Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wolfer's Home Services

Phone: (503) 981-4511 Fax: (503) 981-0801 View Additional Phone Numbers 1365 N Front St, Woodburn, OR 97071 http://www.wolfersheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning services including heat pumps, repair, furnaces and duct sealing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wolfer's Home Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wolfer's Home Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

73 Customer Reviews on Wolfer's Home Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 72
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 73

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 1992 Business started: 06/01/1901 Business started locally: 06/01/1901 Business incorporated 06/14/1972 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/bcd
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133
bcd.webmaster@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Christin, President Jim Dryden, Oper. Mgr Jessica Geck, Office Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Christin, President
Customer Contact: Jim Dryden, Oper. Mgr
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Wolfer's Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Wolfer's Home Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1365 N Front St

    Woodburn, OR 97071 (503) 981-4511 (503) 220-1901 (800) 660-4511 (503) 635-3146

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wolfer's claims they will beat their competitors quote by $500. I have been obtaining quotes to replace my heat pump and air handler - (specifically Lennox model XP14-042.) I have received numerous quotes. When I returned to Wolfer's with a quote beating their's by $1700 from a reputable company, exact same model, however, an upgraded thermostat to their quote. Their salesman Leon B*** said their prices were firm. I have emails and quotes to prove it. Why does your advertising state you will beat any competitor by $500? As a consumer, this feels sneaky, misleading, and is downright false advertising. It's not right. Now that they're operating under the Costco umbrella, I guess they don't need to build or maintain relationships with that kind of exposure. Not a company I would trust.

Desired Settlement: Discontinue use of advertising claim which is obviously FALSE.

Business Response:

Wolfer's Home services has notified BBB, orally, that their advertised claim of beating competitors quote by $500 is discontinued.  In addition, Wolfer's forwarded BBB the following email from your email address:

Hey Leon, 

Yes, I'm actually thinking we're going to be cancelling all together... We found a reputable company that beat your quote by $1700 and they included the wifi-thermostat - exact same model xp14-042 and air handler.. They also beat your interest rate at 3.5%. (Without knowing who they were competing against.)

 

In emailing with you earlier, it didn't seem like your company was willing to do any negotiating, and even took back the wifi stat you included, causing me to look elsewhere. 

 

Anyway, I do appreciate your time.

 

Take care,

*******

Consumer Response: Based on the fact the company would not match my quote, I'd like my $100 refunded, (which would have gone toward my purchase.)

As you can see below Mr. B*** advised he would not follow their advertising claim. Which my husband discussed at his site visit as well and he said they do. 

Please follow up. 

Sincerely, 
*******




Leon B*** @wolfersheating.com

May 14
to me

Hi *******,

I am sorry about that! I am almost always competitive with the reputable shops here! Especially with the Costco Cash Back! But the prices are set for me. I do wish I would have just bought the stat now though. I hope it works out for you. Just check the reviews and protect yourself!

 

Leon

 

From: ******* [mailto:*******@gmail.com
Sent: Saturday, May 14, 2016 12:08 PM

******* *******@gmail.com

May 14
to Leon
Thank you, you may want to update your advertising which claims you'll beat any competitor by $500. That's clearly not an accurate statement. 

Take care!
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** ********

Business Response:

We are very sorry about the confusion regarding this issue. Our intent is always to meet, or exceed our customers expectations. We will be issueing a check in the amount requested. $100. again, my apologies for the confusion.

 

John C*******

President

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

2/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a 2 stage Lennox Gas furnace installed May 9th 2014. This weekend, I replaced the thermostat that they installed with the furnace. This furnace we had installed by them is a 2 stage furnace, yet they only made it work with a single stage. I found this out, when I was replacing the thermostat with a Honeywell Lyric, that will save Natural Gas and reduce our utility bills even farther. They should of installed new thermostat wire that would of made the furnace work with 2 stages, which we payed for. One of the workers, went in the house with my wife to install the thermostat, while I stayed in the garage with the other guy. Neither one of the workers let us know that it was installed with only one stage working. Looks now like they tried to hide it. I would of never known, if I didn't replace the thermostat. Here's something else I let slide. The installers didn't bring an extension ladder with them, so I let them use mine and I let them use my 4" hole saw, when they only had a sawzall, that would of butchered the hole through the roof. A quality contractor would have a selection of hole saws in the truck and an extension ladder.

Desired Settlement: I bought 37 dollars worth of thermostat cable at*********** today for the change out. They could refund that, plus some dollars for my time and effort to make the furnace work with 2 stages, like we paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/30) */ *******, We have reviewed your installation. It looks as though our installers adjusted the control board in the furnace to switch between 1st and 2nd stage, which does not require additional thermostat wire. I apologize if that was not explained to you at the time of installation. We are more than happy to accommodate your request for compensation and refund the amount of the thermostat wire you purchased. A representative from our office will be calling you shortly to discuss the details. You are a valued customer and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to address this matter with you and come to a resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/02/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I writing to tell you that Wolfers really gave us great customer service. *** their Service Manager came out and took care of everything. He really made us feel like a valuable customer. He paid for the wire I bought and the Lyric thermostat, plus, left us a filter. Not many companies come through like that. ******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

73 Customer Reviews on Wolfer's Home Services
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart