Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Davenport Hotels

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 455-8888 Fax: (509) 624-4455 View Additional Phone Numbers 10 S Post St  The Historic Davenport Hotel, Spokane, WA 99201

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


The historic Davenport Hotel is part of the Davenport Hotel Collection, located downtown,
Spokane, WA.  The 660 room Collection includes the historic Davenport Hotel, Davenport Tower and Hotel Lusso.  All located across the street from each other, the Davenport Hotel Collection offers four award-winning restaurants,  a flower shop, the Davenport Home Store where the exclusive Davenport Bed and Confections are sold, a world class Spa and Salon and 33,000 square feet of  elegant meeting space. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Davenport Hotels meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Davenport Hotels
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 21, 2002 Business started: 07/01/2002 in WA Business started locally: 07/01/2002 Business incorporated 07/01/2002 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
200 Independence Ave SW, Washington DC 20201
Phone Number: (877) 696-6775

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Lynnelle Caudill, Managing Director Ms. Louise Everett, Director of Finance Mr. Matt Jensen, Marketing Director Ms. Karen Worthy, Vice President Mr. Walt Worthy, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lynnelle Caudill, Managing Director
Business Category

Hotels Retreat Facilities Day Spas Banquet Facilities Caterers Florists - Retail Gift Shops Party Facilities Restaurants Bars & Taverns

Alternate Business Names
Davenport Hotel Collection Davenport Sun International Hotels & Properties Hotel Lusso Palm Court Grill Peacock Room Lounge Post Street Ale House Safari Room Fresh Grill and Bar Table 13 The Davenport Grand The Davenport Hotel The Davenport Hotel and Tower The Davenport Tower The Grand Restaurant & Lounge The Historic Davenport Hotel

Additional Locations

  • 10 S Post St
    The Historic Davenport Hotel

    Spokane, WA 99201 (509) 455-8888

  • 111 S Post St
    The Davenport Tower Hotel

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • 333 W Spokane Falls Blvd
    The Davenport Grand

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • 808 W Sprague Ave
    The Davenport Lusso

    Spokane, WA 99201


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted the Davenport Hotel for my wedding on August 10th. I paid in full in advance for the wedding. I had a multitude of issues immediately prior to the wedding and while at the hotel. 2 days prior to the wedding, August 8th, I went to the hotel and did a photo shoot. I paid for drinks for a friend and I in the Peacock room. The total should have been $52 which included a $10 tip. The total shown on my card when the transaction was charged was $57. Someone keyed themselves in an extra $5 tip. The night before the wedding August 9th, I showed up at the hotel late in the evening with 3 other guests and 3 cars. We dropped off 3 baggage carts full of items including chair covers, 3 bottles of ******** wine (2 of which were taken in our luggage to the room and one was in a box with the chair covers), and decorations. The hotel left the bag carts in the valet area and then ultimately stored them in the baggage storage room. The next morning early, I went and requested the carts to be brought up to ballroom that the wedding would be held in. Upon inspecting the carts I noticed that we were short 12 chair covers , missing a large picture frame that was for guests to sign, and 1 bottle of ******** wine. The baggage person went on a search and reported that the picture frame was found in the hall, which tells me someone offloaded the carts and possibly rummaged through our things. Neither the chair covers nor the bottle were ever found. The night of the wedding the venue was near perfect. The food was exceptional and Ashley our coordinator did a fantastic job. I did however have multiple complaints that the bartender had no idea what was going on. She told guests it was her first night bartending and made gin and tonics with sprint and gin. The line was outrageous and people kept walking down to the palm court to get drinks. I don't think a wedding of a 100 plus needs to be hosted by someone with NO EXPERIENCE. That's just poor. Finally, another bartender was sent up to help. After the wedding we went the Peacock Lounge. We were informed that the Peacock Lounge would remain open until 2AM. There were over 30 people in the Peacock room spending money and enjoying their time. Several guests brought the drinks they purchased at wedding to the Peacock Lounge. The waitress told them that they had to wait outside, though they were only steps away from where they originally purchased the drinks in the hotel. The waitress stated that the Peacock Lounge does not allow drinks to be brought in even if they are purchased from within the hotel. Our guests were forced to wait outside in the hallway until they finished their drinks. Then at promptly 1230AM we were asked to leave. No one was rowdy, no one was out of line and we were spending money. I was appalled that we weren't allowed to continue to celebrate though we had been told several times during our visits to the hotel prior to the wedding by our coordinator that the Peacock Lounge would stay open for us. The next morning we had reservations at the Peacock Lounge for breakfast. The breakfast was for approximately 30 guests. Upon arrival we noticed that we had 1 waiter. The poor person struggled to get us drinks within 30 minutes. Our orders had not even been placed. After waiting approximately 45 minutes my husband asked the waiter to get some help. Our food took over an hour to deliver, some of it was cold when it arrived. The entire meal was nearly 2 hours by the time everyone was served and settled their tabs. This is unacceptable for the amount of people and the money that was spent. After we left the Davenport we found out that our credit card had been charged over $500 for someone else's room. We called and there was no explanation. The accountant finally called us and said that someone had their card denied and we were being charged the remainder. No one called us or mentioned anything, in fact if we hadn't caught it we would be responsible for charges that were not ours.

Desired Settlement: The Davenport took time to review the security cameras with me that have spotty footage at best of the bell closet. They have no cameras inside the closet nor do they have any way to explain where the bottle wine of went or the 12 chair covers that were offloaded by myself and my 3 witnesses. When the carts were removed the picture frame was missing and it appeared that several of the chair covers had been unwrapped or moved, but again the camera footage is so bad that you wouldn't be able to clearly determine what was or was not on the carts. I feel the Davenport provided less than satisfactory service and is now refusing to be accountable for the loss of my items. They basically told me 'sorry, have a nice day.' I would like to be reimbursed $150 for the cost of the wine and the 12 chair covers. I have 3 people that witnesssed me drop these items off. I have a receipt for the wine and for the chair covers. After all of the excuses and poor service I feel it is the least they can do. They claim they cannot be responsible for items left with them, then why would anyone leave any baggage or items with the valet? Also, the changing of our receipt was done by someone in the Peacock Lounge showing us that there are untrustworthy employees willing to change receipts and take advantage of unsuspecting customers. The Director of Catering has been completely unhelpful, and takes no responsibility for the terrible service provided by the Peacock Lounge or during the wedding by the bartender. After my experience with the Davenport I would not recommend that others utilize them for a breakfast after a wedding, and that they carefully watch all expenses being charged to their cards. It seems to be policy at the Peacock and the front desk to arbitrarily charge cards without even a courtesy call. I was appalled that we had to make such a huge issue out of the $500 plus in charges before someone said, oh I guess we better charge the right card, and gee I guess we could have called. I asked why the hotel didn't tell the guest at the time that they owed additional money, and there was no explanation, probably because it was easier to charge the card than have to explain what was going on.

Business Response: Dear BBB Representative,

Please note that we did not receive the first notification.  Thank you for your email yesterday, we are happy to provide a reply.
The ******** party were guests of our hotel and they held their wedding event on Sunday, August 10th.  At 10:00 PM on Saturday night, August 9th, they dropped items off with the hotel bellman who secured three bell carts worth of boxes in the bell closet for them.  The party retrieved their items from the bellman in the morning and they were moved to their function room so they could begin setting up for their event.  The party identified that they were missing picture frame(s) that were separate from the boxes delivered.  The bellman retrieved the frames and delivered them as well.
At a later time Ms. ******** shared that she thought they were missing "some seat covers and one bottle of wine." The hotel wedding planning staff asked the hotel security staff to look into this complaint.  After a thorough investigation there was no evidence that any items, other than those delivered to the guest in their function room, were removed from the bell closet during that period of time.  As the wedding party had many people amongst their party helping, who handled these items too, we found it possible that somebody in the wedding party may have moved the items at some point, or they may not have brought in as many chair covers and bottles as they had thought. We found nothing to suggest there was any wrong-doing by hotel staff or other guests of the hotel (public).  There was no evidence that their boxes had been opened either.  We registered these items as lost in our lost & found.
Ms. ******** reported that they left a $10 tip and were charged $15 after having drinks in the lounge.  We did not dispute this and promptly credited back $5.00, with an apology.  Regarding being charged for purchases of another member of their party,  I have found from our accounting department that one of the credit cards presented for payment declined and another one we had on file was charged to cover that non-payment.  Once we were notified that they were not shared charges the charges were moved and another form of payment was presented to us.  There was no dispute.  We apologize for any confusion and were happy that payment was made before they departed, thank you.
Ms. ******** indicated that they were disappointed that the Peacock Room Lounge did not stay open late for them.  Last call is typically at 11:45 PM and the lounge closes at 12:00 midnight.  Our records indicate that we gave last call at 12:30 AM, 45 minutes later than normal, and the staff did in fact stay later to allow them more time past the normal closing time.  After talking to the restaurant staff I believe they were trying to do the right thing for the guests.  They also mentioned that the guests had been drinking for some time and staying open any later may have lead to the over serving of alcohol, which is not something in which we would have been comfortable.
We would like to apologize to Ms. ******** about the delay in breakfast service.  If they in fact waited that long for their breakfast, she is right, that is too long.  We do show we had reservations for a party of (25) which grew to a party of (30), presumed to be their party.  We were not aware this was a concern until we received this letter of complaint and we are looking into this now.  Please accept our apology.
In closing, please communicate that we very much appreciate her compliments as we well as her complaints.  We recognize there are always two side to every story and often both parties feel they are "right."  I would hate for this to be their last impression of "The Davenport" and would like to welcome them back to the hotel for a future stay--on us.  I would like to send a complimentary stay certificate for a night at the hotel in the future. 
******** *******
Managing Director

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The hotel offering a free night is not what I want. They have plenty of bottles of the exact same wine I brought and brought with me when I checked in.  I want the wine replaced and the chair covers.   I have no interest in checking in again and leaving any items unattended.  I think its very poor that hotel is essentially saying I'm lying when they have people changing receipts (which they admitted to), people arbitrarily charging cards at the front desk (for large sums of $500 when they should be charging the guest whose room it was) and couldn't find my picture frame until I had to demand the person look again.  The hotel clearly has some personnel problems yet is trying to buy me off by saying I can just stay another night.  I have no interest in staying another night!  

The security cameras are poorly placed at best, there aren't any where the bags are actually stored, and there are none in the corridors where the employees shuttle the items.  I entrusted the Davenport to take care of my items and they did not do that. Their service in the Peacock room was on par with something we would receive at a Denny's and the amount of complaints my guests made about the inexperienced bar tender during our wedding who made gin and tonics with gin and sprite has been pretty disappointing.  To blame our 2 hour service on 5 extra people is ridiculous. Anyone with any common sense would have said, 'ok, great you have extra people, more money for us, let me get someone to fill in.'  5 extra people did not make the service last 2 hours, poor planning and  coordination on the Davenport's part did.  
For a 4 Diamond hotel, I am appalled at the excuses and lackluster service.  I won't be recommending anyone to the hotel after this experience.  There is no accountability from the hotel in regards to performing to the standard that they claim to be.  


**** A. ********

Business Response:

Dear Representative,


We are in disagreement with Ms. ******** as it relates to the report of missing items. We are treating this situation as a "lost and found" scenario and have ruled out the accusations of theft.  As a matter of good will we offered a guest room at the Davenport Hotel in hopes that she would accept and plan an enjoyable stay in the future.  This offer was declined.


Relating to the other concerns mentioned by Ms. ********, they were corrected.  We had in fact charged her credit card for purchases of another member of her party.  That was reversed once the correct party amongst her group was identified. 


We ask that this matter be closed, thank you.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
It is apparent that spending thousands and treated guest with courtesy is not a priority.  My wedding probably brought the hotel twenty thousand plus dollars between money spent at the spa, the party itself and all the rooms rented.  I dropped off a bunch of items with multiple other guests with me that attested to those items being there, yet the hotel has essentially said I am a liar.  

The service provided by the catering department, the front desk, and the bell hops who stored our things was unacceptable.  Charging my card for rooms and fees not related to me is absolutely unacceptable.  No one had any forethought to call those rooms and tell those guest to change out their cards or better yet present one upon check in. They just arbitrarily charged my card as they were affiliated with my wedding.  Other people need to know that it is possible that you items may be rifled through if left at the bell desk, that the Davenport will take it upon themselves to charge your credit card for other patrons, and that you shouldn't expect a bartender with any experience at your wedding or service for 25 or more at the break fast after your wedding to take any less than 2 hours with one server. The complaints from my guests regarding the catering services group were unacceptable.  I want to emphasize again the wedding planning group was outstanding as was our wedding itself, but the catering, front desk, and bell hops cannot be trusted to make decisions regarding high quality service or not to misplace your items.  


**** ********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Davenport Hotels
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)