Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fry's Electronics

Phone: (425) 525-0200 Fax: (425) 525-0218 View Additional Phone Numbers 800 Garden Ave N, Renton, WA 98057 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.frys.com


Click for BBB Rating on Fry's Electronics

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail sales of electronics, computers, TVs, software and stereos services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fry's Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Fry's Electronics. BBB of Los Angeles and Silicon Valley has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Fry's Electronics.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 06/01/2003 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randy Fry, President Mr. Art Squires, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Fry, President
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Sound Systems & Equipment Television & Radio - Dealers Video Games - Dealers Electric Equipment - Service & Repair Telephone Equipment & Systems Service & Repair Computers - Dealers Electronics Stores (NAICS: 443142)


Additional Locations

  • 800 Garden Ave N

    Renton, WA 98057 (425) 525-0204 (425) 525-0236

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2014 we got air conditioner,Model #********* for our daycare from ***'s. Unit was advertized with room coverage up to 600+ SFT BUT its actually not. After a week of trying, we took this unit and went back to store to ask them to replace this unit to the same one. Salesman plugged this unit for a 30 second and said that unit is working and they are not going to replace anything. We ask him to call for his manager so we can talk to him. Sales person call to someone and he said that this is his supervisor and we can ask him to help us in this case, but "supervisor" said that his not going to do anything since item is working.So I ask to call to his manager and he said that" I am a manager here and you can take this unit back home. This unit is working". Manager and sales person were extremely rude with us and we were almost kicked out from the store. In a light of this situation, we found no other choice but did credit card dispute and buy another unit from different store. After 3 month, ***`s representative ***** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) called me and tell me that we can return this unit for replacement, but I refused that offer since we already got a different unit in July and I said that we going to return this unit only for a refund. She said that no one will take anything from us and we cant even try to return it for a refund. Also, she said that she cant make any decision by herself and she well have a store manager to call me to resolve the issue but after 2 days of waiting a phone call from them I called ***** back and ask her why nobody called me. She said that she has no idea since she passed all information to there store manager and he will call me ASAP, BUT nobody call me as of today.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take this defective unit back for a refund- not for replacement since replacement was offered to me 3 month letter of my original complaint and my first statement that this is not working properly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/10) */ ******, Do you know who you spoke to at the time of the exchange for the portable AC unit? We exchange portable AC units all the time. Portable AC's are seasonal items, once used we are not able to return them for a refund. AC's are exchange only if defective. May I ask why it took you this long to bring up this issue? We haven't had issues with these portable AC's cooling up to a 600 sft. **** **** Assistant Store Manager Frys, Renton XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr.****, thats the good question for you why it took you this long to get back to us regarding this issue? Chargeback was done 2 weeks after this unit was purchase (in July) and my bank informed you that money was putted back to my account??? Why your store manager never call us back even after this issue was brought it up to he/she attention? I think this situation explained enough about your attitude towards people. Also, I dont remember the name of that salesman who called himself supervisor and manager, but I can describe him to you if its going to help you- bold, with glasses, tall, african american , around age 35-40 Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/13) */ ******, Go ahead and bring the portable unit back, complete in a box. We will make an exception and give you a full refund. If you have any issues up front, just ask for me. **** **** Assistant Store Manager, Frys, Renton XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) THANK YOU!

2/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2012 we purchased a cell phone from Fry's as a birthday gift for our teenage daughter. This phone was expressly indicated, more than once, by the sale representative "that this is a new iPhone 5 which you can take to Apple for a full year for warranty work." At no time did the sales representative explain that this was a refurbished phone that had been previously activated in December 2012. We discovered this fact at the Apple store on 1/3/14 when seeking warranty coverage for faulty battery issues and were informed that the phone went out of warranty on December 15, 2013. We believed, based on what had been expressly stated during the sales transaction that the phone was under warranty until March 2013, when in fact it was not. Fry's employees are intentionally obscuring the fact that some of their phones are refurbished. At no time during the purchase did we enter the area of the store where Fry's claims there are signs indicating price differences between new and refurbished phones, as we went directly to the **** service area and did not comparison shop. This Fry's employee - and it may be an isolated incident, as we are told this employee is no longer with the company - told blatant lies to influence the sale of this phone to us, which the company should be held accountable for. The company cannot always control how their employees conduct business, but they certainly do have control over how they treat their customers when an employee screws up. We have attempted to work directly with the business, with unsatisfactory results. This complaint is submitted in reference to Invoice #XXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: We would like Fry's to compensate us with a comparable iPhone 5 replacement that has the warranty period that they expressly sold us. The replacement phone should have a warranty period that expires no earlier than March 2014. We are only asking for what we would have received had the Fry's representative been open and honest about what they were selling us. From previous experiences, we would NEVER have purchased a refurbished phone had we not been lied to. We have been long-time customers of Fry's since this store opened, but the company has violated our trust and disappointed us deeply.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/24) */ *** *******, Came into our store and spoke with our Wireless Department Manager *** ******. She came in with an iphone that had a cracked screen. She was asking for a replacement. Unfortunately, once physical damage has occurred, as a store we do not replace the item. We, as a courtesy, reached out to our Home Office Purchasing Supervisor to see if there was any type of exception that could be made in replacing this device. There was no way to receive credit, therefore we informed *** ******* that since the device was physically damaged, there was nothing that we could do to replace. *** *******, states that she was given wrong information at the time of purchase, however, her daughter was the on who purchased the Iphone refresh, and to *** ******'s recollection, *** ******* was not present at the time of purchase. On the Box it is clearly stated that the device was a factory refreshed item, and it also clearly states this information on the receipt. If there was an initial question on whether the item was new or factory refreshed, why was this not communicated immediately after the purchase date ? The factory refresh device has a significant price reduction, which is why many people decide to purchase. Unfortunately, we will not be able to give *** *******'s daughter a new iphone, due to the screen being cracked. If she would like to purchase a new screen, I would be more than happy to install it free of charge as a good faith gesture. Please let me know if this is something that she would be interested in. Sincerely *** ******* Store Manager

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought this ON-THE-GO charger for AA and AAA batteries(Ultralast Green)SKU076097961944 from the store in Renton a few months ago.When we tried to use it the first time ,we noticed that the batteries(AA) do not even fit inside the device being too short for the advertised Batteries. I took it back to the store and the person in Charge(****...)tried the same thing...with the same results-no fit inside the charger!!!We talk to the Dept. Manager(busy guy almost ignoring me) and the his Manager ******* ********** the answer was we can't do anything because is an old (4 + months!!!)discontinued item. I asked for an replacement and they refused to cooperate in any form.We paid good money= $12.90+tx and we received a defective product! This is the second time in less then 1 year we buy something in this store and they don't fit/function properly!!The other item was a washer Whirlpool Estate -discontinued as well- and we are in the situation to repair it ourselves.

Desired Settlement: refund for the charger 12.90+tx plus the gas and time we spent to buy/return this item. We are just tired of the Fry's practices,with their "DISCONTINUED" items...and they make $$ on some defective products nobody else want to sell.....The return policy sucks and the Sales person /managers are not too competent to even talk to their customers!The person at the Returns counter didn't even have a PEN to sign with ....looking for 2 minutes for a PEN on the counter....embarrassing....

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/15) */ ***, Go ahead and bring this product along with your invoice and I will gladly refund you your money back on your next visit. Just come in and ask for me if you have any problems. If you prefer to ship, pls ship to: Attn: **** ****/ ***** ******* Frys Electronics *** ****** *** * Renton, WA 98057 You can reach me @ XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fry's Electronics
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)