This business is not BBB accredited.

Motif Seattle

Phone: (206) 971-8000 Fax: (206) 971-8100 View Additional Phone Numbers 1415 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Motif Seattle include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Motif Seattle
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 1998 Business started: 06/14/2011 Business started locally: 06/14/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Salvador Navarrete, Director of Hotel Services Mr. Ben Alexander, Manager Mr. John Demarco, Vice President Mr. Mark Hays, Vice President, Director Mr. Robert Lowe, Chairman Mr. Salve Pennya, Vice President Mr. Avedick Poladian, Director Mr. James Sabatier, President, Director Ms. Dona Tanaka, Secretary Mr. William Wethe, Vice President,Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Salvador Navarrete, Director of Hotel Services
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Destination Seattle Management LLC LEI-AG Seattle LLC Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle Red Lion Hotel-On 5th Ave

Additional Locations


    1415 5th Ave

    Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 971-8000 (206) 971-8020


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We stayed at the Motif of Saturday, September 17th. There were a number of issues. First, I think only 1-2 elevators were in operation, complaint of many guests. My husband and I had to take the stairs several times because the elevators were full by the time they reached our floor. The bed was horrible! It was broken down and we gravitated to the center the entire night. The next morning we went to shower and the tub would not drain. I called and they did have someone repair. There was black mold around the fixtures in the bathroom and hardly any water pressure in the bathroom. The worst part though, on Sunday, we went to breakfast only to return to see that our room had been cleaned and the leftovers in the fridge discarded. We had gone to dinner at Metropolitan Grill (over $285) and had over half of the chateaubriand for two was leftover along with other dishes. The maid acted all flustered when we returned and let us back in the room. When we discovered the fridge had been cleaned as well she was no where to be found. I emailed the hotel on 9/18 and have had no response.

Desired Settlement: Refund

7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The room price quoted was $264.00 and confirmed on three occasions with the hotel registration staff. When the bill was received we were charged $500.00 for the first four nights and $309.00 for the final two nights (these prices did not include taxes). In addition to speaking with registration staff, four calls were directed to the hotel after leaving the hotel and the calls were not returned. The room was in the name of Dr. **** ******* but paid for by our organization of which he is an officer. I am the Executive Director for the organization, ************* and used our corporate card for the final four of the six night stay. Dr. ******* used his personal card for the first two nights.

Desired Settlement: Refunds to credit cards used to reflect adjusted amount of $264.00

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed at your hotel from 6/10/2014 - 6/14/2014, and have 3 significant complaints: 1. The room floor is NOT level, therefore the dresser drawers would not stay shut, and everytime we walked by, the drawers would open and hit our legs...the room # was ***** I had to ask THREE times before they finally came up on 6/13/2014 (mind you, the last day) to put shims underneath the front of the dresser to eliminate the problem. 2. Television service was TERRIBLE...the fact that you charge the rates you do, I would expect a high end plasma scree/LED television to have, at the very least, cable television, not only an analog signal with terrible picture quality...unacceptable for the establishment you advertise. 3. Maid service severely lacking...our room was NOT vacuumed until Friday (we arrived Tuesday)...this is simply UNACCEPTABLE. We had to REQUEST vacuuming, which was completed on Friday, again, the last day we were there. Furthermore, room service trays are not picked up regularly from outside the rooms, causing me to trip and almost fall 2x during my stay. Again, unacceptable. In summary, I see a LOT of improvements you could make in short order...this was a poor overall customer experience. I had much higher expectations given the quality expected from *** **** hotels.

Desired Settlement: I am in the Customer Experience industry, and find these issues completely unacceptable. You have a duty to the customer to make this right...not only for myself, but for future customers to your hotel. At a minimum, I'd like consideration of a significant refund of the nightly charges. The prices you charge for the room quality and lack of service we had are simply not up to par. I'd like to see at a minimum, a 25%-30% refund of our total charges for the entire stay. Given the experience I had, I would not recommend anyone I know, nor my colleagues, to ever stay in your hotel. Thank you in advance for your serious consideration of these concerns.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Motif Seattle
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)