship.

I am not accepting company's response.


Sincerely,

**** *******

Business Response: Mr. ******* sent me an email on 4/7 with the same information on his rejection. I had our Warranty Manager contact Mr. ******* to review the issue. Mr. ******* states that the reel seat is broken away from the blank. During our evaluation of the rod initially we noted that the reel seat was glued tightly to the blank. We have requested that Mr. ******* send the rod back to G. Loomis, at our cost, so that we can re-evaluate the rod. We hope to have the rod back in the next few days to evaluate.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I shipped the rod on Thursday (4/14) by FedEX ground. Per FedEX clerk, it should be delivered by Tuesday (4/19). 


Sincerely,

**** *******

12/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought G loomis imx rod. 265.00 It broke while setting the hook. G loomis claimed I had a lifetime warranty. They want another 135.00 to replace it. ???????? It cost 35.00 to send it to them . How much free replacement can I afford?

Desired Settlement: I want the rod replaced as expected. The product cost a lot and is only worth it with their promise to stand behind it.

Business Response:

We received a broken rod from this customer. We looked at the rod and determined it was not a defect in materials or workmanship. The break had scratch marks 2" from the tip so we believe the rod was hit on something. We called the customer and informed him of this and said we would replace the rod for $120 utilizing our Xpeditor Service but he was not happy so we offered it at $100 and he still did not want do it instead wanted his rod shipped back to him. We have replaced two rods at no charge for this customer in the past.

 

We do not have a Unconditional Warranty but a Limited Lifetime Warranty that covers defects from materials and workmanship. This is the same warranty that we have had since inception in 1982. 

12/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased fishing rod few months ago. When I took it fishing for a first time it snapped. The rod has lifetime warranty. When I have send it for repair they have told me that it is discontinued and they cannot repair it. They do not to provide another rod as a compliance with the warranty. They are telling me that I have to purchase new rod at discounted price.

Desired Settlement: I want the rod to be either repaired or be given compatible new rod with no additional cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/03) */ I have contacted the consumer. Consumer claims the rod was 3 months old and first time used. We offered a Pro4X rod at no charge and shipping overnight to ****** **********. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on G Loomis Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)