This business is not BBB accredited.

Jo's Motel & Campground

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 381-2234 52851 Highway 62, Fort Klamath, OR 97626


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jo's Motel & Campground include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jo's Motel & Campground
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2010 Business started: 09/02/2010 Business started locally: 09/02/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Business Management
Ms. Robin Hurt, Manager James Van Grinsven, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Robin Hurt, Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    52851 Highway 62

    Fort Klamath, OR 97626 (541) 381-2234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Po Box 428

    Fort Klamath, OR 97626

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reservation were made for 2 adults. I arrived on 9/4/15 with 2 adults (myself and my developmentally disabled nephew) and my 2 year old grandson. I was told I was not allowed to share the room with my DD nephew and would have to purchase an adjoining room, but they would allow me to share the Q bed with my grandson. The rate was then increased to $239.00 for 2 nights. I was given a TV/DVD player and 2 kid movies. On 9/5/15 I was gone from my room for the day. The room was cleaned and several personal items removed. They took my disabled nephews special blanket and pillows, my grandson’s pillow and my pillow I use for back/neck pain. They left a note stating I had broken the rules by bringing them in and I could pick them up at check out, after 9:00 AM on Sunday 9/6/15. A local business member came to my rescue and got the items returned to us with instructions not to take them back in the room. I complied and left the items in my car. The manager again entered my room later that day, while I was out and took back the DVD’s he had loaned us. He turned on all the lights and opened up everything, as if to leave a message of intimidation. I was forced to pay the increased rate as there were no other options in this remote area. I had made the reservations well in advance. For the same reason, I was forced to remain there, even though I knew I had no way to secure the room at night from him. The manager of Jo’s had stated he was charging me for the 2nd night, whether I stayed or not. I couldn’t afford to leave.

Desired Settlement: Business practice review and enforcement. What are the rule when licensing a business that regulate against removing a customer’s personal items from a room? From holding a customer hostage due to financial and remote location constraints?

Business Response:

JO'S MOTEL AND CAMPGROUND
Jim V********** & Robin H***
***** *** ** ** *** ***
Fort Klamath, OR 97626
************
www.josmotel.com
Re: BBB complaint ********, received 9/17
BACKGROUND
PAGE. 1
Jo's is an extremely small lodging facility operated entirely by the couple who own it and who are responsible
for making and enforcing rules. There are no other employees at Jo's.
Jo's Motel's website, www.josmotel.com, clearly states policies, rules, rates, and occupancy limits. Rooms
cannot be booked online, and applicable points are discussed during reservation phone calls. Rates and rooms
offered to guests are dependent on the number of guests as well as the number of beds used and whether or
not a kitchen is taken. Additional persons above bed capacity (2 per bed) are never allowed, not even
newborn babies, and no one is allowed to sleep on floors or cots.
The rules on the website's "Policies" page are signed by each guest either during the reservation advance
deposit process or upon checkin. These rules are also clearly posted in each room. Additionally, spoken
acknowledgments are obtained when appropriate (for example, bicyclists acknowldge verbally, as well as in
writing, that their bikes can't be in rooms).
Regarding restrictions of personal items, including bedding, Oregon Health Authority Rules for tourist
accommodations include the following:
Vector Control 333-029-0065
(1) Vector control measures shall be employed to prevent vector infestations in travelers'
accommodations and hostels.
(2) Insect and rodent control measures to safeguard public health and to prevent nuisance to the
public shall be applied. Developed areas, buildings, and structures shall be maintained free of
accumulations of debris.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 446.330 Stats. Implemented: ORS 446.330 Hist.: HD 1-1978, f. & ef. 1-4-78; HD 19-
1983(Temp), f. & ef. 10-18-83; HD 12-1984, f. & ef. 6-20-84; HD 5-1985, f. & ef. 4-25-85
At Jo's, these vector control measures include meticulous cleaning and inspections, as well as prohibiting
. personal bedding and many other items in rooms: person;:il bedding is an obvious vector for everything from
bed bugs to viruses to staph infections.
Upon daily housekeeping, prohibited items found in a room are carefully protected, removed from the room,
and secured; a copy of the guest's signed agreement to the rules is left with a note that their items can be
retrieved upon checkout.
THE FACTS
Reservations were made 8/31 for two nights in a single room (one queen bed) at $85/night (plus 9% lodging
tax) for the maximum occupancy of two people (see attachment 1); that limit is always emphasized in the
reservation phone call.

Guest arrived 9/4 with three people. Three people may not share a single here. Several rooms at Jo's can be
opened up into a double room, and her room happened to be one of these. The second bedroom is NOT an
"adjoining room" - it is a second bedroom in the same unit, providing a dinette and a second (full size) bed and
raising the unit's maximum occupancy to four, and when the unit rents as a single, that extra bedroom goes
locked and unused. With three people, the double room rate is $110 plus tax. Had the guest been booked
into a room that did not have the second bedroom as an option, she would not have been able to stay.
Because there was a toddler and bedding was visible in the vehicle, each of us reminded the guest that no
personal bedding could be taken into the room, and the guest agreed and signed the rules (see attachment 2).
These same rules are clearly posted in each room.
Upon daily housekeeping, the usual procedure was followed: the personal bedding items that were found in
the room were removed, bagged in a clean, sealed bag, and stored in a safe indoor location; and the rules the
guest had signed were left with the usual note: Folks - your items can be retrieved at the office upon checkout.
We did not hear from the guest prior t.o checkout; however, the guest's uncle came into the office just before
dark, angrily demanding return of the items. As he was unaware of the note that had been left in the room,
we showed him where his neice had herself signed the rules agreeing not to bring in bedding. We then
explained the vector control issue (patiently, and in some detail), stressing that this is how we provide a clean
and safe environment for his family, and he appeared to appreciate our position.
We returned the items to the guest's uncle in the plastic bag, asking that the items not be taken back into the
room that night. He replied that they were checking out, as the guests could not sleep without their personal
bedding. Since it is also policy (see attachment 2) not to give any refunds for early departure, we encouraged
them to stay and leave the bedding in the car, but he left stating the family would be checking out that night.
We owners discussed the matter and decided to give the guest a refund for that night when she returned the
key and checked out. We made two attempts to call her to let her know, so she would not simply leave the
key in the room. Though the number worked fine the following day, that evening the answering message
indicated the phone belonged to "****" so we didn't leave any message. Just before going to bed for the
night, we went to the guest's room, thinking the key had probably been left there. They had not vacated the
room, but since we had been told they were leaving, we retrieved our two DVDs. Nothing in the room but the
DVDs was "opened up."
 The guests returned late and used their second night's rent as originally planned; they left the next morning
before the office opened, checking out as usual by leaving the key in the room.
IN CONCLUSION
Our rules and procedures have been developed, among other things, to protect us and our guests from
travelling international germs and insects. In addition, occupancy limits are a matter of law, as well as a
necessity for limiting damage to rooms due to overuse.
Since many establishments do not yet have or enforce rules, the guest could have taken a room elsewhere;
instead, she chose to arrive with a party whose size and needs were not disclosed, to agree verbally and in
writing to our motel's rules, to knowingly break those rules, and then to retaliate against the enforcer of the
rules (something akin to road rage).
The guest was charged for, and received, two nights accommodation for three people at the published rate in
a clean, cozy, and comfortable motel room by Crater Lake National Park. This is what we offer here at Jo's.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you for reopening this complaint and giving me the ability to respond. I do wish to state that I have documentation and witnesses to verify the statements I have made in my complaint.

I made reservations for 2 adults, I took 2 adults and a toddler. I disclosed this at check in. This was a last minute change when my husband couldn’t join us. So the addition of a small child requires another room be opened up and charged for? No, the addition of a disabled adult is the reason they sited me at check-in. The child could share a bed, my nephew must be charged extra.

In my current employment, I travel and stay in many motels, though this trip was a vacation. Assuming all motels have vector controls, never has motel staff removed my personal items from my room without consent. A copy of the note they left for me when they removed my belongings, can be provided. Is this policy being vigilantly enforced to protect customers from contracting infections or infestations that are currently present at the motel?    

Jim V********** & Robin H*** state that I was told about the rules regarding personal bedding in the room.  (again we are talking about my disabled nephews special blanket, toddler pillow and my back/neck pillow.)   This conversation was in the context of extra occupants. I had no intention of bringing undeclared occupants into the room, therefor agreed to their rules. I can provide a copy of the form I was asked to sign. This agreement did not however, allow for personal items to be removed.

As I stated in my complaint, no other accommodations were available in this remote location without advance reservations. I had no other option but to continue my stay at Jo’s, or cut my vacation short and return home. Jim V********** & Robin H*** response, referred to my uncle.  His name is ***** ********, a local business owner, can be contacted at ************.  ***** tells a very different story about his interaction with Jim V**********. ***** found him to be completely unreasonable. ***** returned with my belongings and stated that he was told I would not be refunded any money, whether I stay at the motel or not. Jim V********** was not honest in his statement of offering a refund. Jim V********** was not honest about his statement that ***** said I was checking out early. Jim V********** statement about my check out on 9/6/15, was not entirely true either. I did leave the room early (7 AM) to travel back home, leaving the key on the desk, but I had to wait and go back to the motel after the office opened, to have Jim V********** reopen the room. I had forgotten my nephews’ insulin in the refrigerator. He assisted me in searching for the insulin.  Jim V********** apologized for taking my belongings and stated it was motel rules.  I told Jim V********** & Robin H*** they “should have called me and asked me to remove my items instead of taking them”.  Robin H*** stated I gave her the wrong number. I asked her to call the number on my registration form. She did. My cell phone rang, I held it up in my hand, so they could hear it ring. I can provide a copy of the registration form to verify the information given was correct. I can provide verification of Jo’s motel calling my cell after checkout, as it is registered on my phone.

In regards to room security. There are no security locks on the inside of the rooms. Jim V********** reports he entered my room for the 2nd time stating “They had not vacated the room”, but yet he admits he removed the DVDs.  Knowing he had been in the room, turned on all the lights and opened up everything, as if to leave a message of intimidation, coupled with inability to secure the room, made for a sleepless night.  

I ask as part of the complaint review, please read others customer’s experiences posted on Yelp and Tripadvisor. Many other customers have had similar experiences. Some were intimidated, called at home and harassed; charged extra; and many made notes regarding Jim’s mental instability.  Had I read these prior to my stay, I would never have patronized Jo’s Motel.

I do not ask for a refund, I ask that Jim V********** & Robin H*** business practices be review as I feel they border on criminal intimidation, harassment and threats of their customers; who have given them a substantial amount of personal information, including access to their credit cards. There is an inherent trust that a business will act in an ethical manner and the only accountability consumers have in holding them to that business standard is the BBB. I appreciate your time and consideration in this matter.

Sincerely

******* ************
Sincerely,

******* ************

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you for reopening this complaint and giving me the ability to respond. I do wish to state that I have documentation and witnesses to verify the statements I have made in my complaint.

I made reservations for 2 adults, I took 2 adults and a toddler. I disclosed this at check in. This was a last minute change when my husband couldn’t join us. So the addition of a small child requires another room be opened up and charged for? No, the addition of a disabled adult is the reason they sited me at check-in. The child could share a bed, my nephew must be charged extra.

In my current employment, I travel and stay in many motels, though this trip was a vacation. Assuming all motels have vector controls, never has motel staff removed my personal items from my room without consent. A copy of the note they left for me when they removed my belongings, can be provided. Is this policy being vigilantly enforced to protect customers from contracting infections or infestations that are currently present at the motel?    

Jim V********** & Robin H*** state that I was told about the rules regarding personal bedding in the room.  (again we are talking about my disabled nephews special blanket, toddler pillow and my back/neck pillow.)   This conversation was in the context of extra occupants. I had no intention of bringing undeclared occupants into the room, therefor agreed to their rules. I can provide a copy of the form I was asked to sign. This agreement did not however, allow for personal items to be removed.

As I stated in my complaint, no other accommodations were available in this remote location without advance reservations. I had no other option but to continue my stay at Jo’s, or cut my vacation short and return home. Jim V********** & Robin H*** response, referred to my uncle.  His name is ***** ********, a local business owner, can be contacted at ************.  ***** tells a very different story about his interaction with Jim V**********. ***** found him to be completely unreasonable. ***** returned with my belongings and stated that he was told I would not be refunded any money, whether I stay at the motel or not. Jim V********** was not honest in his statement of offering a refund. Jim V********** was not honest about his statement that ***** said I was checking out early. Jim V********** statement about my check out on 9/6/15, was not entirely true either. I did leave the room early (7 AM) to travel back home, leaving the key on the desk, but I had to wait and go back to the motel after the office opened, to have Jim V********** reopen the room. I had forgotten my nephews’ insulin in the refrigerator. He assisted me in searching for the insulin.  Jim V********** apologized for taking my belongings and stated it was motel rules.  I told Jim V********** & Robin H*** they “should have called me and asked me to remove my items instead of taking them”.  Robin H*** stated I gave her the wrong number. I asked her to call the number on my registration form. She did. My cell phone rang, I held it up in my hand, so they could hear it ring. I can provide a copy of the registration form to verify the information given was correct. I can provide verification of Jo’s motel calling my cell after checkout, as it is registered on my phone.

In regards to room security. There are no security locks on the inside of the rooms. Jim V********** reports he entered my room for the 2nd time stating “They had not vacated the room”, but yet he admits he removed the DVDs.  Knowing he had been in the room, turned on all the lights and opened up everything, as if to leave a message of intimidation, coupled with inability to secure the room, made for a sleepless night.  

I ask as part of the complaint review, please read others customer’s experiences posted on Yelp and Tripadvisor. Many other customers have had similar experiences. Some were intimidated, called at home and harassed; charged extra; and many made notes regarding Jim’s mental instability.  Had I read these prior to my stay, I would never have patronized Jo’s Motel.

I do not ask for a refund, I ask that Jim V********** & Robin H*** business practices be review as I feel they border on criminal intimidation, harassment and threats of their customers; who have given them a substantial amount of personal information, including access to their credit cards. There is an inherent trust that a business will act in an ethical manner and the only accountability consumers have in holding them to that business standard is the BBB. I appreciate your time and consideration in this matter.

Sincerely

******* ************
Sincerely,

******* ************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jo's Motel & Campground
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)