Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Swanson Financial Services Inc

Phone: (503) 603-9900 Fax: (503) 624-1855 16016 Boones Ferry Rd, Lake Oswego, OR 97035 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.SwansonFinancial.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tax preparation and financial services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Swanson Financial Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Swanson Financial Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Swanson Financial Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2000 Business started: 07/01/1999 in OR Business started locally: 07/01/1999 Business incorporated 04/15/1999 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Insurance Division
350 Winter St NE Rm 440, Salem OR 97301
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/ins
Phone Number: (503) 947-7980
dcbs.insmail@state.or.us

Oregon Division of Finance & Corporate Securities
350 Winter St NE Rm 410, Salem OR 97301
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/dfcs
Phone Number: (503) 378-4140
dcbs.dfcsmail@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Swanson, President Mr. Michael Higuera, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Higuera, Manager
Principal: Mr. David Swanson, President
Business Category

Financial Planning Consultants Insurance Consultants Retirement Planning Service

Alternate Business Names
Retirement Learning Center

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Swanson Financial Services Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 16016 Boones Ferry Rd

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035 (503) 603-9900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swanson Financial Services, Inc. failed to state on their information for their free seminar on Social Security benefits, handicap access to the meeting, the room # of the meeting, and the fact that anyone more than 10 minutes late would be barred from the event. Because of those omissions of their information I was barred from the seminar. The facility had no elevators so I had to climb down 4 flights of stairs which caused unnecessary pain and slowed me down tremendously because I have advanced arthritis in my knees. Had I known about the lower access and the room # before the meeting we could have parked there and we would have gotten to the room before 6 pm. As it was, because of the lack of information, we were 12 minutes late to the meeting and was told that we couldn't enter the meeting. If I had known that they were going to lock the doors if we were late then I would not have made the effort, and the pain, to make the meeting. I feel they were negligent in providing all the details needed in their advertising for me to make an informed decision. I also feel they were insulting to us to not let us in after the great effort we made to get to the meeting. When I called the next day to complain about the situation I was told they lock the doors at 10 minutes after. If that is policy then it should have been on the advertisement. The person I spoke to was also snotty to me and told me that they didn't want customers like me anyway.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) An apology to us for the inconvenience and pain it caused me to try to get to the meeting on time and the insult of being denied entrance once we were there. Change their advertising to state: 1) The room # and a map how to get there 2) Handicap parking near the room and how to get there 3) Warning that latecomers will not be admitted into the event

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/19) */ Swanson Financial Offers free Public Retirement Planning workshops. The workshops are offered at 7 different locations in and around the Portland area. We hold about 25 workshops a year. Swanson Financial has been conducting these workshops for more then 10 years, teaching thousands of Oregonians how to better plan for their future in retirement. Our workshops are short in duration lasting about one hour. Frequently guests arrive late after our start time. The program maintains an unwritten 10 minute grace period during the introduction period of the workshop. After the grace period has expired new guests are not allowed to enter. We have found it to be distracting to others who have made the effort to be on time when new guests shuffling in during a teaching moment. Over the years many guests have come late after the grace period and we simply offer to them another workshop that they can attend which they gladly accept. Typically we have two or three programs a month. We visit the same facility about three times a year. We are cognizant of the physical needs of our guests. All of our facilities have ground floor access and or a nearby elevator. The workshop location being complained about here is no expectation. WE post three signs clearly marking the lower level group floor entrance. The staff at the facility is highly trained and well aware of our events and the special needs of some of our guests. As we have been leading workshops at that facility for years and extra efforts are made to accommodate our special guests by the staff. The elevator is located in the lobby of the this two story building and exits some 20 feet from the entrance of the workshop. Many of our guests have mobility issues, yet they seem to be the group that plans ahead and arrive at the workshop well before the start of the program. Concerning the followup call the next day by this complainant I do not condone or allow abuse or rude communication in this business. We try are best to serve as many pre and post retired members of our community as possible. In this case we were not able to meet her needs. We offered for her to attend another workshop and beyond that I do not know what else we can do for her. ***** ******* President Swanson Financial


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Swanson Financial Services Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart