Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Berggren Construction and the Gutter Guys

Phone: (907) 456-4528 Fax: (907) 479-5088 2745 Van Horn Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers the installation of vinyl siding and seamless gutters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berggren Construction and the Gutter Guys meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Berggren Construction and the Gutter Guys
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 17, 2005 Business started: 04/01/2002 in AK Business started locally: 04/01/2002 Business incorporated 03/24/2005 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Rance Berggren, President Ms. Deborah Bregreen, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rance Berggren, President
Principal: Ms. Deborah Bregreen, Director
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts Commercial and Institutional Building Construction (NAICS: 236220)

Alternate Business Names
Berggren Inc

Additional Locations

  • 2745 Van Horn Rd

    Fairbanks, AK 99709 (907) 456-4528


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this business to get a quote on gutter fabrication and installation on 9/21/15 at 6:47pm and left a message. I called back on 9/22/2015 and was quoted $7 installed, $5 to have just fabrication done, and told it would probably run $6 a foot to install myself after I bought the other parts. I was also told that they could not come out until at least the second week of October 2015. I asked for white gutters to be installed but that I would do the downspouts myself and then said that it sounded like it was going to just be over $800, the sales person agreed. I said that I needed them out as soon as they could come and I was told they would call as soon as they knew when they could fit me into the schedule. They arrived without warning on just as I was leaving on 9/28/2015. I talked to one man on the crew as they set up to measure, showed him where the gutters were to be installed, what direction they needed to flow, and that I was going to be doing the downspouts. The crew had the wrong orders and had thought they were only fabricating the gutters, I don't them that I had asked pricing on both and had ordered just gutters installed. When I got back home, the gutters were installed and so were the downspouts. My daughter had been told when they were leaving that an invoice would be sent but was not asked to sign anything. I had estimated that I had just under 120 linear feet of gutter to install which would be about $840. I received a bill for 113 linear feet plus 47 feet of downspout for a total of $1120 on 10/1/15. I called on 10/2/15 at 10:10am, told them my problem with the bill and that it was way over my budget and that I could not afford the overage. The salesperson said that I was wrong about what I had ordered, that she would have the owner contact me to discuss it. I returned his call at 12:04pm, he told me the mix up was my fault, that he would not budge on the charges, and that if I refused to pay it in full, he would send me to collections.

Desired Settlement: I had budgeted for $840 for the gutters and I do not have a problem paying for the materials for the downspouts at what it would have cost me to buy them at my local **** ***** ** ****** but I should not have to pay for the installation. I am willing to pay $900 to settle this account.

Business Response:

Here at The Gutter Guys, customer satisfaction is something that we strive for and we always do our best to reach a compromise in the event that a customer is unsatisfied. We have been in business since 1997 and pride ourselves on providing customers with superior service at a reasonable price.

On September 22nd, ****** ***** called and stated she needed gutters ASAP as she just finished doing the roof. She wanted a quote for a drop cut as well as for an install of the gutters. She gave me estimates on the footage of the gutters and asked what the price was for a drop cut versus an install. Based on the numbers she provided, I told her that 120 feet of gutter would cost $675 at the cut and drop price ($75 delivery charge and $5 per foot for the gutter material, and that pieces and parts are billed separately). I also quoted her $840 for the installed price on her estimate of 120 feet of gutter. There was never any discussion of a budget. I explained there was a possibility that it would have to wait until the Spring of 2016 since we are fast approaching the end of our gutter season, but we would do our best to accommodate her this season.

We sent our crew out on 9/28/2015 to run out the gutters. The installers have been with our company since 2006 and 2007 and they have installed on hundreds of homes throughout the years. ****** told them to “just go ahead and install.” This was a change in her original order and she never told the crew to leave off the downspout. She then left the house after telling the crew to “just install.” Leslie’s daughter was outside with the crew the entire time they installed and she never relayed that downspout was not to be installed.

Since ****** wanted our crew to install rather than do a drop cut, this changed the price from $5 per foot to $7 per foot. We mailed off the invoice to her on September 29th. She called us to dispute the amount on October 2nd. I answered the phone and ****** stated that she received an invoice in the mail that was significantly higher than what she thought it would be. I pulled the records from our file and based off the notes on the work order, I relayed to her that the invoice was computed for a full install, which was a change from her original request of a drop cut. She then agreed that she told the installers to go ahead and install when they got there, rather than to just drop the materials for her to install. I explained that based on her request, the installers followed her instructions. She then insisted that she told me she would do her own downspouts, therefore they should not have installed them. She said she never told the installers not to install downspout because she already told me she would install her own. I then told her if it was a simple miscommunication on what to do with the downspouts, that we would be willing to lower the charges on the downspout to $5 per foot, which would take $94 off of the amount due. This would also be at the cut and drop rate, which is what she originally asked for. She stated that she wasn’t willing to go over $900.

At this point, it was clear that ****** would not be willing to compromise. I told her someone would be in touch with her later that day to explain our billing terms. She was called back by the manager of our gutter team and he explained that the invoice was properly figured based on the change from a cut and drop to a full install. ****** told the manager that when she saw the gutters being run out, she realized that the runs were much too large for her to install on her own. ****** was informed that standard procedure is to send invoices to collections for customers who refuse to pay and she claimed he was threatening her. He assured her that he was not threatening her but simply explaining what our billing terms are. ****** said that she was going to “explore her options.” She ending the call, she has proceeded to give a poor rating of 2 Stars on Facebook trying to defame our business and wrote the following on an unofficial Facebook site with nothing but positive prior ratings:

“The crew does a good job on the orders that are given but when a mistake is made on taking the orders, I found that the customer is blamed.”

As was previously stated, we would be more than happy to settle the dispute and lower the invoice total to $1,026. We are not willing to lower the invoice any further to reflect Home Depot’s prices, as our downspouts are metal and not vinyl. The lowered invoice total excludes the installation charge, per her request.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This business did not: 
did not call to arrange an appoint and confirm the order (this would have cleared up any confusion on both sides of what was expected and what was actually ordered)
come to the site to give an estimate and walk the project ahead of time
did not show me a copy of the work order (if they had, I would have corrected the mistake before I left the job site)
did not have me sign a work order before I left approving the scope of work
did not leave a copy of the orders at my home
did not fabricate anything while I was on site
did the fabrications and installation while I was not home
did not leave a copy of the "adjusted" work orders at my home
I called and ordered the gutters while I was still repairing my rooft, I didn't finish with the final roofing until 2am on September 25th, 2015. I asked for quotes and did say that I was working with a budget but that I didn't think that my trying to save a $1 per foot on the install was going to be worth the hassle of installing the full gutters on my own, that I would do the downspouts myself, and that I wanted white gutters.  I did ask for install as soon as they could do it, but was told that there was no way they could install or even fabricate until at least the 2nd week of October 2015. I was told that they should be able to come out then only if the weather was cooperative, as it is the end of their season and that they would call me back if they could schedule me in.
I was completely surprised and unprepared when showed up on September 28th, 2015. 
I did walk one of the crew members around the site, showed him the direction that I wanted the gutters to run and I did tell him that I would install the downspouts, as I was able to handle doing the roof. I am not blaming the crew, they were only doing what their office told them to do. 
My daughter did mention the downspouts but was told that there was no point in them not installing them while the crew was onsite, she did not realize that she was suppose to order the crew about.
When I talked to the manager of the gutter team, he informed me that there is no way that my order could have been taken wrong because it was his wife that took the order. I never saw the gutters being ran out, if I had I would have probably would have taken a picture of it because that kind of stuff fascinates me but I did not have time to stay because I had to get to class up at UAF for Civil Engineering.  Anyone who ever says that there is no way that they or their spouse would ever make a mistake is not be professional and is feeling too biased about the situation to be resolving it. This is my first and I hope last complaint that I will ever have to file with the better business bureau. As to the Facebook review, I have only ever given two reviews and I do back what I say as being a true statement, there is no defamation of character in what I said. Most people would have given a worse review with the way that I was talked down to by the install manager. I offered a compromise and the manager said that if I didn't not pay the full amount I was invoiced at, I would be sent to collections. That sounds like a threat to me.
I am more than willing to remove the downspouts that were not to be installed and return them to their office if it will settle the dispute over the price of the downspouts because the install manager said it was not worth it to them to have his guys come back out and take them down. This business made an error and I should not have to pay for it.  Everyone other company that I have ever had do work at or around my house has always had me sign a work order because it protects the business by showing that the work stated on it is what was ordered and then they usually have you sign an invoice that the materials had been accepted with a final total given at the completion of the job. 

****** *****

Business Response: After reviewing the response, the owner is willing to take the downspout back and adjust the invoice accordingly. ****** is welcome to bring the downspout back to our office at **** *** **** **. Fairbanks, AK 99709

Our office hours are Monday-Friday 8:00AM to 5:00PM. We request that the downspout pieces (elbows, extenstions, etc.) be returned within 7 days and that the total invoice for $791 be promptly paid, as it is already past due currently.

This is the only instance in almost 20 years in business that we have had a problem like this and will no longer offer the drop cut service after this experience.

Thank you,

The Gutter Guys

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Berggren Construction and the Gutter Guys
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)