Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brennan Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (206) 248-7900 Fax: (206) 248-7905 View Additional Phone Numbers 4601 S 134th Pl, Seattle, WA 98168 http://www.brennanheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating systems and installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brennan Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Brennan Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Brennan Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1978 Business started: 04/01/1987 in WA Business started locally: 04/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Darrin Erdahl, Partner Mr. Eric Beardemphl, Sales Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darrin Erdahl, Partner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Heating & Cooling Demolition Water Heaters - Repairing

Alternate Business Names
Brennan Heating & Air Conditioning LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brennan Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2-13-2010, I purchased a ****** Heating and AC Heat pump to include the Furnace through Costco. Brennan HVAC came and installed these units. I was told by there saleman Tom H*** that we had a 10 year warranty plus paid for an extended 3 year labor warranty and he stated that he would input the warranty information. I found out 07-27-2016 that through Pat C***** HVAC Specialist for Puyallup School District Sr. Lead Technition, that the Air Handler indoor coil is leaking and all the refridgerant is gone. I called Brennan to ask about my warranty and Robert M***** stated we only had a 1 year labor warranty and a 5 year warranty on the rest. I made the statement that we were to have the 10 year warranty as Tom H*** had stated to us. Robert M***** stated it was not entered into the system for that. So now I am out my 10 year warranty due to negligence of a sales rep. I have submitted a complaint as well to ******

Desired Settlement: Warranty reinstated we have 3 more years

Business Response:

In response to the complaint submitted, registering new equipment is and has always been the responsibility of the homeowner. We do advise, in writing, to each customer we install equipment for that we recommend registering their equipment to take advantage of benefits such as additional warranties on qualifying equipment and also advise that it must be done within 60 days of installation.  We also provide the website for your convenience.  Please see attached for the homeowner checklist that goes to each home on the day of install. I have been advised by our service department that had your equipment been registered, it would have given you an additional 5 year parts warranty on top of the 5 year parts warranty that comes standard from ******.   There would not have been any addition to the labor warranty. Regarding the purchase of a 3 year labor warranty, there is no indication on your proposal, your invoice or anywhere in your file that additional money was collected or that it was even supposed to be part of your estimate. Purchasing additional warranties isn’t something many of our customers do so had it been intended to be included in your estimate, it definitely would have been separately line itemed and priced. Regarding the parts warranty, we do not have the ability to grant or reinstate a warranty as you requested as it is a ****** warranty, not a Brennan Heating warranty.   

After speaking with our service manager, it is my understanding that Robert informed you that we could send a technician out to diagnose and/or confirm that the coil needs to be replaced as you claim.  You stated at that time that you didn't want to pay the diagnostic fee when your friend had already diagnosed the problem.  It is not our practice or most reputable company's practice to perform any work based on a customer's opinion or another company's diagnosis. Robert further explained that in an attempt to work with you as we continue to strive for great customer service, if our technician was able to confirm that the coil does need replaced, we, Brennan Heating, would provide the coil at no cost and you would be responsible for the diagnostic fee and labor cost only. In closing, our records do indicate that we have not performed any maintenance on your system since it was installed in 2010. As with any machinery with moving parts that runs often and much like a vehicle, we do highly recommend that annual maintenance be done on your system in attempt to keep it in good operating condition. Robert still has your quote on file should you decide to schedule this repair. Thank you.

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New furnace installed, 10/13-5897.75-PAID IN FULL-NO ISSUES ON PAYMENT FROM brennan heating, they got their money. WE RECIEVED THE FOLLOWING-NONFUNCTIONAL FURNACE AT TIME OF INSTALL. CALLED FOR SERVICE "customer service employee" KJ tells us it does not matter what we paid. Recent sales call wanting us to PAY for servicing our furnace, our warranty had expired, {with no call for a service before it did}. NEW FURNACE IS MUCH LOUDER THAN 1963 FURNACE,NEW FURNACE CREATES THREE TIMES THE PARTICULATES AS 1963 FURNACE, FAMILIES ALLERGIES ARE EXTREME. WE WERE ASSURED THE "NEW ELECTROSTATIC FILTER WOULD ELIMINATE PARTICULATES,brennans solution- WE PAY FOR NOISE MITIGATION AND NEW FILTER SYSTEM.

Desired Settlement: GIVES WHAT WE PAID FOR

Business Response: I have done my research and spoken with everyone involved with this situation.  Currently Mr. ****** has two issues, his pre-existing duct work has a vibration noise below his bedroom and his new electronic air cleaner, which we installed, is not getting enough dust out in his opinion.  The duct work issue is an existing problem from when they built the house.  It is all sheet rocked in and cannot be accessed to re-secure.  We replaced his furnace in August of 2013 but the duct work was installed when the house was built.  We informed him we could turn down the blower to reduce the vibration but he doesn’t want to do that because he really likes the way it is heating.  Our only option is to try installing a vibration plenum at his furnace which will take 3-4 hours and not a normally installed piece, we offered to do it for $400 for parts and labor.  We have checked his electronic air cleaner and it is working properly but he has more dust then he cares to have.  ********* sells a post filter which should help and we priced it at $94.  The post filter does not come with the unit and we rarely need them or sell them but can special order the product.  I might suggest that a duct cleaning be performed by a duct cleaning company as an option. Mr. Kuyper has stated he should get every thing for free because of poor customer service he has experienced in the past, none of which I have heard anything about until now. Making the couple changes previous stated as well as getting the ducts cleaned should solve the customers issues and Brennan Heating will gladly still honor the pricing purposed.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:duct cleaning was done at install, new, expensive electronic air cleaner will remove much more dust, we were assured at time of sale. It does not, previous physical filters Much more efficient, why were we sold this then? Vibration issue should have been anticipated if company has competent HVAC techs. Again this has been extremely poor service from the beginning. Why are we being treated this way. Stop sending us solicitation emails and phone calls. Why did brenann heating contact us to try to make a service only AFTER their warranty had expired? We have no idea why they are doing all this. It has been an extremely bad experience for us since we paid them. We don't care we don't have to, once they get their money. Unprofessional in the extreme, why after all we have been through, would we pay more money too brenann?  

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response:

After careful consideration for the customer’s clear frustration regarding the matters at hand, coupled with the new knowledge that a third party evidently performed a duct cleaning either before or after the new unit was installed since Brennan does not offer these services, we have a solution to suggest. Brennan, in an effort to both satisfy Mr. ****** and/or stand behind our install, would like to offer to not only install a vibration plenum between the furnace we installed and the customers pre-existing duct work but also provide them with the ********* post filter upgrade free of charge. Having said that, we would also like to clarify that contacting customers that have had us install a new system for them after a warranty period has expired to perform the general maintenance that is recommended by the equipment manufactures is by no means meant to be a negative approach but rather, a proactive approach to best serve the customer in an effort to prolong the life of their investment. We take much pride in our workmanship and always strive to serve all our customers with the best intentions every time. We do appreciate Mr. ****** choosing Brennan Heating to install his new system and hope that these efforts will not only alleviate his issues but also resolve his concerns.

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service person (*****) charged me $100 to diagnose the problem with my furnace. He then stated that he thought the problem was two pressure switches. He said he would replace them first, then if that did not work he would replace the control board. He did not diagnose the problem. He was just going to change parts until he found the right one. I called another company (************) and he diagnosed the problem in about 1 minute and gave me a written estimate for the repair. I had them fizx the furnace and it cost exactly what he estimated and was exactly what the problem was. They did not charge me anything for the estimate. Brennan cheated me out of $100 as they did not diagnose the problem and charged me $100 diasgnosis fee.

Desired Settlement: Refund of my $18.41 they charge for estimatewhich they did not give me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/27) */ We are very sorry to hear about this negative experience and have spoken with the technician regarding this matter. I am glad to hear that your system is now repaired and I apologize that you had to have another contractor fix what we should have when we were out. Having said that, a full refund of $108.41 will be sent out right away.

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Brennan to diagnose and correct water leakage near A/C system. On May 5, service technician ***** **** was unable to diagnose the problem. Since he was there, I requested that he do annual maintenance service of the A/C condenser. He noted that the condenser needed more air and ended up retrieving a machete from his Brennan van. He hacked off a main branch of an old and expensive rhododendron that was part of a group we have been carefully pruning year-by-year to form a canopy leading to the gate to our backyard. We hired Brennan to address equipment issues, not to do pruning. We submitted a letter of complaint to Brennan dated May 8. We have received no response. Brennan installed Lennox gas furnace, Lennox A/C, gas water heater, and Honeywell electronic air cleaner for us. We have never submitted a complaint to Brennan before, but have been customers since about 1991. At Brennan's request, we served as their referral contact for several years and did speak with several potential customers who called us.

Desired Settlement: We would appreciate some acknowledgement of our May 8 letter of complaint. Nothing could change the ruined plan for a canopy of several old rhododendrons leading to our backyard. It is too late for that. We have gone on to another HVAC company that promtly identified and resolved the water leak problem, which was the reason for our service call to Brennan. We will never again be a Brennan customer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@brennanheating.com On May 1, 2014 there was a personnel change within our company and the customer's original complaint did not reach the appropriate person. We apologize for the relay in our response. We are truly sorry for the damage to the customer's rhododendron and have issued a full refund for this service call. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We appreciate receiving a response from the business, although it took from our initial complaint letter dated May 8 until August 19 and required a followup through the BBB. Nothing can restore the main branch of an old, established rhododendron that has been improperly and carelessly pruned. However, the business has done what it could at this point to make us whole. We appreciate that.

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brennan service tech came out to look at our commercial HVAC unit. after 15 minutes of service call for $100. Service tech seemed like he really didn't want to clean the ac unit so he called to find out how much to charge to complete the service call. Total estimated cost to clean the HVAC AC unit $300. We have used Brennan for years to service our business's heating and hvac needs. Unfortunately this time it really seems like they are gouging us by charging for a service call, and literally doing nothing to fix the issue. Then because the tech did not want to do the job pushing up the price.

Desired Settlement: refund of $100 service call charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/25) */ As with any business, we have to bring on new technicians from time to time. This is the case with the technician who came to your home. He legitimately needed to call in to the service manager to obtain the correct pricing for your repair. The price that you were quoted was due to the extent of debris on your coil and the amount of cleaning necessary. By no means did ******* have any intention of making you feel you were being charged unfairly. In an act of good faith, we are happy to refund the diagnostic fee you were charged. Also, in an effort to keep you as a loyal customer, we would like to offer to perform the above service repair at half of the cost that was quoted to you.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 11/09/12 Brennan Heating came out to do a preventative maintenance on our heater. The tech determined that we needed a new igniter and charged about $300. About a month ago our heater stopped working. We had a different company troubleshoot the problem and they found the igniter was bad. They said the part in there (the one Brennan installed) did not even belong in a heating system (it was meant for a dryer and was also meant for 220 AC voltage and our heater runs on 110). I have the bad part and called Brennan to report the problem. I told the problem to 2 different people and was told the service manager would call me back.. To this day, still no response from them.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for the wrong part.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ On 11/09/2013, a technician from our company went to this customer's home to perform a prepaid annual maintenance on her furnace and heat pump. During the inspection, the technician discovered that the furnace needed a new hot surface ignitor and flame sensor. He replaced these parts with the customer's permission. The charge to the customer was $135.00 plus tax, for a total of $147.82. As a heating and air conditioning company, we do not work on dryers and therefore do not stock 220 AC voltage parts. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The date was actually 11/09/12. I may not have the amount correct or the exact name of the part, but I know the ignitor switch was replaced by your company (or at least I was told it was replaced). I have the old part and it does not look like the new one that was just installed. The technician from the company that just came out seemed very knowledgable so I tend to believe what he said (not the correct voltage and not for my heating system). Not being able to take the time to respond to my concern until I file a report with the BBB, makes me doubt Brennan's commitment to their customers. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/04/23) */ 4/23/14 1:43PM - I called both numbers listed on the BBB report but was unable to reach the customer so I left messages. In cases where it is a competitor passing judgement on work that we performed, it is common that they will try to discredit us to earn that new customer. We would have liked the opportunity to return to the job, but was not given that option. The owner has been informed of this complaint but is currently out of town. He will be back next week and would like the opportunity to address this upon his return. In the meantime, the customer is still welcome to return either of my phone calls. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did receive 1 message at my home #. As I was at work all day, I was not able to return her phone call until the next day. We did discuss the chain of events that led me to contact a competitor and I have offered to send the faulty part to them so they could see what was actually used. Even if the competitor said it was the wrong part to discredit them doesn't change the fact that the part only lasted a little over a year. The new part that was placed by the competitor has a 3 year warranty. I would hope Brennan Heating would also have such a warranty in place. I am waiting to hear from the owner when he returns from vacation.

2/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted Brennan in mid November of 2013 regarding our Heat pump not working. A Heat Pump that was installed in February of 2013 and still covered in the warranty. A technician came out on the 25th of November 2013 and diagnosed a burned out PC board on the unit and said parts would take about a week to arrive. We called Brennan after a week had passed and were told they needed to call their' parts people' and would call us back. After a month we received no calls so we contacted them again on December 31st 2013 and got the same message, that they would call their parts people and then call us back. We've attempted to call them again and have not gotten through.

Desired Settlement: Quick repair of the warranty equipments. Extension of the warranty and compensation for the excess electrical bill due to the need to use suplimental heat

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/24) */ This job / work was completed to customer satisfaction. All functions of the equipment were tested multiple times at the time of service. There wasn't mention of the electric bills in question at that time. If there is more information that the homeowner has regarding this, I would need that sent to me.

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2013 I called Brennen Heating to come out and fix my Thermostat and on July 13th **** arrived and installed a new thermostat and cleaned the drain for the furnace. I was having problems with the heating and cooling settings on the thermostat for a while after thatI have to keep changing the settings, figured it was jsut a re-adjustment period, then it stopped working right and in October it started having problems again. The heat would come on when it was supposed to be cooling, and the thermostat said it was cooling and then during the day it would cool when the the settings said it was supposed to be heating. I finally tried a lot of things and even called a friend who is a contractor and had him look at it. he said it should be working fine. In November I finally called Brennon heating after hours and spoke with their after hours service tech, and he said turn the power off to the system and back on. I did that and it worked for the cooling at night, but the thermostat installed by them would not work during the day, so I called again. the technician came out on Monday 11/18/13 and spent 10 minuted resetting the thermostat controls which I had tried several times. and he left after charging me 100.00 for the service call. the thermostat still does not work. it still says cool when it should be heating. I called the service department and spoke with the service manager and she informed me she would look at the invoice and give me a call. then at two pm I called back to inform them the thermostat still did not work. She Never Did call me back, and they sent in our payment even thought I told **** we should not have to pay him for something he should have done right to start with. ( When I called them the first time I asked them to come out after 2PM He showed up around 11 AM). The supervisor said she would send the tech out with a new thermostat on Thursday 11/21/13 to replace the NEW thermostat. The tech came out, and found out he should have checked the original settings and one of the settings should not have been activated. I Am not paying for the new thermostat controls , and I want the 100.00 that I paid them on 11/18/13 refunded to me. if they had sent the technician as I had requested after 2 PM he would have seen the problem was with the controls they installed and fixed it the first time.. Their Tech **** returned on Thursday 11/21 to fix the thermostat controls they initially installed and I paid for. It seems he did not program it correctly when he first installed it. and thus two return calls. so we feel if it were programmed right the first time it would not have been the problems.

Desired Settlement: I want the 100.00+ I paid them for something they should have taken care of when it was first installed

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/12/27) */ Dear *** ******, First I'd like to apologize for any inconvenience this experience may have caused you. As a company, we try to make every effort to do the job right the first time. Unfortunately, at times, that may not always happen. We have issued a check for your requested reimbursement which will go out in the mail on Monday. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience with our company as we realize there is always room for improvement. We do hope that you will consider Brennan Heating again in the future to serve your HVAC needs. Feel free to contact us with any questions. Sincerely, ***** ******* Brennan Heating Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/01/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Though I do not think I should have had to go this far. when I called they should have done this before I had to file a complaint. I think their response was to settle with you instead of settling with me. If they truly want to satisfy the customer they should not make the customer go this far ..I am satisfied with the refund. but would still not recommend this company in the future

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New furnace installed 10/7/13. Malfunctioning on 10/8/13. called customer service, 8pm, was hung up on twice, called back, service rep, rude, arrogant, combative. No longer wish to do business w/ Brenann heating. Still waiting to hear back. Product_Or_Service: gas furnace

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Remove furnace, give refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/22) */ After speaking with the customer last week, this issue has been resolved. Customer stated they were satisfied with the service provided.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Brennan Heating & Air Conditioning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart