This business is not BBB accredited.

Gagle's Heating

Phone: (503) 581-2972 2789 Pringle Rd SE, Salem, OR 97302 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers heating, cooling and plumbing sales, service and installation.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Gagle's Heating include:

  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Gagle's Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1991 Business started: 05/01/1966 Business started locally: 05/01/1966 Business incorporated 05/17/1988 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Merlyn Gagle, President Ms. Linda Gagle, Secretary/ Treasurer Mr. Mark Gagle, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Gagle, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Merlyn Gagle, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Gagle Enterprises

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gagle's Heating has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    2789 Pringle Rd SE

    Salem, OR 97302 (503) 581-2972


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Gagles in Dec, 2014 when my sewage ejector pump began overflowing. I chose Gagles as they had installed the pump the previous year (Feb, 2013).Gagles visited on 12/30/14. They advised unplugging and re-plugging the pump into the electrical outlet if this issue recurred. I don't know what other work may have been done as it was unsupervised.Two days later the pump was overflowing again, even though no one was living in the house. I phoned Gagles and, according to my notes, spoke with ****. **** passed me to Jeff. I explained that the issue remained unresolved and asked that they send out a different technician. Jeff informed me that they could do that but there would be a second service fee. I said I would try another contractor first.While researching I learned from a third uninvolved professional in this field that unplugging and re-plugging is an ineffective strategy for clearing a sewage ejector pump.** ******** came out and fixed the issue without a hitch. Rather than instructing me to unplug and re-plug the pump when I noticed an issue, a new valve was installed.In the meantime, Gagles mailed my bill to the wrong address. As time passed and I hadn't received a bill, I phoned *them* to advise that if they had sent a bill, I hadn't received it. I also explained that another company had completed the job. Within 2 days I received 3 bills. Then, no bills for two months. I considered Gagles may have dismissed my bill.I phoned Gagles in March, having received a bill with interest. I was content to pay since they had visited my home but mentioned that I would be compelled to write a review of my experience if they required payment. I also offered to provide proof that the issue had been resolved by another company. My concern was sent to Jeff who, after consideration, said he would not dismiss the bill because Gagles would have been happy to come out after the initial problematic visit if I had just phoned them.I had phoned. And it had been Jeff with whom I'd spoken.

Desired Settlement: I have mailed a check to Gagles for the full billed amount. I would like a refund or a confirmation that my check has been voided.

Business Response: The origional work order only had the "job address" and did not have the mailing address for the customer, thus the reason for the delay in the customer receiving the invoice. This job was scheduled and performed in December of 2014. We had sent a plumber to the job site and the pump was working correctly when we left so we processed a work order for the service call. It is our policy that if we charge a customer for a diagnosis and/or repair of equipment and failure occures again within a reasonable amount of time (60 days) that we do not charge a second service fee to return and rediagnose the failure. The customer must have misunderstood what was stated about our service fee's, because had we been informed that another equipment failure occured, we would have went back to the job site at no charge to the customer. We were not informed by the customer and/or offered an opportunity to resolve the issue prior to the customer involving another plumbing company so we have no obligation to waive the charges for the initial service call.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As stated in my complaint, I phoned the company when the issue arose again and took notes of the conversation. I spoke with an **** and a Jeff. I also shared the events with **** of ****** ************** who recommended the second plumber. **** could be contacted to provide verification; I have not spoken with him since the conversation in which I solicited a recommendation from him for another plumber as the first plumber was going to charge a second service fee to address the same issue.

As the current issue seems to be my word against the company's it may be best to contact **** in order to triangulate my version of events. If you wish me to do that, I'm willing.


********* ******

5/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm being billed for drain jetting work that I had no evidence of it being completed. I've sent a letter of complaint to the company after I contacted them several times and was told each time that I'd receive a call back - but no call back was ever received. This letter is attached.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Stop billing me for a service that to me was not completed as agreedand the company never responded to any of my contact attempts.

Business Response: Gagle's technician visited the customers home on 10-10-2014 and provided the requested proposal to clean / hydrojet out the rain drains. The customer accepted the proposal and we returned on 10-13-2014 to perform the work. The technician spent several hours at the residence, completed the proposed work and verified the drain were all flowing correctly, then left the residence. There is no way for Gagle's to verify to the customer that the work was performed, because the customer was not home at the time the work was being performed, other than to show that the drains are flowing correctly.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I stated in my complaint, I had agreed to the date of service due to the promise by the tech that I would receive a call while he was on site about the status. I had personally given him my cell number for that call and he also had my home number. When I arrived home, there was no evidence that anyone had come on site. I called the office multiple times and each time I was told I'd receive a call later that day or the next business day but they didn't call back.

The verbal agreement on their part was that the tech would speak with me while on site about the job status. Gagle didn't complete their part of the agreement.

Consumer Response: To address the fact I wasn't on site, and the showing of the work as evidence that Gagles states in their response:

When the tech offered the Monday as an option for the work to be done, I stated I wouldn't be able to be at home that day. The tech stated that he would call if he found any issues and call as he was finishing. I agreed to that and ensured he had my cell number and instructed that he call that number.

I received no call on my cell that Monday. When I got home, the curb was damp from a few houses down to just past my east drain. It was dry around my west drain. There was no note or business card left around any of the doors or under the mats. There was also no message on my home phone. I had no proof that work had been done nor that anyone from Gagles had even been by. Thus I began making the calls that received promises of call-backs that didn't come.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Gagle's Heating
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart