Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Soundbuilt Northwest LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 848-0820 Fax: (253) 539-3607 View Additional Phone Numbers 12815 Canyon Rd E Ste M, Puyallup, WA 98373 http://www.soundbuilthomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home building services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Soundbuilt Northwest LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Soundbuilt Northwest LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Soundbuilt Northwest LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2010 Business started: 02/01/2009 in WA Business started locally: 02/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary Racca, Member Ms. Jeannie Dougherty, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jeannie Dougherty, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Gary Racca, Member
Business Category

Home Builders Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Soundbuilt Homes

Additional Locations

  • 12815 Canyon Rd E Ste M

    Puyallup, WA 98373

  • PO Box 73790

    Puyallup, WA 98373 (253) 200-2127 (253) 848-0820

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a home from Soundbuilt homes. The landscaper who was hired to landscape my yard by Soundbuilt homes before I moved in designed my lawn with a section of grass that clearly was designed to have a sprinkler head on my lawn. The sprinkler head was attached to my neighbor's sprinkler system and was directed at his lawn. After reporting this to Soundbuilt homes they state that the sprinkler is infact on my neighbors property even though it is attached to my lawn and was clearly designed to water my lawn. The refuse to repair this defect in landscaping. So hI have aproximately 15 square feet of lawn that they claim is on my neighbors property that I am now supposed to maintain and my lawn is not receiving water to this area.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a sprinlker head placed on my property where it was clearly designed to fit, and I would like all of the grass that they now claim is not on my property attached to my neighbors yard rather than to mine.

Business Response:

Response from Soundbuilt Homes to ****** ******** Complaint

Complaint ID # ********

Please refer to the attached pictures.  In one of the picture there is a white stake that marks the property pin.  The ********** property is on the right side of this stake and his neighbors is on the left.  In the same picture we have used a screw driver to mark the sprinkler head in question.  ****** ******** was requesting this sprinkler to be moved to his home.  Since the sprinkler was not on the ******** property ,  Soundbuilt has worked with the neighbor , who owns the property and have redone the landscaping to clearly show the property line.  This work is completed and shown in the second picture.   Soundbuilt will not add or change the sprinkler system that was purchased by the ********** with their home that closed in 8/2014

Thank You

Jeannie D********

Customer Service Manager

11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm sure the reviews on Yelp, and others online have already made it clear that people are unsatisfied with SoundBuilts' work. But let me give you my reasons. First, as someone who is supposed to be OUR voice, the buyer, and the liaison between me and the builders, in terms of making sure we are happy and that everything is taken care of you, their customer service rep ****** is absolutely abysmal. If there could be a lower customer service rating than far below average, she would be even lover than that. I can't begin to tell you how frustrated my wife and I have been with her in terms of her response. Heck, we don't even GET responses from her unless we get fed up and have to make a call. Case in point? I've sent her images of all the things wrong with the house, even taken the time to send pictures for proof to go with it, and I've heard nothing. Not a "we'll get on that," or even a simple, "got your email." No, she's as silent as a deserts night. And the company? I don't know who's worse, to tell you the truth. The shabby craftsmanship just blows my MIND. We have nails sticking out of the carpet every which way. I can't trust my baby to crawl around the house, in fear of something stabbing him. That should be the LAST thing on your mind when you move into a new house, your child getting picked by hundreds of nails! In addition to that, how long must we live without proper ventilation from the microwave out the house? Drawls without covers or stops. KEYS to the mailbox that were promised to us (we STILL can't get our mail!). And to top it of, their crack team of builders also never called the cable and Internet company to lay the wiring under the house for us to receive cable and Internet. Something that should have been done WHILE the house was being built. So now WE have to call and get it done. And WE have to wait over a month for the service to be completed. And WE have to be the one to live in an unfinished, no ventilation, no drawers and no internet house. But again, I'm sure this is nothing new to those guys. If it wasn't, I'm sure the response from them would be much sooner. But since it's an everyday thing, it's easiest, I assume, to brush it to the side as "just another complaint."

Desired Settlement: Finish everything you promised you would. And be a preputsble business.

Business Response:

Soundbuilt's policy prior to closing is to schedule with the new buyers a new home orientation, with our customer service tech.  This is a walk through of the entire house, in which our tech points out and discuss the items home owners need to know and gives the buyers an opportunity to note any defects that they would like to have fixed.  When Soundbuilt completes the items the buyers and our tech meet again at the house to go over the items and the buyer signs off indicating that the items are completed.  The ***** orientation was on Sept. 24, 2015 and sign off was Sept. 29, 2015.  I have enclosed a copy of this document. At the sign off it was noted that the window screens had not been install and the kitchen cabinet door and drawer was not completed.  The buyer was informed that for him to close on time Sept 30, 2015 we would have him sign that those two items were still in process.  The cabinet and drawer are custom made so they needed to be rebuilt.  This was delivered and installed Oct. 15, 2015 and the screens were installed Oct. 21, 2015.  Since that time Mr. *** has sent in an additional list of items he wanted repaired.  Our customer service tech was scheduled on Oct. 23, 2015 and completed all the additional items except the light fixture in the entry way.  The fixture had to be ordered.  I called and spoke to ******** on Oct. 23, 2015 to let her know that the fixture was on order and that upon arrival our electrician would schedule a time to install it.  At this time that is the only item that has been requested by Mr. *** that Soundbuilt has not completed.

The home Mr. *** purchased was cable ready.  As a curtsey to the cable carrier Soundbuilt runs a conduit between the house and the street for the cable company to run their wires though.  During the home orientation this conduit was shown and explained to the buyer.

 

I am sorry that Soundbuilt did not meet Mr. ***** expectations in the time he felt appropriate  however Soundbuilt has responded to all his requests.  As stated earlier Soundbuilt will replace the entry way light fixture as soon as possible.

 

 

 


10/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My house was built by Sound Built homes. The roof was not built to code to allow for proper venting. I discovered this problem and contacted the home warranty company that carried the warranty. They said Craftsmanship was not covered. When I contacted Sound Built Homes directly they refused to accept any responsibility for this oversight. After repeated attempts I contacted the State Attorney General who thought I had a vaild complaint. Sound Built Homes simply ignored the complaint from the AG's office. I am now contacting you to hopefully help me make this issue right.

Desired Settlement: I have since had to get the roof fixed myself at a cost of $4000 as I could not delay having a working roof at this time of the year. I would like Sound Built Home to reimburse me for my loss.

Business Response:

The following is Soundbuilt Homes' response to Mr. ********* complaint ******** submitted 10/9/15.

Soundbuilt Homes built the home in questions to building codes in 2005 and passed all municipality inspections to receive the certificate of occupancy.

Mr. ******* did not buy the home new from Soundbuilt Homes.  He is the third owner of a ten+ year old home.

There is no Purchase and Sales Agreement or contract between Mr. ******* and Soundbuilt Homes.

All warranty given to the original buyers of the home has expired.

In response to  Mr. ********* allegations that Soundbuilt Homes did not answer his complaint to the Attorney General's office I have attached a letter from the Attorney General confirming receiving our response and that they have closed the file.

I have also included a copy of our response to the Attorney General's Office and a letter from Robe** ******* Chief Building Official, City of Covington.

Roof care and repairs are considered a homeowner responsibility and Soundbuilt will take no further action regarding this issue.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: this is a code issue I recognize that Sound built homes is going to refuse any responsibility for improper building of the house to meet code so I simply want others to know who may be considering the purchase of a home from this company that they do not follow building code in all aspects of their building of homes nor do they stand behind their product. 

Two different roofing companies told me the cause of my failed roof was due to the builder not installing proper venting. It is not due to age or lack of maintenance. It is due to improper building. Nobody else but the builder can be held responsible for poor building practice.

Sincerely,

*********** *******

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Discovered after 10+ years insulation above bedroom was never installed. Have tried to contact them directly to resolve problem but got, "Good Afternoon ******, The closing date of your home was 12/30/2002. The warranty included in your purchase and sales agreement has expired. Soundbuilt passed all the municipality inspections at the time of build including insulation. Soundbuilt will not take any action regarding this issue. Thank You ******* ********* Customer Care XXX-XXX-XXXX email *******@soundbuilthomes.com

Desired Settlement: Install insulation which I paid for and, supposedly, passed inspection for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/23) */ This home closed on December 30, 2002. Prior to closing Soundbuilt obtained a certificate of final ocupancy from Pierce County that all inspections had been satisfied and passed. A warranty was included in the purchase and sales agreement. This warranty included a one year workmanship, two year systems and ten year structural warranty. At the end of the first year Soundbuilt responded to the home owners request for the items he requested repairs on covered under the warranty. This warranty expired 12/2012. The State of Washington RCW's regarding claims for construction defect states that " In contract actions the applicable contract statue of limitations expire, regardless of discovery, six years after substantial completion of construction" Since the State of Washington statue of limitations expired in 12/2008 and all warranty included in the purchase and sales agreement expired 12/2012, Soundbuilt is not responsible for any repairs to this home. Soundbuilt will take no action regarding this issue. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 21, 2014/01/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Soundbuilt has resolved this matter. Final Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/01/20) */ On Friday January 17,2014 Soundbuilt had our subcontractor ******************** blow in insulation to the small area in this home's attic over the master bedroom. Therefore we have satified this complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Soundbuilt Northwest LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)