This business is not BBB accredited.

PopCap Games Inc

Phone: (206) 256-4200 Fax: (206) 256-2066 2401 4th Ave Ste 300, Seattle, WA 98121 http://www.popcap.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company publishes and provides access to mass market electronic games for individuals or groups to play.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for PopCap Games Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for PopCap Games Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PopCap Games Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2003 Business started: 07/01/2000 Business started locally: 07/01/2000 Business incorporated 07/18/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Roberts, CEO Mr. Jason Kapalka, Vice President Ms. Dana Sweeney, CS Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Roberts, CEO
Business Category

Games & Supplies Manufacturers & Producers

Refund and Exchange Policy
Please refer to Terms of Service for individual games, services and applications.
Service Area
Worldwide
Products & Services

Bejeweled
Plants vs. Zombies
Peggle
Bookworm
Chuzzle
Amazing Adventures
Vacation Quest


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2401 4th Ave Ste 300

    Seattle, WA 98121 (206) 256-4200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have submitted three tickets over the past three weeks and have not received any response. The issue is regarding the transfer of a purchase for a game. This is a simple matter, but nobody wants to help me.

Desired Settlement: To just have someone talk to me so I know what's going on and to transfer my purchase.

Business Response: We've reached out to the customer via our CRM tool.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I received a message, but all they did was ask what the problem is. After I clarified, they have stopped communicating. They mention a "Ticket Number", but there's no way to investigate "tickets", so I don't know which complaint this is responding to either. It's impossible to communicate with this company.

QUESTING THAT THE BUSINESS ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF THE CONSUMER SEEKING HELP FOR A TRANSFER OF A GAME PURCHASE.

Business Response: The player is working with our customer support for a resolution.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It had been 6 days since the complaint, I have received ONE email from an anonymous customer support agent, who instead of trying to fix my problem with a certain game, is trying to SELL me on ANOTHER game. This is the only "assistance" I've received. The business keeps saying they're communicating with me, but this is a lie.

i will not accept a resolution now until I get a real email or phone call with a real person on the other end. Your "ticket" CRM system does not work.

 

Business Response:

Mr. ********,

Thank you for your email. An associate on our team reached out to you to discuss options regarding the current issue you're seeing with Plants vs. Zombies 1. You sent in message via our ticketing system on June 22, which my team member responded to. 

He sent instructions to sync your games with iTunes that same day:

 

"Hello from PopCap, I apologize for the delay in response and the inconvenience this issue may be causing. Unfortunately, we are currently unable to issue a replacement copy of PvZ1 at this time. If the game was recently synced with your iTunes account, you should be able to restore your progress with the instructions included in the link below. Unfortunately if the game was not synced, there is no way to recover the data once it is reset. Restoring from a backup: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1766 However, if you are also playing Plants vs. Zombies 2 (or would like to play it!), we can gift your account in that game! In order to add items to your PvZ2 account, we need to know your PlayerID number. To locate this information, please click on Settings from your iOS device's home screen. Then scroll all the way down until you see a PvZ 2 option. Tap on that and you will be presented with your PlayerID. IMPORTANT: Please be sure to include all five lines of information. If it would be easier for you, you can take a screenshot of this information and include it with your reply. Thank you for playing PopCap Games! Shawn PopCap Customer Support"

 

 

 

No one was trying to "sell" you on anything. We're unable to meet your request, so were offering you premium currency in a new (free) version of the game as replacement. 

 

 

 

You last wrote in on Friday, we don't work on weekends, so we're just now getting caught up on inbound correspondence from the weekend. Please continue working with Shawn for resolution.

 

 

 

We also do not offer phone support, so your best course of action will be to review with Shawn, who now is owning your case.

 

 

 

Thank you,

 

 

 

Jen
Product Support Manager.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son has been playing Plants vs Zombies 2: It's About Time for about 2 years, and has made at least $50-$75 worth of in-app purchases. If his tablet runs down all the way, it erases all of his game files, but PopCap had always been good about resetting them when I submitted a support request. However, I've contacted them 3 times over the past 3 months with the same request, and they have completely ignored it. I've had no contact from the company. We've spent a lot of money on this game, and I'd like for my son to be able to continue to access his own files with the material he's purchased.

Desired Settlement: I would like my son to have his files restored so he can play the game with the material that he's purchased, instead of having to start over and buy everything again.

Business Response: This has been responded to, via internal tools

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *********

1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company promotes the sale of boosts heavily. I purchases $200 in boosts to attain a game goal on Solitaire Blitz. PopCap had a glitch in their system that took down ALL of their games on Facebook. Not just the one I play. When it came back up I had lost everything. I contacted them immediately to let them know, but was never given the courtesy of a reply. I tried again using a different method of contact and was again ignored. After my third attempt to have resolution I realized they have no intention of ever addressing my issue and I am just out $200. I realize PopCap is big enough to just take people's money and ignore those people when the business makes a mistake. Who cares about my $200? But, they should at least respond to complaints as per their own policies. I want either a refund of my money or to have my game reset to what it was when they had a problem.

Desired Settlement: Give me the equivalent of what I lost or reset the game to what it was so I'm not out anything.

Business Response:

I have attempted to email and phone this customer on several occasions now with no response. I emailed her on 1/4/16, and attempted to phone her twice after that. Her emails to my support team here at PopCap are all over 2 years old.

 

No resolution necessary, as I don't see a purchase for her, nor do I see any recent correspondence from this player.

8/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have lost my paid account to pogo games-popcap. I have not been able to find any way to reach the company. I have been a member for 10 years, I can not use my account nor unsubscribe because you make it impossible to reach you. I have automatic re-newel and I do not want to pay for what I can not use.

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Bejeweled for iOS in 2012 to remove ads and own the game. Some time in the last year or so the game was updated and ads have been inserted into the game. I have asked for a refund (99 cents plus tax, comes to $1.08) but was referred to *****. ***** too refused to refund the purchase. Since PopCap provides updates, and the update essentially stole my purchase, I believe PopCap is responsible. I have also requested clarification for what I did purchase in 2012, to which no one has explained either. Was I mistaken with my 2012 purchase? Did I not buy an ad-free game? I think PopCap deliberately forced an update with ads to get more money from it's users, hoping people would not only not complain, but simply pay more money for something they already paid for. I think they are hiding behind technical details, like 'offline title', in an effort to shift blame to App distribution rules in place by *****, even though they could have easily made a new version of the game, with ads, and sold an ad-free version for more money, but they realized everyone like me who already had the game would not seek out a new paid version.

Desired Settlement: I check for $1.08 mailed to my house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/01/16) */ The original, paid version is still playable on an older device, such as the devices/iOS versions available at the time it was released. As newer devices and/or iOS versions are released, we must update our apps to function on the new devices and Operating System software. Traditionally, when purchasing software, it is understood that the purchased version is not guaranteed to work on future iterations of the platform and that later releases of the product that have been programmed to meet the needs of the newer platforms will not be available for free to purchasers of the prior versions. If a player chooses to upgrade hardware or software, causing previously purchased apps to cease functioning, we cannot refund the original purchase. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) BBB can close the case, I'm sick of hearing so much ** from PopCap. "Traditionally"... yes. But in the modern era of mobile devices your customers may have a different opinion. When I get a new phone and re-download all my apps, I expect them to just work as they always did. Had I purchased some sort of subscription app, sure, charge by month, whatever. But I bought a game and expect it to work on a new devices and OSs within a reasonable time. If thats the card your going to play fine. Don'e expect me to buy any more PopCap apps in the future.... I know... you don't care, big deal, one uptight a-hole customer claims he won't buy anymore apps... you must be shaking in your boots... Good luck guys/gals. Thanks for a great customer experience. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/01/29) */ Accidentally checked 'No' instead of 'Yes' to the question about accepting the response. Please note Yes and close the case.

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Bejeweled HD for the iPad in May 2013 for $4. The product was received and was usable. Ads for other PopCap games were included, but that is the norm for such. I wiped my iPad recently for the iOS8 update, then manually restored apps from iTunes. Backups are fine, but I wanted to limit the apps installed. When I started Bejelewed HD, I not only received the PopCap ad, but started getting ads from third-parties, unrelated to PopCap. Examining PopCap's website, the following can be found: " I purchased Bejeweled or Bejeweled HD but am now seeing ads in the game. Bejeweled for iPhone/iPod Touch and Bejeweled HD for iPad are now free apps. If you download the free version, you will see intermittent advertisements, and you will have the option to remove the ads. If you still have the purchased app installed and simply update to the latest version, third-party ads should not appear in the game. However, if you deleted the app at some point after purchasing, or if you are installing the app on a new device, you may be seeing ads when you run the game. If there is a backup of your device on iCloud or your PC (via iTunes) that was made prior to your deleting the app, you could simply restore that backup in order to recover the purchased version of the game. If you do not have a backup available to restore to, we regret that we have no alternate method for preventing the ads from being displayed. However, we will be happy to make it up to you with in-game currency for Bejeweled Blitz, Plants vs. Zombies 2, Solitaire Blitz,or Zuma Blitz. Please click Contact Us below and provide the receipt from your original purchase of Bejeweled or Bejeweled HD. Your receipt details from all past purchases can be found in iTunes." My options are as follows: 1. Restore my ENTIRE iPad for this ONE GAME, or 2. Pay PopCap $3 to remove the third-party ads In-game currency does not remove ads, and is not a just compensation. This is fraud, plain and simple. I PAID PopCap for a product, and it was switched without notification. ***** has been notified. I'm further notifying my State Attorney General's office, and the FTC concerning this issue.

Desired Settlement: I request a complete refund of the product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/12/05) */ We are sorry for the frustration. As noted, it is possible to recover your paid app if you restore to a saved backup on a compatible device. Downloading the current version from the App Store will provide the free version of the app, not the paid version. We are more than happy to offer currency in another of our games if that is acceptable, but we cannot unlock the ad-free version of Bejeweled on your device, nor can we refund the purchase. PopCap has no access to *****'s billing systems. If you wish to seek a refund, please note that only ***** can refund purchases made in iTunes/the App Store. To request a refund, please contact ***** directly. You can contact ***** here: http://www.*****.com/support/itunes/contact/ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Vendor does not seem to understand that they changed the app, after I paid for the app, to a free app. It's no different than buying a product at a store, then finding the product was switched (not the packaging) without notification. Free 'currency' towards another game is shameless marketing. I contacted ***** and was notified that though they are responsible for refunds, one cannot be issued because the developer changed the app to free. While I understand Popcap's need to 'flow with the changes' in the current app industry, foresaking existing customers is a great way to put yourself out of business. Solution is not acceptable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/12/22) */ We understand your frustration and regret that we have no alternative solution for this matter. We cannot refund purchases made through *****, and we will be more than happy to offer currency in any of our free-to-play games. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

11/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Bejeweled for the iphone from the**************** on 11/02/12 Order*********** for $0.99 Today my phone downloaded an automatic update to the game so it would work on iOS8. Now the game is asking me to purchase the game again for $2.99 in order to remove the ads from the game. This form of double charging is about as low as it gets. I hope it is just an error with the hastily put together update.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for my app to work properly without ads. Which is the way it has worked for the last 2 years and without ads

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/10/28) */ With the latest update to the iPhone/iPod Touch and iPad versions of Bejeweled, the game is now available to all as a free download! Occasional advertisements will appear during the free version of the game. If you previously purchased the game and are having trouble restoring your purchased version on a new device or after deleting and redownloading the app, we apologize for the inconvenience. As we are unable to provide an ad-free download of the app, we would like to offer you in-game currency in one of the following games: Bejeweled Blitz*, Plants vs. Zombies 2, Solitaire Blitz*, or Zuma Blitz*. * To receive currency in any of the "Blitz" titles, you must have a Facebook account. If you choose Bejeweled Blitz, Solitaire Blitz, or Zuma Blitz, please locate your Facebook user ID number and include it in your reply to this email. To obtain your Facebook ID number, first make sure you're logged into Facebook and then visit one of the links below: http://apps.facebook.com/bejeweledblitz/userid.php http://apps.facebook.com/solitaireblitz/userid.php http://apps.facebook.com/zumablitz/ajax.php?pa=userdata&a=fbid If you prefer to receive your currency in Plants vs. Zombies 2, we need to know your PlayerID number. To locate this information, please click on Settings from your iOS device's home screen. Then scroll all the way down until you see a PvZ 2 option. Tap on that and you will be presented with your PlayerID. IMPORTANT: Please be sure to include all five lines of information. If it would be easier for you, you can take a screenshot of this information and include it with your reply. Thank you for your understanding. If you prefer to seek a refund, please note that only ***** can refund purchases made in iTunes/the App Store. PopCap has no access to *****'s billing systems. To request a refund, please contact ***** directly. You can contact ***** here: http://www.*****.com/support/itunes/contact/ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/10/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off I do not have nor plan to download Bejeweled Blitz, Solitaire Blitz, or Zuma Blitz or Plants vs. Zombies 2. These are all games that use micro transactions and are pay to win. The idea that I can simply just load a previously backed up version of the game is ridiculous as everyone knows the older versions don't support iOS8. You can simply send me a gift code for the version without ad's of Bejewled. The game that I BOUGHT two years ago. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/10/30) */ We are not able to provide gift codes for use in iTunes. We do regret that your previously purchased app will not run on your new device/iOS version. With the choice to update to a new OS or device, there is always the risk that your older software will no longer be compatible.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchases an app from the company, which worked well, but I was recently forced by the business to upgrade the app. I have lost the use of the previous app which I purchased, nd do not care for the new one which I was *forced* to switch to. I'd like the company to chane it's policy and let me continue using the app I previously used. This is exactly analogous to buying ********* word, and then having the company disable your version and force to to upgrade to another.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want to use the version I paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/28) */ As the customer has not identified the title with which they are reporting a concern, I am unable to respond fully. We show no history of communication with this email address, indicating the customer has not attempted to contact us directly regarding their concerns.

1/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the last year and a half I have purchased Items that are presented as sale items(I have screen shots of this happening to me for 2 of the three times) The item involved this time was packages of "25 mines" that were offered at $1.33 so I bought 7 to keep it under $10($9.31) and then I find out that I have been charged $93.10. This time I actually got responses from them and they refereed me to collect via ******** as ******** collected the funds. That is very problematic as********* even went as far as telling me that I could be blocked from all possible purchases via ** on the previous challenge to me being caught in what felt like a bait and switch (3 times over 1 & 1/2 years). The company hides behind ********* it reaped the benefit of the gross overcharge yet places it in the hands of ********* Their reps have replied on several occasions saying they are sorry the transaction didn't go smoothly as it should but there is NOTHING they can do. One went as far as saying he we passing info to developers. I have contacted all parties through numerous ways and I am still out the money

Desired Settlement: My intent was to purchase 7 of the promoted and offered 25 mine packs for $1.33 EACH = $9.31 I was charged $93.10 I want what was unfairly taken from my bank account = $83.79 Also no negative followup by the company after this has been corrected. I just want them to correct their "mistake" also want them to finally fix the reoccurring problem

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/05) */ First, we regret the error that resulted in the overcharge, and it is that matter that has been reported to our developers for investigation. Unfortunately, we cannot refund the purchase ourselves, as refunds can only be initiated on the billing system where the transactions are processed. That system belongs to ********, and PopCap cannot access it in any way. For purchases made through third-party vendors, we must refer the customer to those vendors for refund requests. We would happily refund this charge ourselves, but we simply have no ability to do so. This refund request must be handled by ********. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is the 3rd time in the past year this has happened, it has been sent to the developers by the company and ******** yet it keeps on happening. It is frustrating to me that a company who gave the WRONG info to the collection agency(********)puts the resolve of this issue onto ********. I have tried dealing with ******** numerous times this has occurred, with no resolve! The previous time I was notified by ******** that I could lose my "privilege" of using ******** to pay for things, all because a company grossly overcharges me. Then they tell me they can't take care of it in the area of repayment, yet the have the money in THEIR bank account and not mine, and I am sure that the company actually has a checkbook that they can use in this matter. The special offered amount was $9.31 they charged me $93.10 and that is outrageous, and instead of taking care of a paying customer they just tell me to go to ********, who told me they would notify the developers and would get back to me in 72 hours and that was over a month ago! The over charge was caused by PopCap sending the incorrect information to ********! the responsibility for the GROSS overcharge was due to PopCap error, not ********'s. PopCap has my money in their bank account but claims no responsibility, and hides behind ********. I want my money back that was overcharged. They claim they cannot get info on the purchases, but I have screen shots of them for the last 2 times this happened to me. From my experiance I am referred to ******** as they seem to hope that the long unending process of trying to get money refunded, will discourage me and they will get to keep the money I was cheated out of. At no time in this process has PopCap contacted ******** about this issue and try to get it resolved or contacted me about it, they just tell I'm sorry but contact ********, and that is their way of dealing with it, and that is wrong, and they will actually have to do something other than refer me to ** to get this resolved!!! Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/12/18) */ We have reached out to ******** on this matter. We have been informed that the customer filed chargebacks with his financial institution, so the funds have already been returned to his account. Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The problem that caused this hasn't been corrected and it took this to get PopCap to do anything in this matter, they(corporate) haven't contacted me YET with any kind of apology, or anything for that matter, their hard line maintaining that ** is responsible for their failures is not enough for me, or anyone else who has been victimized by this protocol and while the money is FINALLY back, it took a VERY long time to get it, yet they took it VERY fast. This "resolution" is not enough for all that has occurred in this matter. They MUST do something other than blame someone else and have someone else clean it up!!!!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on PopCap Games Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)