Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Quality Inn & Suites

Phone: (253) 835-4141 1400 S 348th St, Federal Way, WA 98003 http://www.qualityinn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Quality Inn & Suites include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Inn & Suites
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2004 Business started: 04/08/2004 Business started locally: 04/08/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Quality Inn

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 S 348th St

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (253) 835-4141

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So no more Quality Inn in Federal Way for us. Why you ask? On Saturday, July 30, 2016 at that hotel in between swim competition preliminaries and finals, we had sandwiches in the room and my daughter and her friend played on iPods and I uploaded pictures to team Facebook page. I noticed, just as we were about to leave for championship finals, an unsigned, undated letter on hotel letterhead under our door...accusing us of making a racist comment to a maid and that we were no longer welcome at the hotel. Me? I would never make a racist comment. What maid? When? Where? I never even saw a maid. My daughter had to be at pool by 7:30 that morning for warm ups. When I came back around noon, the room had already been cleaned. We had no interaction with ANYONE. So I demanded to speak with General Manager Randy N*****--who wasn't coming back until Monday, and I demanded they call him. I explained on the phone while standing at the reception counter that I was offended for being falsely accused. And he said his maid was so upset about being told "a Muslim was not welcome to clean their room" that she almost walked out. I told him I was so upset about this letter falsely accusing us--a mother and daughter who have stayed there no less than 5 times since December--I would leave if there was any place else to stay on short notice. He asked about a man in my room and I said, "My husband is at home over a hundred miles away. And clearly you have the wrong room and guests." We stay there ONLY because it's CLEAN and close to the aquatic center not because it is some lush hotel. I leave a tip for housekeeping when we leave. I thank the maids when I have in the past met them in the room. I greet the maids when we recognize each other from previous visits. He said he would follow up. But what is going on in that hotel? I just want a clean, convenient, affordable, quiet, safe place to stay when my kid has a swim meet. After the false fire alarms during the previous two stays (one at midnight, the other at 7 a.m.) and the less than quality breakfast for my athlete lately, and cold coffee in the lobby in the afternoon, and the noisy plumbing, sometimes musty smelling rooms, one lazy receptionist who always checks us in with her hand resting on her face as she looks likes she'd rather be napping, and loud room last weekend--and now this outrageous management debacle--I have said NEVER AGAIN. The things I was willing to overlook before for the convenience to the aquatic center are intolerable now after this management failure. I appreciate that they support their employees but to falsely accuse a guest and slip an anonymous letter under the door is reprehensible. That same night after returning from finals at 9:30 p.m., I asked the same receptionist TJ if anything had been resolved and she said she was sorry for what had happened and that she was only the messenger and that because the maid was Hispanic and Muslim that I could imagine her being upset. I agreed but I also said that she could imagine how I might be upset as to be called a racist and told I was no longer welcome to stay at the hotel I have stayed at several times this year. She said from my reaction, she could tell they had made a mistake and likely the maid got the wrong room number--and should have said room 312, not our room 310. And that the manager would follow up as the hotel is very embarrassed. Makes me wonder now if they gave the people in room 312 the same letter and if it is policy to just send horrible letters to guest without proper research or facts. NEVER AGAIN to #QualityInn in #FederalWay. What should have been a celebration of a culmination for a successful championship swim season, this pretty much marred the entire weekend. If you need rest on business or sports event, this is not your place.

Desired Settlement: And I would like a clear policy put in place that some formal investigation happens before sending anonymous unsigned and undated letters to guests.

Business Response:  
August 9, 2016
 
Dear Better Business Bureau:
 
I received your letter dated Wednesday, August 3, 2016, regarding a statement who received an anonymous letter regarding racist comments she allegedly made.  When I originally spoke with her I was not aware of the content of the letter or even what had transpired.  After investigating the situation I have since received a copy 
of the letter and was thoroughly embarrassed by what I read.  I contacted the guest on August 8th, 2016 and have apologized for the actions of my staff.
I have not only reimbursed the guest the $278.00 she was asking for, but have credited her credit card for the entire stay that weekend in the amount of $334.00.
I know this does not “fix” the issue; I am in the process of making sure every guest issue in the future will be handled by management.  
As I said earlier, I am completely embarrassed by this situation and I hope to be able to serve this guest in the future.
 
Sincerely;
 
Randy *. N*****, ***
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
1400 S. 348th ST
Federal Way, WA 98003
253.835.4141 
253.835.4157 (fax)


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

********* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Inn & Suites
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)