BBB Accredited Business since

Northwest Abatement Service Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 588-0440 View Additional Phone Numbers 9822 32nd Avenue Ct S, Lakewood, WA 98499 http://www.nwabatement.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers furnace repair and cleaning in addition to lead paint, asbestos and mold removal.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Abatement Service Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Abatement Service Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Abatement Service Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 10/19/1994 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Stephens, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Stephens, President
Business Category

Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Asbestos Removal Service Heating Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services

Alternate Business Names
Stets Construction

Additional Locations

  • 9822 32nd Avenue Ct S

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 588-8999

  • PO Box 39220

    Lakewood, WA 98496 (253) 588-0440

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a quote of $2150 to remove asbestos popcorn from our ceiling (a 2 day job). After they started, I was told that the popcorn was applied while the skim coat was wet and now they had to remove that at an additional cost of $2150. They also said they could drop the ceiling. My contractor didn't want this so we agreed to the additional cost. We were in the middle of the procedure so I felt I really had no choice. I couldn't understand why my cost doubled since it was only 1 additional day. They dropped to second price to $1850. The drywall people determined that the damage to the ceiling was so bad that they would need to install new drywall at an additional cost of $3200. So now I have to pay $4000 for the asbestos removal plus $3200 to repair the damage done. I got on NWA website and sent them a message about this around 6/16 but no one bothered to call me back. I did take pictures of the damage.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund me for the cost to repair my ceiling.

Business Response: This project has been reviewed by our management team for QC. Our client was contacted via email and by phone regarding the problem with the removal of her asbestos-containing popcorn ceiling texture. It was explained to Ms. ********** that  when the popcorn ceiling texture was applied there was a layer of GWB, a layer of approximately 1/8" - 1/4" thick of scratch coat/leveling compound and then the actual acoustical popcorn ceiling texture and at least one layer of paint. This is not the traditional method of application. Normally there is just GWB, the seams mudded with joint compound and then the acoustical popcorn texture and in some cases the texture has been painted. The scratch coat/leveling layer made it extremely difficult to remove the popcorn. Our client was advised to remove the entire lid (GWB ceiling) as a more cost effective means and method. Both Ms. ********** and her GC (general contactor) declined this option. We advised them both hat there would additional costs if we continued to scrape this material since it was like scraping concrete... these changes were approved in writing and they were also told that the substrate would be damaged in our original proposal as well as verbally when we informed of the issue. Again, they refused to take our recommendations which unfortunately has resulted in additional costs for this project. The repair amount appears to be excessive for the required work. Our company has been performing this type of work for (20) years and always is upfront and honest with our clients. The damage that resulted in this removal procedure will always occurred when conditions like these are present and or when the popcorn celling texture has been painted with multiple layers of paint. Our company did not feel that any type of discount was in order. We provided the most competitive pricing that we could given the circumstances and work involved to safely remove the asbestos-containing texture.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Abatement Service Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)