BBB Accredited Business since

First Call Heating & Cooling

Phone: (503) 231-3311 View Additional Phone Numbers 13154 Clackamas River Dr, Oregon City, OR 97045 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.firstcallheat.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the installation and servicing of heating and cooling equipment, oil delivery, indoor air quality services, underground tank decommissioning and soil cleanup.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Call Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Call Heating & Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on First Call Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1957 Business started: 01/01/1939 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1939 Business incorporated 06/27/1994 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alan Sanchez, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Sanchez, Secretary
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Oils - Fuel Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Products & Services

First Call Heating & Cooling sells the following brand(s): Lochinvar Boilers, Thermopride, Trane

First Call Heating & Cooling offers the following product(s): Air Cleaners, Air Conditioners, Boilers, Furnaces, Heat Pumps

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards, Checks and Financing
Alternate Business Names
Discount Oil Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

First Call Heating & Cooling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13154 Clackamas River Dr

    Oregon City, OR 97045 (360) 693-3311 (503) 231-3311

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my Rheen furnace installed in 2001 and to date I have had 12 repairs done. The furnace system has had an ongoing issue with moisture and parts of the furnance are rusting and I continue to have issues with water in the furnace. I have had issues with water since they installed the system. In 2001 the furnace was installed, the venting was improperly done causing it to rain into my furnace closet. The company came back and repaired? 2006 problems with the return and pressure switch 2008 the PVC venting pipe was leaking, repaired 2010 water in the furnace (on two separate trips), repair spark ignitor 2011 malfunctioning problem had to pay for a tune up 2012 replaced pressure switch, found leaking inducer, water in furnace 2015 I found a water puddle in the furnace, I called to try and get this resolved on 3-16-15, talked to **** who was going to look into the issues and to and would return a call on Tuesday after he had the opportunity to look into the repair history. I have not been called yet. I have called twice today and left messages on a voice mail and with the receptionist.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is to have a dry furnace that is properly installed, good working condition, no rust or damage from the effects of long term water damage that I can see within the furnace now. I also would like my money for the repairs since the furnace was installed refunded. For a brand new system this should not have occurred and First Call should have offered to replace the unit some time ago due to the ongoing issues with water in the furnace itself.

Business Response: The customer has been contacted via phone and a technician is going to be looking at the situation.  First Call Heating has changed owners since the original installation and most of the service work was performed but is looking into the best solution for the customer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** ******

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new furnace in May. It has always had difficulties with the thermastat registering error. I have had them come out several times, but the error continues They furnace has not been in use all summer, so this morning we tried to turn it on, and we received an error message. Because of a serious family illness, we can not afford to have a non-working furnace in the house and this must be corrected immediately before cold weather sets in. My suspicion is that we have a defective furnace or system.

Desired Settlement: We need a working furnace that we can depend upon and will not give us an error message. We have tried for 4 months to have this happen.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/08) */ We are in receipt of this complaint and while we can sympathize with the customer in question, First Call Heating and Cooling (FCHC) and our sister company *** ****** **** ******* ********** done everything possible to respond to the problems and errors in a timely and professional manner. The problems arose from a very complex system which was installed and has since shown some software glitches that are being addressed by the manufacturer of the system. As of this date we have responded 4 times to install the corrections and updated hardware that the manufacturer have told us would solve the problem. All of thesewere accomplished at no charge to the customer per our warranty policy and the policy of the manufacturer. Our last visit was on 9/24 of this year and we had the Field Technical Consultant from the manufacturer meet us on site to survey the system with us. A work around solution was put in place and there have been no issues since. As systems become more complex and consumers demand more interaction with their systems, as well as functionality, these communication errors become more common and are certainly more inconvenient both for the consumer and the contractor. In this case, except for the communication errors (which we have been assured by the manufacturer have been isolated and solved) the system functions well and efficiently as it was designed.We as the contractors stand ready willing and able to honor all warranties and to continue to work hand in hand with the manufacturer to further the custoemrs experience with our products.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on First Call Heating & Cooling
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart