Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Integrated Financial Services

Phone: (253) 851-0717 Fax: (253) 851-0727 5401 32nd Ave NW STE 201, Gig Harbor, WA 98335

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers insurance and financial services including investing and estate analysis.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Integrated Financial Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Integrated Financial Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 09/01/2003 in WA Business started locally: 09/01/2003 Business incorporated 09/22/2003 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner
5000 Capitol Blvd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 562-6900

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary Imel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Imel, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Lori Imel, Office Manager
Business Category

Insurance Services Insurance - Viatical Investment Castings Insurance Companies Insurance - Health Investment Advisory Service

Alternate Business Names
Integrated Insurance & Financial Service LLC

Additional Locations

  • 5401 32nd Ave NW STE 201

    Gig Harbor, WA 98335 (253) 851-0717


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A bad experience starting with getting shuffled off to the new guy, a realtor trying his hand in the investment business. With no supervision and a general lack of knowledge, many mistakes were made including an unnecessary loss of almost two thousand dollars. When I got back I called to set up an appointment with someone else, and was told that the realtor guy had quit, and taken all our files with him when he left. Eventually they got them back, and I met with another new guy, ( the husband of one of the other employees) also with little experience. More mistakes were made, including transferring stock to a managed account after I had made it clear I didn't want that to happen. When I found that it had been transferred, I met with the new guy and the owner **** **** , we agreed to transfer the stock back, they would refund the fees I incurred, and we would part ways. Almost a month later, and none of this had happened. Upon calling around , I found out after one unsuccessful try at a transfer, no other effort or follow up had been made. By calling the holding company ***** directly, I got them working on it again. It took another week, but they got it done. A couple of days after the transfer was complete, I finally got an email from IFS with an accounting of stock and dividends. Part of the dividends were in cash and July and August had been reinvested at top of the market prices, not at all what i wanted. I don't know how you can pay part in cash, and part in stock, especially after I had filled out paperwork earlier, specifically requesting all dividends be payed in cash. I talked to ***** ***** ( director of client services), about it, and was told, " it was obvious nothing she did was ever going to make me happy. " She was right, I was not happy, I called to talk to the boss **** ****, and he told me if I wanted the cash instead of stock I could open an account somewhere, ( at my cost), and transfer the stock and sell it. This whole experience has been one mistake after another with no accountability on their part, and personnel that is unsupervised, untrained, and rude.

Desired Settlement: We received over a thousand dollars in stock purchased at 10.47, which is top of the market, after requesting all dividends be paid in cash, fix it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/01) */ October 1, 2014 Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Drive Ste 222 DuPont WA 98327 RE: Case #******** ************* To Whom It May Concern, Following please find our response to the complaint number above filed by *************. We will address her complaint point by point. With reference to the comment "A bad experience starting with getting shuffled off to the new guy, a realtor trying his hand in the investment business. With no supervision and a general lack of knowledge, many mistakes were made including an unnecessary loss of almost two thousand dollars." Since additional detail was not given for this statement, we are only able to speculate the following: Client purchased 1000 shares of *************** @ $10.00 per share 05/25/11 with ******* check #**** for $10,000.00. Dividends were reinvested. Shares have since gone public under the ticker ****. Today's value is $6.07 per share. Client did not sign change of agent or broker dealer forms so we are unable to see how many shares she holds at this time but she did sign the ******* election form to receive 100% shares of stock rather than cashing out in March of this year. She advised us in March 2014 that she planned to liquidate these shares herself. At $6.07 per share if the client still holds 1004.95 shares, this investment is currently worth $6100.04 which is $3899.36 less than purchased for, however a loss is only realized if the client chooses to sell the shares at a price lower than purchased for which is not a recommendation that **** or IFS would make. *** Asset Management Client purchased $30,000.00 of *********************** 5/4/11 with ******* check #**** Total management fees deducted were $647.60 The account was cancelled as of 4-20-12 and check #********* in the amount of $26,749.49 was sent to the Address of Record. Our notes in file state that the client told us this account was liquidated by her upon the advice of *********, her former representative. With regard to the clients claim that she received a thousand dollars in stock (of ****) purchased at $10.47 per share which is at the top of the market The shares were reinvested at $10.16 per share which is $0.59 per share less than she purchased them for initially and $0.64 per share less than today's current market value. Meaning that Ms. ****** was able to purchase even more shares for her reinvestment dollar since they were purchased at a lower price. Not at the "top of the market" which is an incorrect statement and this has been explained to her numerous times by **** **** personally. Client purchased 1860.465 shares of **** for $20,000.00 at $10.75 per share 05/02/11. Dividends were reinvested from inception to April 2014. She has received $532.22 in cash dividends to custodial accounts and directly, and today holds 3614.00 shares with a current market value of $10.77 per share as of the close of business on 09/30/14 or $38,922.78 which results in a 29.74% approximate return to date. With regard to the statement "A couple of days after the transfer was complete, I finally got an email from IFS with an accounting of stock and dividends." Prior to March of 2014 we had not heard from her for almost a year. Since Ms. ****** did not respond to several phone calls and voicemail messages left for her in 2013 and a certified letter delivered 04/15/13 to the clients' address that stated the following: April 10, 2013 ******** ****** *********** Olalla WA 98359-1154 Dear ***, 0n April 1st you came in to the office and spoke with our receptionist ************ and expressed concern over the performance and lack of servicing on the investment accounts held by you and your mother ****** ****** for whom you have a power of attorney. I left messages on your cell phone number ************** on April 1st and April 2nd asking you to call me back but have not heard back from you so I wanted to send a letter to formally apologize and explain what happened. First, let me reiterate our sincerest apologies for the miscommunication. Both your and ******'s files were mistakenly placed in with the category of clients who opted to stay with ********* as their advisor and as such, the alternative investments (variable accounts) were assigned to ******* ***************** as "house accounts" and the fixed accounts are still under ***** name as agent of record. We sent our letter regarding ***** departure from IFS on September 26th 2012. There are notes in our client records database from October 29th 2012 that you wanted to stay with ********* and that you wanted to talk to **** before deciding if you wanted your accounts to be serviced by Integrated Financial Services. **** recalled speaking to you on the phone several months ago and providing you with direct contact information and a recommendation to meet with ********* at **************** to interview him and see if you felt better suited to transfer to his practice. We do not have any record of hearing from you between that conversation and your visit to our office on March 28th. Since *** left our firm, we have had little to no communication with him and he has obviously not communicated with his clients, which has resulted in a very confusing situation for all involved. After you came in on March 28th 2013 and I received your message from ****, I pulled your files and found your signed letter to retain **** **** and Integrated Financial Services. Please be reassured that your files are all safe here in our office. Access to your information is shared only with the companies with which you have invested and ************************* which is our Broker-Dealer. At this time we have not generated any forms to change your advisor of record on any accounts because we have not heard back from you. We would love the opportunity to schedule an appointment for **** to sit down with you and earn your confidence back, but we completely understand if you choose to move your accounts elsewhere. Other options would include: *********, **************** ************** Maintaining your securities accounts directly with ************************* as a house account and *************** contracts directly with them. Following is the contact information for each company. ******************** ************** ***************************************************************************************************************** *************** ************** ************************* *************** ******************************** **************************************** Please call me at your earliest convenience and we will schedule an appointment with **** or mail you the forms to change advisors. Warm Regards, ********* Director of Customer Service For **** **** CLU, ChFC ***** Since she did not respond to our attempts to contact her, we assumed she was going elsewhere with her investments and made no further attempts to service her accounts until she literally just showed up at the office 03/18/14. We do show that several communications and invitations were sent to her between 2013 and 2014 including invitations to product summits, client appreciation events and birthday cards. With regard to the statement that "almost a month later, and none of this had happened. Upon calling around, I found out after one unsuccessful try at a transfer, no other effort or follow up had been made" The client expressed this to me on the phone on 9/12/14 and after calling *************, our broker dealer I was able to ascertain that the transfer was attempted at least three times in less than a month.****** Operations tried to transfer via the DWAC system multiple times before attempting to transfer on three separate occasions via the TOA system. The dates she tried via TOA were 7/31, 8/11 and 8/25. She was also made aware by **** ****, **** **** and ********* when she requested her shares be transferred out of a brokerage account and back to the transfer agent who has no capability to trade / sell on her behalf that this was the first time such a transfer had been requested of our office or of our****** Operations department staff so she would need to be patient and that the transfer process could take 4-6 weeks. The statement also makes it sound like there was no communication between the client and****** or *************** when in fact Ms. ****** was calling****** and *************** several times per week and at times multiple times per day and was given updates by all parties. With regard to the statement "More mistakes were made, including transferring stock to a managed account after I had made it clear I didn't want that to happen" When Ms. ****** came in on 3/18/14 she spoke with ********* and the notes from the meeting were: Met in office with *** ****** - she works on ship's so lots of no contact time. She and her mother came to IFS via ***************. They liked **** but then were transferred to ********* (Ms. ****** said that *** was a "nice man but made lots mistakes and cost them too much money"). Then IFS gave *** the file upon his departure which didn't please *** either. Now she wants help understanding her options and would like us to try to help them (with indexing strategies, **** liquidation etc). I told her we would figure their stuff out and contact her back before the weekends with what needs to be done (keeping in mind she has another week then will be gone for month - missing the **** event early in April- I did explain to her what we know regarding the **** liquidation at this time letting her know it is all subject to change until it happens- she said she does not need the money so waiting is no problem for her if that is the advice come early April. After this meeting we called the client the following week requesting that she come in and sign the forms to make **** **** the representative of record on her accounts to give our office the ability to even see them online which she did. At the 3/25/14 appointment the client also signed forms to open brokerage accounts at ************ where the liquid shares of *** and **** would be transferred (there were no brokerage account fees to hold these shares) and held until they reached a price agreeable between she and **** or **** to sell. The forms and the functions of the brokerage accounts were explained by ********* and ********* in detail at this meeting and the client was assured that the only difference in her investments would be that her shares would be held in a brokerage account where they could be traded as opposed to where they were currently held at ***************, the transfer agent where the shares would only be held. Ms. ****** did not sign any of the forms until she was satisfied with our explanations and the forms were processed, accounts opened, and shares transferred to ************. The dividends started going to ************ and then in June we changed broker dealers from ************************* to ************* and custodians from ************ to ****************** ********. All of this was again explained at the meeting before *** ****** signed any forms. She expressed concern that the cash dividends stopped when the shares transferred to the brokerage account and we were able to show the client that the dividends started going to the custodial account on her behalf. Ms. ****** signed the forms to move to ****************** ******** and the transfer was processed. At this point the mistake that was made and that **** **** has apologized to Ms. ****** for and explained to her is that on the application for the *************************** brokerage account, a box was checked to reinvest dividends rather than hold in the cash account which is why two months of dividends were reinvested after Ms. ****** had signed a************** Investor Change Form in June to request dividends be paid to her in cash. This is also when the dividends were reinvested at $10.16 per share not $10.47 or "top of the market." Ms. ****** then said that she wanted the dividends for those two months in cash and **** told her that the only way she could go back and get cash for those months would be to open a brokerage account and sell enough shares to equal the cash she wanted. **** also said that she would now have to open a brokerage account and trade the shares on her own as we had just completed closing the brokerage account we opened for her and transferring the shares back to the transfer agent at her request where **** no longer had control of them and was unable to trade them on her behalf. With regard to the statement "I talked to *********** (director of client services), about it and was told "it was obvious nothing she did was ever going to make me happy" and With regard to the statement "This whole experience has been one mistake after another with no accountability on their part and personnel that is unsupervised, untrained and rude". The client had called after **** had called her to explain the mistake that happened on the application and the solution to obtaining cash for the two months and after several minutes of explaining again and apologizing for what had happened, the client kept returning to every issue from 2012 on and continued to keep ranting about them. At that point **** simply said that rather than continue to return in discussion to things that could not be changed, they could agree that nothing she could tell her at this point was going to make the previous issues go away or to make her happy now but that we had all done our best to do everything she asked us to do. With regard to the Consumer's Desired Resolution: "We received over a thousand dollars in stock purchased at $10.47 which is top of the market, after requesting all dividends be paid in cash, fix it." Ms. ******'s closing of her brokerage accounts and transfer of shares back to the transfer agent *********** where they cannot be traded have essentially guaranteed our inability to "fix" this. The client no longer has active brokerage accounts that would allow Integrated Financial Services to sell the reinvested shares to pull the cash out that she is requesting. As **** **** discussed with her in their 9/16/14 conversation, she will need to open her own brokerage account somewhere like ******* or ********* and transfer any shares she wishes to sell to the brokerage account and work with that company to sell them as we can no longer do so. In conclusion: We freely admitted to the client that there have been some missteps in the handling of Ms. ******'s transition between ********* and **** ****, and a mistake made on some paperwork afterwards. Our staff from the reception desk all the way to the Founder and President of the company have gone out of our way to apologize to Ms. ****** and to make it right for her. Ms. ****** has received checks for all dividends paid to ************ and ****************** ******** on her behalf, and all fees charged by ************ and ****************** ******** have been refunded to Ms. ****** already. **** **** has paid these fees through our broker dealer ************* directly out of his branch commissions from other sales. Any loss incurred has been at the expense of Integrated Financial Services who has not only paid for the clients account fees, we have also spent many payroll dollars and personnel hours responding to Ms. ******s calls, requests, unannounced appearances at the office, preparing documents, letters, processing accounts and compiling information in the name of service, only to spend more of the same taking apart all of the accounts set up so the client could not have anyone "in between her and her money". Ms. ****** wants to receive excellent service and financial advice on demand, but does not want to pay any fees associated with having investment accounts or allow for an advisor to trade on her behalf. We regret that after all is said and done we were unable to satisfy Ms. ****** but do not feel that it is from lack of effort on our part. Sincerely, **** * **** Founder & President Integrated Financial Services

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Integrated Financial Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)