Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

City Wide Fence Company Inc

Phone: (425) 745-8645 Fax: (425) 745-3660 View Additional Phone Numbers 16923 48th Ave W, Lynnwood, WA 98037 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.citywidefence.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fence building and installation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that City Wide Fence Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for City Wide Fence Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on City Wide Fence Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1980 Business started: 07/01/1978 Business started locally: 07/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dean Anderson, Operations Mr. James Anderson Corinne Funk, Office Manager Mr. Bryan Jamtaas, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dean Anderson, Operations
Business Category

Fence Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 16923 48th Ave W

    Lynnwood, WA 98037 (425) 775-9732 (425) 745-8645

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with CityWide Fence to repair a fence that was leaning. The repair person recommended replacing every-other fence post with new posts. The work was to be done in one day. After that day, there were a number of things wrong with their installation, including wood that was not nailed to hardware, leaning or loose post, and a damaged board. I had them come out a second time to repair these deficiencies. They nailed the wood to the hardware and fixed the damaged board. However two of the posts still were loose and CityWide now refuses to come out again to fix it. My two main complaints are these: 1) ***** ******* of CityWide is claiming that work was done that was not actually done. ***** ******* of CityWide Fence stated in an email that on CityWide Fence's second visit, they dug up a post that they had installed on their first visit and replaced it with a new post set 36'' underground (the first post that they installed was 24'' underground). Later on the phone, he stated this was done for all posts. Later in that same conversation, he stated that this was done for only two posts. Regardless of which statement he chooses to go with now, I have evidence that none of these statements are true. I took photographs of every post with my iPhone the day after CityWide came out for their first installation visit. Since these were taken with an iPhone, the date and time are stamped in the photo file's metadata. I have compared those photos to the fence posts as they are today, and you can tell from markings on the posts that the posts are the exact same posts that were installed on their first visit. Thus it cannot be true that they installed a new, deeper post on their second visit. I can provide these original photos taken after the first visit to BBB or CityWide if you would like. I can also provide photos that show the fence posts as they are now (showing they are the exact same posts). I also can provide the email from ***** ******* where he states that one of the posts was replaced with a new post on the second visit. It is not right for a company to claim they have done work when they have not actually done the work. I can prove that they did not do what they say they did. 2) There are still two loose posts. I took a video of one of these posts where I document that there is almost 1.5'' of movement at the top of the post, and where I document that the concrete that CityWide Fence set the post in is rocking in the ground. I asked ***** ******* to fix this again and got a call from his worker saying they would be out Monday Dec 30 to fix the posts. But then ***** called several hours later saying the worker would in fact not be coming out. ***** stated that the posts were solid when he last saw them and that I loosened the posts myself by rocking them too much. This is ridiculous. I have barely moved the posts and when I did move them to take the video, I was able to do so with very light pressure. The posts have been loose since they were installed evidenced by my complaints soon after installation. In fact, I have an email from ***** ******* stating that the posts are loose and that if I wait until the ground firms up in the Spring/Summer, they will become more solid. Thus ***** told me today that the posts were solid when he was last there, but I have an email where he tells me they are loose. I can provide that email as well. In summary, I do not believe that CityWide Fence is being honest with me. I have an email from ***** ******* where he states that a new fence post was put in on their second visit. I also have dated photographic evidence that this cannot be true because the fence posts they installed on their first visit are identical to the fence posts that are there now. Further, when I talked with ***** earlier today, he stated that they will not come out to fix the loose posts because they have already replaced a post. So he is basing his refusal to fix the loose posts (Item 2 above) on the untruth that I describe in Item 1 above.

Desired Settlement: The contract was to fix four loose fence posts at a total cost (including tax) of $629.63. Of those four posts, two are loose. I would settle for CityWide to refund me 1/4 of the cost of the entire job. I think the right thing would be to get a refund on 1/2 the job, but I would settle for 1/4.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/09) */ City Wide Fence replaced four posts for *** *** on 11/27/13. We were contracted to set four posts 24" deep in cement. City Wide Fence performed the work per industry standard. *** *** complained of loose posts, so on 12/9/13 our crew went back to address these issues. As part of this step, the City Wide Fence crew dug out and re-set all four posts 36" deep, which is a larger diameter and twice the amount of cement than a typical post set uses. All of the issues were resolved at this time. On 12/18/13 *** *** asked about the loose posts again. ***** ******* , sales representative for City Wide Fence, went out and looked at the posts and agreed that one post and its footing were rocking in the soil too much. The other three were moving very slightly due to the soft, wet soil conditions, which is a common occurrence this time of year. ***** had the crew replace the loose post with a longer post and set it approximately 4' deep. This solved its issue. *** *** was worried about the other three posts with slight movement. ***** stated that they were within industry tolerances for this soil condition and would not pose any problems long term. They would most likely be solid after the soil had a chance to settle. ***** felt strongly enough about this that he offered him a 5 year warranty to cover this condition. *** *** was not satisfied with that answer. He then sent a video on 12/23/13 of one of the previously fine posts now rocking in the soil extensively. This could not have occurred without using some force to molest the post, after ***** had told him that it would settle in and offered the extended warranty. Tampering with the posts in this way causes the soil to compact around the cement and leave the post loose. One of the methods that we use to remove old posts from the ground is rocking it to loosen it, so it stands to reason that any post will loosen if forced enough. At this point, ***** said that we would not repair this post. On 12/30/13, *** *** posted a complaint on Angie's List. He requested a refund of $157.41, which is equal to ¼ of the total cost of the job. City Wide Fence sent reply to Angie's List on 12/31/13 and sent *** *** a check in the amount he requested. The check cleared the bank on 1/6/14. City Wide Fence received a reply from Angie's List on 1/2/14, stating that the complaint was resolved and was removed from our record. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/01/23) */ I had also filed a complaint with Angie's List and received a check for the settlement amount today from City Wide Fence. Please close this case. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on City Wide Fence Company Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)