This business is not BBB accredited.

Buffington Custom Homes LLC

Phone: (253) 255-1226   http://www.luxuryhomenw.com ! Buffington Custom Homes LLC is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company designs and builds luxury and custom homes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Buffington Custom Homes LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 2012 Business started: 03/01/1998 Business started locally: 03/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ed Buffington, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Buffington, Member
Business Category

Home Builders Contractor - General Green Builder Building Contractors Design & Build Contractor Contractors - General

Hours of Operation
8am -5pm

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Eatonville, WA 98328

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our house was purchased in June of 2007. During a remodel project last month we discovered that the entire front side of our house was rotted due to defective workmanship. The flashing was put on incorrectly which resulted in water draining behind the stone on the front of the house. Incorrect materials were used behind the stone front and the front columns were placed improperly in the stone porch which didn't allow proper drainage. This is not covered by insurance because it is blamed on defective workmanship.

Desired Settlement: We want monetary relief for all expenses incurred because of this defective workmanship. If that means contacting the agency that placed a bond on his workmanship we can go that route, but if not we want the relief directly from Buffington Custom Homes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/09/30) */ The matter of *******'s. My warranty company was contacted by the *******'s I am attaching the builders notice from them. It seems the *******'s were of the option that even thought there warranty period was up that they were entitled to more warranty. I supply a full one year warranty with a 6 year limited warranty which was expired as explained to them by my warranty company. I Build a great quality home but like any home it takes maintenance which is the duty of the home owner. neglect will always get you in trouble just like your car you do not drive it 100k miles before you change the oil right !! I have an a+ rating because I care about building my homes to a level far above most home builders. Thank You ** ********** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, I would like to thank you for responding. If you would have responded appropriately when this was first brought to your attention, a few months after we purchased our home, we would not be in this position. I would like to assure you that this is not owner neglect. We have ample pictures to show that this is builder error and numerous people from the industry who have advised us that this is builder neglect. Our insurance has denied us coverage because the damage falls under builder neglect. In a nutshell what you and your subcontractors did wrong was improper placement of flashing. Therefore, when it rained instead of the water flowing down the drain properly it pooled behind the rock placed on the front our house. The water had nowhere to go and was literally encapsulated behind the stone. In addition to the improper flashing the paper that was used behind the rock was put on backwards and was not even the correct Tyvek! This resulted in dry rot over the entire front of our house. We had to remove both front windows, replace walls in the rooms affected, remove the center columns and a portion of the roof to replace the wood and stop the mold from spreading. This unconscionable builder error was only discovered when we were doing a small remodel to replace the wood panels with rock on the front columns. As a side note the wood panels were part of the original complaint that we submitted to the warranty company within the first year. *** ********** sent someone to fix this, but it was not fixed properly creating the problem we have now. As we are not in the construction business we assumed that the problem was fixed. We have been advised that within 2 years the front of our house would have started to collapse because of the damage. Our house was purchased for $750,000 in 2007. This was not an inexpensive home with repairs of this nature needing to be done within 6 years. This damage was not noticeable until the rock was removed and would not have been detected before the collapse if we had not wanted to replace rock on the front columns. We did our research before purchasing our home and at the time you did have a good reputation. However, we had no idea of the shortcuts you would take to finish our home before the collapse of the housing market, but that is what you did! You should be financially responsible for your shoddy workmanship. We purchased an expensive home from a well-established builder expecting good quality work and you failed miserably. The cost of your builder neglect has exceeded $30,000 dollars, not to mention the 3 months of construction that it has taken to make the repairs. Now what do you have to say?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Buffington Custom Homes LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)