This business is not BBB accredited.

Rockwall Construction

Phone: (907) 717-9717 Fax: (907) 644-2940 View Additional Phone Numbers 9599 Brayton Dr Spc 495, Anchorage, AK 99507 http://www.rockwallalaska.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers landscaping and excavation services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Rockwall Construction include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Rockwall Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rockwall Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 2011 Business started: 11/01/2010 Business started locally: 11/01/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rusty Enz, Member Mr. Adrian Jaime, Member Mr. Carl Rosen, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rusty Enz, Member
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Drainage Contractors Excavating Contractors Deck Builder Asphalt Contractors - Retaining Wall

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
8:00am - 6:00pm

Saturday
9:00am - 5:00pm

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9599 Brayton Dr Spc 495

    Anchorage, AK 99507 (907) 273-0648 (907) 717-9717

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor did not perform agreed upon work and completed the job while we were on vacation. Contractor agreed to build a retaining wall with removing soil to make our yard flat. Contractor did not remove approximately four feet of ground as agreed to. Contractor was to take down our prior retaining wall, keep one tree, and after that tree’s roots, curve the new rock wall back as far as utilities would allow. While we were on vacation, the company completed a rock wall in our yard, but failed to curve the wall back leaving approximately 25 cubic yards of ground that should have been removed.As a proposed solution contractor was going to provide hydro seeding in the amount already paid but now is starting we would have to pay an additional $1200. Contractor indicated the wall cost the amount We paid $7200, but the contractor did not complete the job as agreed to.

Desired Settlement: We are also requesting that we are refunded half of the labor costs that were paid, as we will have to pay another contractor to remove the wall to get more flat ground; the work the contracted company was supposed to perform. We are not asking for a full refund as we find it fair to pay for the work completed to remove our prior retaining wall, to pay for the materials, and to pay for the tree removal. The refund we are requesting is $3700 (half of labor costs plus hydroseeding). We estimated we paid around $1400 for labor ($35/hour x 8 hours) x (5 days). The estimate we received for grading, top soil, and hydroseeding is $3000.

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June, we contracted with Rockwall to supply gravel to provide a good foundation for a lawn, provide topsoil and hydroseed. The finished project was not graded properly to provide runoff to the sides of our property and now has a worse drainage problem than we previously experienced. A lawn mower cannot cut the grass because it sinks in the mud. I contacted******* by email and his reply indicated that he feels he completed the contract. He no longer wants to work with us and offered no comment or suggestion as to any possible solution.

Desired Settlement: Grade the finished product away from the house or provide a drainage solution (e.g) a french drain

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/03) */ In June Rockwall gave an estimate that gave a proposal on how to try and fix drainage issues on property belonging to *** and **** ******. We proposed to bring in a certain amount of fill and use that fill to build up their property, nowhere in the estimate was grade work written. The homeowners read and accepted the proposal and a contract was drawn up and signed, Rockwall completed everything that was written in the estimate and contracted to do. The homeowners must accept that their property sits at lake level and their ground is likely to shift/sink, nobody can foresee this. Rockwall is apologetic that your ground shifted/sank but we did in fact do everything that was contracted to do and acted in good faith. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2013/09/27) */ Rockwall gave the basics of his proposal, however, he neglected to mention the fact that he gave me an estimate to do the work based on his assumption that I had a budget of $10,000 to work with. That was not the case. I asked for an estimate to do the work right. In his reply to my email to him, he states that to do the job right, "I would be looking at a lot more money than #10,000" If he knew that, why didn't he let me know what I was looking at so I could make a decision on whether to proceed. I beg to difer with his explanation but I will never be able to recommend them to anyone. I'm sure further correspondence on this will not produce any positive results as he said one thing during the project and then when the project went south, he doesn't remember what he told us. I wasn't expecting miracles but wanted someone to know that he does not live up to his promises. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/10/08) */ I would like to state again that the homeowner and I came to an agreement over a possible solution to the drainage issues they were having they signed a contract and my company completed the agreed upon work. I give estimates for possible solutions for water issues, I cannot possibly account for unseen issues such as the homeowners water table. We can prepare for such things but no one has the ability to predict ground sinking/shifting. Bottom line my company acted in good faith and followed through with the agreement.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rockwall Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)