This business is not BBB accredited.

Embassy Suites Seattle - North/Lynnwood

Phone: (425) 775-2500 20610 44th Ave W, Lynnwood, WA 98036 http://www.embassysuiteslynnwood.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Embassy Suites Seattle - North/Lynnwood include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Embassy Suites Seattle - North/Lynnwood
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Business Management
None None, Manager Jan Thompson, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: None None, Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20610 44th Ave W

    Lynnwood, WA 98036 (425) 775-2500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We booked a room to stay there on 03/01/2014. Our friends were in a room above us with their children. We brought our son (age 15). At approx 9:30 PM our son came into our friends room where we were playing board games. He said he had just been stopped by security in the stairwell for running. He also stated that the security guard poked him multiple times in the chest with his radio antenna. Upon hearing that, we left the room with our son to go find the guard to talk to him. As we walked towards stairwell, we looked down into the lobby area and saw 2 guards and 2 staff members (mgrs?) pointing up at us. They then RAN to the stairs and RAN up the stairs where they then stopped us to tell us our son was running. 4 people ran to tell us that. Then they told us that my son swore to the security guard which my son admitted openly that he had due to the guard poking him in the chest and not stopping when asked to stop by my son. The guard admitting doing it and the mgr, the other guard and other staff member standing there couldn't care any less. They instead yelled at us for the way we were raising our son - the mgr even swore at us! At this point, I said we are leaving and we went and grabbed all our stuff and went to the front desk. I asked for a refund (and got denied) and my husband asked the mgr to write everyones names down including the guards and GM. Then he asked to see the guard again to which the mgr refused and actually told us to call the police instead. So we did. The police came out, gave us an incident # and we left. Monday 03/03 I called to speak to the GM. He told me I was just another side to the story. His staff did nothing wrong and that the security guard did not touch my son with the radio. When I told him that the guard ****** ******* did indeed touch my son with the radio antenna and even admitted it to the mgr ****** ****** that night, the GM (**** ************) said to me "You are going to sit there with a straight face and tell me that"? I in turn told him I would go into the hotel, face to face with a straight face to tell him". He asked why we were "even there in the first place", told me that my son should have been in the room and not going to the other room, he was nothing but rude and never once apologized for the mess. He continued to accuse me of lying and making up stories. I am so amazed by all of this. I just wanted our money back since we didn't stay that night. He told me he would not refund the money and that it was 'bad for business' to refund my money. After going back and forth, he said 'Fine I will return your money, but do us a favor and don't ever come back here'. Well we won't, but I am still in shock that all of this has happened because my son ran in the stairwell....which is ironic since all 4 of them ran up the steps to tell us my son ran up the steps. I am so disappointed and am amazed by the lack of disrespect we were shown as guests. They created drama and made what should have been a fun night into a nightmare.

Desired Settlement: Refund. I don't think he will actually refund the money. I also think that somebody needs to really check into the staff here at this hotel as I see other complaints about their customer service and rudeness.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/21) */ As for Ms ******' account of the happenings in the case now oppened with the BBB, the story is bloviated almost beyond recognition. As it happened her son was running in the halls and stairwells. He was asked on more than one occassion to stop running by our management staff. He indignantly responded to each request using foul language, which included *********, directed at our staff and management. He was never poked by a radio. He did, however, run into our security guard as he was running down the stairwell, making contact with the arm he was holiding his radio with. Two of my management team along with our security guard did speak with Ms ****** and a male subject regarding her sons behavior, but never did they use profianity as stated by Ms ******. The male subject came down to the registration desk and demanded a refund for the night and he was refused. He then stated he would call the police and our reponse was that if he felt that to be necessary, he could. He elected to do that and after the police came and spoke to Ms ******, she decided to leave. Ms ****** decided to post a review on ************ regarding her stay. Similar to the BBB posting, it was full of malicious, and potentially slanderous accusations about her experience on March 1. At our request and due to the unfounded and unsubstantiated, malicious and potentially slanderous, statements they quickly removed the posting. Also, after visiting the LPD on Monday morning I found there to be no police report of the incident. The visit was prior to our lengthy conversation Monday morning. Although the content of our conversation was similar to her description here, it is wholly not accurate. We did speak to the nature of the incident, and she did admit she was not with her son when the words were exchanged and the alleged "poking" took place, and yet insisted that it had. She insited that our management team used foul language with her when speaking to her, although I have three people who say differently. I asked her if she expected me to believe that, when I have three people denying it, then could she not believe her son did the same? These guests left early, before staying the night, and for that reason I did tell her she would receive a refund. Under more normal circumstances we would not do that if a guest were to leave on their own or be evicted. Ms ****** promptly hung up on me mid sentence as I was explaining her refund process. Haven't heard from her except for this since. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As for the poking with the radio, his security guard FULLY admitted doing it and admitted it in front of the management staff (The ones that had just RAN up the stairs to tell us my son ran up the stairs), the other security guard, us and our friend when he did so. My son ALSO admitted to swearing after repeatedly asking the security guard to stop poking at him with the radio. NOBODY ever claimed that my son did not swear. So I'm not sure where that is coming from. We also never told him that we filed a police report so I am confused why he would think that we did. And as for the refund, we have yet to see it. My phone call with the general manager took me completely by surprise. Not only did he interrupt me but he never heard my side of the story completely and made it clear that he didnt' want to. He had no interest in listening and was completely rude from the beginning. He never offered any sort of apology and had the nerve to ask me "You are going to sit there and tell me that to my face"? Is that how he runs his business? I have absolutely NO reason to lie about any of this. We were having a great time and had been looking forward to this night. I am floored by the way we were treated that night and how I was talked to and treated on the phone. And as far as ************, there was nothing slanderous or melicious about it. They told me they removed the post only because we ended up not actually staying the night, therefore not wanting a hotel stay report. All I want is a refund since we did not stay after the way we were treated. And now that he has stated he would give us a refund, why hasn't he? My card was charged a few days after our phone call. He could have stopped it from going thru or he could have refunded it by now.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Embassy Suites Seattle - North/Lynnwood
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)