Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Jahnke Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 535-4470 Fax: (541) 535-9916 View Additional Phone Numbers 12 S Pacific Hwy, Talent, OR 97540 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.jahnkeheatingandair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers installation and service for heating and air conditioning systems as well as air duct cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jahnke Heating & Air Conditioning Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jahnke Heating & Air Conditioning Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 20, 1997 Business started: 04/01/1988 Business started locally: 04/01/1988 Business incorporated 09/25/1993 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/bcd
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133
bcd.webmaster@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glen Jahnke, President Ms. Michelle Garcia, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Michelle Garcia, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Glen Jahnke, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Duct Cleaning Heating Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jahnke Heating & Air Conditioning Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12 S Pacific Hwy

    Talent, OR 97540

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 660

    Talent, OR 97540

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3/28/2014 Mr. ******; We talked on the phone a few weeks ago about my Mitsubishi ******** that you installed in 2008 and subsequently failed twice in 6 years. When I asked if you had any idea why it might have been so problematic , you said you didn't know, even though you never came to look at the system. I called *** at ***** ******* & ** to evaluate the system. He said the unit was too large for the room (1.5 ton for 400 sq. ft.) and that the refrigerant lines were too large. The Mr Slim requires ¼" liquid line & 3/8" vapor line. What you installed was 3/8" liquid line & ¾" vapor line (that is the line set you would install for a central air conditioner). I had ***** install a new 12,000 BTU Mr Slim with the correct size lines at a cost of $3,300. I contacted Mitsubishi and asked them if improper installation could have caused the system to fail. They said it would cause multiple issues with the system. I have come to the conclusion that the system failed because it was improperly installed, and it is your responsibility to pay for the replacement. You can call *** at ***** ******** if you have any Questions about the work he did or about the system. I recommend you discuss this with your lawyer so we can avoid legal proceedings. I hope you will do the right thing and take responsibility for your mistakes. Enclosed is a copy of the correspondence with Mitsubishi and the bill from ****** Thank you, ***** *****

Desired Settlement: $ 715.00 to replace condensor coil in 20010 $3300.00 to replace system after second failure $4015.00 Total

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/07) */ May 6, 2014 Case# XXXXXXXX BBB Response to Complaint In response to the complaint, Yes, we did talk a couple of weeks ago about the failure of the condenser coil on the outdoor unit during the extremely cold weather we had this winter. Ice had formed in the drain pan (of the outdoor unit) building up above the condenser coil, crushing the lower portion of the coil and has nothing to do with the installation or tubing size. When I spoke to you, I had explained that this unit only had a five year warranty and we gave you the replacement cost to replace the outdoor coil. You elected NOT to replace the coil. You also asked me if we had any other type of units to replace this one. I told you that we have two different brands, Mitsubishi and Daikin. You then proceeded to tell me that you wanted "nothing to do with Mitsubishi or Jahnke Heating ever again" because this would be the second failure in six years. I would like to mention that we do not have any maintenance records on this equipment, such as an annual routine service. In fact, we have only been there one time in 2014 due to the recent trouble you are having. In most cases preventative maintenance can prevent things from happening before it happens. Obviously, at this point we do not agree. I have however consulted a Mitsubishi Field Representative from ******* our wholesale supplier of Mitsubishi products, to try to understand the failure of the equipment. I have attached a copy of the letter for your reference. (ATTACH LETTER) As he clearly stated in the letter, "line sets that are pulled between indoor and outdoor units are sized by the size of the unit". He continues to describe some possible scenarios that may explain the failure of the unit. Please note that he does say that he has "never seen an incorrect line set size cause an outdoor coil to rupture or spring a leak.", as you have concluded. We don't even know for sure that the refrigerant line set was improperly sized as we have never seen it since it was installed. The line set was purchased with the heat pump system from our vendor. I don't feel we should have to pay for the repair or replacement costs. The unit could have been repaired, the coil replaced without replacing the entire heat pump system. Sincerely, **** ****** Owner, ****** Heating & Air Conditioning Inc Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *** ****** said he has never seen the unit since it was installed. That is not true. His tech was here and serviced the unit in 2010 the first time it broke down with the lines attached. he had to have seen the lines. In 2014 when it broke down again, another service tech from ****** came and disconnected the unit from the refrigerant lines and took it to their shop. He must have seen the lines at that time. That unit was installed as part of a remodle, and the lines were installed inside the wall. When it was replaced the original lines were cut off at the wall and sealed up. If *** ****** would like to see the lines he installed, I can remove the plug so he look at it at his convenience. I feel that ****** is responsible for, at the very least, all of the labor cost I incurred on this. Yes, the unit could have been repaired at a cost of $2000 with no warranty or even an idea of why it broke down. Spending that much money with a company that by now I had serious doubts about seemed like a foolish thing to do. That's when I called a different company to take a look at the system and discovered it had been installed incorrectly. I then had it replaced. ***** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/05/08) */ March 8, 2014 Case# XXXXXXXX Response: After reading the consumers response there are a couple things that need to be clarified. First off, it has been determined that the failure of the unit was NOT due to incorrect line set size, or that a different size than specified by the manufacturer. Where did you see that I had said that I have never seen this unit since it was installed? I never said that. Even tho, I have never seen the unit personally, myself since it was installed. My service technician has seen the unit and replaced the coil in July 2010 and then in 2014 found another leak in the coil and recommended replacement. If Jahnke Heating & Air had replaced the coil the second time, there would have been a one year warranty on the coil. All of our replacement parts carry a one year warranty. There was several options available, repair or replace the unit. At this time, it was the customers decision to consult with another HVAC company. Again, I would like to refer you back to the email from the Mitsubishi Service Representatives letter which reiterates there could be several possible explanations for the failure of the coil. Tube sizing was never mentioned as a cause of the failure of the coil. Mitsubishi offers a five year warranty, from the original date of installation. I feel that Jahnke Heating & Air is NOT responsible for any of the costs for repairs or replacement of equipment purchased from another company, especially when we had attempted to work with the customer on the repairs or replacement. We did not charge a service charge or diagnostic in March 2014. The customers' response before he even was given the price for replacement from us was that he "no longer wanted to do business with Jahnke or Mitsubishi". Sincerely, **** ****** Owner, Jahnke Heating & Air Conditioning Inc Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for your inquiry regarding Mitsubishi Electric Cooling and Heating. Yes improper installation can cause multiple issues with the system. Each system has a specific size for the lineset and these should be insulated. If the unit is oversized it would more so cause a problem with mold but could cause issues with how the system runs. Should you need further assistance, we can be reached at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you again for your interest in Mitsubishi Electric Cooling and Heating. Best Regards, ****** ******** Customer Care Team Mitsubishi Electric Cooling & Heating Direct: ************ ID: ^XXXXXX This is the response I got from Mitsubishi stating that the lineset sizing can cause multiple issues and that both the liquid and vapor lines must be insulated. This is common on all mini split systems, not just the *** ***** You continue to claim you did everything correctly, but can't explain why it broke down twice with the same problem. Reputable businesses try to work with customers to resolve issues. You have done the exact opposite. You tried to ignore this hoping it would go away. When I called you said "I did everything exactly correctly." That is obviously not true. You have worked a lot harder at trying to run away from this than to resolve it ***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Jahnke Heating & Air Conditioning Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart