BBB Accredited Business since

Mike's Lawn Service

Phone: (208) 684-4955 22 N 725 W, Blackfoot, ID 83221 http://mikeslawndesign.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides lawn maintenance services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mike's Lawn Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mike's Lawn Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Lawn Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1988 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Contractors Registration Board
Idaho Bureau of Occupational License, Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/Home.aspx
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mike Fresh, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Fresh, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors - Commercial Landscape Designers Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Lighting Underground Sprinkler Lawn Sprinkler Parts Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance

Products & Services

Mike's Lawn Service sells the following brand(s): HD Fowler, Hunter

Mike's Lawn Service offers the following product(s): Landscape plants, Snow/Ice Melt, Sprinkler Parts

Hours of Operation
Monday through Saturday: 7am-7pm
Method(s) of Payment

Checks

Cash

Credit/debit cards

Refund and Exchange Policy

New Sprinkler Installation with 2 year parts and labor warranty and 1 free winterize.

Landscape plants warrantied for 1 year.

Alternate Business Names
dba MLS Landscaping Services Mike's Lawn Service, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 22 N 725 W

    Blackfoot, ID 83221 (208) 684-4955

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So I called Mike's Lawn Service mid May of 2014 to come and run through my sprinklers and also to fix some of the lines that I broke when I dug a trench through my yard. On the phone they said they were busy and would call when they were going to come out. Well, about 2 weeks later, my wife asks about a guy in our garage, who she didn't know, I approach him, and he introduces himself as ******* from Mike's Lawn service. I guess they don't have to knock on the f***t door, they feel it is OK to just start wandering around in your garage. I was polite, showed him what we needed done. ******* did about 85% of the repairs, and then never shows up to finish them, and never calls. On June 5th, 2014 I get a bill for 230 dollars. I called their office, left a rude hot-headed message (which was w***g on my part) saying I didn't want to pay full price for a job not completed. So Mike calls me, and comes out to my place(*** * *** *).I asked him to bring *******, which he did. When they get there, ******* recognizes that he didn't finish the job, and that he was sorry. I said thanks for apologizing, that we had bad communication, and that I was sorry for leaving a rude message. Mike didn't want to recognize that his guy didn't finish the job, and starts blaming me for the whole thing, and says I should have called and said they didn't finish the job. I guess it is illogical to assume that once a contractor starts a job, they are going to finish it without being asked? So Mike stood there and wanted to argue, I gave up and said how about I pay you full price and you get out of here? He immediately says OK. I gave him a check for full price, and he left. (Oh, and by the way, he didn't finish the job, so he got full payment for an unfinished job, sounds like a good gig to me).This guy rips me apart saying how he prides himself on the quality and integrity of his guys and himself during our argument, and then he has the gall to cash the check. I think that represents a lack of integrity.

Desired Settlement: I don't care about the money, I was always told that the customer is right, and that you should always finish a job to a customer's satisfaction, or don't take payment. At this point, I don't care about the money, but I would like Mike to realize that what he did on my property was unprofessional and extremely poor customer service.

Business Response:

******* is our Manager and the technician on this job.   Mike has talked to ******* about notifying the home owner that he is on their property.  ******* was at the controller, located in the garage, turning on the sections to flag all the breaks.  It is never his practice to "wander" around a customer's garage.  There are more times than not the homeowners are not home when a service is performed and he goes about the repairs.
 
******* didn't have a couple parts on his truck on the first visit that were needed to complete the repairs.   This customer was only invoiced for the time and materials that were completed on the first visit.  That was also the week *******'s grandma, who raised him, passed away so it didn't get communicated back to the office or Mike that this job wasn't completed. 
 
The customer did leave a "hot-headed" message including curse words and saying our guy isn't worth the money and he did "******" work.  When Mike called the customer back after hearing the voicemail, he explained that he was happy to run out or get someone out there right away to take care of it. 
 
 When Mike and ******* arrived to discuss the voice mail and look at the job, the customer had fixed one of the two connectors left to repair.  These two connectors were for the drip line that ran over to some trees.  The first thing his wife said to Mike when they arrived was "doesn't our lawn look so much better now" because the system was fixed and running.  While Mike and ******* were there and *** went in to write the check, ******* went and put the last part on at no charge to the customer.
 
I regret how things happened, but I took his voice mail very personal about telling us that our employees were **** and ******* has worked here for 15+ years.  I understand it's business and I shouldn't take it personal, but I did and I reacted to it.  I was not blaming the customer, or arguing with him, I simply stated that I was unaware it was not completed due to the timing of *******'s grandmother passing away.  
 
We would have been happy to come correct  the issue for the customer, but with a voice mail like that, I take it very personal that a customer would call our employee names and want us to come complete it, and then "pay us half" for the entire service call.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

*** *********

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Lawn Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)