This business is not BBB accredited.

America's Best Value Inn

Phone: (253) 589-8800 View Additional Phone Numbers 4215 Sharondale St SW, Lakewood, WA 98499


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for America's Best Value Inn include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on America's Best Value Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 2013 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 11/10/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Amy Bains, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Amy Bains, Member
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Bains Hospitality LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4215 Sharondale St SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 589-8800 (877) 391-1528

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horrible hotel!!!! Got there and no one was at the front desk and door was locked. Another guy was ahead of me waiting.... he called the hotel and a guy showed up a few minutes later to unlock the door and let us in. Anyways, I ordered a non-smoking room. I checked in and got a room that reeked of cigarette smoke. Went to the front desk and told them I wasn't staying the night in that room. He said that was the only room available. I told them I would book a room with another hotel instead then. He then offered me a can of febreze. I told him that wouldn't work. He then said he could refund the room. I accepted the refund. Today my card was charged for that hotel room that was supposedly cancelled. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. You get what you pay for!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want my refund and I want to warn others about this horrible hotel.

8/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally was going to stay 2 nights. I found the motel to be unsafe and decided to leave the next day. There was no security chain on the door and there were patrons that we're having a loud verbal argument next room over. I was still charged for two nights.

Desired Settlement: Refund one night's stay

9/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked the hotel online. When I got to the hotel to check in I was told I needed to leave a $300 deposit on my credit card. It said nothing online about leaving this deposit. I refused to leave my deposit and asked for a refund for what I had paid. The hotel refused, I left anyway and stayed at another hotel. Theread was nothing online about the hotel needing any additional deposit to stay there, I did not stay there I want a refund for what I paid for the room.

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

Business Response: Greetings,

We require a $300 refundable cash deposit or a credit card on file to stay at our property. If these cannot be achieved by a guest we are unable to check the guest in, where you booked online, there is a section that states all of this.

"You need to know Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy.Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed."


Cited from (http://www.*******.com/Tacoma-Hotels-Americas-Best-Value-Inn-Lakewood-South-Tacoma.h699271.Hotel-Information?chkin=09/01/2015&chkout=09/02/2015&rm1=a2&hwrqCacheKey=ebf7511d-3ab3-43c1-a6ef-7424aa178ba8HWRQ1440479035208&c=6bef3c18-e60b-4943-b501-e2d31f15bef3&&price=70&ts=1440479034540)

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I was more than willing to provide a credit card to be kept on file, but was told you were going to charge a deposit of $300 to it. It's says nothing about putting a hold on the credit card. I did not stay at the hotel for the night, refund me my $65

Sincerely,

***** *******

2/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed at this motel and the manager refused to give me a receipt for my hotel stay. I explained that I had to have one because I was traveling on military orders, he refused to give me one. I have contacted the online reservations and they requested that he give me a receipt also, he still refused to give me a receipt for my hotel stay on October 16, 2014 for the amount of $92.00.

Desired Settlement: I want a receipt for my 1 night hotel stay on October 16, 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/26) */ Your receipt has been emailed to you again, if you are having a hard time receiving it via email, i am more than happy to fax it to you? Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) He sent one email which did not include any kind of receipt. He has ignored several other requests from me and has stopped responding to any messages from me. I am a service member and was traveling on official orders. I cannot get any reimbursement for my trip without a receipt for my hotel stay. I have made it clear to him and he still refused to give me a receipt. He is not being truthful, he has made absolutely no attempt to provide me with a receipt for my hotel stay. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/12/11) */ Ok, i do not know what the issue is anymore, I have sent you the recipe numerous times. You can come into our office anytime that is not an issue we are open 24/7, there is nothing i can do more then this. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 22, 2014/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will be in tomorrow to pick up my receipt. I will leave a follow up on BBB after I stop in.

10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There were no smoke detectors in my room,fire extinguishers outside the building were empty. Not a safe area to stay with my family. Questionable activities going on during the night. Used condom in the parking lot that was never cleaned up. Carpets and throw pillows had stains on them. No hotel policies or fire plans posted. Charged my credit card the wrong amount. Was supposed to be $59 per night, charged $89. Stated refunds were at the discretion of the manager then said no refunds. I stayed one night July 30th and checked out the next day because of the fire and health concerns for my family. When I disputed the charges through my credit card company they called him, he called me a liar, screamed no refunds and hung up

Desired Settlement: I was to stay through August 5th and he charged my card for the entire stay and after bringing my concerns to him said he doesn't know how to give refunds from his computer. I never received a receipt or final bill. I would like the entire amount refunded

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ Ms.****, Has accused my business of not following health and safety rules, and providing fake information. First of all i am going to say is that her reservation was a non-refundable reservation, i can provide her a receipt with her signature on it and i can high light that specific detail. Furthermore, due to her fake information, the Pierce County fire department came to inspect my hotel. And i would like her to know that we passed with ease. As i quote she exclaimed to my front desk employee "I do not need the room no more, i have found another place so you can refund the night i do not need". We do not give extended stay guests, such a reduced price. Every guest has our hotel agreement before there eyes, upon signing to agree to our rate and hotel policy. I will without a doubt not refund here, but i want some sort of compensation for the misleading,and false accusations she has put to the name of my Hotel. WE are not number 1 on ************ and have received the Certificate or Excellence 2014 for not being a safe and clean hotel. And to top it all off, it was a funny coincidence to see my smoke detector, and evacuation plan under the mattress in her bed, in the room that she last stayed in. I understand things change, but my hotel and staff cannot be held accountable for a silly mistake a guest has made, like not reading our policy. Sincerely, *** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am confused as to who is responding to my complaint. Please see below of an emailed response from the Corporate Offices from *********** ******* guest relations. Dear Ms.****, I am deeply sorry for the issues you faced during your stay, These were all unacceptable. I have gone ahead and used this complaint as a teaching guide with my entire staff. I can offer you your entire stay back with credit towards our hotel. Again i am very sorry for this problem. Sincerely, ***** ***** **** ******** I declined the offer as the only resolution is a refund.The conditions for this facility are less than subpar and their business practices border on the criminal in my opinion. I have 3 witnesses to co-oberate my concerns regarding the health&safety issues and the fire code violations we witnessed.One of which is a police officer with the Town of Burlington Wisconsin and another who is a career firefighter with the United States Air Force.I had every intention of staying at this facility for the duration of my stay until the safety&health of my family and the lack of concern by the staff caused me to inform them that I was checking out less than 24 hours after checking in. Your website and Facebook pages depicts a completely different view of this facility which I believe are false and misleading. At no time were we told that this was a non refundable reservation. There is nothing regarding non-refundable in your cancellation policy. The only thing I signed was to hold the card and charge it at the end of our stay. I was not told my card would be charged the full amount immediately. At no time were we given a hotel policy nor told of one, which your response implys.No hotel policys in the room.Are your calls recorded? If so,I request a copy of the phone call in which your staff stated non-refundable. The only piece of paper I was shown was that refunds were at the discretion of the manager. At no time did I inform the staff that I had found another place to stay as I stated earlier our intention was to stay until my concerns for my family's safety came first.I would like the copy of the hotel policy in which you state I signed.Never was there any "fake" information given to any of the agency's I have reported this facility too. The price I was quoted was $59 per night with the military discount.I was told by your staff that I would be charged $89 per night were I to leave.I am a 5'4" individual with no mechanical abilities. To say that I removed the fire detector that was supposed to be in my room required by law and place it under the mattress is ludicrous.Even if I were to stand on the bed I could not reach it. To say I removed the evacuation plan, lifted a heavy queen size mattress and placed that under it as well is laughable. Aren't evacuation plans supposed to be bolted to the back of every exit door in a room? I do not walk around with a tool belt removing things.So YOU are admitting that there was no smoke detector nor an evacuation plan in case of fire in my room. Your staff exclaimed to me that you didn't need to have smoke detectors in the rooms because it was a non smoking room.Under no circumstances would I ever remove any fire or safety devices including evacuation plans given my children's chosen professions. That you could come up with such a slanderous lie is criminal. You failed to address the fire extinguisher that was empty on the outside of your building, behind a glass enclosure in your response.You failed to address the conditions of your continental breakfast area and your food containers in your response. You failed to address the stained and dirty carpet in your response. You failed to address the stained and dirty throw pillows that were on the bed pillows in your response. You failed to address the broken and falling off bathroom door handle in your response.You failed to address the used condom in your parking lot that was never cleaned up and outside from early morning.You failed to address your questionable "guests" who were staying at your facility in your response.In your response you state you passed *** fire inspection from the Pierce County Fire Department with "ease".I would like to be provided a copy of that report. You said your manager is *** *****. I would like to be provided her direct phone number so that I may speak with her directly regarding the emailed response I received from her vs. this response I got from her to the BBB.A professional business would have handled this in a professional manner as I personally tried to resolve this with the staff at this facility.I am strongly considering your response to the BBB. Your vicious accusations and lies about my character are slanderous and if this continues I will pursue other measures to stop it. I am requesting copies of all receipts with my signature on them and am requesting a refund of all monies charged to my credit card excluding the one night stay 07/30/14 in the amount of $59.00 You quoted yourself in this response as saying you are NOT #1 on **** ******* and you received the Certificate or Excellence 2014 for NOT being a safe and clean hotel.I agree with these statements quoted by you in your response. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/09/09) */ Please check my respond with the Attorney General at Bellingham. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/09/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am glad that I finally was shown a receipt, from the attorney general of washington signed by a ***** *****, of which I still have not received. Who again at the very beginning of this offered me a full refund in hotel credit which I declined as the only resolution for this is to be refunded the amount I was charged to my credit card. The note to the Attorney general was signed by ***** ***** who i was told is the manager but yet the note stated he is not the manager and there will be no refund. I was never shown this receipt nor was I given this receipt. Just a signature was all I provided, again, I was not told it was a no refund policy. I have to wonder if the documents provided to the attorney general were somehow altered in anyway. It is also poor business practice to delete reviews on trip advisor. Regardless it has become apparent that this establishment will not cooperate in any way regarding the condition of their hotel, questionable guests and fire hazards. Their business practices are deceitful. I will continue to write poor reviews of this hotel whenever possible and continue to tell everyone I know not to stay at Americas Best Value Inn. My only solace in this is word of mouth spreads like wild fire and that all that I have done to pursue a resolution is a matter of public record. I truly believe that the management of this facility are greedy, untruthful and poor poor in business relations and practices.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 16, 2014 I checked into the America's Best Value Inn with my 11 year old daughter. I believe it was around 630 pm. We were given room 117. The room appeared run down, with patched holes in the bathroom door. I couldn't get the TV to work. I then tried to call the front desk, and the phone didn't work. I walked to the front desk and let the desk clerk know that the TV and phone didn't work. He said he'd be there in a few minutes to help me get the TV working. Back in the room, I was able to get the TV working. I went back to the desk and let him know. My daughter went to shower, and discovered that we had no towels. I went back to the front desk and got some. I wasn't real happy, but figured we'd be going to bed early and leaving by 530 am on Saturday and would make do with what we had. About 45 minutes after we'd gone to bed, my daughter told me something was poking her in the bed, and it felt like a wire. I turned on the light and she tried to pull the wire out, stating that she thought it looked like a staple. She had no visible injury on her hand where she was poked. I couldn't get it to pull through the bottom sheet, so I pulled up the sheet and found a hypodermic syringe under the sheet. I quickly grabbed it, asked my daughter to wait in the room and went to the front desk, set the syringe on the desk. I demanded a refund, saying I wasn't paying for a room with needles in the bed. The clerk responded slowly, saying he would of course refund my money. I then told him I wasn't checking out of the room yet, because I needed to call 911 to see what procedure I should follow. I went back to the room and my daughter had packed us up. I called my husband, who confirmed I should call 911. We then went out to my car. The desk clerk was right out the door, checking to see if we were ok. I told him that I wasn't staying there, but I wasn't checking out because I was calling 911, and that he wasn't to go in the room. I called 911 from my car, and reported that my daughter may have been poked by a dirty syringe while in a bed at a motel. While on the phone with dispatch and EMS trying to figure out what I should do, the desk clerk and another man approached my car. They stopped on my daughter's side of the car. The second man started screaming at us in the car. I reported this to dispatch, and he promptly dispatched police officers to the motel. The men left prior to the police arriving. EMS came and cleaned up my daughter, while speaking with an ER doctor about protocols to follow. We did notice 3 blood spots on my daughter's sheets. I'm not sure if they came from her or if they were already on the sheets. At the same time, the police officers were dealing with the two gentlemen, one of whom was screaming outside the room that people that stay at the hotel are crack users and the police should check me for track marks, since it was probably my needle that was in the bed. The police didn't agree with the man. I offered to be searched and to give blood to make sure I didn't have drugs in my system. EMS told me that the ER doctor recommended going to the ER for protocols. We went to *** *****'s in Lakewood. As a result of this, my daughter spent several hours in the ER (waiting for protocols). Is now having blood work drawn regularly to make sure she didn't get exposed to any infections. We now have medical bills, additional hotel costs and lawyer's fees to pay. The management at the hotel did not refund any monies.

Desired Settlement: I am looking to get reimbursements for monies spent and pending costs: 1. The cost of the room at America's Best $ 67.80 2. The cost of the room at the *** **** $147.92 3. Copay at the ER $100.00 4. Copay at the Doctor Office $ 20.00 5. Lawyer costs. 6. Legal contract to cover all future medical bills, whether it's for testing to prove she did not contract any illnesses, or the cost of treatment, if she did contract any illnesses. It will take at least 6 months to confirm outcome. 7. Any pending charges from emergency care, emergency room, doctors and lab work that has been completed, but not yet invoiced. 8. An admission of fault by the motel. They apparently were aware of illegal use of narcotics in their facility.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/17) */ We deeply regret for any inconvenience caused to the guest.As part of our outstanding customer care service we are regarded as one of the best hotel in Lakewood area and we try our best to look after guest comfort and safety during their stay in our hotel.We have one of the best housekeeping team in hospitality industry and we strictly follow OSHA requirements to clean rooms.Our housekeeping supervisor check each room, bed,bedsheets,bedspreads before and after it's being clean to make sure guest may have very safe stay with us and without any undesirable incident.We are in hotel business for several years and we never have had any major safety issues or complaint till now. It may be mentioned here that in the year 2014 we have been awarded the "CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE" by "TripAdvisor" one of the major booking engine.Once again we regret not meeting guest expectations however we gladly will accept any suggestion for the future improvement of our service.As part of our goodwill and gesture we like to offer guest with a free night during off peak days. Thank you very much for your kind assistance in this matter. Sincerely, Americas Best Value Inn, Lakewood,WA-XXXXX

1/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I phoned the hotel 12/5/13 at 10:45 local time. The manager answered the phone (a female with a strong foreign accent answered the phone and told me she was the manager, but I was unable to get her name because she hung up on me before I could do so). I explained there was a charge on our checking account on 12/3/13 for $69.27 and that we would have never made that reservation because we were all in Utah (and still are) at the time. She checked her files and stated someone had made the reservation with our name and credit card, was a no show, and that is why we were charged. She talked incessantly and I was barely ever able to get my concerns voiced. She continually talked over me. She refused to refund the charge. As I kept trying to tell her we never would have even made a reservation in Washington because we were in Utah, she continued to talk over me. I made my voice much louder (I did not scream)and simply said "Ma'am?" so she would stop her incessant talking and actually listen to me. She stopped talking, I thought to listen to me, but as I began talking in a normal voice she hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the $69.27 refunded to our account because we simply never would have made the reservation in the first place.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/01/08) */ The reservation was made on hotel's gds system and we don't have direct access to that, they must call America's best value inn franchise as they handle that. Thank You ***********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on America's Best Value Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)