Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Green City Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Phone: (206) 227-6616 View Additional Phone Numbers 948 Industry Dr Bldg 24, Tukwila, WA 98188

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers installation, maintenance, and repair of furnaces , natural gas heaters, electric heating, oil heating units, boilers hydronic heating, radiant in-floor heating, water heaters, heat pumps, air conditioning units, central air and gas piping.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green City Heating & Air Conditioning Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green City Heating & Air Conditioning Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 16, 2012 Business started: 11/18/2011 in WA Business started locally: 11/18/2011 Business incorporated 01/01/2014 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Simonson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Simonson, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Radiant Heating In-floor Heating Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Air Conditioning Repair Air Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Boilers - Sales & Service Heating Equipment Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Contractors - General Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Piping Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Sales: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Service: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
24 Hour Tech. Support at 206-466-9294
Service Area
This company serves King County, Pierce County, Thurston County, Kitsap County, Snohomish County, Washington. 

Additional Locations

  • 948 Industry Dr Bldg 24

    Tukwila, WA 98188


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Puget Sound Energy (PSE) referred Green City Heating and Air Conditioning to perform work on a gas line in a condominium building in Kirkland, Washington. Green City Heating and Air Conditioning was called to cap a gas line in the wall in a unit. The service technician that tended to the work did not cap at the requested location; they capped at an erroneous unnecessary location. They noted that they "could not cap at the requested location because they didn't know where the gas shut off for that unit was". Green City Heating and Air Conditioning charged and left. The resident of the unit in need of service, located the gas shut off location and requested that Green City Heating and Air Conditioning return to complete the service requested the first time. Green City Heating and Air Conditioning returned and completed the service without issue. Green City Heating and Air Conditioning charged again for the visit and left. One job was complete, but was charged twice. *** ********* (complainant) called Green City Heating and Air Conditioning to have one of the charges refunded. When *** ********* received the return call from Green City Heating and Air Conditioning, they were dishonest and refused to refund the money, or help resolve the over-charge in any manner. Tiesha forwarded *** ********* to Eddie, whom was dishonest and did not confer with Jeff S******* regarding resolving the issue at hand. Specific dishonesty: They claimed that the service call was for 2 separate tasks; One to cap a gas line for heater unit removal, and one to cap at the wall after removal of the heater unit. The heater unit was already removed when Green City Heating and Air Conditioning attended the first time. They were asked the first time to cap at the wall. Maybe tech was embarrassed that he was incapable Green City Heating & Air Conditioning was called to perform a single task. Their incompetency required a second visit. They charged for both visits and refused a refund for one visit.

Desired Settlement: Refund charges of initial visit where requested task was not fulfilled.

Business Response:

I am responding to a complaint made by the Manager of *** ********* **** *. Reference #********. Jeff and I have owned Green City Heating for 5 years. We pride ourselves on above average customer service and feel the reviews on multiple sites like ******* ****, ****, ****** etc. speak for themselves.

We were contacted by ******** ******* ** come out and cap a gas line for a fireplace on 2/4/2016. We sent our technician Larry out to preform this. Larry has been an installer and HVAC technician for over 15 years. He has capped literally hundreds of gas lines.

When we arrived to Ms. ********* home on 2/4/2016 the technician, Larry advised the home owner that he could not cap the line where she had instructed because the fireplace insert and wall were in the way. He told Ms. ******* we could cap the line out further as a temporary solution then once she made access for us we could come back out for another service call at a later date (and another service fee) once the customer moved the insert and made access for us to cap the line where she had wanted it. The customer agreed. She signed the work order and paid the technician the 130.00 plus tax.

Thirteen days later on 2/17/2016 Ms. ******* called our office back and asked us to come back out and adjust the capped line now that they had removed the insert and gave us access. We sent Aharon out. Aharon removed the temporary cap Larry had installed and adjusted it back further where the customer instructed. Again Ms. ******* signed the work order and paid the technician an adjusted fee of $79.00 plus tax.

We did not hear back from anyone with a complaint until **** *. called our office on 3/1/2016. We explained that Ms. ******* was our customer and we had not received a complaint from her. We explained that there were two service calls where we believe we completed the work as requested by the customer.

We feel we are justified in requiring payment for work completed. We have signed work orders by the customer and honestly do not feel we owe **** * any additional explanation. Had Ms. ******* called our office with a complaint we may have just issued a refund in order to keep our customer happy but that is simply not the case in this particular incident.

I have attached the signed work orders as well.

If you have further questions please let me know.


Thank you,

Katrina S*******

Green City HVAC



Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Green City Heating and Air Conditioning did not pursue resolution to the specific situation at hand. Rather, they responded defensively; used reputation to waiver complaint instead of trying to understand the specific situation regarding complaint. 
I believe that Green City Heating and Air Conditioning does believe their claim to be true and are not flagrantly disregarding, however as previously mentioned, they are not attempting to resolve. Green City Heating and Air Conditioning was courteous to provide their account of what transpired, and the following outlines the facts. 

******* ******* contacted the Building Services Coordinator at *** ********* to confer and ensure the proper steps were taken to proceed with utility gas line work prior to contacting any contractor. Upon inspection prior to contacting contractors, it was confirmed that the fireplace insert/unit had been removed along with any framing and drywall, or anything impeding gas line access from the outside wall (to remain) inward. However, the drywall in the outside wall (drywall) was not confirmed to be cut back to access gas line in wall to remain. The technician did in fact cap the gas line at a certain spot. Mrs. ******* reported to the Building Services Coordinator that a contractor came out and claimed that they could not cap at Mrs. ********* requested location because they didn't know where to shut the gas off in order to cap at the requested location. The Building Services Coordinator attended the unit and viewed that the utility gas line had been capped at an erroneous location where there was no reason to cap, then showed Mrs. ******* where the shut-off valve for the gas service was and clearly marked it so that there would be no question upon contractors return, where gas would be shut off, as well as left the building mechanical schematic plans. Mrs. ******* requested that the Building Services Coordinator come to the unit while a different technician returned from the same company that performed the work the first time to cap utility gas line. The remaining drywall was confirmed cut back by Building Services Coordinator and the technician was capping at the original requested location. This visit was adequate and no further requests were needed for utility gas lines. 

More information, assumptions, and opinions to clarify and round out the picture of the situation:
The contractor was called to perform a specific task; to cap utility gas line in the wall. Regardless of reasons why, the first visit was unsuccessful, while the second visit was successful. Mrs. ******* has an accent that possibly creates a language barrier, and is a very considerate and reasonable person that always pays for her dues. She indicated to the Building Services Coordinator that she felt they weren't there with the best intentions (to satisfy the needs of the paying customer) and believed they cared only about money. The Building Services Coordinator cannot confirm Mrs. ********* suspicion, but did notice from meeting the second technician that the technician had a negative, unhelpful and overall poor attitude. The first visit may have been unsuccessful because the technician did not attempt to find or ask where shut off valve was located, or simply could not find it or understand (linguistically) that Mrs. ******* did not know. During the first visit the technician may have likely capped the gas line at the erroneous location in order to have something to show for his work and charge for. He may have seen an opportunity to capitalize on a "nice little lady" and/or not be shamed for showing up and not being able to perform the requested task. Mrs. ******* paid and signed off because as previously mentioned, she takes care of her business respectfully, and pays when asked. 
This complaint is based more on the manner which Green City Heating and Air Conditioning handled the initial (directly to contractor office) complaint. There was little to no investigation, and no insight into understanding the specific situation. Green City Heating and Air Conditioning held steadfast on two bills that totaled approximately $210 rather than offering any consolation. This is proven through their response to the complaint through The BBB, as previously mentioned, they're not interested in resolving; Green City Heating and Air Conditioning responded defensively rather than proactively. 


*** *********

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ******** installed a boiler in my townhouse; however, the installation has impacted the performance of the water heater. My tenants and I have tried contacting him on numerous occasions and he has been unresponsive. The water goes from freezing to boiling hot, making it nearly impossible for my tenants to shower or perform normal tasks in the sinks. I finally was able to reach him on 4/18 and he stated that he would resolve the matter that day, but as of yesterday nothing has been done. **** stated to the bank and myself that the job was completed, so he was paid in full as I believed him to be done. Over a month later, there are still issues and he is not addressing them, essentially walking away from the job.

Desired Settlement: I would like the water heater issue resolved and a final invoice provided with all repairs listed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/06/13) */ This customer lives in California. We dealt mostly with the renters living in the townhouse. We installed a boiler and a tankless water heater. The tenant complained a few days later that his water went from freezing to hot. We sent a service technician out and found that the tenant had tried to fix the situation himself and had turned the water heater control to Celsius rather then Fahrenheit which caused the water heater to not heat the water correctly. We fixed the issue which was no fault of ours and did not charge the client for the service call. We felt we have done everything in our power to quickly resolve this issue and feel it was the delayed response the owner received from the tenant that caused the poor review. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 17, 2014/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) And therein lies the issue; had the business contacted me after my calls and emails, we never would have reached the point of this complaint. I spoke with my tenants numerous times and each time I spoke to them, I would call **** and would get voice mail and no return call. I would then email him and no one would reply. When that happens, I am forced to believe my tenants as they are the ones reaching out to me and asking for my help every couple of days. Maybe in the future, **** and his company will improve their communication with customers and these situations can be avoided, especially when the issue is their fault. As the person who paid for the work and asked for open communication from the start (being out of town, it is essential that I stay in touch with anyone I contract to work on my townhome), I would have expected to hear from **** when I leave messages.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Green City Heating & Air Conditioning Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)