BBB Accredited Business since

Premier Fence, Inc.

Phone: (360) 653-6225 Fax: (360) 653-1226 View Additional Phone Numbers 4508 136th St NE, Marysville, WA 98271 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.premierfenceinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fence construction services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Premier Fence, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Premier Fence, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Premier Fence, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1975 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated 01/01/2001 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Russell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Russell, Owner
Business Category

Fence Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
Check, Cash, Visa, Mastercard

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Premier Fence, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4508 136th St NE

    Marysville, WA 98271 (360) 653-6225 (425) 742-8277

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In good faith we contacted Premier Fence (herein referred to as PF) to bid and subsequently install our residential fence for the purpose of containing our two large German Shepherd dogs. The job was bid on 10/30/2015 and began the first week of December. The contract that we and PF entered into states the following, "Customer agrees to pay for said labor and materials in full upon completion." As of this time the job has not been completed, but we have been charged. Therefore PF has breached the contract by charging our creditor for the full amount of materials and services despite the fact that the job is not finished. The fence is missing a pole and the main gate latch was not installed correctly. Our dogs are able to walk out of the enclosed area due to the negligent and botched installation. Please note that Washington statutory law states the following: Per RCW 62A.2-301 General Obligations of Parties "The obligation of the seller is to transfer and deliver and that of the buyer is to accept and pay in accordance with the contract." As PF has not fulfilled their contractually obligated duties detailed above, we find that they are in direct breach of the applicable listed RCW by charging our credit card for the full amount of goods and services prior to completing the job. We have contacted the company several times by both e-mail and phone in hopes of reaching a prompt and amicable resolution. While a representative has agreed the job needs to be finished they have not committed to scheduling time to send an installer out to complete the job and have ceased responding to our latest contact attempts. The last time we were able to successfully communicate with the company they stated in writing that "they had been very busy" and would send someone out eventually, but several weeks have passed since this promise was made. PF has acted in bad faith due to breach of contract as we have now been forced to pay in full for a job which is not completed.

Desired Settlement: It has been our sincere desire to foster a prompt and fair resolution with PF. We simply ask that they fulfill their contractual obligations by either completing the job of which we have now been charged for and forced to pay in full, or that PF retrieve their incomplete fence materials and provide us with a fill refund so that we may contact a different company to install our fence.

Business Response:

Response to BBB complaint:

Dear Sir:

There is no missing post. As Adam your representative discussed with you on 01-06-2016 when he met you at your house the post was placed where it is because the foundation of your house prevented it from being closer. Please see the confirming E mail of 01-13-2016 in which he agrees to install a filler pipe and your E mail of 01-21-2016 confirms that repair would be acceptable to you.

The industrial drop rod (“main gate latch”) you speak of as Adam explained to you at your home and in Email 01-13-2016 is on a downhill (angled) double drive gate that can bind if installed to tight. As he also indicated in the same E mail the latch fully captures the gate frame and works as intended. That if moving the gate post by ½” would make you happy we would do so. Please see attached photos of gate.

When Adam agreed to make these repairs when we were in the area (see Email 01-13-2016) the quickest most cost efficient way we can provide this service you declined (see your Email 01-21-2016).  You stated we must set up an appointment with you before coming out. Unfortunately, this did delay us.  We often are four to six weeks out on work and appointments. As I know you are aware of since there was approximately four weeks between when you signed your contract and work began.                     Most of our customers appreciate the quality of work we provide.

I do not understand how the conditions we are discussing, as you stated, allowed your two large German Shepherd dogs to be able to walk out of the enclosed area.

 PLEASE SEE THE ATTACHED PHOTOS WITH TAPE MEASUREMENTS.

Jennifer our office manager will call shortly and set up an appointment as you demanded per E mail of 01-21-2016.

Attached are four pages of E Mail and four photos.

Sincerely,

Dave R******

Premier Fence Inc.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1. Premier Fence has misrepresented itself by stating that, "There is no missing post." Please see the attached screenshot of the e-mail correspondence between the Premier Fence representative and myself where the representative admits that, "The space between the house and the terminal post should not have been left."

In addition I can furnish the original design created by Premier Fence if needed which clearly details the correct placement of the final pole. Without the pole's placement our dogs are able to easily fit between the gap left due to Premier Fence's misrepresentation of their installation.

2. Premier Fence has breached their contract with us by charging our credit card the full amount of the project, prior to its completion. I am able to furnish our contract upon request which states that payment is due upon the completion of the job. The particular language of which I am referencing reads as follows: [The] customer agrees to pay for said labor and materials in full upon completion." Per Adam R****** there should have been a post placed against the house in order to complete the job. As this installation was not, and still has not been completed Premier Fence has violated several applicable Washington statutes (RCW2A.2-301, RCW 19.86.020) due to breach of contract and by utilizing deceptive practices. Despite the fact that the representative is in agreement that the job is incomplete (see attached e-mail) we were charged the full amount for the job, which grossly breaches the contract. Premier Fence should refund us these charges until they have either completed the job or removed their poorly structured fencing materials so we may contact a different company.

3. The gate latch is not within specification as is contested by Premier Fence. The gate latch installed is 4 inches, and currently only latches 1/2 inch (I can supply pictures if needed). Our dogs are able to fit the majority of their heads into the remaining 3.5 inch gap which has been left behind. We have owned several fences in the past with the correct specifications, and the latch installed by Premier Fence is not per our specification, nor is it safe. We made it very clear prior to the installation what specifications were required of the latches and we were told they would be installed correctly, per our specifications, which they clearly were not.

4. It not only seems to be ethically wrong, but debatably defies the Washington State Consumer Protection Act that Premier Fence has charged us over $13,000.00, but cannot commit to a time frame to resolve their errors, and has instead forced us to live with an incomplete and unusable fencing structure. In their BBB response Premier Fence has continued to misrepresent the issue and refuses to take ownership of their errors and breach of contract. As such I cannot accept such a response.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Sincerely,

***** *******

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Business Response:

This complaint is due to 2 spaces, one 4” and the other 2 3/8” in a 574’ chainlink fence. Please see the before picture #3 and the after picture #7. Picture #7 shows a gate post on the left that could not be set closer to the house because the house foundation was in the way. We agreed that the gap was too large. We agreed to install a filler as shown in the picture. I assume that this is where Mr. ******* says his “large German Shepard’s” went through in his BBB complaint (attached) , please note measurement on picture #3. There are NO structural posts missing. Picture #7 shows the filler that was installed on 02-23-2016.

The other 2 3/8” gap is located on the dd gate drop rod shown before on picture #4 and after #6. The gate drop rod was functioning in picture #4 but we agreed to move the post in approximately ¾”. The drop rod must have clearance or it will bind. .Please tell me if you think there dogs can fit through a 2 3/8” gap as stated in your Wells Fargo complaint. Picture #6 show the gap after moving the post.

The simple reality is that after Adam R****** (sales rep.) visited the site an Email was sent to Mr. ******* on 01/15/2016, letting him know that we would like to fix these concerns when a crew was in the area in the next couple of weeks. Mr. ******* wrote back in an Email, dated 01-21-2016 (6 days later) your suggestion of swinging by when we are in the area is not acceptable and we need to schedule a time to come out. Please see attached Emails.

By not allowing us to give him a call and come out when we were in the area cause a further delay. We commonly have 4 – 6 weeks back log. In any case the repairs where completed yesterday.

Sincerely,

Dave R******

Premier Fence Inc.

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

12/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: August 31th 2015 paid 50% deposit, October 2nd 2015 Premier Fence, Inc. installed a new pre-stained fence at my residence, on October 5th 2015 I paid remaining balance in full. On October 10th we noticed a defective structural board, forcing fence planks outward. We called Premier October 13th to report this finding, the woman who runs the front office said she'll tell her foreman and get him out to look at it. We called each week thereafter, each time being told by the office person that she'll pass the information on, and get us on the schedule, always stating they were very busy. After weeks of our persistent calling because Premier was not responding to us, we finally got Adam of Premier to look at the structural defect on November 2nd. November 4th he emailed a written estimate for repairs. I called Premier a few days later to explain its' not right my paying for defective materials that are pre-stained and installed in mild weather for roughly only a week, I was told by the woman in Office she'll have the foreman contact me, no one ever contacted me. I stopped by the Office the next week and spoke to Adam in person, explaining I felt it was not right charging me for the repair of pretreated defective materials that only been installed roughly a week. I was told the warranty did not cover damage from the elements, again I explained that the pre-stained fence had only been installed for about a week, and claiming the elements is nonsense. Adam said he would have his brother (the foreman) or Father (the owner) call me. I have heard nothing from either. I called each week after and was told the same, I'll let them know. Last call was Wednesday the 24th of November and was told again by the woman in the front office that she passed on my contact information, and it's been very busy. I have been reaching out to this company for nearly two months now, this is unbelievable. I choose and paid Premier because they are part of our local community. I supported Premier Fence with my hard earned dollars, where is the return support?

Desired Settlement: Fence repaired correctly at no cost to me.

Business Response: Dear Mr. **** *****:

After discussing this issue with Adam and looking at the photo he took this is certainly not a structural problem. The 2x4 you show appears to be almost clear. The port orford 2x4’s are by far the strongest rails that I know of in the industry. It appears to have a slight bend toward the center of the post. This is not a structural issue. All lumber is not perfectly straight. It is wood after all. I am willing to bet there a numerous other boards on your fence that are not perfectly straight and it is not realistic to think that all lumber is perfectly straight. As Adam pointed out in his E mail to you there would be no guarantee of the replacement boards not warping or of being perfectly straight. Most of our customer when comparing a Premier Fence job to others in their neighborhood can see the quality that we build into their fence in comparison.

We were completely up front with you on the contract you signed, it refers to our guarantee that does not cover, “Problems such as checks, splits, warpage and discoloring that are common to material when exposed to natures elements are not covered”.

Further examining the photo shows that you installed a rot board inside the posts we set. This means that the dirt you piled up for your flower bed is in direct contact with the posts of the fence.
THIS WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY.

Jennifer our office manager has discussed this repeatedly with you. Adam came back to your property to inspect your fence. We tried to address your concern that is not covered by your guarantee by replacing the bottom rail in question for less than our cost. At that time Adam told you that there was nothing to keep any replacement from warping. We will still replace this 2x4 for the quoted price which is less than our cost. I personally do not recommend it.

Sincerely,

Dave R******
Premier Fence Inc

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Mr. R******,

"The port orford 2x4’s are by far the strongest rails that I know of in the industry" Its' evident this one installed on my fence is not!, "It appears to have a slight bend toward the center of the post" The bend is 1 1/2 inches, not slight!, and the defect board is now pushing away for the post and beginning to detach one corner fence board, due to months of company avoiding my contacts  "I am willing to bet there are numerous other boards on your fence that are not perfectly straight..." The reaming (35) 2x4's look exceptional, your (1) defective board is not quality, and should never been installed. Adam should have told you the remaining (35) boards looks great. Adam saw the issue enough that he went to the other side of fence and attempted forcing the materials back inward with his foot, risking further damage. You installed (1) defective (poor quality)  2x4 that's applying undue pressure outwards to the fence boards. Customer service is part of the quality experience, and should extend beyond receipt of my down payment. Please do the right thing and stand behind your product.  All I ask is for that section to be repaired, a small job that your company can easily absorb and should. Stating, "exposed to natures elements" on (1) board you installed; and only installed just over a week is not realistic,  has the appearance of a complete lack of discretionary ability. As I stated in my first letter "I did my part, I paid and reported the issue promptly. Please go beyond cashing my check, and fix the fence at no cost to me. That is not too much to ask of Premier Fence.


Sincerely,

**** *****

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to complete contract agreement. Sales representative and customer (on site survey) reviewed and agreed to fence installation and dimensions. Sales representative measured dimensions (which are numbered and depicted in contract diagram) which included a 7' length of fence from corner post to post which would overlap the neighbor's fence post. The purpose of the 7' length agreement is to enclose and negate what would have been a walk thru entrance to the side street. The purpose of the fence installation was of course to enclose the complete back yard. The company post hole setter installed a 5' length post to post thus leaving an accessible gap/entrance to my back yard. The post hole setter employee did not fulfill the contract diagram and install a 7' length post to post even though the sales representative and I agreed the 7'length would overlap the neighbors' fence post and negate an entry way to my back yard from the street. The company accuses me of telling the post hole setter to negate the 7' length and instead install a 5' length post to post, there isn't any way that happened as I would not agree to having a fence installed that did not enclose my backyard and allow the public to walk into my backyard, there is no purpose to that. That was done without my approval and the sales representative did not contact me that the dimensions would be changed based on his employee's judgement. The company says the employee decided he could not put a 7' post to post segment, when in fact it wasn't a problem but routine when the sales representative and I decided on what was to be completed according to contract. Any lay person and other professional fence installers that I had place bids could see and agree that there is no difficulty in putting 7' post to post section to overlap an entry way to my back yard from the street. Yes it is true I did not recognize that the length had been shorted until after the post installation but I just thought I had made some mistake and that we must have agreed to it without me consulting the contract agreement and dimensions. When the fence installation crew came to complete the fence at 7' it became evident there was a problem as they saw the open gap and wondered why the posts were set at 5' rather than 7'. It was their understanding that they were to complete the post to post 7' fence according to the company's agreement. They graciously tacked up some boards to cover up the entrance to my backyard and overlap the neighbor's fence post. This was not in the contract that that was how the gap was to be handled rather than a post ending, nor was it suggested or discussed with me by the sales representative.

Desired Settlement: Ideally I would like to have the company fulfill their written and diagrammed agreement, that is install the additional post, framing and boards per contract. I utilized this company's services for another fence installation on my property approximately 7 years ago. I met with the owner at that time and the contract was completed to agreement and mutual satisfaction. I decided to utilize the services again this time with whom I assume is the owner's relative as sales representative. The same fence crew chief worked on both projects and the installation and quality is good, but this project has not been completed and the sales representative is highly opposed to completing the project probably because it would interfere with the big projects now scheduled and underway. I made full payment for materials and labor and installation that was not completed and did not fulfill specific and detailed contract agreements with this sales representative. I paid for the 7' post to post construction. The sales representative has offered to measure the whole fencing project but in effect he already measured the problem after it was brought to his attention and is aware of the discrepancy between the 5' and 7' post to post agreement. He has offered to construct the difference between the 5' and 7' posts but amazingly states I would have to enter into another contract! and pay for the work and materials and installation! It is by this his very admission that there was no problem in putting the fence to 7' because he is offering to do what should have been done in the first place - if I pay again. At the least the company should refund a mutually agreed cost of installation to me for work not completed. That would mean what they would charge me for time, labor and materials and installation in a new contract if I would agree to one - of which I would not do. I'm not paying twice for their negligence. If what they are saying is they need a new contract to do the work but will not charge me twice for the same work that could be considered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/10) */ Dear Sir: We appreciate and value all of our customers especially repeat customers. And we want to be fair in our dealing with all of our customers. When we measured a proposed job as you know we follow you our customer around their yard. We typically will round up the measurements we get to even feet. Knowing that it is an approximate measurement, if the customer goes forward with the job on the day of the set our set crew will not set posts without the same procedure. That being said, in your case the side line that was actually built is longer than the drawing by 7.5" and the back section (in question) is 6'2". The total length of your fence is 104'9.5" while the drawing shows 105'. What you failed to mention is the reason the post needed to be held back from the actual corner was because the concrete foundation for your neighbor's fence (which I assume is on their property). In addition the fact that your neighbors corner post is leaning inward approximately thirty degrees together makes the possible walkway you speak of. I hope it is obvious that building an angled wing panel which we did is much more time consuming and expensive than simple square section between posts. We did not charge you extra to build this angled wing panel even though it was more expensive to build. I am told that there is some question; does the wing panel count in the measurement of the fence? Yes the total length of the built structure counts. If you had chosen to overlap your neighbor's fence you could have done that while the job was in progress. On the day of the set you were there and our set foreman followed you around from point to point where you wanted to set the posts. After the post set you did not notify us of any misplaced posts. I understand that you were on site when the job was built. After the job was completed you paid your bill as expected. You did not make mention of anything wrong. Nine months after the job is completed and paid for you have changed your mind. And you expect us to take total responsibility. That sir is not fair. As you know as a two time customer we offer very good value, a very competitive price and materials that other companies do not offer. As a smart consumer, I can only assume you got other bids. Look around your neighborhood and compare the quality you received compared to other fences built. In order to offer this value we include the cost of only one installation. The idea of changing your mind and wanted different placement of posts are not included. Please read your contract. You are responsible for the placement of posts. This is one of the issues specifically defined along with your responsibility for underground utilities and any legal costs. I do understand that sometimes things change. And we would be happy to make those changes at our cost. As indicated before we do not want to take all of costs for changes. If interested at all, this is our busiest time of the year. It would be more cost efficient and less expensive to make changes in the fall or winter. Respectfully, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'll review this issue once again, hopefully there will be some comprehension of the issue. You, the sales representative, agreed with me on contract as depicted with figures and numbers the dimensions of the fence installation. These dimensions included a 7' ft post to post length, N to S that would enclose and overlap a walk thru opening that the neighbors fence post placement presented, so there would not be an entry way to my backyard from the street for the general public. You agreed and took the dimensions and measurements, and proposed that the work could and would be completed. I knew there was no problem in just overlapping the neighbor's fence as any lay person and my previous fence installation bidders saw no difficulty either. Your post hole driller and post setter placed last post at 5' feet rather than 7' as the contract stipulates. At no time was I informed that they could not put the post at 7', there was no conversation to the effect that I was given a choice or informed that they could not move the post hole driller up into the yard and do the agreed 7' hole drill. No choice or review was presented to me the consumer. There was no reason given why only a 5' post to post could be installed. I believe your post hole driller/setter simply didn't want to bring the post hole driller up into my backyard out of convenience to himself. You have deferred to the worker's judgement about how they wanted to do the work, disregarding your contract agreement with me. May I make a suggestion? perhaps your post hole driller should accompany you when you are doing bids with a customer, so he can tell you up front what he thinks- what he can't or doesn't want to do and then the customer can decide whether he wants to enter into a contract agreement with you and your company. Of course this also suggests that based on your refusal to date to see this issue of negligence from a consumers point of view that your knowledge of fence construction is deferred to your worker, who may simply overrule your business's contractual agreement with a customer, and you of course did not intervene to ensure the project was completed as contracted in agreement, nor were you contacted by them that they were going to ignore the 7' agreement, or maybe you were? Before this goes to the next level beyond the BBB, my suggestion to you to maintain your good standing as a business would be to resolve the issue in the following manner; install a new post at the 7' length, at your cost, of which I have already paid for anyway, and I will complete the rest of the fencing between the 5' and 7' length at my cost. You can do this when your installation season slows and will be convenient to you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/06/27) */ Sir with respect, your response may come from little experience in the fence industry. My previous reply was trying to state industry standards. You have made mention of the contract you signed, reporting exact measurements. It clearly states on the top you are entitled to 105' of Mod Panel fence (60'- 6' & 4' of 5'). The combined fence you received is 2.5" short of that. If we had built more fence on the 7' line you quote, would you owe more because of it? Of course not, as discussed previously it is a standard in the fencing industry to round up the measurements. I do not understand why you think setting a post at five feet away from is any more or less difficult than setting a post at seven feet away, Unless there is something in the ground that prevents that. As far as bringing another crew member on estimates, we have nobody on our crew that can tell if something exists underground before we dig. It seems the fact of your neighbors leaning corner post and concrete foundation that are the root of the problem are not being considered by you. The facts of this job are: 06-23-2013: you signed our contract taking responsibility for the job including exact post placement. XX-XX-XXXX: you showed our set foreman where your posts where to go and they were set. We had no notification of any complaint. We do not set posts without being shown were to put them, period. 08-13-2013: your job was built. Your posts were set for seven days while the concrete was curing. You were home. We had no notification of any complaint. 08-29-2013: you paid your bill in person with $1600.00 cash and received $1.46 in change. STILL THERE WAS NO MENTION OF ANYTHING WRONG OR ANYTHING MISPLACED. It was not until approximately six months later that you tell us that we made a mistake and we should fix it at our expense. You were home during the set and the build (approximately 1 week) to voice anything wrong while the job was being constructed without a complaint (it would have much less expensive to do at this time). The bill was not paid until 08-29-2013 three weeks after the post set. As you know the amount was due on completion per contract. Normally a $100.00 late charge is added at ten days. You were not charged that late fee. Concerning your threat of the next level, we all should be careful of the expenses that would create. When you signed our contract you agreed to pay our attorney fees. If our costs are increased by necessity of legal costs, we will pursue them. It is my understanding that because the situation will involve recovery of legal fees and real estate is involved, it will end up in superior court and lower courts will remove themselves to the higher court. I most certainly do not want to subject a customer to this. Nor do I want to waste the time and money this type of action incurs. We will agree to come back out and set one post, which you have not paid for (with 8' post spacing 5' to 8' the same number of posts were set) under these conditions. We will in the next six months (at a time we have a crew and time in your area) set one 4 1/8" pressure treated post at your direction. You will mark the location of this post with paint, clearly showing the location. Enable our crew to set this post without prior notification. This allows us to set this post as soon as we can when we have the opportunity to do so. This post will be set in an area that has no concrete, large roots or large rocks expected or visible from the surface of the ground. It will not include chipping out your neighbors concrete post footing. Also you agree to remove any and all public complaint. If this is acceptable to you we can conclude our business. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2014/06/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for your response to our misunderstanding, I appreciate the resolution you have subscribed, and I will carry out the directions as noted for completion. I would like you to know that I think you installed a "premier" fence and I am well satisfied with your quality construction and materials. Your Premier Fence sign is prominently displayed on the fence as a symbol of quality. Sincerely, ***** ******* 06/30/14

3/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our fence was installed in Sept 2012 by Premier. We chose them because the salesperson told us about the warranty and the fact they use "top grade" lumber. During installation, we expressed concern that several of the 4x4 posts were cracked. We even took photos. They said if it got worse, we had the warranty to cover it. 1 year later, they are worse, in fact several of the 4x4s, including one that supports our gate, is twisting/torking and pulling away from the cross beam. We called them out to look, they came Aug. 30th, as well as to look at one spot where the concrete was poured below grade (now water pools there). And we were told that in fact, this was "not covered", even though we were told during install it would be, and the person who came out even admitted that during that time period "they had gotten some really bad wood, but that was all they had available". He did however, note that there was need to get the concrete area fixed, and one board replace, and he would be out "soon" to do that. We did not hear from them til Sept 5th. Here is the email they sent us, as well as our response: Dear ***** Thank you for your email, but I am frustrated by your reply regarding the cracked and twisted posts. And yes, we do want the gate stop and the insufficiently concreted post fixed as soon as able. We spent 10,000 dollars on a fence, and certainly did not expect this kind of response. In fact, we chose Premier because we were told that you use wood that is "higher quality" than others, AND had a 5 year warranty. We chose Premier over several other companies for those specific reasons. Clearly, neither reason appears to be true? We are frustrated because those posts were PLACED already cracking, and we expressed our concern at that time for future problems. We were told that "if they have issues, you have a warranty, we'll take care of it". We raised this concern twice to 2 different people at 2 different times. If we had known that in fact you would not take care of it, we would have never let the cracked posts be used in the first place. We have also been in construction business for years, and would never knowingly place sub-standard or defective materials. It irritated us further when your staff told us last week that "yeah, during that time period, we did get some bad wood loads in, but it was all that was available.....". We even have pictures that show the posts were cracked when they first went in, as we photo documented the whole fence replacement, as we do with all work around our home..... I clearly understand how wood can crack, warp or split after installation due to weather and issues beyond control, but when the initial problem was present from the outset and has now worsened, that is my issue. Additionally, your warranty supposedly covers "structural defects" I get that a post that is simply split is not necessarily a structural issue, but when the post is actually twisting and pulling away from the cross boards, I DO see that as structural issue, and will clearly lead to more problems. We have been watching it over the past year, and they have continued to worsen. I can not see how they could not possibly be covered as a structural concern under our warranty, and no, we do not wish to pay to have them replaced. It should clearly be warranty. There are a total of 5 post that are twisting, and it is interesting that they are all ones we marked with concern at our final walk through but the posts that were solid on install, are still in good shape at this point. I would hope that you would reconsider this....if "satisfaction is your goal" and Premier truly "prides on the quality of work and materials", as stated in your publications and sales pitch.... Sincerely ***** & *** ***** Original Message From: ************* mailto:****@premierfenceinc.com Sent: Thursday, September 05, XXXX XX:XX PM To: ********@comcast.net Subject: Fence Repairs Mr. and Mrs. *****, We will be happy to come out and fix your broken gate stop and bring the concrete up above ground level on the post where it was left low. The cracked and twisted posts are not, unfortunately, covered by warranty. We can replace them if you wish for near what it costs us to do so. Replacing 2 posts will cost $465.38 inc tax. If this is something you would like us to do, please let me know and I will write up a proposal for the work to be done. Also if I am wrong on the number you'd like replaced, I will make an adjustment. Regardless, we will be out within the next couple weeks to take care of the gate stop and the insufficiently concreted post. ************* Premier Fence XXX-XXX-XXXX I emailed them 2 weeks (Sept. 18th) after the email above noting that at least they could begin with the concrete and the board they had said they were coming to fix, as I had not heard back from them. No response. I then sent them the following letter on Oct 1st, (certified, picked up 10/11)expressing my frustration that they would not respond to my email: October 1, 2013 Dear Premier Fence; It has now been nearly a month since you last made contact with us regarding our warranty issues. You have not responded to our emails, and we find this to be terrible customer service. It appears to us that you got your 10,000 dollars, and are unwilling to support your warranty. We expected a much higher level of product and service from this company, which is why we chose you. You are not leaving us a choice, but to take our concerns to the next step in getting this resolved and our fence fixed, which is very frustrating to us. Sincerely, ***** & *** ***** XXXXX XX********, Mountlake Terrace, WA XXXXX It has now been a month, and we still have not heard anything from them.

Desired Settlement: We just want the fence fixed and for them to uphold the warranty and services we were promised. We want the concrete area redone so the water wont pool and rot the wood, the gate board replaced as promised, and the cracked 4x4 posts replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/12) */ I must apologize for the time that has lapsed without reply. Your paper work has been on my desk for some time. My mother became sick and died this fall. I have not been able to get caught up. We also have been back logged four to six weeks for most of the year. I also apologize for not getting the post capped off with approximately one inch of concrete and the gate stop ripper we agreed to replace. On July 23, 2012 **** and I had met with *** for our original meeting on the job site. While walking the job with *** he showed me the 6x6 gate post on the south property line that had splits in it. He said the company that put them in would not replace them. I told *** that we would not either. At that time I gave him a copy of our brochure and pointed out the warranty below. **** reminded both of you of this conversation when he met with you on August 30, 2013. Your signed contract also notes to see brochure for five year structural warranty. A five year limited structural warranty that specifically excludes "Problems such as checks, splits, warpage and discoloring that is common to material exposed to natures elements are not covered", it also goes on to say "Conditions beyond Premier Fence's control are not covered". We buy all of our pressured treated material from the area's major pressure treating companies. When we get off grade material the crews take them out of the pile. The materia) is graded by lumber association grade rules, some short splits and checks arc allowed in the grade rules. Nobody knows which board or post is going to warp or split to the point that it is a problem. I have been in the fence business since 1968 and I have never heard of anyone to warranty warpage, splits or checks. It would drive a company out of business. It is problems that they have no control over. It was my understanding that *** was a contractor and might know this. These problems are simply part or a risk of owning a natural product. While we do not warranty issues we do not have control over we do care about our customers and repair such issues at our cost. Your fence has been up for over a year; with most companies you would have no recourse now. **** had sent a cost tor this. 1 feel that if I had got to you earlier to discussed the problem we may have avoided much of it. If it is agreeable to you we will replace the two posts for $250.00 which is below our cost. If you agree the repair would be done when we had a crew in the area. Sincerely, **** ******* Premier Fence Inc. PREMIER FENCE WARRANTY 5 YEAR LIMITED STRUCTURAL WARRANTY ON CEDAR FENCES 10 YEAR STRUCTURAL LIMITED WARRANTY ON CHAINLINK FENCES See Master Halco warranty YOUR SATISFACTION IS OUR GOAL Materials and workmanship to be free of structural defect for specified time. Products must be used for intended purpose or warranty is void. Structural defects are defined as defects that weaken the structure. Problems such as checks, splits, warpage and discoloring that are common to material when exposed to natures elements are not covered. Conditions beyond Premier Fence's control are not covered. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 28, 2014/02/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No new information or resolution was presented by the business. Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2014/01/30) */ Again, we were upfront on what your warranty covers verbally and in writing before the job. If this was not acceptable you were free to go somewhere else. We will not set precedence that will cause us liability in the future. We have offered to resolve this issue with a check and you have refused. We have offered to come back out to replace a gate stop and add concrete to one post cap and now you refuse that. At this point either of these options are still open. In reference to your comment of "if we are pursuing our warranty", please read your contract. You are responsible for our attorney fees. Superior court action will negate lower court action.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Premier Fence, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart