Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Mayflower Park Hotel Inc

Phone: (206) 623-8700 View Additional Phone Numbers 405 Olive Way, Seattle, WA 98101 http://www.mayflowerpark.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hotel accommodations.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mayflower Park Hotel Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mayflower Park Hotel Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1927 Business started locally: 01/01/1927
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Paul J Ishii, General Manager Ms. Angie Favero, Executive Admin
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul J Ishii, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    405 Olive Way

    Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 623-8700 (800) 426-5100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 17 2015, I drove my car to the Mayflower Hotel Restaurant. I left the hotel Valet the key to my to park my car while attending a meeting in the hotel. After the meeting I went to get my car and was informed by the Valet driver that my car would no longer drive forward. I asked him where my car was and he informed me that the car was still in the garage where they parked it. I went to the garage and discovered that the car had been driven and parked in reverse gear (the key to the car can not be removed unless the car is parked in reverse). Upon arrival I discovered that that car had been broken into reverse gear.I had the car towed to my shop where the mechanic informed me that the driver must have broken the car for it to be in this state. I informed the hotel about this situation and they refused to take blame and said that since the car was old, they cannot be sure that the car was broken while in their care, hence, they will not cover the expenses to repair my car.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate if the hotel would cover the expenses for the repair of my car. The Mechanic has talked to them and informed them that the car was damaged in their care. I want the hotel to cover the cost for the repair for my car.

Business Response: Dear ********* *****:


Thank you for your letter regarding complaint ID # ********.


We have been parking cars for our guests and meeting attendees since the automobile was invented,
as we have been in Seattle for 88 years. Thus, the amount of cars we park for are in the
thousands and we always take the utmost care in parking all of our cars.

However, the car that you are referring to is a car that is close to 40 years old and has had a
history of repairs that come with vintage cars. Our disclaimer on every valet parking ticket
explains that we are not responsible for "mechanical defects". This is a standard policy with
valet parking services as the owner has more knowledge of their own cars than we do. If valet
parking services were responsible for all mechanical defects for the cars they parked, how could
this service be provided?

The complainant needs to address his own insurance policy company and use his collision or
comprehensive coverage. That is the proper course of action. Perhaps, the complainant does not
have this coverage, and only has general liability insurance. This could be a possibility.

In addition, guests with vintage cars, often park on their own, due to the unique nature of their
car.

Consumer Response:

Greetings BBB and the Mayflower Hotel:

 

     I am rejecting this responds because after I contacted the local news channel and they took my story to the airways it became very clear that the reason the car was rendered inoperative was due to the faulty driving habits of the Valet driver. Not too long after they were contacted by the local news reporter, and not before they, the hotel decided to fully the cost of my repairs. I am very glad that they had decided to chain their tune however I should not have come to this. I made several phone calls to the hotel owner, I let them contact my local mechanic and still, after speaking to him felt that they where not at fault. I feel that if the news had decided against airing my story I would have taken me considerable longer to recover the cost and time getting my car repaired.

 

     In the end, the hotel has decided to cover my expenses in full. I am appreciative of their change of position and hope in the future they will exercise much better customer service in responding to customers complaints instead of just washing your hands of the issue and forcing people to take drastic measures to get your attention.

 

Thanks for the late support, 

****** ********





Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mayflower Park Hotel Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)