Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

LeafFilter North of Washington Inc

Phone: (800) 290-6106 Fax: (330) 655-7956 View Additional Phone Numbers 5009 Pacific Hwy E STE 6, Fife, WA 98424 http://www.leaffilter.com/offices/leaffilter-of-seattle View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers gutter guard sales, service and installation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LeafFilter North of Washington Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LeafFilter North of Washington Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on LeafFilter North of Washington Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2012 Business started: 05/01/2005 Business started locally: 05/01/2005 Business incorporated 08/28/2012 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Kaulig, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Kaulig, President
Business Category

Gutter Leaf Guards

Additional Information

LeafFilter North of Washington Inc in Fife, Wash., is not affiliated with Precision Home Services doing business as LeafFilter in Tukwila, Wash.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

LeafFilter North of Washington Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5009 Pacific Hwy E STE 6

    Fife, WA 98424 (800) 290-6106 (330) 655-7950

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a leaf filter system for the backside of our home on September 16th 2013. We have been in contact with Leaf Filter representatives multiple times over the past couple of years. Originally, we looked for a solution to solve the issue of water run off. A solution was offered by a rep of Leaf Filter to spread some of the water pouring onto our roof over a larger area. I told them to go ahead and install that solution, but it never happened. Since a solution cannot be made, we asked that the system be uninstalled and our money be refunded, which is yet to happen. The system does not perform as advertised and the company seems unwilling to honor their guarantee.

Desired Settlement: Desired Outcome is to have them come out and uninstall the leaf filter system to the original state without damaging roof and refund the amount we paid of $1,251.55.

Business Response:

We have been to Mr. ******'s home in the past to investigate his concerns with overflow. At that time, we offered to install a diverter to address the excessive amount of water that dumps onto his roof from his neighbor, but that service was declined at that time. We made arrangements to re-evaluate the situation again this week and met with the other occupant of the home (Mr. ****** was not available) and are willing to work with the customer to find an amicable solution. We have left messages for Mr. ****** to address his concerns since our assessment earlier this week, but have not yet received return correspondence. We will continue to try to reach Mr. ******, but given our willingness to work with the customer and address his concerns, we ask that this matter be closed at this time.  

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My husband and I never rejected the original revision, simply Leaf Filter never came out to make the revision. I have attached e-mail correspondence between both parties, but have not heard back on the date of when the revision will be completed. We will close out the complaint once the revisions have been made and tested to properly work.

Sincerely,

****** ******

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Business Response:

We made arrangements with the customer last week to perform the agreed upon service on 2/26/16. We executed the service and Mr. ****** has contacted us to confirm he is satisfied with our action in this matter.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased leaf filter through a demonstration at the puyallup fair. The salesman who showed was a great person with a great sales pitch. I purchased and had them installed 8/2013. I had them installed thinking my gutter cleaning whoas were over. That fall , And winter, 2013 I experienced nothing but a dripping mess where all the leaf filters were installed. I gave it until the following fall but it was very bad again. With the build up on the gutters, water drips and I have trenches around some areas of my home. I am concerned about my foundation in some of these areas because the water sets in the trenches. I also noticed that they installed two types of gutter screens. One a very fine mesh and the other has larger holes to where the pine needles look like toothpicks sticking half way through them, standing up. I have taken pictures and I have videos of these conditions. One video I took while it was raining and while the water was falling over the edges. I have called the fife office a couple of times. The first time , they did send a service guy to verify. He sprayed off the screens and said that everything worked good. Well of course it did, with no debris on top. He took pics of the trenches also. I waited for a call but when no one called, I called them approx. 3 weeks later. The manager offered me no solution. He said he couldn't. I told him I was concerned about my foundation and asked to have the leaf filters taken off and to reimburse me at least half of the cost that I paid. He basically laughed at me and got angry. I texted him the pics like he asked but I got no reply. I clean my roof on a regular normal basis but with these screens on I would have to get up there every other week in the fall and winter to clean the screens off so I wouldn't have drips and runoff. I don't do this of course because it's much work and time....and not typical or normal. This is why I'm contacting you to possibly get a solution and a partial reimbursement.

Desired Settlement: I would like screens removed without damage of existing gutter and refund of half of what was charged to buy and install them. Thank you!

Business Response: *****- We reached out to Mrs. ***** Monday morning to get a further idea of her concerns and or questions. She was insistent Leaffilter was a great system but she didn't feel it was right for her house because she received too much debris. I followed that we would like to come out as soon as possible and see what the issue was, as we had not heard anything from her since February. She couldn't meet Monday, so we arranged to meet at her convenience on Tuesday at 10:30. Upon arriving in the rain we didn't notice the dripping she had complained about. She said she recently had cleaned her roof , covered up any "trenching", and swept off the system. I advised her sweeping the system off could be part of the problem...it pushes mulching debris in to the screen and can inhibit it's performance. We water tested different areas ( I took large amounts of debris, applied it to the system, and put water above...everything functioned great).  Mrs ***** had video of it dripping over but we were unable to recreate the problem she said existed.  I pressure washed the system to jettison and debris that could have been mashed in to the screen. I inspected for proper hanger location and everything looked good. Mrs. ***** agreed to remove the BBB complaint if we could come back when the system had time to get debris on it naturally. I told her we want to fix any problem/concern, but without seeing it when it's failing...I don't know where to look or what the problem seemed to be. 


Respectfully,

Joe R********

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
As long as Leaf Filter follows through with me calling them when my roof is in a natural state within the next 2 or 3 months to look at the situation again, I am happy to remove my complaint for now.  They were very sensitive and listened to me this time. Thank you. 

Sincerely,

****** ***** 


12/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were interested in knowing about the Leaf Filter for our gutters and a salesman was sent out. He spend a lot of time, we have a two story home and concluded we needed to replace our gutters and repair facia rot first. After a lot of deliberation, I told him we did not want to proceed. ****** (sales rep) said no we had to do something, we didn't want the problem to get worse, he made calls and said he wouldn't leave without a deal. He worked the numbers way down and gave us 12 months zero interest. We asked for samples of product and colors which he said we had to go on the internet to see, eventually *** at their service dept. sent us a color chart and we booked an installation date. When the installers came, and after the old gutters were taken down, they informed us there was NO rot and all the wood work did not need to be done, it was simply peeling paint. We did not need to spend the $2950 for gutters at all, of course****** is not selling gutters anymore so we could not talk to him. *** tried to help and sent us a new finance contract that would give us 24 months zero interest and so our minimum payment would drop from $103 to about $50. He said it might take 2 months billing cycle to come through. I called the finance company last month as it had not changed, they said it was in the system and should come through on the next bill. Just got the next bill and the payment went o $122!! Called *** and he said he can't help. The finance company says we have to contact their billing, not customer service, and billing can only be reached by snail mail!! We want people to know not to deal with this company, they said a problem existed that did not exist, I am 58 and cannot go up to the second roof to see if I am being lied to. One solution they had offered was to take the gutters back, mine are gone, that is not a solution.

Desired Settlement: I believe they should write the gutters off as they pressured us into buying something we did not need and now are washing their hands of getting the financing correct.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/10) */ Good morning *** Thank you ****** for the report back. ***, ****** ****** called me last week and told me the whole story how she and her husband were pressured into buying the open gutters (sold at commercial pricing) and yes the install was many months after the sale. It sounds like her husband is not being helpful as she feels the need to cry on the phone to me, to fix this situation. My take on this is very similar to ******** The paint was damaged by water and doing nothing would have caused more damage in time. The rep allowed for partial fascia replacement and at the time of installation the installer said the fascia needed to be scrapped and painted, not replaced. This may have led them to feel misinformed. Originally they elected the 12 month no interest option. After the install she said the monthly payment was too high so they requested to have the term of the contract changed. I had them sign new bank paperwork and the loan was converted to 24 months no interest. This should have halved the monthly payment. I said to her that I cannot talk to ***** ***** about their loan and they need to call ***** ***** discuss this. We have fulfilled our obligation, it appears this is a case of two adults who made a joint decision, possibly cannot make the payment and the husband is distancing himself from the situation, because she calls and cries to me over the phone. *** this is all I know about this case. As always if there is anything we can do let us know. Regards Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My husband is not distancing himself, there is no need for both of us to be involved. It is a lie that I called because the payment was to high, I knew what the payment would be. I called because we were unhappy with the entire process and wanted some adjustment because of being lied to. Most important **** was never present for the discussion with the rep. who pressured us into the sale, and told us the facia on all corners was rotted. As I originally stated, we trusted him, we were not going up to the second story to verify what he told us. There was no misunderstanding , we were told it was rotted!!! The payment was not changed because of what we could afford, it was changed because we called Leaf Filter to complain about the entire process and **** said the only thing he could do was he would change the promotion to 24 months instead of 12 no interest which would also lower the payment. We felt that was a compromise we would accept as we were paying for something we truly did not have to have done. I do feel it is the merchants responsibility to be certain the program they sold us is what the Finance company provides. The current issue is ***** ***** has not implemented the promo **** gave us. They implemented a program that spreads it over 24 months evenly, that is not what we signed for. On top of that, ***** ***** DOES NOT take calls for contract issues, I have snail mailed the contracts and letter to ***** ****** I am certain they take calls from their Merchants, i.e. Leaf Filter. The only help I wanted was for Leaf Filter to be certain we got the promo they offered us, they should be able to do that. As for crying to **** has nothing to do with my husband, you don't know what else is going on in peoples lives and to judge them for emotion says a lot about that person and the business. Frustration comes out of people in different ways, especially when they have tried to just get something correct that they were SOLD. We have learned a Huge lesson not to do business with people from out of state especially when they sell themselves as local because supposedly some of the crews live in Oregon, but I don't believe much of anything they say anymore. I also think it says a lot that the "Salesman" is no longer selling gutters, he was the first Red Flag, to bad we let them pressure us into this, We wanted Leaf Filter to have the contract we signed with them and the promo enforced as agreed and still feel they should be able to make that happen. I don't expect them to call and make any other arrangements, just contact ***** ***** and confirm what the contract they wrote us is properly implemented. 24 months zero interest, regular payments and interest will be charged on any unpaid balance after the 24 months from day one. There is a place on the paperwork for 24 equal payments, that is not what we signed but that is what has been implemented which actually increased the payment. **** commented that they had been paid so they were no longer involved. Very poor customer service. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/17) */ It has been done. Respectfully,

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 11th Leaf Filter and I signed a contract to install their product on our home. Later that day Leaf Guard called to tell me that it would be an additional $500.00 for them to install the product; the original quote was for $546.00 excluding tax. I was furious and called their customer service line. I explained to the rep what had just happened and she escalated the call to someone I later found out was the Vice President of Leaf Filter. This individual told me "if you have a contract with us we will honor it." Later that day, Leaf Filter sent me an email stating a tentative install date of August 5th, 2014. On July 22, 2014 Leaf Filter told me they would not be honoring our contract. They cited not being able to comply with OSHA standards. This is simply untrue. Leaf Filter came out to our home and inspected the property prior to giving me the quote. Leaf Filter knew the layout of the property and that easements are in place for placement of ladders. Furthermore, many contractors have been on the roof of the homes in our community which are all three stories high. Their claim that they cannot do the install and be in compliance with OSHA Standards is ridiculous; the home was built in 2013 in compliance with OSHA Standards. If Leaf Filter underestimated the cost of the install; it's not my fault. I find it appalling that any company is allowed to enter into a contract with a consumer, demand twice as much as the contractual obligation and then breach that contract over two weeks later when the consumer refused to be bamboozled and pay twice as much as the original quote.

Desired Settlement: Honor contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/05) */ The day following Mr. *********'s estimate (July 11th) I was shown pictures by salesmen, **** ***** After reviewing the pictures I contacted Mr. ********* to inform him that I did not see a safe approach to the gutter. We moved the installation to August 5th to allow me time to stop by and inspect. I asked him for information about a eye hook on the roof and actual spacing of his easement on the north side (gutter side) of his home. He confirmed with his contractor there was in fact a eye hook on the roof but did not offer any information on the easement other than it was doable. On the 15th of July **** (Operations Manager) and myself arranged with Mr. ********* to stop by and inspect the jobsite for feasibility. Upon our inspection we confirmed the pictures were correct and the north side/gutter side did not have enough of an easement for us to properly set up our ladder with enough pitch for an installation. The ladder would need to be extended some 30'+ in the air and there was a brick retaining wall less than three feet from the side of the house. Furthermore, a 6' fence extended from the retaining wall which would hinder the approach from the neighbors yard (if we could've gotten approval from neighbor for access). On the 22nd of July I emailed, regretfully, informing Mr. ********* I did not feel comfortable sending an installer to perform the job due to safety concerns. I added, to insure a proper installation we're limited to a forward approach to the gutter and did not see a suitable path to do so. Respectfully, *** ********* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/08/27) */ What has been said is not true. They have the ability to satisfy this complaint but refuse to do so. I told Leaf Filter we have easements on all the properties - which I can show them - so there is no need to get permission from anyone but myself. They know this and are simply refusing to do a job they committed to. They are in breach of contract and the BBB should not assume I am satisfied. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is not a safety issue... Leaf Filter told me they would do it for more money. Obviously safety has a price for Leaf Filter. The bottom line is that it will cost them more than they thought. They misquoted or did a classic bait-and-switch. How often do they do this to consumers? BBB... I am not satisfied. Final Business Response /* (1000, 27, 2014/10/10) */ To whom it may concern, As of today our position is firm. My previous two answers state the company position and have additional items to add to this. Respectfully,

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold gutter protectors that are not working properly because I have an awning. The company has told in order for these leaf guards to work the rain would have to come down in a specifc direction. I paid 3k to get a gutter guard in order not have to clean my gutters but no luck due to the product. I requested a refund and company offered to remove the guard off of the back of my house and refund me 1000 dollars. This defeats the purpose of my goal. I would still have to clean the front gutters.

Desired Settlement: Full refund . If they remove the guards they will need to replace my gutters as they nailed the guards to my existing gutters The salesman knew that their product would not work with awnings

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/12) */ In response to the complaint, I had a chance to speak with the customer about the gutter. She stated that she has a roof over roof with an awning over it and water is not hitting the gutter because of that. She claims that we should have not installed it???? Our company has been out to service this area on 5 previous occasions. Mostly to explain about the roof over roof area. We have offered to remove that section and refund the client $1,000.00. What she wants is a full refund and to keep the product???? She said that she should be able to keep it because it does not work they way sales described?? I explained to her that if she wants to keep it, we would not refund her at all. I have attached our service records for your review to have a better understanding of the history. Options: 1.) Remove the 70' area and refund the client $1,000.00 with a release signed. 2.) If she wants to keep the product, we will not refund the customer at all. Does not make sense. Respectfully, *** ********* VP of Installation ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did speak with************** who was very rude and has twisted my words completely. I did tell him I would need to keep the covers only because I was told removing them would destroy my gutters and he concurred. He said I would have to sign a release. I would be out $3000 I paid Leaffilters, plus the expense of replacing my gutters. Also, he stated I have a roof over roof with an awning! I have a stationary cover(roof) built to cover my patio during the inclimate weather. I told him he should educate his salesmen about covered patios and inform customers about not working under a roof or cover, especially because I explained to the salesman why I wanted the covers. I do not trust them to remove the covers and am hoping my son can disable the section over the patio, which will mean the back gutter covers will not work and we will have to clean them as before. This is the only way I can use my patio in inclement weather.************** offered $1000 to remove covers and destroy my 70 feet of gutter and he thinks that this offer is fair and my problem! I feel that the installers knew during installation the covers would not work on the back of my house. I should be fully reimbursed for the entire amount of $2981. Not only did they install a product that does not work properly on my home ,but left a mess on my patio and dirt down the front of the gutters and side of my house. Because of this I do not trust them to do anything else, especially after being yelled at by************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/04/04) */ Our "final" position has not changed. If the customer chooses to keep the product then we will not refund them anything. We have laid out this as a final option. A response for further action is not needed unless this has to go further. If that is the case then we are prepared to let your office make that decision. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** was not truthful. Both he and another employee told me it would ruin my gutters if their product was removed. He also did raise his voice! ****** agreed and said that removing the product would be a problem and I would have to sign a release which I did not agree with. He Never mentioned anything about a minor hole in my gutters. I was told that the product, if removed, would not be able to be re-used. I do not understand why ***** is so anxious to remove the product, ruin my gutters, if not able to re-use. When the product was installed a hole was also punched in my roof which still needs to be repaired. The first young man that came out to fix the area above my patio told me the covers only worked when the rain hit them directly so he placed something more porous so the rain might go through more easily. When I tried to ask ******why the salesman did not know how the product worked, he talked over me in a very loud, harsh voice so I hung up. I would accept $1000 and leave the product on as it will no longer work with the 20' disabled by my son as I no longer trust leaf filter to do any work.

4/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on LeafFilter North of Washington Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart