This business is not BBB accredited.

JD Installation

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 649-4998 19164 Karl Pl NE, Poulsbo, WA 98370 http://www.jdinstallation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fireplace repair and installation services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for JD Installation include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JD Installation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 2012 Business started: 08/01/2011 Business started locally: 08/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John Dipino, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Dipino, Owner
Business Category

Fireplaces Building Contractors Mason Contractors

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm
Saturday by appointment
Closed Sunday
Alternate Business Names
JD Installations

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19164 Karl Pl NE

    Poulsbo, WA 98370 (360) 649-4998

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19164 Karl Pl.

    Poulsbo, WA 98370

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: John D***** took a $800 deposit from me on 3/15/15, to purchase materials to replace a LP valve, burner and grate, and to install a lock top damper with a cable in a fireplace in my home. He failed to follow up to set up the installation. When I followed up, it took multiple attempts to reach him before he finally told me he had been in the hospital. After allowing him over a month of recovery time, he again failed to follow up and when I finally was able to get a response, had an ongoing series of excuses including continuing health issues, incorrect materials, loss of his business license and more, for either not responding to emails and phone calls or showing up for installation appointments. He finally agreed to let a competitor finish the work and then failed to produce the materials that I had paid for, and would not take the calls of the service provider. After 10 months of run-around, I requested that he give me my deposit back so I could start from scratch using someone else, and he promised to do this, yet failed to deliver on this commitment as well, over multiple occasions. I am still out $800.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $800 deposit returned.

Business Response: Well first off I was in hospital for several months with pneumonia and had to have lung surgery on left side . I was out of work till august that year as for trying to do the install there were several attempts made to do the job but Mrs ******* was not available or was out of town . I called a friend of mine to do the job for me and let Mrs ******* know they would be taking over as I shut my business down and am no longer in business and they never followed through on the job I just talked to Mr ******* today and let her know I would be giving her back her money.  This is harassment and it needs to stop 

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted with JD Installation for two fireplace inserts on September 30, 2015. I was told that the inserts would be installed withing two and a half weeks from receipt of 50% deposit on September 18, 2015 at time of estimate and this was confirmed at time of payment of deposit. However, as of December 8, 2015, contractor was still unable to fulfill contract. Contracter blamed supplier *** ***** Distributor for inability to fulfill contract. I spoke with **** ******** at *** ***** Distributor and he confirmed that the parts were not available as of such date and agreed to allowing me to cancell the order without a 25% restocking fee, which contractor claimed we would be charged if we cancelled. Upon confirmation from **** that no penalty would be assessed I cancelled the order and contractor agreed to refund our deposit completely. He did not. In fact, when I went thru my credit card company contractor claimed that the deposit was non-refundable although he had been telling me he was processing the refund. After I heard back from my credit card company I texted contractor again on status of refund. He does not answer my calls. He texted back saying he had processed refund, but the credit company was having problems processing and that he would look into it. I'm confused by his telling me one thing and my credit card something completely different. I thought contractor was a legitimate business, but am feeling defrauded. The initial install promise of within two and a half weeks was not met, nor pushed too hard by me due to his telling me that his family's home in California burned and he was traveling to help. Then, his kids came down sick and his wife was unable to stay home because of her work. Then, he wrote down the wrong date on his calendar. Then, supplier has filed claim against him with licensing board and he could not work with his license not active or on hold. Then, product wasn't there. Then, a full refund was promised.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of my deposit. He charged $1000 on my American Express and received a check from escrow directly upon closing of my property purchase for the remainder portion of the deposit. I would like the $1000 American Express credited back to my credit card and a check for the remainder.

Business Response: Good morning first of all in the matter of the two fireplaces it is company policy to collect 50% down on all jobs for this reason of customers cancellation of product.  Our company ordered all materials the day we received payment we were told approximately 2 weeks but due to factor back log it took longer I was in contact with the customer to let them know the status.  Time came and all parts were in but in a family emergency in California my family was victims of forest fires and all lost there homes so I had to go and help with that . I called to let the customer know of the issue and would get the fireplaces installed as soon as I could.  The day we were scheduled to install the fireplaces I called to let the customer know that everything but one conversion kit from ng to lp was in and was at my suppliers company and the customer cancelled the order and demanded her money back  in told her it would have to wait till I received the funds from my suppliers and I would return her 1000 .the next day she called her credit card company and disputed the charge and the funds were taken from my account and put into square account who I process credit cards through.  They informed me the process could take up to 60 days .as for the restock fee it is company policy to charge 15 % on all returns or cancellation orders  thank you 

Consumer Response:

On September 18, 2015, I met with John of JD Installation and got a quote for two
fireplace inserts (propane) for a total of $5, 131.07. At this time I was told that the
installation would take place within two and a half weeks of receipt of deposit, which
would be $2,500.


On or about September 30, 2015, we called John at JD Installation to tell him that escrow
would be sending him a check directly and he was to charge the remainder to our credit
card. JD Installation charged $1,000 to our American Express. At this time, he mentioned
that it might take longer for the inserts due to his family in California losing their home to
a fire.


On or about the week of September 19, 2015 an installation date for the following week
was arranged.


An hour after contractor was due to be at address for the install, I got a call stating that
his children were sick, his wife was unable to stay home due to her job obligations and
that he would call back to reschedule.
Upon not hearing from contractor for two weeks, I called to arrange another time for the
installs.


On or about November 17, 2015, contractor left a message that he would install the
inserts on November 23, 2015 at 1O:OOam.


On November 23, 2015 at 1 1:00 1 inquired as to ETA from contractor via text because
the phone was not being answered. He said I was "scheduled for Mon." I replied that it
was Monday and that his message said Monday November 23, to which he said he had
messed up and written it down for November 30.

On November 30, 2015, I got a text from contractor stating ''Good Morning I'm very
sorry but I am not making out today due to legal issues I'm dealing with from department
of labor and industries ..... "


On Wednesday, December 2, 2015, I got a text from contractor stating "Everything will
be taken care of on Friday .. .I will see you on Tuesday around 10".


On Tuesday, December 8, 2015, I got a text from contractor stating "Ok so I'm here to
pick up the parts and someone has taken of the stoves and surrounding for the other and
the conversion kit for the other .. .. " Later, he called me and told me that it would be 30 to
60 days before the parts would be available. At this time I asked if we could cancel the
order, since his business phone was rarely answered and he kept draggjng out the
installation of the inserts. He mentioned a 25% restocking fee would be charged by the
supplier. I called the supplier directly and was told that their would not be a restocking
fee because they had been unable to fill order and the cancellation would not result in any penalty. See email dated December 8, 2015 to Matt M*******. Contractor then stated he
would issue a full refund directly to me.


Since contractor had been unreliable in following through in the past, I called my credit
card directly to get a refund on the amount charged. Contractor stated to credit card
company that deposit was non-refundable although he had told me a full refund would be
issued. Upon receiving information from my credit card as to contractor alleging that he
had purchased material for the installation and that the deposit was non-refundable
according to the contract. There was no contract other than the estimate, which does not
state anything about the deposit being non-refundable and when I cancelled the order he
said he would issue a full refund. I also had supplier provide an email stating that
contractor did not, as alleged, buy any of the materials ordered for ****** installation.


When I inquired status of refund of contractor, he said he had already processed credit
card refund, but it would take about 60 days to process. When I inquired about the non
credit card amount, he stated he was waiting for a refund from the supplier. Again,
supplier has sent email stating no money was received whatsoever in regard to this
installation.


Since contractor did not follow through with either installation (promised to be done
within 2 1/2 weeks of receipt of deposit) or refund (promised about one month ago and
refund on credit card stopped by contractor), I filed a complaint with BBB.


Upon contractor's receipt of BBB, he stated that since he got the check from escrow he
would be returning the money to escrow, but would dispute credit card refund due to
supplier costs (none per email from supplier) and a now charge a restocking fee. Upon
receiving his text I called the realtor, escrow company and lenders in regards to his text.
They clarified that since escrow had paid him directly, the money could only be kept by
him. However, off the record he could refund the money to me, but that if he returned the
money to escrow it would just stay there and they could not issue it to me.


Upon hearing this, contractor's dragging out the installation and refund, his behavior
seemed consistent with his knowing that since escrow paid him directly he had the upper
hand and I don't know if he even planned on fulfilling the contract ever.

 

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Please see attached documents<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Business Response: Good afternoon I have contacted the credit company to her refund and they are saying it can take up to 60 days to refund her credit card. As for tri state she has been harassing them over money also . The escrow company will get the 1500 back as they were the one who sent the down payment not Mrs ******.  As for company policy it is mandatory to charge a restock fee on all returns or cancellation orders.  Thank you 

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installed a new wood stove and pipe. Leaking in the roof occurred with the first rainfall thereafter. Called dozens of times--unaswered messages left. Finally 9 months later an appointment to repair was made: no show. New appointment made: no show. Also, $165.00 worht of extra parts we paid for were never refunded. Ultimately we paid $400.00 to another contracto to repair the damage.

Desired Settlement: Want the $165.00 for parts refunded--they possess the parts. Want reimbursement for the $400.00 we paid the independent contractor to repair the damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/27) */ Ok first off the parts that you returned to the local fireplace shop had nothing to do with my company . Those parts were to be installed on your fireplace so it would meet code like I told you they needed to be you didn't want them on so I left them because they were part of the job that were and are needed still. Your job was done in 2013 and I have never heard anything about a leak till I received a letter From the bbb. I did talk to your daughter about the parts and explained to her that they needed to be installed to meet code and she said i quote ( my dad has Alzheimer's and doesn't remember a lot ) I have tried to call several times after that and have never heard anything back. My cell phone is my office and work phone it goes where I do. You said you had a handy man come out and tell you we installed the wrong size connector ? I would like to know his certifications on chimneys and fireplaces. The chimney that was installed prior to my company coming out was 8inch and so was the flashing on the roof that had already been leaking cause we pointed that out to you when I cut into your wall . We removed the old 8inch and installed new 6inch and fixed the flashing that was leaking prior to our install to code then over a year later I get a complaint from the bbb about a leak I don't know what to make of that . If you would like your parts that need to be installed on your fireplace I would be more than happy to install them if not then your going to need to send me a good phone number and adders to send you the difference for the parts . Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The work you did was done in January. We paid you half of the amount ($2302.97), check #****, on 12/17/13 in order for you to order the parts; the balance to be paid on the day of completion, Check #****, $2302.97 on 1/8/14. On that day, you did not have time to complete the job, so you left parts to be done the next week. They were not parts "to meet code" or we assumed you would have finished before you left. You did not come the next week. We called after two weeks and you told us that they were not necessary and if we didn't want to use them, you would refund the $$. You stated that you were coming up this way soon and you would get them from us. All of this time, we thought you were subcontracted by the local ********** in Hoodsport. She had given us your contact number and indicated that you were up in this area once a week. We had NEVER been aware of any leak in this house. We have lived here for 13 years and the only leak we have ever heard was after you installed a new stove and stovepipes. The leak began with the first hard rainfall. We actually waited a week before calling, thinking maybe it would stop. When it became louder and louder, we again called. I spoke with you and you said you would be up the next week--did not give a definite day. No show. We called again, no answer--left a message. At this point, my husband went down to the local ********** to inquire when we could expect you and leave the parts with the owner. This was when we discovered you were not working for the shop but had done the job independently. Again we called, and never got a response or return call. As the summer months went on, we called periodically. Many times there was just no answer and once or twice you indicated you would be coming up this way soon. This went on for months. Finally, I asked my daughter to call because I suspected you were choosing NOT to answer calls from our phone number. She called you on Sept 2. You answered and claimed that your phone had been out of order on and off. She said you were quite cooperative and told her to call us right away and have us call you and make an appointment to fix the leak and you would refund the $$ for the parts when you came. We called that day and there was an appointment made for the next Wednesday. She would have had no reason to say my husband has Alzhiemers's because he does not. When you did not come on the appointed day, we called again and someone named *******, said that there was no appointment on the books for that day. She called back and made an appointment for the following week. Nothing. We called that week, as well , and the phone was not answered. In an email from the owner of the **********, she indicated that she had asked you if you had taken care of the refund for the parts that she had turned over to you. She said you told her you had paid us. I told her that was untrue. As the fall set in and the rains were harder, I became concerned about the amount of water I could hear coming down the wall in my bedroom. I hired not a "handyman" but a local licensed and bonded construction company to come fix the problem before the water damage was too extensive. There has been no leak since he did his work. We paid him $400.00 to stop the damage.

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 11, 2014 **** from JD Installation went went to a duplex I own in Bothell to repair a gas fireplace because the pilot light would not remain lit. **** serviced the fireplace and replaced a part for $282.62. **** phoned me that day to say the work was complete and told me it was working great. I paid him that day with over the phone with a visa card. The next daythe tenant called **** to say that the fireplace was not working. **** told the tenant that he would check his schedule and call him back to arrange a time to come back. **** told the tenant that the next part may be faulty. Several weeks later the tenant called me to say that **** had not called him back. I called **** who told me the same thing that it may be a faulty part and that he would reschedule a visit. **** never called. I checked my phone log and I have had left five voice messages and two text messages for **** since March 5 and his has quit responding to both me and the tenant about when he'll return to do the repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund of the $282.62 that he charged. The fireplace still does not work and I do not feel as though I should be charged. The poor communication is terrible customer service.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on JD Installation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)