Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Specialty Heating & Cooling Inc

Phone: (503) 620-5643 View Additional Phone Numbers 7500 SW Tech Center Dr Ste 130, Tigard, OR 97223 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.specialtyheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Specialty Heating & Cooling Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Specialty Heating & Cooling Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Specialty Heating & Cooling Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1985 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Norman Matheis, President Mr. Sarah Streeter, Sales/Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Norman Matheis, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
S H C

Additional Locations

  • 7500 SW Tech Center Dr Ste 130

    Tigard, OR 97223 (503) 620-5643 (503) 620-5643

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last service call before expiration of warranty revealed an issue as 4 lbs of freon added to system, never required before. August 15 2015. I was away with family during Thanksgiving. Later investigation with PGE indicated lack of heating and requiring emergency heat beginning Novmber 26, 2015. I returned home to large electric bill Dec. 4. Evaluated data and meter accuracy with PGE. Started using wood to heat home. Recalled Specialty heating to reinvestigate system failure, acted the same as Aug 15 above. During investigation during heating cycle that heating required emergency heat. Evaluated failure not to be freon leak but that freon was not getting fed to heat the system. Indicated failure as TXV valve. Also, replaced wrong size capacitor replaced on Aug. 15th. Considered this a failure that was misdiagnosed on Aug 15 and subject to warranty repair including parts and labor. Specialty Heating agreed with this. Meanwhile I continued to use wood for heating while Specialty heating looked for new TXV to repair unit. One could not be found. up to Feb 5 2016. I have used a cord of my emergency wood and do not have but less than a week. I have tried to remain hopeful but not is drastic. I cannot be expected to go through the winter without getting this resolved within the week. If part cannot be found, replace the heat pump that is the complete warranted item. If not replace with other unit available from another vendor. Specialty Heating is supported by Carrier corporation and that is owner of the Warranty. I am 75 years of age, retired, veteran and should not be expected to endure this anymore without positive solution from Specialty Heating especially during the winter months. I have provided all the service and support including the wood to the limit. Specialty Heating recommended waiting for newly made part expected in March or April. I should not have to endure with that solution.

Desired Settlement: Replace with new heat pump of like size and quality from within Specialty Heating & Cooling or negotiate for different vendor for unit.

Business Response:

I became aware of this situation yesterday and discussed it with Cory S******* the service manager. We are still searching for the part that failed through other vendors.

should we find the part we will have it replaced during the week of 2-8-2016. If we are unable to find a replacement part we will take whatever action is necessary to assure

our client does not go without heat or additional expense to heat his home. It is unfortunate that this part is not is stock at our vendor but we are searching other avenues for a suitable repair

and resolution.

I apologize that this was not conveyed sooner. we will get this resolved as quickly as possible.

 

Sincerely, Norman M******    President, Specialty Heating and Cooling

 

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The required part was installed and tested satisfactorily today, 2/10/2016.  The fact that the president first heard about it yesterday was exactly why I needed to submit this to BBB.

Sincerely,

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Specialty Heating & Cooling Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)