Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Reality Homes Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 926-6822 Fax: (253) 926-8515 View Additional Phone Numbers 1308 Alexander Ave E Ste B, Fife, WA 98424 http://www.realityhomesinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company builds single family homes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Reality Homes Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Reality Homes Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Reality Homes Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 2002 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 01/01/2002 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Eppright, General Manager Mr. Thomas Fancher, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Eppright, General Manager
Business Category

Home Builders Contractors - General


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Reality Homes Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1202 Alder St

    Centralia, WA 98531 (360) 330-9299

  • 1308 Alexander Ave E Ste B

    Fife, WA 98424 (253) 926-6822 (888) 782-8300 (253) 926-6330

  • 1905 Belmont Loop

    Woodland, WA 98674 (360) 225-8524

  • 219 Cascade Pl

    Burlington, WA 98233 (360) 757-1113

  • 2200 Country Club Rd

    Woodburn, OR 97071 (503) 981-6200

  • 261043 Highway 101 STE D

    Sequim, WA 98382 (360) 582-1502

  • 264 Melton Rd

    Creswell, OR 97426 (541) 895-3126

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with Reality Homes to build a home. My foundation was poured two weeks ago and was not poured correctly. I had requested to have a section of stem wall be raised to 4ft and the foundation was not only poured only to 2ft but even has a section that is only 1ft tall and not to code. After bringing up the issue to my project manager I was informed that there was double the concrete poured on my foundation and I would have to pay for the extra cost. I had previously paid for an additional 6 yards of concrete for increased footing width but am now being told they poured an extra 16 yards. While my lot is not flat, it does not make sense that an extra 10 yards of concrete were used to complete the foundation when a standard foundation uses a total of 16 yards. At this point, Reality refuses to move forward with the project until I pay for the supposed extra concrete they used up to this point. This does not include the 4ft stem wall I had originally requested.

Desired Settlement: I would like an accurate number of yards used to pour my foundation. I would like for Reality to admit,in writing, that they made an error in pouring the foundation to only 2ft (1ft in one section) when it should have been poured to 4ft. I should only be responsible for paying for what was used on my foundation. I don't feel I should pay for engineering fees to increase the stem wall height due to a mistake Reality made in pouring the original foundation. I would like to continue work on my project to finish the home build. Any additional costs should be discussed with me and agreed upon before being completed. Either that or refunding all of the money I have paid for work that hasn't been completed to end my contract and find a reputable builder who will complete my home build. This includes all fees I have paid. I should not pay for any additional work and costs without prior agreement. Two weeks to communicate and have no resolution is not acceptable!

Business Response:

Our construction manager has been in contact and will continue to work on this matter with you. We also welcome a visit by the inspector to 

discuss the code aspect of the foundation and may actually set up a meeting with him to assist in clarifying the situation. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have been attempting to work with my project manager, the construction manager and their supervisor for two weeks and continue to make no progress. There is no explanation for the extra cost of concrete and No one is willing to admit that Reality did not pour the concrete as agreed upon and did not discuss changes to my foundation before pouring the foundation. The extra charges to my foundation are extremely excessive and there is no explanation for why I am being charged for double the cost of the foundation. 

Sincerely,

**** **********

Business Response: I apologize, I will have Ryan R contact you today. 

9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reality Homes built our home. Completion date was March, 2015. We have had troubles with the HVAC system all through the construction phase of the home building. At the final walk through, before the move in, we were told all things needing repair, including the HVAC system, would have to be completed by turning in a warranty paper. On July 17, 2015 the HVAC air conditioning was freezing solid and wouldn’t operate. We contacted Reality Homes immediately. We were met with numerous unreturned phone calls and unanswered emails. The HVAC company Reality Homes subcontracted to do our home, ********** ******** contacted us with belligerent text messages and threatening phone calls. Reality Homes tried to negate our warranty by saying we had tampered with the system. The air conditioning was repaired after three separate visits from the HVAC company and one visit from Reality Homes, on August 4, 2015. On Sept. 15, 2015, the HVAC heating did not work when turned on for the first time. Again, we are faced with numerous unreturned phone calls and emails from Reality Homes. Again, Reality Homes is trying to negate our warranty by saying we have tampered with the system. Today, Sept. 22, 2015, we have still been told nothing except they are looking into it. This is not the only problem we have had, and are having, with Reality Homes.

Desired Settlement: We want the HVAC system repaired, on warranty, not at our cost. We would like better customer service. Every time we contact Reality Homes we get ignored, put off, and are given every excuse imaginable that repairs are not their liability.

Business Response: We are sorry that they are having issues. We have told the ******* that the furnace was tampered with. Our HVAC company had been out there and corrected the issues several 
week back. Another visit was followed up on with the ******* last week after they called. Our HVAC company returned to look at the unit and determined that the controls had been tampered with. 

It bears noting that this HVAC gains nothing by mentioning this. They are paid for the work done on the home by our company. 

We will arrange for the HVAC and a manager from our company to visit the home and explain and show why they clearly can tell the controls have been tampered with. 
We will clearly outline the options available to them at that meeting as well. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

See attached document that lays out the problems we have had with this system since Day One of it being installed during the construction phase.

Reality Homes is not trying to resolve the complaint, they are only pointing fingers to get out from under further repairs of the system. We have not tampered with any controls. This is the second time they have falsely accused us of tampering with controls of the system. 

********** ******* did not visit the house September 18 as Reality Homes claims. ********** ******* only drove through the gate and backed out, never exiting vehicle.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response: Then allow a visit to see the unit and investigate. We cannot fix the unit if covered by warranty without looking at it. 
A visit is needed with the ******, the HVAC company and our manager. Please let us know when this can be done. 
At that visit, we will clearly explain what is happening. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

********** ******* has proven time and again, since November
2014, that they can not properly fix the HVAC system. The heater was still not
fixed in February 2015, at the end of construction.

We have again asked Reality Homes to specifically fix the
heater since September 15, 2015. After numerous phone calls and emails to them,
they tell us it is not their responsibility as we have tampered with unsaid
controls. Nobody will tell us what controls; just falsely accuse us of
tampering with the system. This is the second time Reality Homes has accused us
of tampering with the system. The first time we were falsely accused. Now they
are accusing us again.

We have asked for a second opinion on the HVAC system repair.
We have asked to not have ********** ******* come to our property after
numerous threatening phone calls and texts over the course of construction and
in July and August of 2015. Reality Homes has denied all such requests.

Reality Homes sent ********** ******* to our house on
September 18. ********** ******* did nothing but drive into our driveway and
leave. Reality Homes replied to our question of why that happened by saying
********** ******* was not coming out that day. Reality Homes would not answer
us as to when the system was going to be fixed.

It is only through this complaint that we have heard further
from Reality Homes.

We have already had at least two meetings with a Reality Homes manager
and ********** *******, together at the house, over the HVAC system repairs.
The system is still not repaired. We do not need another meeting to accuse us
of tampering with unsaid controls of the system. Nobody has touched anything in
the entire system except ********** *******. We need the system fixed properly.
We do not need a meeting to lay false blame on the homeowners while Reality
Homes and ********** ******* attempt to get out from under their
responsibilities of assuring a properly installed and operating HVAC system in
the house.



Sincerely,

****** *****

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: •1/2 received an increased in costs over $8k, nothing was said prior to closing on the property. We used all of our contingency before we even started •4/29 e-mailed to ask if there were any issues with the layout or the 3ft cut and they had none •5/7 met at our property after the excavation and stake out. He had no concerns and the stake out was a rough estimate so we only put a stake for each corner. He said there was no need for him to stake it out that ours was good enough and to get the placement of the house and that the concrete guys will move it around a little as needed •5/21 met the new PM after the other quit. Asked again about the 3ft cut and said there were no issues and no need to stake it out himself as he said that our stake out was good enough. 5/27 foundation was ordered, 6/16 the concrete contractors set-up the forms •6/19 County inspector failed. 1st was a code issue. 2nd was Issue with 3’ vertical cut at interior portion of footing less than 1’ from cut • 6/23 asked me to take a pictures as he didn’t want to drive down. They said this needed to be sent to their Engineer for a solution •7/7 I received a bill for $3,187.92 •Met with the County Inspector to find out the issue was the front door. Reality sent 3 of the 8 pictures I took originally and sent those to the Engineer. The Engineer didn’t make a site visit or have pictures with anyway to scale the ground. The Engineer said the cut was 2-3ft but it was actually 9 inches. The Engineer could have done a site visit to correctly do his job •The actual issue was that the foundation forms for the front door, that we didn’t stake out was too close to the 3ft cut. He said this is a basic code requirement which the contractor should have never installed the forms this close to the cut. We told Keith and he sent the “new problem” to the Engineer again •7/17 it was cheaper to move the forms. 7/20 received the bill for $3,231, the contractor was scheduled 7/29 to remove the forms but never showed up.

Desired Settlement: This should have never got to this point. We would like to be reimbursed for the Change Order that we had to pay because their contractors put in the forms knowing they would fail inspection and a clear violation of building code. We would like reimbursed for all the equipment rental that we weren’t able to use. We would like our 180 day build guarantee to start on 6/22, which is when we should have been scheduled for concrete, had the contractors properly installed the forms per building code. They have cost us thousands of dollars, time out of our lives, wasting the little vacation days we have, and now we will have to go to our bank to see what we have to do to get our contract/loan extended because we won’t make the year mark with all the delays. As of 8/21 we still do not have a foundation. They could care less at this point about any time wasted before the foundation is done because it only costs us more not them. We have more detail on this but cut down due to BBB limit.

Business Response: We apologize for the frustration. At times building can create some unknowns. Reality Homes does not do the excavation, nor are we professionals in site work. Our project managers simply stake out the 
corners of the home and the Home owners site person cares for the excavation. Then forms are set. 

I can assure you, we would not set forms knowing they would violate code. The forms were acceptable, but the inspector required some additional footings as a result of the site persons dig out. 
We actually encouraged that the forms were left as we felt the cost for additional concrete would be less that the expense to remove the forms and excavate and re-install. This was their request 
not a code requirement.

We certainly apologize for the delay as well. Unfortunately trades are very busy industry wide. We do our best to schedule and anticipate their arrival. At this point the foundation has been poured. 
Once the site is backfilled we look forward to framing the home. 

I know everyone will not always agree, but we have gone out of our way to assist the customer. The foundation company wanted to charge for the forms being on site so long (charging is common 
since they cannot use the forms on other jobs to make money). We urged them not to charge, which because of our relationship, they did not, saving the customer an added expense. 

At this point we will not pay for the form removal, again, we recommended that they actually not do this and simply move forward at the time. 

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reality homes has been working on my house build for since 2-15-2014 and are still not complete with the home. Contract states that home build should be approximately 150 days. They are almost one year beyond that to date and still do not communicate or complete there work as the say they will. The cost to myself to carry this 2 home burden has been very difficult and due to our age of 76 y.o. has been to stressful and adds to our current health issues. They have repeatedly and consistently denied to build this home as per contract and build quality and when they cannot get out of doing things correctly they take forever to correct and move forward with there obligations. They are supposed to have supervision and do there own quality control but they do neither. leaving the burden on myself and my wife and then treat us poorly for telling them the condition is un acceptable. Then they say that there employees no longer work there and that they will get somebody else going on it. But nothing happens. We understand and had a little contingency funding for what would be understandable cost concerns but this home has been paid in full for over one year we have been carrying temp power water and construction obligations for the home being built as well as paying for temporary housing and all cost associated with that. So How do we make them get this done and how do we justify the cost we are absorbing to cover their determination to not complete or fulfill there contractual obligation.

Desired Settlement: 1. Get this done and done correctly. 2. share cost overruns that are associated with unwarranted delay time to build home.

Business Response: We are eager to complete everything. We spoke to Mr. ***** and made a list. To our knowledge everything on the list has been completed. 
Mr. ***** would not sign a formal punch list, making it difficult to detail what is agreed to be fixed. Again, at this point we verified everything is complete. 
If anything on the list was not completed, we would like to see the list emailed with any times not complete. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the response given is not true and the work they are saying is complete is not complete there is still raw taping compound and no texture and other items that have not been addressed. I have made phone calls and my son has e-mails and nobody has called back. They keep referring this as to punch list walk thru that needs to be signed. The work addressed on the list is  a list to complete home per contract specifications and quality as outlined in contract. The people that walked thru apparently no longer work for reality. The people that took over have no idea of what is done or not because as usual they do not supervise and or come out to the home to know what is or is not done. As stated in the original complaint this home is 1 year past its original completion date!! This has cost me 1 year of additional housing power water etc. to fund this build time. When the home is complete which means that they have completed there contract then we will have a final walkthrough and address any issues that remain. The burden on defining proper or improper work has fallen on our shoulders consistently thru out the duration of this project. Because reality does not do quality control they do not supervise there subs and they deny anything that needs to be done first, to burn up time and eventually admit they are wrong and attempt to repair. This home has sat for months with little to no progress or even regress depending on the severity of repairs and or rework. You can verify a lot this thru the local building department as well as review all personal e-mails if needed.  

Sincerely,

****** * **** *****

Business Response: We wish we could satisfy the ***** family and they could enjoy their home. I do not see this happening and at this point we encourage them to take advantage of their 2-10 warranty and the provision for 
disagreements. We spoke to Mr. ***** and asked for a final list so we could complete his home. He gave us that and we completed those, even though they were beyond our agreement. Each time we complete items he finds new
issues stating that his home is not complete as long as he finds issues. So again, at this his home is complete and now needs to be handled as a warranty claim. He can contact our construction department to receive the form 
(they are at ************* or email ***********@realityhomesinc.com. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The statement made is inaccurate Reality homes has not fulfilled its contractual obligation on this home... They refuse to comply with the specifications outlined by the contract hence the work is either deficient, incomplete , or damage done by their subs or other trades working on this home. secondly this home does not have a final by the building department. the punchlist walk-thru on this does not even happen until the home has passed inspection and substantial completion is agreed upon.The implied warranty does not apply to the current condition per the contract until the home final has been complete and the home has met the standards for quality control set forth in the contract. This is just another stall tactic or a way of passing the contractual obligations onto the client and this is unacceptable to us.  
If what they are saying is true then have them attach a copy of the signed contract that shows how they arrived at their conclusion.
Sincerely,

****** * **** *****

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am also sending a 17 page letter to Reality detailing the many issues we experienced with them while our home was being built. I can't even begin to describe how awful our experience was. We had so many problems from beginning to end. This won't even scratch the surface but here are some of the issues we had: no communication/big miscommunications, lack of follow through on commitments, constant scheduling issues, contractors not showing up in their window of time to work, contractors not finishing their jobs, project managers/schedulers switching mid project, pm not catching things that they should, constantly feeling like Reality didn't have a clue about what was going on with our home as our pm only showed up for a few minutes once a week and our schedulers didn't seem to know when work had or hadn't been done, Reality hiding important things from us, big delays costing us extra months of rent and mortgage payments, 6 months after construction to finish our punch list, a feeling of neglect, unimportance, and being forgotten as customers through the majority of the process, and so much more. During a period of time that Reality halted construction due to water in the crawl space, the rough electrical was in and no precautions were taken to try to secure the house. The house sat for 2 months with nothing happening and during that time burglars stole $5,000 worth of electrical. Reality said it wasn't their deal and we had to run a claim through our insurance. Whoever ordered the cabinets did not order the kitchen island and ordered the wrong size cabinet for one of our bathrooms causing a big delay. The day countertops were to be installed they didn't show up. We called our scheduler the next day and he said they should have gone in. Turned out they hadn't even measured yet! Another delay. And so many other delays/problems. Footings poured 12/27/13. We moved in 8/31/14. Punch list complete 2/18/15. Unacceptable. I can't even begin to describe it all. That's why our letter to them is 17 pages. Product_Or_Service: Home

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Reality can see the 17 page letter for more details and the reasons we're requesting the following: $1,000 deductible we had to pay insurance, our last 3 months of rent and mortgage payments for the huge delays in construction, and for Reality to pay a painter of our choice to putty the nail holes/caulk our trim as well as touch up/re-paint (there was a HUGE miscommunication/lack of communication regarding this matter). All are financial burdens placed on us that we don't feel were our fault.

Business Response:

We are sorry for the struggles the ******* had.  We never wish this cost and frustration on anyone.  However, the blame should be on the criminals, not on us.  Unfortunately, those with ill intent find a way to access homes at times and while rare it is an industry issue and that is why we encourage our customers to carry insurance.  Also, part of the delay in time came from waiting from the insurance to make payment for the restoration of the damage caused by the criminals.  That time line should be discussed with them and we had no control over that.  As mentioned, we are sympathetic and work hard to support our customers.  If we actually caused an issue we would do what we can to assist in the remedy.  I find that a back and forth on dates and details is typically counterproductive.  I would welcome the ******* to visit our corporate office and review the detailed notes of construction and timelines.  I think they would see that we did not delay the process.  If they could let us know in advance when they would be able to meet with us, we will make ourselves available.  Again, I apologize and understand the frustration.  But at this point our notes reflect that we worked hard to build their home in a timely manner in harmony with our agreement.  I hope a review of the facts will cause blame to be placed with it should be, with the criminals. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Reality is only addressing a small portion of our complaint. But on the matter they are addressing, Reality should've communicated the possibility of a theft to us. Being first time homebuilders we never even thought for one second that there was a possibility that could happen. One of Reality's employees that I spoke with after the incident, had told me Reality had been having the same issue with a lot of the houses they were building. So clearly it's not a rare thing if it's happening often. Why didn't our project manager suggest we put a lock on the door when he decided to delay construction thus allowing the house to sit open with the electrical exposed? And I'd still like to know why the theft couldn't have been covered by Reality's insurance. 

Reality is also incorrect in their statement that the delay in time was caused by waiting for the insurance to make payment. The insurance did not cause any delay. That was taken care of promptly. Our project manager did not give the go ahead to move forward with construction for another 6 weeks after the theft occurred. The insurance had nothing to do with it. 

The fact that Reality does not see how they did not delay the construction process is frustrating to us. It wasn't our fault that our kitchen island was never ordered and a bathroom cabinet was ordered in the wrong size which caused a big delay having to reorder and wait for two cabinets to be made. It's not our fault that the granite counter tops hadn't even been measured for until after the point they were already supposed to have been delivered and installed. It's not our fault most of the contractors didn't show up when they were supposed to. Reality can blame their contractors and everybody else for what happened but ultimately they need to take the responsibilty. They should've been more on top of the workers, putting the pressure on them to get their jobs done. Given the multiple delays, they also had plenty of time to dot their Is and cross their Ts to make sure whoever makes cabinet orders had everything correctly submitted to the cabinet company but that failed too. 

The fact that they were unaware of when the contractors were coming and going indicated to us they were not communicating with them as much as they should have been. On several occasions we would contact our scheduler asking him why certain things hadn't happened and he would either say he just thought the contractors did it or he was surprised the jobs had not been completed. That's what happened with our countertops. The day after they were supposed to be installed, we called our scheduler and asked why the countertops had not been installed. He said it was odd and that they should have gone in. Come to find out they hadn't even measured yet. Call me crazy but I think my scheduler should know what has and hasn't been done on the schedule. That's also why carpet had to be rescheduled multiple times. One of the times, carpet was supposed to go in the next day and the trim on the walls wasn't even complete. So I had contact our scheduler and tell him he had to reschedule carpet because the trim wasn't even done. He just thought the finish workers had taken care of it. How can you just assume things are done? Shouldn't the scheduler be in communication with them to know what has and hasn't been completed so he's not scheduling things to take place before they can actually happen?

I do blame the criminals for the theft but I blame Reality for not hindering the opportunity and not communicating important details and giving wise advice on how to reduce the chances of it happening especially if they've dealt with the problem before. We did not feel like they communicated much at all with us throughout the entire process and this is just one example of how failure to communicate can cause serious problems.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: We will agree to the $2500 and will draft an agreement. We will she this to the address we have on file. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *****

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) Framing is in week 8 and I still do not have stairs. There is OSB covering the whole where the staircase should be, and parts of that has been cut away leaving a whole in the floor to a 10’ fall to the basement. This is an OSHA violation. There are 2 trusses lying in my front yard that were not installed in the house. 1 should be installed over the hallway of the master bedroom, and the other should be installed over the other 2 bedrooms on the other side of the plan. 6)There is a 3 inch gap on the main sill plate on the northeast corner of the house where plates don’t meet. This is unacceptable. 7) he bird blocks are not installed in the house, and should have been completed before the roof sheeting was completed. There are a few that are installed over the master bedroom, but these aren’t even done correctly. There are gaps that would still allow birds, bees, and bugs to still enter into the attic. Those that are installed are **********, and are not at the same height. These too, will not pass code, and are unacceptable. 8) Now let’s talk about the windows, doors, and headers. I have to laugh at how horrible this work is. a. Headers do not have a double plate over them to lock the headers in place as required. b. Headers are not at the same height. They range from 84 3/8”, 86”, 87”, and 85 ½”. c. The front door is nowhere close to being square. I’m sorry, but ¾” gap at the top corner to 1/8” gap at the bottom is laughable. There is a 4” gap between the top of the door and header. Seriously? The French doors have a 6” gap between the doors and header, and are 6-8” below the other windows. i. None of the windows are at the same height, and doors look ridiculous the way they are. I’ve had another contractor take a look and he was disgusted at the poor quality of the construction. 9) There are gaps in the corners around the nook, and the framing, even in these angles, should be tight. There should not be a ¼” gap between the wall

Desired Settlement: Replacement and settlement, we do not want them to touch our house any longer. We have one wall that is about to fall down as well at this time. The sub-contractor is also suspended by L&I in Washington state.

Business Response: Thank you for sending this. We are not sure how to respond. Mr ***** emailed and told our project manager he is contacting an attorney. At this point
he will not allow our contractor on site and we are in a holding position. 

We would love to visit and correct any issues that may be there. If he will allow us access, we will gladly correct anything needing correcting. 

7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told I was getting one product and got one that was not what I told by *****.

Desired Settlement: I want the heating system I was promised from the start and not the Pile I have been complaining about for 6 years and have got the run around for six years.

Business Response: We are not sure why the complaint was made. Mr. ***** finished his house in 2008. We did get a call a few weeks ago and told him as a courtesy we would send our HVAC company out to look at his unit that he claims is undersized and has been used for the past 6 years. The HVAC company is suppose to be out there next week and Mr. ***** is aware of this. He did state that he has had to pay to have the unit repaired and we have asked him to supply us with those records on our visit.

Consumer Response: I was out of town and couldn't reply in time. I just got this letter yesterday. As of now Reality has sent out a HVAC guy and never did call like they stated he was going to last Monday. It has been a week late so far on the call back. I call Reality about this system since it was put in. And have made complaints and told them it wasn't what I was told I was getting from the start. For them to pretend I have never talked to them about this is absurd.Their HVAC guy left shacking his head from my house and my HVAC guy stated I should call L&I about the wiring of my system is not up to code and should of never passed.Reality will likely not ever settle this but I'm not putting to bed. I want what I payed for thanks.

Business Response: We have made our offer. We have nothing other than a claim many years later that the furnace was dented. At this point there is nothing more we can do. 
Mr. ***** is welcome to take the money we offered to use toward a new furnace if he like.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** *****

4/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I originally worked with Reality Homes I was urged to get all my paperwork signed as promptly as possible. I was told I would miss out on once in a lifetime deals if I didn't get my $1700.00 deposit in and sign the contract. At the point I signed I had no financing (which the Reality home representative knew) in order, hadn't even started the process, all of which Reality homes knew. After the signing I starting the financing process which ended up being a pretty lengthy ordeal. I had one contractor after another either refuse to give bids because I wasn't using them for the work or others just not even contact me back. Needless to say I just got my financing in order last week the second week of January 2015 and I had signed a contract with Reality homes the middle to end of October 2014. I now just received notification that the price for the home will go up $7000.00 because I didn't have my financing done in time (I was just shy of the 75 day mark). Unfortunately, this price increase will put us out of budget on the loan and I will no longer be able to afford the loan payment. As if this increase was not enough, I am also being told that since I can no longer afford to build the house I will be charged 3% of the original home price with turns out being about $4000.00 dollars on top of the down payment I already paid. So here is my problem, I'm out my $1700 deposit, the price of the house went up because I wasn't able to get the home loan done within the 75 days from when I was pressured to start the process, the home price has now jumped up by $7000.00 and since I can no longer afford to build the house based off the new price Reality homes requires me to pay them $4000.00 (the 3% of the home price). When speaking to a Reality home representative I was informed that they will come after me for the 3% and that I do not have any choice in the matter. This is one shady company that I would recommend all to steer clear from.

Desired Settlement: I just want to be treated fair. I want to be able to back out without penality since I can no longer afford building the house with the price increase.

Business Response: We have been in contact with Mr. ****** to come to an agreement so we can move forward with their project.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
There has been no contact with me to resolve this, that is a flat out LIE not sure what this person from Reality Homes is talking about. I was forced to borrow seven thousand dollars from my parents to be able to afford to continue this project, since Reality Homes assured me they would take me to court forcing me to pay them 4,000.00 for stopping the project. I am now forced to do business with a company that I do find hard to trust and can only hope they do not do this again.
 
Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: We are sincerely sorry. If we could avoid passing along increase to our current retail price we would. It is part of our agreement that if a certain date is passed, we may increase prices to that of our current offering to customers. 
In our letters we sent our detailing this, we outlined what has caused the increase. We would be happy to meet with you and share in more detail that causes. 

4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We worked with Reality Homes to design our home. All homes start using a stock plan, for us it was the "Custom South". This stock plan was never our vision for our house. We modeled it from the link below. I have email records verifying that I sent this to the sales rep. He had a hard copy of the drawing of the house. The site development contractor had a hard copy. All our discussions involved the exterior of our home looking like the house in the link. We paid extra to increase the square footage to 1937. The rep said we would have to contract out to get the stone exterior trim and the shutters. The stone trim is listed in the contract we have with the site prep contractor. My husband and I planed to instal the shutters ourselves. With those two additions, we were assured our house exterior would look like the one in the link. We settled on a price of $197,772 for Reality homes. We agreed upon another $154,400 for permits and site development work to be done with site prep contractor for a total of $352,172. With this price in mind, we put earnest money down on a fairly expensive lot, knowing that we could handle the combined expense of the house and the lot. Our contract had a drawing of the house in the stock plan. We signed that contract knowing that all homes start from the stock contract. 3 weeks after we signed our contract, we got a call from Reality stating that the cost of the house was going to be an additional $30,000-$40,000, this didn't even include a house that looked like the one in the link. We said this wasn't acceptable. We were told to sit down with their designer and we could work something out. Reality's solution to our $40,000 problem was essentially to give us less house for more money. They said they couldn't honor our original contract and wanted us to sign a new contract for more money and less house. ****************************************************************

Desired Settlement: We paid a $2,950.00 processing fee. We want to be reimbursed for that. I sent an email stating this to Reality Homes on March 14. So far they have not responded. We wasted a lot of time with them. We also might not have spent so much on a lot if we had known the true price of building a home from the start.

Business Response: I would welcome a meeting to review with ***** ***** the original contract, and agreements. Where the design ended up, is not what the original paper work 
looked like. We can gladly review meeting the original price matching the original design with *****. I look forward to discussing this. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

2/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that the people in the main office have charged me with services that should have been covered in the construction proses I was Charged for A pumper truck to the sum of $900.00 dollars the truck was here two time one to pump footings and once for the walls I asked for the bill and with all the costs and why there was such a extra cost for the pump truck. I was charged an extra $6000.00 for the rise in the cost of the home I wad started the proses with Reality Homes in October 2013 and gave them $1,700 to start the proses and we came to the office in Sequim Wa. on 01/29/2013 and picked out all our flooring cabnets counter tops and all our up grades and paid for all the up grades at that time. the next month I received a a massage from Reality homes that there was going to be a cost raise of tudlehe Home of the sum of $8,000 and at that point I had already paid for my permits and and other costs I talked to Reality homes and they said that they would give me a break and only charge me $4,000 if I was in const. by march 15th. so on march 13th I walked the permits in the office in fife and handed them the permits the requested to start const. and told them I had a contractor on site to start const and I was told that they would have to schudle that the next week I recived a call saying becaus I was not in const. that I would have to pay the full cost of the price and then I was told that they would split the differance and only charge us instead of the hole $8000,00 the they only charge me the total cost of $6000.00 in stead of the $8000.00 witch was the price of the home after the new price for 2214. I was told that if I didn't pay they would have to cancel my home so at time our hands were tied we had a lot of money invested in our new home so we paid the $6,000.00. Everything was going ok and every time one proses was done it seemed like we were charged for some over cost. When we did all our up grades we paid to have the Garage all insulated and when they came out and installed the Garage door it didn't come insulated so I questioned it and was told that if I wanted a insulated garage door I would have to pay extra. I talked to *** at Reality Homes and he said he would see what he could do and that was about 3 month ago and have'nt heard from any one so last week I called and talked to one of the people at Reality Homes to asked about why no one would call me back and get some of the problems taken care of or at least schudled and I was told that he would get back to me and that was a week ago. I feel that I have been wrongly charged for a lot of things during the construction proses. After all the things we've been through during our home building experance we are happy with our new home thanks to Contractors that did the work Its to bad that the people running Reality Homes can't be as professenal as they they expect there contractors to be.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the $6,900.00 I feel wrongly charged for and the repairs taken care of that need to be dealt with. as well as the non insulated garage door.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/16) */ We are writing in answer to *** ****'s complaint. First we want to say we are happy to hear that he is pleased with the quality of his home. We work hard to maintain relationships and use the quality of contactors that allow the building of homes that our customers enjoy. We are very sorry and saddened that *** **** wrote his complaint. It is true that he has asked about his insulated garage doors. He has been told he did not order or pay to upgrade to those doors and we would only install them if he chose to pay, which he chose not to do so. Attached you will find a copy of *** ****'s customer selection sheet with his initials at the bottom. You will see the option for an insulated door is not circled. This selection was done well before construction began and at that point he could have asked about and upgraded to that door. I do apologize if he assumed that by insulating his garage walls that included his door. But nowhere in our paperwork did we indicated that and again as seen on the actual selections sheet he did not chose the insulated door. So at this point there is nothing we can do with regard to the door unless, if he wants to pay for an insulated door we will offer to coordinate the install at our contractor pricing through our garage door company we use. With reference to the price increase, you will see in the attached copy of page 1 of the construction contact. Section B clearly states that if his site is not ready for construction to begin within 90 days of the contract, he would be subject to a price increase "if" as a company we had a retail price increase on the home and or options he selected. There are no exceptions, such as if the lender took to long or if the county took too long to approve the building permit. As with *** ****, those things are out of our hands. We feel very bad having to ask a customer to pay an increased cost. However it is part of our contract *** **** agreed to. As shown in his own complaint, we did express understanding. We offered to reduce the price increase by $4,000 if he began construction by a certain date, even though he owed by contract the full $8,000. When the date was not met again, we could have charged the full $8,000 but in good customer service we reduced the charge to $6,000. We will not be able to pay him this or any amount back. Please understand, the price increases are unfortunate but they are what allows us to pay our contractors and suppliers their current costs and allow us to build the kind of home that our customers contract for and deserve. The home that *** **** received. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The insulated garage door 16 by 7 is circled on page 7 and after we payed in full we have had a few things go wrong and we call and can't get anyone to call us back and tell us anything ,they also charged us extra 900$ for a pump truck that was unauthorized , their customer service though out the entire build was horrible especially after the final payment was made. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/01/16) */ The circled selection of the 16x7 garage door was not for an insulated door but for the garage door openers. Mr. **** did not pay for insulated garage doors. We are sorry if Mr. **** feels there has been poor customer service. If Mr. **** has any other questions or concerns, we have attached a warranty claim form that he can fill out and forward to our office. We will send directly to our general manager to handle.

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we decided to go with Reality Homes we knew that it would be a process, but our experience has been ridiculous. When we signed our pre construction paperwork, it said normally 150 days to complete but could take a little longer. Well understandably, inspections can take a little bit, but our particular issue has to do with our truss clips, they say it doesn't pass code, and that they needed engineering plans and confirmation to see if they were code. Well we are on 2 months at nothing being done and us looking at studs we are at 127 days since our foundation was poured, highly unlikely that our house will even be completed at 180 day. Also a customer service complaint, we had been charged foundation overages, which we were told about, but when we received a bill, I had called our local cement company that delivered our cement, and what we were billed for was more than what was even delivered. We were billed for cement that was never even delivered. The error was in the company's favor, there for didn't seem to be a problem, but if it was in our favor the company would be all over looking for money. And when I sent an email to the cooperate office to the appropriate person, there was no response, and then I told our superintendent a few times, nothing was resolved. Then received an email 22 days later when payment was LATE, and I responded accordingly, then a few days later we were contacted and wanted money money money. Then a few days later when payment wasn't received, contacted us again, and if wasn't paid we were the only ones to suffer, that our home progress would be delayed, due to Reality not doing their job.. The customer is the only one to suffer. Also our house is NOT finished and isn't even close. And after all that from the head office not even an apology.

Desired Settlement: I would like some action to be taken to get our house finished

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/08) */ We apologize for any misunderstandings. The concrete bill was looked and adjusted to what is actually owed because of the additional concrete on site. We have emailed and called several times to the homeowner and have not heard back from them. We have been very clear in regards to the money owed and our operations manager has discussed this with the homeowner. If the payment was made when it was due, the home would be on time. We are still waiting on payment for the additional concrete but will proceed with the home to get it back on schedule. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There were several issues with this company concrete being one of them. Also it is untrue that their company contacted or emailed us several times, they only contacted via email when payment was past due, 22 days after I had emailed them to get our bill straightened out, which after my email we were not contacted once, it wasn't till about a week after it was past due did anyone try to contact us and was still not addresses until the third call which we had spoken to them... 3 times... Anyways, the overage payment is not why we are behind, our general contractor DID NOT turn in truss layout reviews to our county before installed, and failed our inspection on 6/26/2014 and had then received corrections from the truss engineer on 7/9/2014 and not until the end of August roughly one month later did any sub. Come to look at the project and said it was "overkill" and that it would take way longer then what they were expecting. Then had had the truss engineering company look again and made the appropriate revisions and were approved by the 2nd of September, and have failed 2 inspections since, which now there is a $50 re inspection fee. To conclude we would not be held up at all if the truss layout review would have been submitted, like it was suppose to,to the county so the sub contracted framers would know what was required for installation, which after I spoke with our county was our contractors job, " reality homes inc.". And after reviewing our contract that we signed, reality is not responsible for delays that are due to sub contractors error. This is not a sub. Error this is a contractor error, which is reality homes inc. our 150 days of construction is on September 16,2014 which is Tuesday, and we don't even have drywall... Which means we are paying for loans, portable toilets and loosing rent for our current home due to contractor error and is totally ridiculous and unexceptible, and would like to know how reality homes inc. should compensate for our expenses and loss of income. Final Business Response /* (1000, 28, 2014/10/30) */ we do apologize for not responding, but we do not feel a back and forth will bring any benefits. We have a disagreement on payments of concrete, when the invoice was due. We could point to the letter that had the due date on it, they point to us not calling. Again we do not feel this is productive. The home is nearly complete, within the next week or so we should be done. At this point there is nothing more we can do as a company other than to finish the home and make sure any warranty issues will be cared for. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 30, 2014/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I agree with the back and forth it gets no where, this has Been a horrible experience with Reality Homes, and even here they don't get it, there has been several issues I have brought up and the concrete is the ONLY one that they address... I know the house is almost finished, almost 3 months past when it should be with tons of totally petty errors that could of been avoided if done right the first time... But like you stated it is almost done and my family and friends always ask if it is done and my answer is always Not Yet... I would never recommend this company to anyone.

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We first broke ground on what would be out dream home in Canby OR in late September of 2013. It is now going on a move in date of late August of 2014. If anyone is considering using this company to build a home; don't. In fact run as fast as you can away from their contract and subcontractors. My wife and I were given notice by this company that we should be a me to move in at the end on June 2014. Which was at least 60 days behind the time line that their scheduler gave us. We also alerted the project manager that the fireplace was incorrect and that our appliances will not fit into the cabinets that they had ordered. This was all way after we supplied the cabinet maker with all the proper specs and it was still cut wrong. Now we are still waiting for the cabinet fix a whole 21 days later and going on an extra thirty days past the company's second timeframe of our move. So this is a grand total now of 4 months that they are behind. Meanwhile their contractors are either on other jobs or simply refuse to show up and fix their mistakes. So I'm out 4 months of extra rent on our current home plus our storage unit rent and plus we have been paying for double bills like electric, garbage and the port o potty. There is no urgency to get this house done especially since we already paid them in cash.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking $3000 for two months worth of rent which still doesn't cover my storage unit or extra utility bills.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/08) */ This has been resolved and the homeowner is going to cancel the complaint.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Used Reality to build my home, completion 12/13. Still have not received delivery of qty 25 screen windows or completion of warranty repairs after being in home over 3 months.

Desired Settlement: Start and completion of warranty repairs and prompt delivery or refund on screen windows.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ We are in the process of contacting Mr. ***** to set up a delivery date for the screens. We are hoping to have this done by the end of next week. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response only addresses the issue of the screens which were delivered. I still am waiting on door hardware, door locks needing adjusted, bathroom fan issues, window leakage issues, bathroom mirror fixed and floor squeaks addressed to name a few Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/05/27) */ Reality Homes has gone out to the homeowners as of 5/23/2014 and finished all items on the punch list.

4/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reality Homes is a deceptive sales practice. Purchased a home with them where they advised at the time of the sale that we could purchase our own appliances, and remove their required appliance package, and all things would be included such as the install and cabinets for the appliances as long as they were similar to their package. We purchased our own appliances that were identical to Reality Homes, but a better quality, same dimensions as what was in the contract. They then charged us $2500 for a wall cabinet for the oven, stating that it was their policy. They refused to discuss the sales practice or the promise from their own sales rep. They also are not installing the appliances despite what was agreed too at time of signing the contract.******* ***** was very unhelpful, and refused to discuss situation or what was deemed deceptive sales practice, and basically challenged us to file a report with the BBB about their practice. Reality Homes will tell you whatever you want to hear to make the sale, despite what their business practice is, and will fall back on that's how we do it as their recourse.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Reality Homes can pay for the price of the wall cabinet. If their sales rep states we don't have to purchase any additional cabinets, then we should not be charged for the additional cabinets. That was part of our signing with them to build our house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/25) */ As was explained to *** *****, a Reality Homes standard home does not come with a double oven. A standard home would be built to fit a range, hood vent, dishwasher and a refrigerator. When *** ***** removed the appliance package, he removed the double oven cabinet along with the appliance package and his home went to a standard build for the kitchen. The option to upgrade to a double oven cabinet is available however that upgrade has a charge. We would be more than happy to show *** ***** one of our standard homes to show that there is no place for a double oven, unless he were to upgrade to one. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Reality Homes did NOT explain the, difference of a standard home and what would happen if we bought our own appliances, as that question was specifically asked during the meeting when the contract was signed. Reality Homes DID state that we could buy our own appliances and as long as we bought the same as in the package, we would not have additional charges for the double wall cabinet and would not be an upgrade. Reality Homes is unethical in their sales practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/04) */ Our goal is to resolve your concern. We welcome you to a meeting so we can show and explain how our standard homes are put together. The standard material list does not specify appliances as a standard as they are not included in the home. The home is set for 1 hood vent, 1 refrigerator, 1 dishwasher and 1 stove. If you install a double oven, our cost of cabinetry and electrical increases. That is what the cost or additional charges that you would be paying for. There is no deception and we apologize if you did not understand what comes standard in the home. When you purchased our double oven package, which included all the appliances, electrical and cabinetry, everything was included. When you decided not to purchase the double oven appliance package thru us, the kitchen went back to a standard layout, which is detailed above. Perhaps the standard layout was not explained but we assumed it was since you ordered the double oven package. Again, there is no deception here. We will be happy to meet with you and your sales person to discuss what was talked about at the time of your meeting. As a gesture of good will, we can offer a 25% discount on the double oven cabinets and electrical. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/04/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It was not our misunderstanding. It was what was explained to us that there would be no additional charges. That seems to be difficult to understand on your part. We just want this resolved, so we will accept the 25% discount. please send us the change order to sign.

12/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It takes a lot to put the pieces together to build a new home. It is critical to have a sales representative you can trust to tell you what you can and can't do and give you the most accurate information possible. We thought we had a great rep as we went through the buying process with Reality. For over two months we thought our dreams were coming true. We worked weeks on designing several different plans to fit the footprint of Reality homes, as directed by our rep. We added items to the budget, one by one. Our rep told us that we would get more footage much more cheaply by building a daylight basement, and that $28k would build the basement under the entire home. We questioned a basement under the garage. It made no sense. So did the people we talked to about site preparation. We were warned of extra concrete, but our rep reassured us there was no problem. In fact, the answer to most every question was "no problem," as we came closer to buying a lot, pricing site prep, and matching the house to the budget. When everything appeared to be a go, we put our lot in escrow. Reality had our Home Specification Sheet along with our plan for almost three weeks as we worked with the county and waited for escrow to close. Our rep told us she had very good news to tell us in our next meeting. At that meeting, the day after escrow closed on the lot, we were told that we couldn't build a garage over a daylight basement, and the good news was that we had to design a smaller house that would be $30k more, that would have 800 square feet less. At that point, the closing for the month-end promotions started, hard and daily, despite the fact we had 2 days to design a new house and price out the site preparation. She told us she would be fired because she had put in our contract, which she had offered to do, but was not something we had asked of her. My daughter had had the same closing experience. We also were told ridiculous lies that helped us realize that almost everything we were told had been a lie. The "help" was designed to close. When we expressed concern about the Bryant heater that had been described to us, she said they used York. When I told her I would sign and pay the $1900 she was so anxious to get, she told me that yes, I could use the building plans the deposit would buy to price out other builders. Neither answer was true, as verified by her general manager. We were devastated. We were also desperate. We had bought a lot, rented storage, cancelled our fall travel plans, shopped loans, re-landscaped and staged our home, and had emotionally moved into our new home with the ocean view. Despite our desperation, I told our rep we couldn't work with her any more, and contacted the general manager. I told our sad story, and he said there was nothing he could do. I offered to drive to their Sequim office. He said I could not do that, and he would price out the house himself. Over the next three weeks, I waited for him to give me a price and answer questions about what was included. He priced out another smaller house for $20k more. He suggested an even smaller floor plan which I designed, I told him I had promised rave review for his sales rep, and I felt people should know about this kind of experience. I designed the house, and he finally hit the budget we had thought we had almost three months earlier, but now the house was ridiculously small, the garage was down the hill, and we'd have the lowest level finishes for almost everything. But by this time, difficulty in nailing down further costs and the looming problem of having to trust Reality through the build made us give up on building at all. It is important to note that the contract leaves the buyer open to all kinds of risk. It says that anything promised is not honored unless written in the contract. All the lies about top level cabinets, carpet - able to have anything in the showroom - did not have to be honored. The message is, when something is really cheap and seems too good to be true, buyer beware. This was one of the worst experiences of our lives. Reality may be the cheapest builder, but don't add yourself to the list of people who put everything on the line and then can't build, or worse, buy something you can't afford. The process is very seductive, and the stakes are high. There may be no recourse because the contract will not protect you. I gave Reality a chance to make corrections to this description of our experience. The general manager wanted to meet, but would not respond to our written description in writing. I certainly did not want to meet. One of the statements I gave him a chance to respond to was that it seemed the number of $1900 deposits for houses not built compared to those built may be high and should be checked into. My damages include a lot we can't use with the expenses of insurances, taxes, association dues, and water. It includes rent on a storage unit, front yard landscaping, furniture, bedding, accessories, blinds, and travel. Most of all, damages include inability to move from under a jet flight path during the 5-month opening we had in which jets were not flying and we could sell our house. We lost our summer and we lost the opportunity for fall travel because our 70-hour weeks left no time for the necessary motor home repairs. We lost our dreams, and we suffer from the extreme stress this has caused.

Desired Settlement: Wasted time with site preparation bid and county pricing on the recommended house with a daylight basement that could not be built - 50 hours @ $20/hour - $1k Time spend developing a budget for several of the above houses - $300 Time spent developing 79 house plans to meet specification of sales representative - @ $20 per plan - $4k Cost of planning software - $100 Cost of stageing a home for sale - $3k Cost of storage space rented, and cost to move items to it - $400 Cost of water hookup, association dues $100/month, lawn moving Cost of lot unclear - paid $97k, including escrow fees - monthly payment, taxes, and insurance Cost of negotiating buying a lot we can't build on - driving for meetings, picking up septic tank parts, handling offers and escrow Loss of a summer Inability to travel this fall Time with sales representative - 13 hours, including travel Stress of dreams being shattered by lies, misrepresentations, and conscious ignorance (knowing the guesses are often wrong) Total may well be over $20k

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/21) */ **** *******, On behalf of Reality Homes, I want to assure you that we appreciate your frustration and continue to be open to meeting with you to discuss your concerns. Having read your emails, it is clear that much of your complaint regards ******. Given your concerns, I jumped in to work with you. As General Manager, I do not often have the time to deal with prospective customers one-on-one, but I have done so with you and your husband in hopes of addressing your concerns. We are sorry you feel 3 weeks is too long, but you asked for a custom bid. In review of ******'s emails, I noticed that you acknowledged to ****** that you knew her Estimate needed to be reviewed and approved. We are sorry you feel the time was too long, but the file was reviewed and the corrections were made, all of which took place before you signed a contract. In fact, you never made a deposit, and neither you nor Reality Homes ever signed a construction contract. We are not sure what you ask Reality Homes to do at this stage. In review of your emails to ******, I note that you told her that you made an offer on a lot around the 21st of August. On the 30th of August, You wrote ****** saying the costs were exceeding your budget and were not sure you wanted to move forward. At that time, you had not committed and you had no idea ******'s Estimate would be corrected or approved. We would assume you had a feasibility period on your lot offer to review county set backs, build ability etc. It was only a week later that ****** informed you of the added costs after our review of your complete customization of out stock home. Again, assuming you had at least a 30 day feasibility, and knowing before you were aware of the increased cost, that you were already apprehensive, we would ask why you did not cancel your offer on the land? You had no contract to build a custom home, so we do not understand why you chose to move forward with the purchase of a lot. In order to better understand your concerns, please provide me with a copy of your Purchase and Sale Agreement for the lot. Also, please let me know the closing date for the purchase. Finally, we do care - we had you work with ****** we have treated your in-laws and daughter very well, and as a matter of fact, we understand they were referred by friends who built and were happy with our company. We are very sorry your experience did not have the same result for you. Your concern stated was how do we make sure people do not experience what you did. That was the agenda of the meeting as I told you in our email. To hear you out, to talk and explain our process so you could see people are not mistreated. That offer still stands. ******* ** ******** General Manager Reality Homes ************ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2013/12/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Reality does not even bother to understand complaints, never mind remedy them, making their apology insincere. They create damages far beyond what might be remedied in arbitration, leaving their record clean for the next customer. We are so disgusted with Reality's TERRIBLE TRACK RECORD OF "WORKING WITH US" that we have rejected their offer to build our home at a discount because they are totally untrustworthy, at any price. It is frightening to imagine trusting them through a build and through their warrantee period because we had over two months of lies during the sales process, and when confronted with that, Reality said they could do nothing. Their contract protects them from gross misrepresentation by sales agents by stating they are not bound by any statement made and the contract further protects them from almost any problem their customers might face while building. They ENCOURAGE CUSTOMIZATION and the weeks of constant work required of their customers to design to the footprint of their standard homes for the lots their customers are considering, suggesting plan after plan, and then blame customers for any problems saying they ASKED for customization. Though confronted with this practice of encouragement, they refuse to acknowledge it in their responses to the BBB. In their responses, they have again shown a complete lack of acknowledgment of the TIME LINE problem, as well. Our problem was not that the review took too long. Our problem with the time line was, as stated and ignored, that the sales representative WAITED TO TELL US OUR PLAN HAD BEEN REVIEWED AND REJECTED FOR AT LEAST A WEEK UNTIL AFTER OUR LOT CLOSED ESCROW and then CLOSED HARD to get a deposit, despite our devastation and the time required to re-design and shop site prep costs for 800 feet less, costing $30 more, with no garage at all, because of their ridiculous mistake the sales rep made of encouraging a garage over a daylight basement from the start. We can't leave the public unaware of a potential tragic outcome to their sales process, and will pursue the case through the attorney general's office and/or other legal means rather than risk they will end up being protected, yet again, through arbitration, and the public will not be warned Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2013/12/04) */ Thank you for reaching out to us. At this point we seem to have a disagreement of events. I certainly apologize for those misunderstands. Views are often perceived for our own perspective, and for that reason we have offered to pay for mediation. We also just heard the mediation is available with the BBB. We would love to sit down with a neutral third party to discuss the events and seek a positive outcome. Short of that, I certainly apologize that **** ******* feels that our time line to review her customized plan was too long and that the price exceeded the estimate of our sales person. All of our answers stand to work with *** ******* and her husband to meet and discuss possible solutions.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Reality Homes Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart