Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

CoEnergy Propane LLC

Phone: (541) 738-6733 Fax: (541) 738-8306 View Additional Phone Numbers 2505 Pacific Ave, SE, Albany, OR 97321 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.CoEnergy.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential,commercial, & agricultural propane sales and services as well as sales of propane and propane accessories.  We also do conversions of vehicles to propane autogas.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CoEnergy Propane LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for CoEnergy Propane LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CoEnergy Propane LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 2003 Business started: 08/01/2001 in OR Business started locally: 08/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Randy Camp, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Camp, Managing Member
Business Category

Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed

Additional Locations

  • 2505 Pacific Ave, SE

    Albany, OR 97321

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 27, 2016 took in a horizontal tank for my travel trailer. Asked Tanner if it could be recertified. Tanner informed that they would look into it and would order a new valve for the tank as well. He told me it would be a bit as they would have to order the valve. I asked him to please call with a price before doing any work. He said they would and wrote that on the tag. Today July 7, 2016 I received a call from the business stating my tank was ready. I informed them I was supposed to get a call and I hoped the price wasn't too much as I was on a budget. Gentleman on the phone apologized for not calling and told me the total was $71.90. I asked if that included the tank being filled and he said it did. I told him it was more than I had budgeted but I would be in either today or tomorrow. I made it in today. Upon entering I handed the gentleman behind the counter my claim check and he asked the tech to get the tank. I told him I was upset that I hadn't been called and that Tanner told me I would be before work. An argument between myself, the two ladies behind the counter and the gentleman started, with the ladies saying they never saw anything written down and that they never call and Tanner didn't work their anymore. I told them maybe if their techs were paying attention and not texting this wouldn't have happened. They denied any of that was happening. I saw their half of claim check it clearly stated to call with price. I showed them that it stated to call and all I got was a head shake and sorry. When handed them a 100 dollar bill I received 20 and change back as they hadn't included the cost of propane in the price statement over the phone. Again all I got was an "I'm sorry" from the gentleman and one of the ladies saying "If you're not happy then don't come back." At this point I was also being disrespectful to the lady in back and the gentleman at the counter as they were showing no responsibility and at first were denying they had done anything wrong

Desired Settlement: I had a budget of 60 dollars for this tank. I realize 20 dollars isn't much but it's more the principle of the matter. I would like 20 dollars from the company as well a written apology from either the owner or management.

Business Response:

Dear Sir,

 Tanner F******* is no longer a part of the CoEnergy family due to an opportunity to work for the state of Oregon's correction's department. He is a young man, married in 2014 and the option of a career with the state was too good for him to pass up. We sincerely apologize for the resulting lack of communication on CoEnergy Propane's part.

That being said, there should have been better communication with a job that was left as outstanding upon his departure. We would like the opportunity to make this right with you and therefore we will have a certificate waiting for you in the office valued at the $19.43 you indicated was above your budgeted amount for the services.

We hope that you give is the opportunity to show you the kind of customer service CoEnergy Propane prides itself on, and utilize the certificate we have waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Dawn W*******

on behalf of CoEnergy Propane Management Team

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: A certificate would mean that I would be continuing to support your business which is not what I'm willing to do based on the behaviors of the people behind the counter. My request was for a refund. If you are willing to provide a check in the requested amount then I will consider the case closed.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response: IHave tried to resolve this issue and as you can see from the email pasted below, we have apologized and offered the complainant his money back in cash.  After the email, the complainant called and said he would not meet with Mr. D***** because of he said he had already met with him, which is not true.  Mr. D***** has never met or talked to the complainant, and is authorized as the Sales & Service Manager of the Albany operation to handle this issue.  He was told that the Complainant may stop in and Mr. D***** was prepared to meet with him and give him his money in cash, after he refused the earlier credit certificate.  Not sure what else we can do to resolve this if the complainant is not willing to meet with management.  Below is the email chain I was referring to;

From: Randy C*** [mailto:*****@coenergy.net]
Sent: Wednesday, July 20, 2016 1:53 AM
To: '**** ******' <*********@gmail.com>
Cc:********coenergy.net
Subject: RE: Problem at Albany store

****,

I’m sorry to hear of you dissatisfaction with CoEnergy Propane.  I apologize for this and can assure you that there was no intent to treat you in a bad way or to overcharge you for services rendered.  I understand that you talked to Tanner F******* when you brought the cylinder in, but it was a new employee that did the work on it.  Tanner was lucky enough to get a job with the State of Oregon and I have no doubt he will do get there, but he did leave CoEnergy and we did hire a new employee to fill his position.  He did not intend to do something without your approval, he simply misunderstood what Tanner wrote on the ticket.  Therefore, to get your cylinder fixed as quickly as possible for you he did what he thought was needed to be done.  I was told of the situation and authorized you to get a instore credit for the difference in what you said was your budget.  I know see that you are refusing this credit which is your choice and I will give you $20.00 out of my pocket to resolve this issue.

I will be at my office in Redmond on Thursday and Friday of this week and at a meeting on Tuesday through Friday of next week.  If you would like to stop in any time after 9:30 AM on Thursday or on Friday, you could speak to Dee D*****, the Sales and Service Manager for our Albany location and we will be happy to talk with you.  I will make sure that you $20.00 in cash is with him so you can get that at the same time.

Again, I’m sorry that you had this happen.  I will be talking with all of my employees about this situation to make sure that they are all aware of what happened and what should have been done so others will never have this happen to them.

Respectfully,

Randy ** C***

 

From: **** ****** [mailto:*********@gmail.com]
Sent: Wednesday, July 20, 2016 11:18 AM
To:
*****@coenergy.net
Subject: Problem at Albany store

 

Dear Mr C***,

Recently I had some work performed at your Albany store that was done without contacting me with a quote, as requested. I was then misquoted prices and when I came in had one of the ladies behind the counter yell at me, "If you dont like it then don't come back."

I filed a report with BBB and was offered a gift certificate by someone on your staff. I refused because at this point  I don't want to do business with a company that yells at customers. Whether im spending $70 or $7000 I should be treated the same. I also refused the resolution as I had requested an apology from either owners or mgmt,1 neither of which were included in your companies reply theough BBB.

I am currently out of town but will be in Albany this coming Monday and Friday. It is my hope that you may have some time in your day that I might be able to come in and talk. If this issue doesnt warrant your time please let me know and I will leave everything in the hands of the BBB.

Thank you for your time,

**** ******


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Part of this is an out right lie. I never called to say I would not meet with Mr. D*****. Unfortunately life throws curve balls at you and a date that I was attempting to meet with D***** did not work out. I ended up driving to Florida to pick up my son who was discharged early from the Air Force due to medical issues. Upon our return my wife, who has Lupus, had a huge "flair" and has required additional care. Along with working my second job in maintenance and spending uncompensated hours at the school that I work at during the school year, I have been unable to take time out of my day to get by for 20 bucks. My apologies. I would also like to submit that CoEnergy continues to write here and on a Facebook review about how their employee left for a better job and this is why the situation was not handled correctly. The problem was not with that employee but rather with the terrible customer service and staff members at the front desk that yelled at me. I believe I stated earlier that her reply, (yelling) to me was, "If you don't like it don't come back." If my life ever slows down to where I can take 15 minutes to come in and talk I will do that. In the meantime do not make false statements that I called and refused to come in. I will gladly provide my phone records to prove that I didn't. Can you do the same to prove otherwise?

Sincerely,

**** ******

7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been with CoEnergy since 2004. In October of 2014 we had a shop heater installed in our pole barn. CoEnergy technicians came out and installed a line from from the propane tank to the pole barn. Until that time we had years of minimal propane usage, because only our water heater and rarely used fireplace ran on propane. We expected to have our usage increase, however, the increase was drastic. Even with the gas valve to the shop heater off, we were suddenly finding our propane bill tripling. CoEnergy employees came out and insisted the issue was with the installation by **** ******* past the meter. **** ******* came out several times, and could not find an issue. We contacted CoEnergy in multiple ways (phone calls, via the website, and even notes on the paper billing statements stating that we will not make future payments until our concerns are taken seriously), but we were repeatedly told the problem was definitely on our end, and there could not possibly be a slow leak on any of the lines put in by CoEnergy. Finally, Josh came out on Tuesday, May17th for another leak test and said nothing was found. **** ******* came out Wednesday and after 90 minutes found a leak on the CoEnergy side of the lines. Per the email from **** *******: “Rod, They are wrong, it was leaking before the meter. There are two spots you can see the yellow thread sealer bugging and that is where it was leaking The meter did not move but the tank indicator was joking and it lost about 2 lbs while Aaron was there for an hour and a half. **** ******* did not make the connection to the tank and this i clearly the connection they made to our tested gas line.” I called Dale at CoEnergy and he was quite unconcerned with this leak and had no interest in making sure that CoEnergy’s shoddy workmanship was repaired. I don’t know how a propane leak would not be considered extremely dangerous and worthy of an immediate response.

Desired Settlement: I would like CoEnergy to stop ignoring my attempts to contact them through their website and email. I've provided the with my contact information several times. I expect to receive a full report of my usage going back to October 2013 to compare usage from that point until now. I expect compensation for all of the extra fees I have paid in the last 1.5 years for THEIR error that they failed to fix.

Business Response:

I am in receipt of this complaint and I am looking into the issue and will have a detailed response by the end of this week.

 

Randy C***

General Manager

CoEnergy Propane


Business Response:

Dear Mr.**********,

 

I have performed the audit as requested from Oct. 2013 forward:

My findings from the audit:

 

Oct 2013-Oct 2014 Billed                  Gal Delivered

 

          297.44                                                               341.7

 

Nov. 2014-Oct 2015-with shop meter added      Gals Delivered

 

            745.31                                                                               678.80

 

 

Nov 2015-May 2016                                            Gals Delivered

 

         653.48                                                                     643.7

 

 

Has the leak been satisfactorily repaired at this point, do you have any lingering concerns? 

We sincerely apologize for the response you have received thus far, this is not the manner in which we as a company react as a general rule to customer concerns regarding their propane service. We will continue to investigate the circumstances surrounding this incident.

Please forward copies of the bills associated with Bend Heating responding to this issue, we will be crediting your account for these invoices, once received.

In light of the length of time and lack of response on our part we will be issuing an additional credit to the account of $50.00; while this does not come close to making up for our inability to correctly identify and correct the issue we hope that it will begin to repair the long standing relationship we have had with you as a valued customer of CoEnergy Propane. Please forward the invoices from Bend Heating to *********@coenergy.net

 

Thank you...

3/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband contacted CoEnergy to regarding setting up a new big propane tank and their salesman Dee D***** came out to our home. He looked at the set up and gave a price and told my husband that if we changed company from our provider we have had for approx 20 years that they would give us a contracted price of $1.55 a gallon. That was less than we were paying with our existing service so he said to call their office and set it up. My husband did that and gave the lady in the office our credit card number for the change. They did the setup work too and we paid that. We then received a bill for the propane delivery and it was a lot more than the $1.55 per gallon as quoted by Dee D*****. My husband called the office and she said we don't have any credit card info and that is not the price and the best we can do is about $0.30 more per gallon. My husband said that is not what I was told and I will pay what I was told the price would be so he wrote a check for the amount of gallons delivered at $1.55 per gallon and wrote payment in full. They continue to bill us for additional money and in looking at the copy of the check from our bank, it no longer says payment in full on the check.I called the CoEnergy office 3 times and left voicemails for the general manager Randy C***, spoke to a secretary Dawn and then a Brittany and was told he, Randy C***, would call me back immediately and this was 2/2/2016 - 2/08/2016 and he has never called me back. We would have never left our other provider for the price they are charging us at CoEnergy. It would make no sense to go to them to pay more as they are now doing and not charging the contract price of $1.55 per gallon as given to us my their employee Dee D*****. This is wrong and we want justice. We purchase propane on our property for our home, our aircraft hangar and office. Thank you for your help and consideration.

Desired Settlement: We are willing to pay the price per gallon that we were told it would be which is $1.55 per gallon per their employee/salesperson Dee D******

Business Response:

In doing some research, we have no contract for any Pre-Buy agreement from the *******.  We have only received one call of record from the customer, on 1-14-16, at which time they told us of this issue.  At that time, they were asked to find out when there purchase of propane took place from their credit card statement, because our records show no such purchase.  This would give us a date to look for the missing payment and would also tell us how many gallons they asked for.  To date, we have not been given this information.   At this time, the *******'s were given a credit of 29.9 cents per gallon on there account, pending the receipt of the information from their credit card.  If we had this information, we could have resolved this information long ago.

All this being said, CoEnergy Propane has no problem help find a resolution to this issue and will gladly give them the credit if we can see when they were charged for the propane in question, how much they were charged, and for how many gallons.  The Pre-Buy contract pricing changes each month and we need a signed contract for the quantity purchased.  This contract also states the policies that are in effect for the purchase, so without a contract, the customer does not no what his or her requirements are and what restrictions are part of the agreement.  I would think that the customer would want to know these things and I'm afraid that without it, there could be other misunderstanding.  So, I need the information from the customer so we can backdate a contract for them and get them their credit.


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: his response is not valid.  He says they have only received one call from us.  That is untrue.  CoEnergy came out to bid plumbing in a new propane tank.

My husband hired them to do this job and their salesman Dee D***** told us that we could contract propane with them for $1.55 per gallon.  My husband agreed and hired them to do the plumbing in work and called their office as Dee D***** said to do to set everything up.  He gave the office lady our Visa number over the phone for the Pre-Buy contract.  When they came to then fill the tankwith propane  we assumed it was already pre-paid because my husband had given them the visa to set everything up.  SO then we got a bill from them for the propane and my husband called their office again and said "what is this bill for? I have pre-paid this!"  She replied that she had no record of a visa payment and therefore billed us AND the bill WAS NOT FOR THE AMOUNT OF $1.55 A GALLON as told to us by Dee D***** but considerably higher.  She basically told my husband that they would reduce the amount slightly after talking to someone in her office, but it would not be the $!.55 per gallon as told to us by their salesperson Dee D******  THIS IS WRONG AND FRAUDULENT.So my husband calculated the amount of gallons delivered times $!.55 per gallon and paid that amount to CoEnergy and wrote payment in full on the check.  They are still billing us for an additional amount due of $104.03 and interest monthly.  I personally called their office 3 times and talked to Brittney and Dawn and was told the General Mgr Randy C*** would call me back immediately. NO ONE from their office has ever called us back even though I have called 3 times to get answers.  Dee D***** should be talked to and asked exactly what he told us as far as contracting at $!.55 gallon and setting it up.  It is NOT our fault if someone in their office did not set this up correctly.  We have complied to them and paid them and paid them too for the plumbing in the tank work.  Now they keep billing us and this manager, Randy C*** said he would respond to BBB by 3-04-2016 and finally today, 20 days later he responds with inaccurate information.  It was their responsibility to set up the contract when my husband called - NOT OURS!  They are the ones at fault and lost the visa information which is very irresponsible.  And now they keep billing us for an amount that we do NOT owe them.  They are paid in full based on us paying what Dee D***** said was the amount and calling and giving our visa number to set up the pre-pay contract.  No one from CoEnergy has called us to discuss any of this.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response:

I see that the customer wrote a check on 1-22-16 for the 407.7 gallons delivered on 1-20-16, but this is not what the claim was.  AS i understand it, the customer was told on 11-24-15 when the tank was set that they only had a few days left to get in on the Pre-Buy.  The customer told our service tech that he would call in, said that they did and paid for a Pre-Buy on their credit card.  We are asking for the date that the payment that was taken on that credit card was handled, which should have been in November of 2015 to get the price quoted.  CoEnergy Propane is will to even go one month further and honor that price if the charge on the credit card was in December of 2015.  The check you are referring to was in January, 2 months after the incident in question.  We have already credited the January delivery to $1.799 per gallon, which was the Pre-Buy price in January.  Again, we are willing to give the customer the price he was quoted if he could please show us that he paid for it, even if that payment is 30 days late.  We also still do not have a contract signed for that kind of price, which we are willing to backdate to December or 2015 to honor the price, but we will need the information requested on the credit card charge so we can get this corrected.  A January payment, which is over 30 day late for a November Pre-Buy price will not work, as January's price was higher.  I believe that CoEnergy is being more than cooperative in this matter.

This all being said, I want to close this issue.  All of the Finance Charges ($17.56) have already been credited to the customer,  I am authorizing that the final $101.05 to be credited so the customers balance is now "0".  This issue will be noted on the customers account and the customer does not have a Pre-Buy Contract for special pricing.  CoEnergy Propane prides itself in being honest, moral, and safe in all that we do, that is why we have contract that require signatures so all parties are aware of what is required of them.  If the customer would like a Pre-Buy Contact to get the best pricing available, they will need to come to the office and purchase a Pre-Buy in advance.  That is how the program works and that is what CoEnergy requires.  Buy purchasing your propane in advance, we can then aquire the propane and guarantee the customer a low and firm price for the heating season.


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me as long as they honor the credit amount of $17.56 and $101.05 as he just stated in the response to you. We never owed that money to begin with as we paid in full and as stated previously, as soon as we were given that price of $1.55 per gallon, my husband immediately called CoEnergy and gave them our credit card number to set up an account which they never did and chose to bill us instead. We wanted the entire pre pay contract set up to run our household and our entire  private airport and manufacturing facility. They dropped the ball but we do accept the above stated credit as that was my whole issue with them. Thank you for your help BBB. 

Sincerely,

***** *******

12/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am receiving an invoice for a service which I did not request. The total balance is $507.98, which includes a monthly meter rent. They are still charging a monthly meter rent on a property which I neither own nor lease. I can't cancel service because I never requested the service in the first place. I have told them that this is not my bill. I have even requested, in writting, that they send me a copy of my signed contract if they believe that the bill is mine. They have still not sent me a copy of my contract, and have instead re-sent me the invoice and highlighted that payment is due in full to avoid collections. I will happily pay this bill if they can simply produce a signed contract. However, they won't be able to do that, because I did not request the service and therefore never signed a contract. They are harrassing me and trying to intimidate me into paying a bill which I do not owe.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to stop harrassing me, stop sending me a bill, and not send this issue to collections. In addition, I would like them to send a correction to my credit report.

Business Response:

After collecting the information that we have, our records show that the person filing the complaint contacted our office in July of 2015 because she had received a bill in the previous tenants name. She stated that she moved into the residence a year earlier in July of 2014, which means that the propane that went through the meter that we billed her for was used while she was living in the residence that we service at *** **** ******* Ct. in *******. This was the first time we had any notification that there was anyone different living in this location and using our service.  Like any gas service or utility, when a person moves into a new residence, they need to turn service on in there name, which was not done for a full year.  Ms. ********** stated in the July 2, 2015 call that she would send us a check for what she used.  We mailed to her at that time all the paperwork required to put the account into her name along with an account history showing how much propane she had used.  We never received a check from her nor did we receive the paperwork back.  This account is a metered account, just like if the customer was using natural gas.  Thus what the customer owes for is the propane that they use plus fees for having a metered system.  We have no doubt that the complainant did in fact use this product, as it went through the gas meter from which she was billed.  She also continued to get notices after July 2015 that she owed a balance, but until this point, never made contact with CoEnergy again.

From our point of view, Ms. ********** did indeed use the product and services for which we billed her and does indeed owe CoEnergy for the amount shown.  I would be willing to write-off the meter rent from July of 2015 until now, but the portion that she agreed to pay for and did use, she should pay CoEnergy Propane for.  Attached are a copy of the notes put into our computer by Brenda B****** on July 2, 2015 from her conversation with Ms. **********.  I have also attached a copy of the statemtn showing the balance that is owed to CoEnergy Propane.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My husband called Coenergy on my behalf in August to complain that this was not my bill. He was informed that if the bill was not paid, then the service would be cut off. He said that was good. It should be cut off. Was it, or is Coenergy continuing to charge each month?

 

Sincerely,

********* **********

Business Response: CoEnergy has alrady agreed to write off the meter rent from July of 2015 to now.  The customer agreed to pay for what she used from July 2014 to july of 2015 but did not follow through with her agreement with us to send in a check for the balance.  CoEnergy has not records of her husband calling and we keep records of all customer calls.  We have agreed to write off the meter rent from July of 2015 to this point and the customer is responsible for the propane that they used as well as meter rent for the time in which they used that propane.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The original complaint has not been resolved. Evidently, they are still adding monthly charges despite the fact that my husband contacted them to let them know that this was not my bill and that someone else had called with my information. They have failed to document his call. Evidently, instead of shutting off service a long time ago, (they claim that there were charges since July, plus charges from a "previous tenant"), they are still adding monthly charges. I am not going to pay a bill, even a reduced bill, that I do not owe. The company should have turned off service and written off these charges a very long time ago. Instead, they continue to try to bully me. The company has poorly managed this account in several ways. Let me state again, this is not my bill. And by all means, I suggest that you turn off the service. 

Sincerely,

********* **********

the he original complaint has not been resolved. Evidently they are still adding more charges each month despite the fact that my husband called to tell them 
the he original complaint has not been resolved. Evidently they are still adding more charges each month despite the fact that my husband called to tell them 

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The State Fire Marshall inspected my propane tank installation in April 2010. They provided a Notice and Order of Correction to myself and CoEnergy that required closure of basement vents in the vicinity of the propane line that enters my house. I corrected that deficiency. The State Fire Marshall also pointed out at the time of his visit that there were safety concerns in how the tank was placed. Namely that the tank was placed such that a long horizontal segment of the line extended out from the tank and hence was at risk of damage due to deer potentially travelling between the tank and the adjoining slope. I informed Coenergy several times about the latter issue and despite several promises to inspect and correct this problem they have failed to do so. They have also failed to respond to phone calls in the past and a recent phone call requesting clarification of their policies on refunds for remaining gas in the tank as well as any other charges relating to removing their tank. I have since bought my own propane tank and installed it in a safe manner.

Desired Settlement: I want their tank removed. I want a refund on the gas remaining in the tank at either the cost/gal that I purchased it or the present price/gal. I do not want to incur any further charges for removal since their poor service required me to finally remove their tank and purchase another. I do not want to incur any rental charges beyond what would be prorated on a daily basis.

Business Response: The original tank set for Mr. ******** was set in 2009 and resized to a smaller one at a later date. I in the process of contacting the Oregon State Fire Marshal's Office to find out about any discrepancies that the Fire Marshal found when he inspected the job at Mr. ********** location. The process with the Fire Marshal is that any discrepancies found during his inspection are written up and sent to the installer to correct. If these discrepancies are not corrected in a timely manner, the installer is subject to fines. I have not been able to find any discrepancies for this installation, thus I am working with the Oregon State Fire Marshal to see what happened. As for the tank being picked up, I have told the Service Manager at our location to call Mr. ******** to make arrangements for the tank to be picked up and credit issued. As soon as I have more information on what happened I will respond again.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My issue with Coenergy has been their lack of service and failure to respond to my concerns and the concerns of the State Fire Marshall.

I never received any notice that a reinspection was done on 5/20/10 and I doubt the accuracy of the statement that this notice was received on that date. The recommendation by the State Fire Marshall that the tank should be moved to reduce risk for inadvertent damage to the outflow line was a verbal recommendation to me. I relayed that recommendation to Coenergy on several occasions (despite their claims that they never received any communication from me to that regards). My phone records will show that there were several calls made and returned to Coenergy in regards to this concern. The last call I received from Mr. D****** was that he would be out to evaluate the situation in the Spring (Spring of 2014). That promise was never kept.

Coenergy points out that I called on 11/11/13 to request a possible gas grill connection. I believe this was the call that I was promised by Mr. D****** that he would be out in the Spring to evaluate possible tank removal. I will note there was no response from them to evaluate for the possible gas grill connection as well, and this was despite an email request and at least two requests by phone.

I initially emailed Coenergy about my dissatisfaction with their service and requesting clarification of their cancellation policies on 11/10/14. They never directly responded to me. The only reason I have gotten any response from them is because of my complaint to the BBB. Even then it has taken them more than a month and a half to respond to the BBB complaint.

So again, the issue is the failure to respond to customer request for service and failure to respond to concerns about safety issues.

At this point I am willing to drop this issue and agree to their response if:

1) They remove their tank and issue a refund on the remaining gas in the tank at the current price/gal.
2) I don't want any additional charges from Coenergy for tank removal since I am cancelling their contract for poor service.
3) I do not want to incur any rental charges (or any other charges for that matter) beyond what I paid in 2014 since this issue could have been resolved earlier if they had responded in a timely manner to my email of 11/10/14.

If this is acceptable Coenergy can pick up their tank at any time. I have moved it to the top of the driveway. I took the initiative to do this on my own only because of the lack of response by Conergy to the safety concerns the Fire Marshall raised and their failure to move the tank to correct those concerns.

Business Response: This is an issue that goes back 5 years that we cannot verify with documentation or with the State Fire Marshal.  The customer has requested that we pick up the tank and I have instructed our staff in Redmond to do so.  Someone from our Redmond office will be in touch with the customer to make arrangements for the pick up to be done.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The gas in their tank is something I purchased.  Their taking that gas without refunding the customer is akin to stealing from the customer.

This company installed a tank in a manner that did not comply with either State standards or the standards of the NFPA 58 section 6.8.1.7 (5) or NFPA 58 6.7.2.14 (A).  The fact that they deny that I ever discussed this issue with them (I did) is in a sense irrelevant since they are legally required to install gas appliances according to code and in a safe manner.  The only reason I found out about the deficiencies in installation is because the State Fire Marshall compliance officer pointed out their deficiencies. If they had responded to my request to rectify their deficiencies than we wouldn't be having this discussion  now.

Sincerely,

***** ********

2/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excessive price for home delivered propane. Once you lease one of thier tanks it seems you are at thier mercy when it comes to pricing, I was charged #3.949 per gallon. ******* shows the state of oregon is in the $2.40 range for home delivery, *** also shows that wholesale is $1.004 per gallon. Coenergy's competition is between $3.09 per gallon and $3.25 a galllon for the same service. A mark up of 393% is a little excessive. Product_Or_Service: Propane Order_Number: sale*****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Partial refund to what local competitve pricing should be.

Business Response: This issue could have easily been handled if the customer would have called us directly. Propane prices are determined on different factors, the main one being the amount of propane a customer uses. The more you use, the less expensive the propane. Our prices are determined by the cost of the propane that we have to purchase along with the cost of getting it from the rack to our storage facilities. Oregon has no propane terminals, so product must be hauled from Washington, California, or Canada. In November, our cost of propane was higher than it is today. I am not sure how Mr. ****** got his information on Oregon propane, but I can tell you that the selling price in Oregon in November was higher than the averages he stated and by his statement, our price to him was only 80 cents from the competitive prices that he got from our competitors. the last comment I would make is that a competitor is going to give a potential new customer a cheaper price than they might normally charge to try and get that persons business. Again, had Mr. ****** called us, we could have informed him that there was a mistake in his billing in November, for which we have issued a credit to his account that made his price per gallon for that delivery $2.949 per gallon.

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/25/14, Co-Energy took my propane tank without any reason that I know of. They are saying I requested this but I did not. I am a disabled Veteran who has cancer. They took my tank without any notice which left me with no heat or no way of cooking. It has been below freezing in Terrebonne. My sister tried to call them the next day to see what the "story" was. She left two messages - neither time did they return her call. I have had to find other propane dealers - this has been a real hardship for me especially because of my health issues.

Desired Settlement: Reimburse me for two weeks of propane usage + penalty ($200) and a formal apology. I have been able to get another propane company to provide me service - but I truly believe they need to be penalized for what they did - They should never take a tank from someone without notice especially from a person who has health issues.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/10) */ I have attached the complete file from our system for you. The keey things to note is that *** ***** is very verbally abusive to anyone he talks with. He have hung up on most of us when we have called and tried to help him. The other key thing to note in this case is that we picked up our equipment because he told us to do so. Once it was picked up, then he complained that we did what he asked. If there are any questions concerning any of the information I have attached, please do not hesitate to give us a call. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/03/17) */ That is a lie, I never told them to pick up my tank. The Attorney General already caught them in that lie. Why would i tell them to pick up my tank in the dead of winter when I am a bedridden cancer patient. 100% disabled veteran. Why would i want them to get rid of my heat and my means of cooking? It took 2 weeks for me to get someone else out here to restore my propane and heat. It was cold and the only way I could cook is with my microwave. The only way to stay warm was to throw a whole bunch of blankets over myself. My next step is to get the media involved. They already told my they didn't like veterans. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/03/18) */ In response, *** ***** did tell us to pick up our equipment, more than once to more than one person. We record all of our phone calls, so I have asked for the call from *** ***** to be located in which he requested that we pick up our equipment. As for his statement concerning the Attorney General, No lies involved, as the issue was on the amount of his credit. We had issued him a credit based on his last two deliveries and the AG office wanted us to base it on his last delivery only, which we did. As for his statement that we told him that "we don't like veterans", that never happened. I am a veteran as are others who work for CoEnergy. We actually have a truck that has been dedicated to those who served. As soon as I get a copy of that recording, I will let you know.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on CoEnergy Propane LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)