BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers construction insurance repair. This company offers fire and water damage restoration services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nordic Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nordic Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nordic Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1989 Business started: 11/01/1982 in WA Business started locally: 11/01/1982 Business incorporated 09/22/1982 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Omli, President Mr. David Omley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Omli, President
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Mold & Mildew Inspection Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Mold Consulting & Testing Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services

Alternate Business Names
1-800-Boardup

Additional Locations

  • 9618 Midvale Ave N

    Seattle, WA 98103 (800) 660-4312 (360) 792-2565 (206) 522-9570

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We started working on a bathroom remodeling project with Nordic Services 8 months ago. We signed a contract with them on 2/25/16 and paid a down payment. We worked with their subcontractors and completed material selection 5 weeks ago. At this point, we expected that the estimate would be revised based on the selected material, and work be scheduled. But then Nordic stalled for 5 weeks and would not proceed with the project. During this period of 5 weeks, the estimator who wrote the original estimate left the company, and a new estimator took over. The new estimator wanted to bring additional subcontractors to view the site. We tried to be accommodating and made the time. But Nordic and their subcontractors did not show up, did not care to inform me, and did not offer any apology afterward. Finally, 2 days ago, they suddenly sent me an email saying the contract was no longer valid and that they would not honor it. They claimed that the scope of the work has changed. But the truth is there was no change in scope.

Desired Settlement: We would like Nordic Services to honor the mutually signed contract and perform the bathroom remodeling work.

Business Response:

This customer contacted us last August to discuss some remodeling work she wanted done. We provided an estimate and contract to her on 9/10/15. We did not receive the contract back from her at that time.

She contacted us again in January with questions regarding pricing and revisions to bring down the cost of the remodel. We sent her out a revised estimate on 2/15/16 and after more discussions with the owner, sent another revised estimate on 2/19/16 along with a contract. We received the signed contract on March 1st along with the requested down payment.

The scope of work has changed several times since we provided our first estimate last September, and she has requested additional changes after the contract was signed:

The owner has asked to remove a few of the estimated work items from our scope, and requested that we perform the work in phases rather than all at once. Additionally, some of the material selections she has made are not through our vendors or subcontractors. For warranty reasons, we require our customers select materials that can be supplied by our subcontractors so that we can warranty the installation, materials and workmanship.

Because of the ongoing changes to the scope, we stand by our decision not to continue the estimate revision process and to cancel the contract as it no longer reflects the work to be done.

We do apologize if there was miscommunication about subcontractor appointments; we strive to communicate clearly about all appointments.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Nordic Services mentioned previous versions of the estimate; but these are not relevant to this complaint because they were not mutually agreed to and signed.

I believe the only relevant version is the estimate dated 2/19/16, which is tied to the contract that was mutually agreed to and signed by me (on 2/25/16) and the business (on 3/1/16).  Since this company signed the contract on 3/1/16 and accepted my 10% down payment, I believe this signed contract should be binding.

There has not been any change in project scope since the contract was signed.  Therefore, I believe the reasons the business chose not to honor the contract are not valid:

1) The business claimed that I requested to remove a few items from the mutually signed contract of work.  Can the business provide a list of these items?

2) The business complained that some of the material selections I made were not through through their vendors or subcontractors. The truth is that from the beginning, their estimator have told me that I was free to select material from any source. The signed contract also confirms this fact – there is no clause in the contract that restricts material selection to certain vendors.

3) The business claimed that my request to have the work done in phases is a determining factor in their decision not to honor the contract. The remodel work includes two bathrooms. Since we are occupying the home, we have informed this company that they would need to work on one bathroom at a time so that we have a working bathroom to use. Their estimator (Aaron M*****) and their foreman (Richard H****) said that would not be a problem. If this now becomes a point of contention, I'm willing to let the company work on both bathrooms at the same time. So this reason should go away, correct?

I've invested a lot of time and effort in working with Nordic Services and their subcontractors for 8 months to get the project to this point. Three months ago, this company signed the contract of work, asked for 10% downpayment, and assigned a foreman who scheduled my project to begin in the first week of May 2016. If the company had some issues with the contract, the reasonable thing to do would be to discuss them with me first to try to find a solution. But they did not do that.

I have acted in good faith and fulfillled my end of the contract. I don't feel it's right that the company mislead me for so long, and then abandon the project at the last minute like this. How can they compensate for my lost time? The summer is the busiest time in the construction business, it would be next to impossible for me to find a replacement contractor to do the work any time soon. So I ask that this company deliver their promise of work as contracted.


Sincerely,

****** ****

Business Response: The estimator was waiting for the revised bids from our plumbing company and tile subcontractor so he could finish his revisions. We have called the subs and will follow up again today. The revision will be sent out as soon as we have those numbers from our subcontractors. 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I appreciate that the business finally made an attempt to correct the problem.  But it has been a month and a half since the complaint was filed, and they have not provided me with a satisfactory solution.  I no longer wish to wait for them.

Sincerely,

****** ****

5/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nordic Services was hired on 11/6/13 to complete repair work after a pipe burst, flooding my family's vacation home. The contract amount was for $111,488.71 plus tax of $9,476.54 for a total of $120,965.25. The total insurance scope is now coming in at $132,561.54. We have been working with the company for over a year now to wrap up the work on the house and what remains are:1) Evidence that repair of a fireplace is removed from scope because the contractor has refused to handle this work.2) Credit for redesign of work on a wall that was changed from a dual door design to a single door, and we were told there would be a cost savings.3) Correction of issues around custom built shelves in the living room that were not built to scope and we have repeatedly requested a change order since last August that they will not provide. The request is to build two additional shelves, but we have not requested those shelves be installed.Additionally, we were recently at the house for one of the first opportunities we have had to be at the property and found that one of the circuit breakers can not be enabled. This was just reported to Nordic, so we are not aware yet if they will resolve this issue.We desperately want this issue closed, and have already paid them more than the $120,965.25 that we believe was due. Currently there is $5000 left unpaid on the account as we have tried to resolve these issues with the company but there has been no traction for months. They have not been willing to speak and work out the issues by phone, and have no taken a lien out on the property yet we do not feel the work has been completed.

Desired Settlement: Resolve dispute over total payments due, the three outstanding issues, and repair of the non-working circuit breaker.

Business Response:

Nordic Services is responding to the above complaint filed against us by ****** ****

 

Complaint #1: Evidence that repair of a fireplace is removed from scope because the contractor has refused to handle this work.

The homeowners’ insurance company estimate dated 3/15/15 does include the costs to replace the wood stove, ($4,313.58). The replacement of the wood stove had been discussed with the homeowners who indicated that they were hoping to use the company that installed the original one. On 12/15/14 we emailed the insurance adjuster and the homeowners indicating Nordic would be happy to coordinate the replacement of the wood stove if desired. On 12/28/14, the homeowner responded that they preferred to have another company handle the wood stove; so Nordic did not get involved with that repair, nor did we bill the owners for the costs associated with it. Nordic would have completed the work but the homeowner opted to work directly with the insurance company to replace the fireplace insert.

 

Complaint #2: Credit for redesign of work on a wall that was changed from a dual door design to a single door, and we were told there would be a cost savings.

The home had a set of double doors in the basement that went from the garage into the Rec room. In order to change a double door to a single door involves reframing the opening, insulating the wall, additional drywall, texture and paint.  There is no cost difference when taking into consideration the additional work necessary to change to a single door.

 

It is unlikely that the owners would have been advised that there would be a significant cost savings by making this specific change. Other changes they made in this area of the home did result in significant savings which is reflected in the billing provided to the homeowners.

 

Complaint #3: Correction of issues around custom built shelves in living room, that were not built to scope and we have repeatedly requested a change order since last August that the will not provide. The request is to build 2 additional shelves, but we have not requested those shelves be installed.

The custom built shelves in the living room are virtually identical to the damaged shelving; including the cleated type construction / installation. We were not aware of any ‘issues’ with those shelves.

 

Nordic would be happy to provide a change order to build additional shelving. However, in order to provide an accurate cost, we have requested additional information from the homeowners which we have not yet received.

 

 

Complaint #4:  We were recently at the house for one of the first opportunities we have had to be at the property and found that one of the circuit breakers cannot be enabled. This was just reported to Nordic, so we are not aware yet if they will resolve the issue.

 

Nordic Services stands behind our work. We will dispatch an electrician to research the issue, and if it is related to the work we performed, we will make the needed repairs.


 

****** ******

Business Manager, Seattle Branch

Nordic Services, Inc.

************* ****

************ ***

**** ******* ****** *****

Seattle, WA 98103

 

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nordic refuses to take responsibility for the repair/replacement of a cabinet that their worker (****** ***** installed incorrectly, which now needs to be either replaced or repaired at my cost. I have been in contact with Nordic via email with no resolutions. There is also a problem with my kitchen floor, also installed by Nordic, that now has a 2% drop on one side and has developed a very loud creak when you walk on the floor. Their worker had lied to me about several issues when he was working here. **** ********** a rep for Nordic came to my home one day with ****** **** and I expressed the fact that I was unhappy with the work that he was doing. **** ********* told me that I had no right to criticize his worker like that and he pulled the worker off the job and walked out, telling me that they were not going to come back. Nordic is claiming that the issues I have are due to an uneven floor and claim that ****** **** used an 8'foot level when replacing the joists and wall supports. In fact, I witnessed him using a 3' level on the entire floor and at no time did he have an 8'level in this house. Nordic stands firm in believing their worker, who has lied to me and to them. He has been employed with Nordic for 4 months and he was the only worker in my home to make repairs and he was left totally unsupervised the entire time. No one came here to check his work or talk to me. They have been defiant in their claim that he is qualified. I am extremely frustrated and unhappy with the work that they have done. **** ********* has been verbally abusive to me and ****** ******, the Business Manager is defending Nordic, **** ********* and ****** ***** I, as a customer who hired them, have had no say at all in this matter and in fact they have accused me of using foul language directed at their workers. I received a letter from ****** ****** the day after Nordic quit this job and she says in the letter that I used 'harsh criticism and false accusations' towards ****** **** when he was here with **** ********** This is ABSOLUTELY UNTRUE

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the repairs made that need to be made and put my house back in the condition that it was in before this water claim. I am not asking for anything more than that. I do not want ****** **** or **** ********* back in my home again. I want Nordic to be responsible for the cost of these repairs and an apology for the way that I was treated. However, I realize the latter request *** never happen. Please, give me back my home

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/02/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Business M Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX, **** Contact Email: ************@nordicservices.com Nordic's owner performed a site visit to view the concerns first hand. The homeowner's complaint regarding the cabinet was valid. We agreed to repair the cabinet and install crown molding to fit. We ordered the materials and scheduled the repairs with the homeowner. After the work was completed on 2/4/15, Ms. **** called Nordic's owner to tell him she was satisfied with the work we did and thanked him for taking care of the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2015/02/17) */ Nordic Services came to my home and viewed the damages and agreed that my complaints were valid. They kindly offered to fix the problems by sending another employee who is much more qualified. That employee has done a wonderful job in repairing my kitchen and I am very happy with his work. I would like to thank the BBB for assisting me with my complaint and assisting the public in resolving issues that we may have with other businesses. I would also like to drop my complaint against Nordic Services because they responded to my complaint in a professional manner and they made sure that I was a happy customer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Nordic Services Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)