This business is not BBB accredited.

Vaughn Mechanical Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 357-9973 Fax: (360) 754-7737 View Additional Phone Numbers 6111 Esther St Sw, Tumwater, WA 98501 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.vaughnmechanical.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning, ventilation, duct cleaning and refrigeration equipment.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Vaughn Mechanical Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Vaughn Mechanical Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vaughn Mechanical Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 21, 2002 Business started: 08/01/1987 Business started locally: 08/01/1987 Business incorporated 01/04/1993 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Vaughn Murphie, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vaughn Murphie, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Heating Equipment Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Northwest Air Inc Northwest Refrigeration Inc NW Refrigeration Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5201 Capitol Blvd SW Ste 201

    Tumwater, WA 98501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6111 Esther St Sw

    Tumwater, WA 98501 (360) 357-9973 (800) 303-9973 (360) 426-3448 (253) 537-9973

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/9/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased complete Heat Pump system from Northwest Refrigeration 9/2008, Factory warranty is ten years and 12 years for compressor. My compressor failed due to bearings after 7 years. Repairman from Vaughn's Refrigeration came out June 23rd 2016, 4 weeks ago and told me he would order parts for no charge as this was a factory warranty. I called 3 times only to be told parts weren't in. Then a week ago a message was left from refrigeration company stating either this Monday, yesterday (missed again) or the following Monday July 25. Each time I have called to confirm installation I cannot reach any one but their answering service. My first question are they still in Business?? I am contacting you now prior to the supposed warranty repair next Monday as I feel they won't show up again so please hold this Until the evening of 7/25/2016 and I will contact you again. I mainly want to know are they still in business? Thank You.

Desired Settlement: The factory warranty, I guess I can use another Refer Company if American Standard will refer one. The reason I put Health Issue was due to my age 70 and medical condition, I am chronic heat sensitive and cannot function on a hot day must use air conditioning, so far this Summer? has been cool but I fore see rising temperatures soon and next Monday will be Five weeks waiting for repairs.

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had this company come service/repair our refrigerator less than a year ago. They came out 2 times and replaced the part on our refrigerator and we paid them about $480 to fix it. The refrigerator started to slowly decline a few weeks after it was fixed. We called them to come back and look at it, my husband turned it off unpluged it and began to defrost it, they came out looked at it were here about 10 min said it needed to defrost and left. The charge for them coming out was about $160.00. They said they would come out again and an appointment was made. My husband took the day off and waited, nobody arrived. I called and left a message, I did not get a return call so I began just calling until someone answered. I was told they called our home an no one answered, I did not see there number on the phone as a missed call. They then made another appointment (all this took about a month). They came out for the scheduled appointment looked at the refigerator and told us the part they originally fixed was broken, they confirmed part was def. They said they would order a new part and replace it. When the part came in they called and wanted to come out same day and fix it. They said it would cost $600 to fix it. I was extremely unhappy that I would have to pay again to fix the defective part. I spoke with the owner of the company (***) and explained my frustration and he said he would lower the price to $404 but I would still have to pay him to replace the defective part. I feel this is unfair and am left wondering if the part put on my refrigerator was used and not a new part. I was told the part only had a 30 day warranty which we did not know about until I spoke with *** on 9/17/13. Our refrigerator is a high end expensive refrigerator. I was pretty upset at that time and asked him to help me understand how we should have to pay him again. He then told me to have my husband call him and he would deal with him istead of me and then hung up on me. All we recieved was reciepts no warranty or document Product_Or_Service: Refrigerator/ Freezer Repair

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We would like to have the defective part fixed. It does not seem fair to ask us to pay again for the original service which we alread paid for. It is a high end quality refrigerator and the part we paid for should have also been a high end quality part. We should have been told if they were not and if they may not last longer than 30 days or even a year. It has not been a year since the original service was done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/08) */ The 1st defrost thermostat service replacement was performed on 3/8/13 . The next service call came in on 8/16/13 and the freezer was iced up and the owner decided to shut the freezer off to deice and thaw out on its own. The defrost thermostat was determined to have failed again on 9/6/13. Our service parts and labor warranty is: 1 year parts and 30 days labor for service work. The part will be a no charge and the labor will be invoiced. A discount was offered on the labor portion. The 1st part failed 6 six months later creating the second service order. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2013/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Hello, This is **** *****. I would like to resolve this issue and have my freezer repaired. If the owner will call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX, I am confident we can come to a fair resolution to this matter. Please call me to schedule a Friday appointment when I can be home. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/11/07) */ We do have the one year parts and 30 days labor on the part that is in question. This is our standard warranty and we do extend this out to 90 days labor under extenuating circumstances. The part unfortunately failed after 6 mos use. We have offered a discount on our labor and have not collected any monies from the 8/16/13 service call forward to date. Again the part is under 1st year warranty with no charge for the part. This is an unfortunate failure beyond our control due to a manufacturing defect or power issues at the property site. We have spent much more time than the stated 10 minutes at the job site doing the diagnosis and preventive maintenance checks and service on this unit. We are prepared to finish this service if a compromise can be reached.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Vaughn Mechanical Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)