This business is not BBB accredited.

Pioneer Jewelers

Phone: (888) 922-9997 491 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801 http://www.pioneerjewelers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail sales of fine jewelry and collectibles.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pioneer Jewelers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pioneer Jewelers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 2006 Business started: 02/01/1975 Business started locally: 02/01/1975 Business incorporated 02/04/1975 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Penelope Tripp, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Penelope Tripp, President
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Collectibles

Alternate Business Names
Tripp Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    491 S Franklin St

    Juneau, AK 99801 (888) 922-9997

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a product with a price of $0 and paid in full with shipping. They said the price was in error. I stated that they didn't have a disclaimer stating they were not responsible for pricing errors. They modified their website to add the disclaimer after we had already started emailing and then responded that they did have a disclaimer. I have a cached copy of the original website without the disclaimer and I told them this.

Desired Settlement: I wish to receive the product I ordered for the price I paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/21) */ Hello On 4-14-14, we received an order for a Pandora bead via our website. We were surprised to see an order come in as that section of the site is for informational purposes only. We are not set up to accept orders for this product online and the beads are set with the notation to call our toll free number for pricing and availability. One bead,however, the only one in question, did have a price showing of 00.00. This individual placed an order for this bead for 00.00 plus shipping of $11.00 and the order was accepted. Also, as a further glitch, the shipping actually charged double and was paid via paypal with no complaint from the individual. Upon seeing the order, I responded via email that the bead was not available for 00.00 and that the error was caused by a site development problem. I offered to refund the full shipping fee and invoice the bead at the correct retail price of $40.00. I further offered to ship the bead at no charge as an apology for the inconvenience. The person responded that he had been charged double the shipping fee and noted that we did not have a "disclaimer" on the site saying that there could be errors and demanded that we ship the item. I immediately asked our IT person to correct the error on the bead and to post a general disclaimer on the site. Later in the day on 4-15-14, I responded again to the person saying that the disclaimer did exist. I thanked him for bringing the error on the bead to our attention and again offered to sell it for the MSRP of $40.00 and ship at no charge. I also said that I would refund the double shipping charge, which I immediately did. His response was that we added the disclaimer after his emails began and that he had a cached copy of the page as "evidence" that it did not exist when he placed his "order". He further went on to state that "this is unbelievable, and that he was reporting our company for fraudulent behavior". On X-XX-XX this person sent a final email demanding to know when we were shipping his bead. Due to the threatening tone these emails were taking I judged it in our best interests to cease attempting to communicate with this person. We felt he would either accept that he was not getting a bead for FREE due to an IT development problem or he would continue to pursue the matter. As it appears he is doing. Either way, continuing a conversation would not appear to be a positive course of action. We felt that he had identified an error and was attempting to manipulate the situation by threats of reporting our company. We felt that we had made a good faith attempt to correct the situation by offering to ship the bead at no charge. He was not interested in that offer. At no time did we ever deny that the disclaimer was posted after the error was discovered. We are bound by a contractual agreement with Pandora not to sell the product below MSRP, and that definitely includes giving away a bead for free. What person would think that they could threaten or harass a company into giving them a free item in such a case? I would like to think that most rational individuals would bring such an issue to the attention of the site administrators in an attempt to be helpful. We can provide the email string for this case if desired. It should match the email string from the complaint. Thank you for taking the time to read this response. ***** ***** Pioneer Jewelers Seattle *** *** **** (cell) XXX XXX XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response because they are trying to make it sound like I was be rude and threatening. At no point did my emails become "threatening". And I never "demanded" they send the item. Here is the text of the emails with names removed. From Jeweler to me: Hello We received your order for Pandora Bead "My Sweet Pet". The bead is available for shipment, but there was a problem placing the order via our website. Currently, during development, the prices are set at zero so the amount charged for the bead was only shipping. The cost of the bead, $40.00, was not included. I will be happy to refund your shipping cost and send you an invoice for the bead through Paypal. Also, as an apology for the inconvenience, we will ship this bead at no charge. So, the invoice would be for a charge of $40.00 only. Please accept our thanks for the order and we will get this out to you directly. Please let us know if this solution is satisfactory. If not, we will refund your shipping cost promptly. I await your response so that we can get the bead off to you. Speak soon ***** ***** Pioneer Jewelers Seattle, WA From me to Jeweler: Actually, I was billed $22. And, nowhere on your sight do you have a disclaimer stating your prices could be incorrect and you have a right to not honor incorrect pricing. I expect you to honor the price paid and ship my item promptly. Note: It was after this email and before their response that they modified their website to add the disclaimer. From Jeweler to me: Hello ***** Actually, the disclaimer you refer to does exist on the site under customer service and FAQ. Sometimes, unfortunately, when a site is under development, glitches do occur, and we thank you for bringing this one to our attention. As I noted earlier today, we would be happy to sell you the bead for the MSRP of $40.00, and send it to you at no charge in order to remedy the issue. As it appears that you also paid double the shipping fee, I am refunding that charge. That leaves us at net zero. Please email if you would like an invoice sent you through Paypal, or call at XXX XXX XXXX if you wish to place an order over the phone. Thank you for your interest and have a nice day. Best regards Pioneer Jewelers Seattle From me to jeweler: When can I expect my product to ship? I will reissue the $11 shipping fee. No response from jeweler after this. As you can see, I did not threaten or harass anyone. I only expected them to realize they made the mistake and I called them on it and to honor the purchase.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pioneer Jewelers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)