BBB Accredited Business since

SUNDANCE Energy Services Inc

Phone: (425) 481-9660 Fax: (425) 489-5994 View Additional Phone Numbers 10228 Main St, Bothell, WA 98011 http://www.sundanceenergy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers installation of gas fireplaces, awnings, air conditioning and energy systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SUNDANCE Energy Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SUNDANCE Energy Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SUNDANCE Energy Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 07, 1999 Business started: 04/04/1994 in WA Business started locally: 04/04/1994 Business incorporated 04/04/1994 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Curtis Dahl, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curtis Dahl, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Awnings & Canopies Fireplaces Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Additional Locations

  • 10228 Main St

    Bothell, WA 98011 (425) 481-9660 (800) 888-1045 (206) 767-4108

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sundance installed an HVAC pump and new furnace for us in July of 2015. On April 25, 2016 the county mechanical permit inspector found that we were charged for duct testing that was not performed, as well as two other things that Sundance needs to correct before our installation permit can be cleared. (Specifically - caulking an exterior drain, and securing the outdoor air pump unit to the concrete). I have emailed Sundance 3 times and have not gotten a response now as to when we can schedule it to be fixed so we can have the reinspection done. We had numerous installation issues as well, but that just compounds the issue - we just want the system to be able to pass inspection.

Desired Settlement: We have two options: Sundance needs to finish the job and correct the deficiencies. This needs to be done after hours or weekends, as I work days and do not have PTO to use. If Sundance would like me to take the time off of work unpaid to deal with their deficiencies, they can credit me for lost wages. Alternatively, I can hire another contractor to do the work and Sundance can credit me for having someone else fix it, as well as the duct testing they charged me for but did not do.

Business Response: Attached you will find a letter of response to the complaint against our company by one of our customers. We feel that we have done everything that we can to address the situation, but have found that the customer has not been willing or able to schedule a time for our technicians to correct issues and have final inspections completed. Our customer service representative who has been working with the customers has been very patient through the whole process of trying to finalize their installation. The customer does not seem to understand that we cannot schedule city/county inspectors late at night or on weekends. We understand that the customer is having issues taking time off of work to be at home to meet with inspectors or our crew. The customers have been using the equipment since the time it was installed last year and there has not been a problem with the equipment.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ******** I am rejecting this response because: Ms. ********* assertion that I never responded to her email of 6/1/16 are not true. Please see an attached screenshot of two emails that were sent to her requesting confirmation of which day she was referring to. I have received no communication since. I felt that 5 weeks with no date scheduled, 3 weeks for responses prior to that, and 5 days since my last email were reasonable. Sundance has not attempted to phone us whatsoever to resolve this. Email is not the only form of communication if they were truly serious about correcting the issue. I can provide two months of cell phone records proving that no calls were made to us by Sundance. I stand by my original statement that one email in the month after installation is unacceptable response to repair the items. Yes, we have been using the unit for a year. Keep in mind that half of the year we did not use the a/c and our dogs do not frequently play outside in winter, so the risk of damage was much less than it is in Spring/Summer when they are outside more. I also take issue with Ms. ********* personal and unprofessional remark that I do not understand the limitations of code and inspector scheduling. While my personal experience is neither here nor there, I have done construction contract legal for 26 years (For a Fortune 15 company, and I do consulting as well) and am actually well versed in permitting and construction/vendor processes. I had made the sales rep well aware of the installation issues when I spoke to him verbally regarding the thermostat installation. No action was taken. Ms. ******* is also losing sight of the issue at hand, which is not the code inspection scheduling. We cannot have the inspectors out until Sundance corrects the code deficiencies. So what hours the inspectors work is immaterial at this point - the ONLY thing we have been trying to do is get Sundance out at this point, which we have been unable to do. Yes, inspectors need to come out again. But they cannot do so until Sundance does their piece. If their excuse for noncommunication is that I advised them of their liability should damage due to their unperformed work occur, what was the excuse for the 5 weeks prior to that when they didn't respond either? Sincerely, **** ******

Consumer Response:

Sundance completed their work on Wednesday, July 6, 2016 and it passed code inspection on Friday, July 11, 2016.

 

The issue is now resolved.

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late summer, 2014, in preparation for selling my in-laws' condo, I investigated three different companies for a heat-pump installation. On November 20th, 2014, Sundance installed a ductless heat pump in my in-laws' condo. This came after two visits to the home by the sales rep, Doug O*****. On both occasions, he assured me that the best location for the indoor unit was above the fireplace; The HOA president was present at the first visit. A competing bid would have put it over the patio door. One of the important reasons that I chose Sundance over the other was the location of the unit. I put down $3000 for the materials. I had to work on the day of installation; the sales rep called me at work upon arrival to inform me that the installer said it was impossible to install it over the fireplace, citing safety issues. He said the only suitable placement was over the patio door. At that time, I expressed my dismay at the change, but felt powerless to stop the process since winter had set in and the condo was in dire need of heat. The small triangular area above the patio door has obvious water damage to both the wall and the adjacent popcorn ceiling. There are also nail holes where a curtain rod was removed. Had I known that the indoor unit would be installed over the patio door, I would have taken the time to have that small area repaired. As it now stands, since the indoor unit cannot be removed, it will be very difficult for anyone to patch the holes inside a tiny 1 7/8" space and very awkward to patch the wall and popcorn ceiling in the 6 1/2" space between the unit and the ceiling. (The unit extends 9" from the wall). I accept the fact that the current location is the best. I would not want heating system installed unsafely. My complaint lies with the poor communication on the part of Sundance. 1. When directly questioned about the safety of the electrical wires going into the firebox to reach the unit above the fireplace, the sales rep easily reassured two of us that they often did it. 2. When I expressed my dismay on November 20, the sales rep justified the last minute change by saying that it was safer. 3. When I sent an e-mail to the sales rep on Nov 28th, outlining my complaint and requesting compensation ($300) for the inconvenience that this caused, I did not receive any reply. In the meantime, I received the bill for $3493, the full remaining amount. 4. I sent a follow-up letter to the sales rep on Dec 8th. I got a reply by e-mail saying that he asked 'the general manager to work with us on this.' 5. On Saturday, Dec 13 I received a phone message from Curtis D***, company president. 6. I returned the phone call on 12/13. I had to leave a message. I never received a reply. 7. I left a second message on 12/17, in which I repeated that I would like to discuss my complaint with him, but that if I didn't hear from him, I would put the amount due less $300, equal to the amount of compensation I requested. I have received no further communication from the company regarding this matter, but my check has been deposited by the company. I would like to be sure that the company is not pursuing action against me.

Desired Settlement: 1. acknowledgement of the poor estimate by the sales rep in assuring me of a bad decision. 2. a response to my request / phone calls. 3. acceptance of the compensation for the inconvenience caused me.

Business Response: We issued a credit of $300.00 to customer on 12/23/14, per her request. This account is closed per our records. We contacted the customer today to confirm that this account is closed and apologized for any miscommunication to this effect. Thank you.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Curtis D*** called me on February 18, saying that they had credited my account in December for the amount that I had requested. No one had ever notified me of this happening, nor had responded to my calls. He apologized for the miscommunication, and I consider the issue closed.
Thank you.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a 2nd complaint from (***** ** *******, age 87) which we make jointly. Hopefully both complaints can be combined as a single complaint. We purchased, August 19, 2011, a Fujitsu ductless heat pump. It is a two zone type with a single compressor outside. It functioned adequately and while we were aware that a annual tune up is usual, we did not call for one until it began to heat inadequately. Sundance sent a service man who found three refrigerant leaks which he tightened. No mention of the resulting torque was given. We accepted his statement that Sundance was not responsible because we had not called for service within 365 days. If we had called before 8/19/2012 presumably one of the eight flair fittings could have already started leaking but who knows? But it seems obvious to us that there would not be many heat pumps in use in the world if they cannot be reliably installed for many years. We called Sundance in January 2014 and were told we would be charged $150 for a deagnosis of the faltering heat function if their last work was not at fault. No definite time was given for service and the weather was cold. We got a new referral from ****** ***** ****** that responded immediately and found a leak which they did not tighten because it was already too tight. We cancelled the request for service by Sundance and asked *********** *********** **** to do the job.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We ask for a return of the $543.50 paid to Sundance 7/17/2013 and $765.25 we paid 1/22/2014 to **************************. If Sundance had installed this excellent pump properly, we would have not had to pay any of this. in order to be safe this cold winter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/19) */ We at SUNDANCE Energy understood that they had an alternate source of heat that could be used until the equipment was repaired. The customer had us scheduled to come out and do the work two days after the work was done by a different company. We had scheduled our best serviceman out to diagnose and do the repair work. As we are aware that the repair work has been done by another company and out of good faith we have offered two options for compensation to the homeowner. The offers were: a refund of the cost of repair work that we did in July 2013; or refund of our estimated cost of doing the repair work under warranty as originally scheduled for January 2014. They were similar in dollar amount. We are aware of equipment issues with these units in the past. The unit worked properly for over a year and half before having any issues and then was working properly for six months after our repair. With this in mind we believe that the problem may be caused by a manufactures defect and not the result of an incorrect installation/repair work. We hope that the latest repair fixes the issues they have been having. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Yes we will accept the business' resolution because we are tired of their responses and want this to be over, and we have health issues that would make it difficult to do a mediation. Hopefully Sundance won't continue the same practices with other naive consumers. We appreciate working through BBB as we got quick responses from Sundance once we filed the complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/02/28) */ We at SUNDANCE Energy understand that they are not happy with our offer. From a customer service stand point since they are unhappy with the repair/tune-up done in July 2013. In good faith we have agreed to increase our offer to the full amount of the repair/tune-up and will be mailing them a check early next week. As they were not willing to wait for us to come out and warranty the work, this is the best offer we are able to make. We are happy that the equipment worked for over a year and a half without any issues. At this time we request that the BBB rule is made on this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on SUNDANCE Energy Services Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)