This business is not BBB accredited.

Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service

Phone: (503) 632-6585 View Additional Phone Numbers 22090 S Highway 213, Oregon City, OR 97045 http://www.alsieverssprinklerservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sprinkler installation, service and repair as well as brick and concrete work and landscaping services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

On September 25, 2015, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding service and billing issues. Consumers allege after agreeing to pay a $95.00 service fee and working time of $120.00 per hour, they are asked to sign a work order confirming the company’s arrival time. Consumers further allege the business engages in high pressure sales tactics to persuade the consumer into purchasing additional sprinkler parts. Consumers claim the business attempts to charge above and beyond the agreed upon price, and adds fees for items the consumer did not agree to. Consumers report the overages listed are, paper towel fee, gas surcharge, tarp fee, towel fee, glue fee, and a fee for shovel use. Consumers further claim that when questioned about the overages, the business indicates that because the work order is signed, the consumer is responsible for all charges listed.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 26, 1994 Business started: 07/01/1984 Business started locally: 07/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Landscape Contractors Board
2111 Front St NE Ste 2-101, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/lcb
Phone Number: (503) 967-6291
lcb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Al Sievers, Owner Mrs. Sheri Sievers, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Al Sievers, Owner
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Contractors Concrete Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Al Sievers Sprinkler Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22090 S Highway 213

    Oregon City, OR 97045 (503) 632-6585 (503) 244-1036 (503) 643-7060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this company out to put sprinklers in my 4 raised garden beds. The area was already pre wired and pre set on my sprinkler control panel. It should have been a quick install but that did not happen. On the contract they have you sign 2 area BEFORE they begin. 1 is the time they started and 2 is per hour charge and service call charge. During the service call the worker talked and claimed there was a cut wire somewhere under the line that was basically unfixable. After discussing this issue for over an hour he decided in his words to try one more thing that he has seen hundreds of times. Which came to be the problem. That should have been conducted first! The worker that was sent to my residence was 70+ years old and moved at the speed of a snail. I should not be charged for how long it took him to complete the entire task. Then finally at the end of the call he sat in his truck for 40min writing up the invoice I got charged for that time as well! His grandson was there to "help" him however it seemed like it was more of a learning experience for the grandson which took more time as he explained everything to him during the call. How is this all fair when I am being charged hourly. Also the parts that were charged was not what they equal out to on the back of the invoice.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded for 2 hours that I was charged that were not worked ($240). I want to be refunded for a gas surcharge I never agreed to ($35) I want to be refunded for a second hand tool user charge ($25) I want to be refunded for the difference of the parts added up ($167) I want to be refunded a total of $467 of the $1,449.65

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:
This matter is settled amicably.  Mr. ********** promised he will notify the BBB that he is satisfied.

3/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** ******* SPRINKLERS WAS CONTACTED TO FIX BROKEN SPRINKLER PIPE. I AGREED TO PAY A $95.00 SERVIVE CALL CHARGE AND AN HOURLY RATE. WHEN HE ARRIVED THE FIRST THING HE DID WAS HAVE ME SIGN AND INTITIAL THE FRONT OF HIS FORM SAYING I WAS VERIFING HIS START TIME. ON THE BACK OF THE FORM WAS ALL OF THE ADD ON EXPENSES, NONE OF WHICH HE SHOWED ME OR SAID HE WOULD BE CHARGING. ** ******* WALKED AROUND TALKED ABOUT SELLING ME OTHER SERVICES AND TRYING TO IMPRESS ME WITH HOW SMART HE THOUGHT HE WAS. HE DUG 2 HOLES 1 FOOT DEEP AND GLUED 1 PIECE OF SPRINKLER JOINT. wHEN HE TRIED TO SELL ME A PIECE OF USED PIPE THAT COULD BE PURCHASED AT **** ***** FOR $2.00 FOR WHICH HE WANTED $40.00 I SAID NO. HE OFFERED A SPRINKLER HEAD WHICH COST $4.0 AND HE WAS CHARGING$40.00 FOR THAT ALSO. HE WORKED 15 MINS AND TALKED FOR 45 MINS. HE CHARGED ME $25.00 FOR HIM TO USE HIS SHOVEL AND $28.00 FOR GLUE FOR ONE JOINT.TOT** COST WAS $368.00. ALSO CHARGED ME $35.00 FOR GAS IN ADDITION TO $95.00 SERVICE CALL. HE IS A CROOK, DECIETFUL AND MISREPRESENTS WHAT IS BEING DONE. THIS IS THE MOST UNETHIC** BUSINESS PERSON I HAVE EVER MET IN 68 YEARS AND SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN. I REQUEST A REFUND OF UNAUTHORIZED AND EXCESSIVE CHARGES FOR GAS $35.00,HAND TOOL USE HIS SHOVEL $25.00, GLUE ONE DIP $28.00, SPRINKLER TOWELS $5.00, FOR TOT** OF $93.00.

Desired Settlement: MAIL CHECK

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

March 24, 2015

 

Re:         ******,  ********

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

I attached the Agreement (front and back) and the estimate.

 

*** ** setup a service call for March 13, 2015

When I arrived I presented him with an Agreement which included:

  1. Service Call:  $95

  2. Working time charged @ 120 per hour (1 hour minimum)

  3. Parts, supplies, test equipment, listed on the back of this form

  4. Gas Surcharge:  $35

  5. Arrival Time:  1:30 pm

  6. Work To Be Performed:  “ Repair broken pipe, Check out system repair as necessary.”

    He and I signed at the bottom and *** ** initialed in a box accepting the charges listed, which included items 1-4 and the Arrival Time item 5.   Item 6 the work to be performed was filled in by hand . 

     

    I asked him to sign and initial and make sure he looked over the Agreement and understood.  He did and I proceed to repair the broken pipe.  I excavated the areas with the broken pipe, cleaned it off with water and dried it with a towel so I could apply the glue.  While I was waiting for the glue to dry, *** ** asked me to look at a sprinkler head.  He asked what it would cost to raise the head approximately 3 feet.   I gave him an estimate on a pad of paper.  He declined.

     

     He said he would do all the backfilling. I stopped the time at 2:50 pm and tallied up the bill for the work I performed.  He paid me and I left. 

     

    I resent *** **’s abusive language. I consider it slanderous and it is certainly not true.  All work performed and charges for work performed were agreed to before any work was done.  Please note the initials and signatures.  When I asked *** ** to look it over and make sure he understood, I assumed he did.  I hide nothing.  My charges are printed on my Agreements.  Nothing is added on.  I don’t know how I could have made this clearer.

     

    Thank you,  ** *******

     

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

** ******* reply is a lie. He did not disclose the additional costs and intentionally mislead and over charged me.

When he came to the door he handed me the form and asked me to" initial the start time and the hourly rate, then sign below to authorize the work."

When he prepared the bill he added the gas surcharge AFTER I had initialed and the extra charges on back of form.

He is a LIAR and a crook and should be closed down.

Sincerely,

**** ******

2/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother is an 83 year old widow who live alone. She requested service for her already installed sprinkler system. ** ****** informed her that among other charges, she would need to pay $1,495.00 for a new controller. She does not have internet, and did not know that she needed to question the ethics of a local business man. Upon seeing this bill, I called Mr. ******* and he informed me "she signed the quote." No regard for ethics was evidenced. My brother then contacted him in writing after researching and finding his pricing to be $1300.00 over-priced. He requested that Mr. ******* surely made a mistake and would refund the money to Mrs. *******. He has not responded in over a month.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $1300.00 for erroneous charges. BBB rating of problem business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/13) */ BBB Complaint No. ******** - ****** ******* I have attached (2) Agreements (July/15/2014 and 9/5/2014) for service. To whom it may concern: Ms. *. called my office and set up a service call for July 15, 2014 because she wanted her system turned on and checked out. Her controller was very old (approx. 30 years) and she had been having problems with it. I offered her the ESP Modular controller because it was very simple to program. I explained it was expensive because of the supply and demand for that unit. *********'s ESP Modular controller was the easiest controller on the market to program and very reliable, but ********* decided to discontinue this model. Its replacement is very difficult to program. I called ********* and told them that they were making a mistake. Because the ESP is such a perfect controller, I purchased all the remaining ones I could find all over the United States. I explained to Ms. * there were substantially cheaper models and/or refurbished ESP Modular controllers and gave her their prices. She chose the new, discontinued ESP Modular controller (which, of course, is not offered on the internet). I asked her to sign in the body of the Agreement that she understood and accepted the cost of $1495, before I installed it. Just for her sons information, I sold this same controller to other customers (all ages) for that same price. They, as Ms. *., are very fortunate to own them. Ms. * called again and set a service call for September 5, 2014. Her lawn was dying. She or someone had shut the controller off. I turned it back on and at her request; I reprogramed it from automatic to manual and gave her instructions on how to do it herself. She wanted to decide when to water her yard. Manual setting allows you to choose when to water. I hope her sons will now understand. Thank you, ** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The ******** ESP Modular controller is still available and costs around $240.00. Again, it appears the intent was to deceive about really what the options were. Perhaps motivated to make an exorbitant profit or perhaps motivated by having made advance purchase of some older stock. Either way, she was still taken advantage of. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/02) */ 2nd Response and I will try to further explain. 1) I am sorry to say, but you are incorrect. The ******** ESP- Modular controller is not available. Any ******** distributor can confirm. 2) You can still get the manuals online, but not the unit. You may be confusing the replacement unit, ESP-ME, for the ESP-Modular . Unfortunately, all the ******** controllers now available are very difficult to program. Some are sold at home improvement retailers and some are sold professionally through distributors. I am called out on service calls because my customers can't figure out how to program them. I have sold many ESP-Modular unit to them because they are exceptionally easy to program and they have seen it first-hand. I am very upset at ******** for discontinuing this unit. It set them apart from other controllers on the market. As I mentioned previously, when I learned from our distributors that ******** discontinued this unit, I quickly purchased as many as I could find all over the United States. They were older stock, as you mentioned, and also are no longer manufactured. They are very valuable units. I placed an expensive price tag on them. It is up to my customers whether they want to purchase them or not. Many have and as a result, I have only (2) left. I have been doing this for 40 years and I am almost 70 years old. I am very knowable about all controllers available on the market. I am sorry to say, but you are incorrect. I did not take advantage of or deceive ****** I gave her options for substantially less expensive units, including refurbished ones and their functions along with the ESP-Modular unit, as I do with all of my customers. ****** was fully capable to decide which unit she wanted or she could have declined to purchase any. She chose the ESP Modular and approved the cost with her signature before I installed it. ****** has not contacted me about being upset. In fact, on the second service call to her property in September, I asked her if she was satisfied. She stated she was and wanted instruction to program her controller from automatic to manual. On the previously service call in July, I showed her how to program it for automatic watering. She decided she wanted to choose when to water. I gave her instructions. All she had to do when she wanted to water was to push one button. She was very happy. She called me again last month to winterize her system. I am sorry for the lengthy response, but you were not present and I am trying to fully explain what happened. I regret that you are upset and I hope you now further understand. I do my best to inform all my customers and I don't know what more I could have done. Thank you, ** *******

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I shipped items I didn't want back to ** ******* that were never used. And he refused to give me a refund on them.Saying he had installed special nozzles in them,they are not special.They are reidly available and cheap.

Desired Settlement: He charge me 90.00 dollars a piece for five Hunter PGP rotary heads. I want a refund of 450.00 dollars. Bye the way,the same heads can be purchase Online for $7.49. His pricing for all of his materials and parts is ridiculous.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/06) */ October 4, 2014 Mr. ** did send the sprinkler heads to my office. I returned them to him. We do not accept returns on merchandise left on a job. His particular heads were loaded with a specific nozzle for the gallonage of his system. He knew the sale was final. Thank you, ** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I in turn sent the heads back to him. They are now in his procession. Which means he now has the heads . Most businesses I know will offer a refund, with maybe a restocking fee. **** seems to be in his own world when it come to Customer relation and how to do business. In my opinion he doesn't deserve a A+ rating on the BBB site. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/11) */ October 10, 2014 My Second Response: I can only respond by saying I regret******* is upset. I could not have been clearer. It is our policy not to accept returns on merchandise once it is left on a job and******* understood that completely. I told him I would sell him the Hunter Gear Rotors and nozzles but he needed to make sure that is what he wanted. I could not offer a guarantee unless I installed them myself, (I certainly cannot offer a guarantee on returned merchandise). He said he understood and still wanted to purchase them. I had finished rebuilding his (5) valve center. He wanted me to install the Hunter Gear Rotors and changed his mind and wanted to do it himself. Since he is a licensed plumber, I am sure he had some idea on how to install piping. I did show him how to install the nozzles and the Rotors by installing one on his system at his request. He purchased 5 more to install himself. He asked me to load the nozzles for him and I did. They are a bit tricky to load. ******* understood the sale was final. I returned his Hunter Gear Rotors once and I will return them just one more time. Thank you, ** ******* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Based on other peoples complaints and my complaint I'm assured that **** will continue to have more complaints from the BBS. He mention that I was a Retire Commercial Plumber,he was right. I appreciated his work, he is a good Mechanic.But his pricing of parts and materials is totally and without a doubt ridiculous. He said he was going to send the Hunter Heads back to me. Why you say. Because you know that he will just turn around and sell them again and make double if they stay in his possession. Guess what, I will send them back, I'm willing to take a lose, to make him look bad.

8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ******* arrived at my house in the window of time he said he would. He inspected my outdoor controller and deemed that it needed to be replaced. He wanted to replace the old controller with a new ******** controller at a cost of $1445.00 and in addition, he wanted to place the controller in the garage for an estimated total cost of $1800.00. I told him that we would be moving in a few months and I was not interested in paying that amount. I just wanted the least expensive option. He did not offer any other options and so I said I was not interested. He went to his truck to fill out the invoice. About 5 minutes later I got a knock on the door that he had a used 2004 ******** controller that he would sell me for $795.00. Really, a 10 year old controller for for $795.00? The total estimated cost for this would be around $1200.00. I told him that the new 2014 ******** controllers were priced at $200.00 and I could not understand how he could sell a used 10 year old ******** controller for $795.00. Then he proceeded to tell me that I could not buy a ******** controller for that price and that if I tried to buy it from the ******** website that I would find out that I couldn't. I went to the ******** website, picked a controller for $195.00, and put it in my shopping cart and proceeded to the payment screen. I took a picture and sent it to him. I never got a response. I called ************************ and got a brand new ******** ESP-4 Me installed for a total of $372.40. Now where near what Mr ******* quoted me. This visit cost me $285. Here is the breakdown: $95.00 Sprinkler Service Call, $120.00 Working time charged (55 minutes), $35 Gas Surcharge, $35 Test Equipment Charge. Mrs ******* had me sign his sheet when he came in, but I didn't read the fine print. Shame on me. The Test Equipment charge was added after I signed. This fee seems ridiculous, since I paid $120 an hour for his time. Why wasn't testing the equipment not part of your time worked? This sounds like an over charge to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my Test Equipment fee back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/01) */ June 30, 2014 As per ******* statement, "he inspected my outdoor controller and deemed that it needed to be replaced. " He is correct and how I deemed it needed to be replaced was with the use of my test equipment. I suppose I could have spent more time insolating that the problem was with the controller and not with the wiring elsewhere without the use of my test equipment and came to the same result. That process would have meant ***** would be paying my hourly rate for a longer period of time and ending up costing him more with the same result. My test equipment usage saves time and money for my customers. It is also plainly listed on my Work Orders. I ask my customer's to initial the box which I highlight in bright yellow adjacent to my charges to make sure they see them before any work is performed. I am very sorry ***** missed it. It is not an over charge. It is in the agreement we both signed before any work was performed. Regarding the controller cost. ********* discontinued making the ESP Modular unit last year. It was, in my option, the best controller ********* made. It was very simple to program, durable and out lasted most controllers on the market. When I discovered ********* discontinued this model, I purchased the last available models from all over the United States. I also informed ********* that I thought they were making a big mistake. Its replacement is extremely difficult to program. This is the controller I was offering *****. Yes it is expensive, and no, you cannot purchase it from *********. ********* makes numerous "after market" controller/timers which can be purchased at ***** and **** ***** and are difficult to program and are cheaper. They also make numerous professional controllers that are more expensive. The bottom line here is we are not talking apples for apples. I was not informed by ***** that he was selling his home and wanted the cheapest fix for his problem until the end. I always offer my customer the best equipment possible and the best solutions possible, i.e., locating the controller from the outside to the inside. As in this case, outdoor controllers do not have the longevity the indoor units have. I correctly diagnosed *****'s controller issue. My customers can choose to purchase from me or decide to purchase from someone else. Thank you, ** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm not sure what test equipment ***** used, but when I watched************************ test the equipment, he used a voltage tester and determined it was not an electrical issue in less than 5 minutes. It cost me an additional $35 for ***** to use his "test equipment". Yes, *****, you got me. I signed your form without ready the fine print. Shame on me. ************************ told me up front what the posible charges would be. I didn't have to ask. My fault. I called ******** customer service. All of their household ******** controllers can be purchased online. The only controllers they may not have online are some of thier professional grade controllers which are for golf courses, football fields, etc... I asked them about these "after market" controller you mentioned. He had no idea what you were talking about. ***** and **** ***** purchase the same controller that are availble on their website. They get a bigger discount because they buy in volume. I'm still not sure how you justify selling me a 10 year old used controller for $795 when you can get a new one for $200. *****, you did not offer me the best solution possible. You did not listen to your customer. Instead you only were interested in selling what you wanted. Your estimated total with labor was $1800.00. I got a brand new ******** ESP-4 Me outdoor controller installed for a total of $372.40 from************************s ............. and in less than an hour. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/07/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, I will accept responsibility for not reading the fine print of the contract and determining that in addition to the $95 Sprinkler Service Call fee and $120 Working Time charge (1 hour minimum) that there would be an $35 Gas Surcharge and a $35 dollar Test Equipment fee. One thing I do object to is the $35 dollar fee to test the equipment. As I stated before,************************s charged me a Service Call charge of $120, same as your Working Time charge, they tested the equipment, same as you, but************************s didn't charge me an extra $35 dollars for testing the equipment, the testing of the equipment was part of their Service Call charge. The second thing I object to is how you tried to sell me a used 2004 ******** controller for $795 (10 years old). That was just for the controller, that didn't include the labor cost. The 2014 models sell for $269 on the ******** web site. Also the $1445 quote you mentioned was just for the controller, you told me with labor it would be $1800. These prices seem way out of line, especially since I got a brand new ******** installed from************************s for $372.00 Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/07/23) */ I will, again, address *****'s objections 1) Objecting because another company didn't charge a test equipment fee is irrelevant. To further explain-every contractor sets their fees. There is not a universal list we adhere to or are required to adhere to. It's like everything we purchase and/or agree to purchase. It is very important to read what we are signing. It eliminates confusion. 2) Objecting to my bids to relocate and install a new or a used controller: ***** is arguing about bids I gave him and what was included. I gave him bids that included time and materials for relocating and installing a controller. It is written in the Repair Story section of our Agreement. "performed electrical diagnostic on controller. All voltage is normal @ secondary input. Display is blank. Conclusion - controller display is burned out. Suggested we install new or pre-owned ********* Controller. Customer declines both options due to cost. Suggested new unit be installed in garage, cost of new 2014 ********* controller - $1445. Cost or pre-owned 2004, 8 station -$ 795." I gave these bids which included time and materials. There is no mention of $1800. I submitted a copy of our Agreement to the BBB. I have relocated many outdoor controllers to inside garages. Outdoor units just don't last as long as indoor unites. I am not sure but it sounds like the other company did not relocate the controller. It is hard for me to understand why ***** has an objection because he declined. I regret ***** is upset. I don't know how I could have been more precise. I have been in this business 40 years. I have many satisfied and repeat customer. I have learned you cannot please everyone. Thank you, ** *******

11/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a broken pipe at a valve box which needed fixed. The issue/repair needed was described over the phone to ** and he went into how long he had been in business, he was the past chairman of *** sprinkler organization and how fortunate we were to have called him and he was located only a few miles from his home and shop. This issue could most likely be FIXED under two hours. He arrived and had my wife sign and initial a form which only stated a pre-printed Service Call Fee at $95.00. He had her initial his "Arrival Time". After approx 20 min of review - turning on the water, viewing the leak, walking to his truck and retrieving a super soaker with which he removed the water from the valve box he explained to my wife how bad the whole system was. He got on the phone to me and again advised about how bad the system was and that the repair would cost a minimum of $1500.00. He then went to his car to write up his "bill" and came back with the form that was initially signed and initialed by my wife showing his Service Call and Start Time but now it was filled in with all kinds of Extra Charges like: 1. Working Time at 120.00 p/hr Total $180.00 2. Tools, Pump (his super soaker), Towel Total $65.00 3. Gas Surcharge (for the 6 miles between his place and mine) Total: $45.00 Al Sievers Sprinkler Service filled in charges that WERE NOT agreed upon and is now sending Demand Letters for payment and seems incapable of understanding why we would have any issues with anything he has done. The repair was completed by another licensed sprinkler company in the two hour estimate that was originally expected

Desired Settlement: Charges were not agreed upon and paperwork was filled in fraudulently. Waive all funds deemed due.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/20) */ To Whom It May Concern: I am attaching a copy of the Complaint I filed In Clackamas Circuit Court, Case No. ******** and the Agreement. ** ***** also filed a complaint with the Oregon Landscape Contractors Board. It is my understanding the jurisdiction now lies with the Clackamas Circuit Court. Please let me know if I still need to submit a written response to the BBB especially if you are going to publish any part of ** ***** complaint. Thank you. Sincerely, ** ****** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 25, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The other items were NOT filled in. The business was told where the break was (previous to site visit and in person), was shown where to turn the water on to observe the break. The business did not "discover" the break. The business never offered to repair the pipe break alone but we were advised he would not touch it and we were given the estimate of $1500.00 minimum to repair. Trying to bill us $45.00 for a gas surcharge for a 6 mile trip and $65.00 for the use of a towel and a 1 ½ hour charge for "talking" about how horrible the system was (running up charges). Pretty slimy charges especially when no repair works performed. Pipe repaired by another "ethical" company $200.00 My complaint is valid as well as the 36 other complaints filed against this company mostly stating similar complaints as ours - deception. Business ethics of this company is in the cellar. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2013/11/06) */ November 6, 2013 Just as a very quick response to the last information reiterated by ****** The Pre-printed charges on the Agreement are not just the $95.00, Sprinkler Service Call. ******left out the Working Time charged @ $120.00 per hour (1 hr. min), and the Gas surcharge amount written in as 45.00. In this case, had the pipes not blown the total bill would have been: $260.00 which included discovering and correcting the problem with the system being dead. Because there was water flowing all over the place due to the pipes coming apart when the water was turned back on, did I continue (with *** * present every minute) to determine the cause. After digging and pumping I did discover the pipes blown apart (defective workmanship by others) which incurred more of my time and usage of the supplies and equipment. The $1500 estimated amount given was to rebuild the valve center, otherwise the pipe repair alone would have been under $200.00. ******stopped the repairs. Now the total bill is: $385.00. All charges were accepted by ***** with her signature at the bottom of the Agreement and also accepted by her initials. If she did not understand, she should have not agreed. I never sign or agree to anything without reading and understanding it. I have to assume my customer do the same. I HIGHLIGHT IN BRIGHT YELLOW. I handed her the clip board and said I needed her signature and initials in the highlighted areas. ****** could have taken as much time as she needed to read the agreement. She did so and handed the clipboard back to me. If she had any questions, I would have been happy to answer them. This is my offer: 1) Bill owing: $385.00 ( total owing after correcting my addition error) 2) Incurred expense of the Small Claims matter: $53.00 (filing fee) and $36.00 (Service Fee) 3) Total: $474.00 4) Minus $60.00 5) New Total: $414.00 (Net savings of $60.00). If acceptable I will dismiss the Small Claims action.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart