Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Altrol Inc

Phone: (907) 452-8680 Fax: (907) 452-6778 2295 Van Horn Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99701 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers complete heating, air conditioning, refrigeration, sheetmetal and natural gas conversions. Commercial and residential installation and service and also professional duct cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Altrol Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Altrol Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 17, 2006 Business started: 10/01/1982 Business started locally: 10/01/1982 Business incorporated 10/01/1982 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David Bridges, President Mr. Glenn Colburn, Warehouse Manager Ms. Katie MacDonald, Marketing Coordinator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Bridges, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Katie MacDonald, Marketing Coordinator
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Quality Service Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair Duct Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Heating Contractors Plumbers Ventilating Contractors

Products & Services

Buderus, Weil McLain, Lennox & System 2000 boilers/furnaces, Lennox Hearth products (wood & pellet stoves) HRVs, Wifi-programmable thermostats, Sensaphone freeze detectors.

Additional Locations

  • 2295 Van Horn Rd

    Fairbanks, AK 99701 (907) 452-8680


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman/serviceman said I need a new boiler and quoted me $16,000. The second opinion looked up the series number determining the boiler to be built in 2010 and needed some work and the alleged issues stated on my invoice from Altrol were "made-up" as in I had a few issues but do not need a total remodel when it comes to my boiler system. Then the salesman/serviceman was not a plumber, but told me that I needed all new piping but my second opinion replaced a valve for $400 and my shower is now fixed.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $149 service fee back as the serviceman/salesman lied to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/07/08) */ I received your complaint through the Better Business Bureau. After meeting with the technician who visited your residence and checking our notes, we've established that the technician came to your residence due to a call for no hot water. This can be caused by a heating or plumbing issue. Then technician was not trying to state that you need a new boiler, simply that there were multiple other repairs which are necessary to keep your boiler running its best, in addition to the reason for your call. Other area HVAC companies can fix problems at hand, but Altrol addresses not only the reason for the call, but other issues which are very likely to cause problems down the road, costing you a great deal more money, time, and frustration. I've also brought your concerns to our Residential Service Manager, **** *********** **** is more than happy to discuss this further with you, and he can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX or *********** Please let me know if you'd like to discuss this further. We'd like to resolve this to your satisfaction as soon as possible, but we first want to make sure there wasn't a miscommunication. Best Regards, ***** *********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Altrol Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)