Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Heating Specialist Incorporated

Phone: (503) 257-7000 Fax: (503) 257-7702 9300 NE Halsey St, Portland, OR 97220 http://www.theheatingspecialist.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial heating, air conditioning, radiant heating, and plumbing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Heating Specialist Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Heating Specialist Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Heating Specialist Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1989 Business started: 05/01/1988 in OR Business started locally: 05/01/1988 Business incorporated 03/29/1988 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/bcd
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133
bcd.webmaster@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Brent, President Mr. Thomas Billingsley, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Brent, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbers Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
T: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
W: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Th: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
F: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
24 hour emergencies

Additional Locations

  • 9300 NE Halsey St

    Portland, OR 97220 (503) 257-7000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Heating Specialist installed Lennox Heat Pump 6/25/15. Since December 2015 #8 service calls to diagnosis problem. Repairs have cost me a furnace motor replacement on a 2 year old furnace by a technician that has been since fired and a technician stating, "I've been cleaning up his messes almost daily". From the motor replacement which wasn't installed properly, HP went in to Auxillary mode which meant electric use and my bill skyrocketed. Every time a new technician comes out they blame the one before for what they didn't discover. I've expressed my frustration on numerous occasions to Jennifer, Office Mgr?, requesting to talk with the owner, which hasn't been honored or respected. My concern is the HP has been compromised due to the constant "repairs" . The most recent 5/25/16 for a complete overhaul and parts were provided that didn't fit. Air conditioning part installed outside of HP instead of inside from original install. Pictures available. Jennifer offered to "compensate" for my expenses with $800 of maintenance service, which I questioned why would I need maintenance service on a new HP? Given the past history of service calls from HS, I have no trust or confidence in their technicians knowledge. 6/2 service call was to determine "testing" Lennox would require to replace. Per Mike B technician, HP testing was OK but not getting to your system. Meaning I still have no heat or air conditioning I have detailed document outlining dates of work and issues discovered. Not enough characters to explain in detail here. Letter to be sent to owner 6/3/2016.

Desired Settlement: I want this unit removed & my money refunded. The constant backstabbing of other employees, lack of “knowledge & not my problem”, my financial outlay on a loan for the HP that isn’t working efficiently, expense of a replaced furnace motor I don’t know if I needed, expensive electric bills due to their technicians lack of knowledge, potential compromised HP unit due to their technicians lack of expertise, my time away from work from an extremely demanding job is unprofessional. . I don’t trust anyone at HS to know what they are doing & the disrespect of the owner to not be more concerned he has an upset customer, especially when I’ve requested that he talk with me. Unless they have so many complaints & I’m just another one.

Business Response:

The number of visits to this customer's home is not indicative of the nature of the problem, only that some of the symptoms are intermittent. 

The biggest problem, which was the bad fan motor in her EXISTING furnace has nothing to do with The Heating Specialist.  This was a repair to her equipment and a legitimate billable repair.  The fan motor failure has caused some of the other problems the customer complains about.  When a fan motor slows down or stops it causes the Heat Pump to shut down as well, and causes stress the the Heat Pump compressor.  Ownership of this issue belongs to the customer.

There may have been a problem with the Thermostat.  That was corrected.

Currently (today) we are replacing a part in the heat pump.  That is a warranty issue, and there is no charge for it.

The customer asks "why should maintenance be required on a new heat pump?".  All equipment requires regular maintenance....  No different than on a new car.  We offered her free maintenance as courtesy... no charge.  The fan motor issue on her own furnace should make it clear why maintenance is necessary.

The complaint about not being able to talk to the owner... we have a capable staff and management for that.

Had her existing furnace not failed, I presume there would be no complaint here.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Heating Specialist Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)