Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mainstream Electric, Heating & Cooling

Phone: (866) 411-9277 View Additional Phone Numbers   View Additional Email Addresses http://www.866411zapp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electrical services, installation, or Repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mainstream Electric, Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mainstream Electric, Heating & Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

93 Customer Reviews on Mainstream Electric, Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 88
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 93

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 2001 Business started: 01/01/2001 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 05/16/2002 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Idaho Office of the Secretary of State
700 W. Jefferson 203, P.O. Box 83720, Boise ID 83720-0080
http://www.idsos.state.id.us/
Fax Number: 208-334-2282

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licensing
1109 Main Street Suite 220, Boise ID 83702
http://www.ibol.idaho.gov/cont.htm
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Division of Building Safety-ID
1250 Ironwood Drive, Suite 220, Coeur D'Alene ID 83814
http://www2.state.id.us/dbs
Phone Number: (208) 769-1579

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Elaine Damschen, Owner President Mr. Todd Damschen, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Elaine Damschen, Owner President
Business Category

Electricians Electricians - Commercial Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Generators - Electric Switches - Electric Wire & Cable - Non-Electric Fuses - Electric Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Electric Equipment - Service & Repair Electrical Power Systems Maintenance Wire & Cable - Electric Electricians – Residential

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, MasterCard, Visa, & Financing Available
Refund and Exchange Policy
We're not satisfied until the client is satisfied!!!

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mainstream Electric, Heating & Cooling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 3436

    Coeur D Alene, ID 83816

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I made the appointment I asked about pricing. i was told "I would have options". Once the electrician arrived i was told I had to pay $50 for the service call. I needed 2 ceiling fans installed. I was told it would cost $560 for 1 fan and $970 for 2 fans. I did not receive an itemized bill. I had 1 fan installed and then I was told I was paying $65 for a permit which costs $40. I asked if there were any coupons to reduce the price. No, was the answer although he handed me a $50 coupon "for the next appointment. I am very upset that I was lured into doing business with a company that is not straight forward with how much they charge for a service.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a refund, an itemized bill for the service and materials and a promise that they will stop deceiving people on the phone.

Business Response:

January 20, 2015

Dear ********* **** of the BBB:

******** ********* satisfaction and my firm’s reputation with you are of great importance to me. My written approach here will be two-fold …

  • First, I’ll address the facts as verified by attachments I provide.

  • Secondly, I’ll talk to the concerns from a human aspect.

  • Quick note: if something is highlighted in yellow in this document, that’ll indicate there’s an attachment to support my statements.

I am genuinely disappointed to hear of ********** statement, “I am very upset that I was lured into doing business with a company is not straightforward with how much they charge for a service.” Regarding this matter, there are a few things to point out here:

1.All of Mainstream Electric’s incoming phone calls are recorded, as disclosed via recording upon calling our office. Included is ********** recorded phone call with our Customer Care Representative (CCR) :
  • As you’ll hear for yourself, the $49 dispatch fee was absolutely mentioned upfront to ********, per company protocol. We inform ALL clients of the dispatch fee up front, so there are no surprises. It wouldn’t be a good business practice not to.

  • The Customer Care Representative can also be quoted as stating that ******** (& all of our clients) will receive a quote, up front and in writing. And, that quote is guaranteed.

  • The CCR also mentions Options, which is exactly what the licensed journeyman electrician ******* ******** provided during his visit with her.

  • Finally, on the call it is clearly stated, no hourly rate, but a quote down to the penny.

  • How much more straightforward can we be over the phone?? By disclosing what a customer “can expect” during his/her service call up front, this gives that person the CHOICE in which to schedule an appointment with us, or not. ******** CHOSE to move forward with the appointment, as heard on the recorded phone call.

     

2. Mainstream Electric prides itself in providing upfront pricing, or in other words, straightforward pricing. (Straightforward - a word also used by ******** in the italicized quote above). I have included a scanned copy of ********** Invoice.
  • Note that ******** was provided a couple of different Options; these were offered upfront.

  • How do I know? On the Invoice, as indicated by ********** signature, I HEREBY AUTHORIZE YOU TO PROCEED WITH THE ABOVE WORK  AT THE UPFRONT FEE OF $560.53, which was the installation of one ceiling fan as indicated per Option 2, which is also itemized both on the Option Sheet, as well as on the Invoice.

  • In addition, see ********** signature after the work was completed, which is our verification that she is satisfied with the work that was completed – ACCEPTANCE OF WORK PERFORMED.

  • Again, how much more straightforward can we be?? In giving clients Options, this also indicates that they have a CHOICE in the matter. ******** herself CHOSE option 2 and to proceed with a ceiling fan installation. She chose; we absolutely did not lure.

     

3.According to Dictionary.com, the word lure means to attract or entice. Please keep in mind
  • ******** called Mainstream Electric for her electrical need … we absolutely did not lure her in any way, shape, or form to do business with my company.

  • ******** had a discussion with our Customer Care Representative and had a CHOICE to schedule an appointment or not. We did not lure ******** into scheduling the appointment. She was informed and CHOSE to have an electrician out.

  • ******** was given Options by her electrician, and again had a CHOICE to not do the work at all or CHOOSE an option. She chose Option 2 … no luring involved; only straightforward choices.

 

Next in regards to ********** statement, I did not receive an itemized bill. Again, I’ll talk to a few points here:

  • First, as heard on the recorded incoming phone call from ******** to Mainstream Electric, ********* states no hourly rate; quote down to the penny. And, that quote is guaranteed.

     

  • Secondly, because we’re not an hourly company but an upfront pricing company, the quote IS broken down as such BOTH on the Invoice AND the OPTION SHEET:

     

     

     

    -Install Customer Specialty Fan

    -Install UL Approved Brace Box

    -Electrical Permit at $65

    -Standard Dispatch Fee

     $515.67 SUBTOTAL

     $ 44.86 WA EXCISE TAX on parts & labor (required by law)

     $560.53 TOTAL

     

  • As a courtesy, however, see the attachment named Breakdown … this one really goes into detail of ********** ceiling fan installation, as per her request under categorized Desired Settlement on the BBB email.

  • Clearly, there’s more to doing business than just an hourly rate and some material

 

I’ll now talk to ********** Permit concerns; see attached.

  • Yes, the cost of the permit is $40, as was paid directly to The City of Spokane

  • The additional $25 is an administrative fee. Mainstream Electric has a dedicated staff  member whom works solely in the permit process. For example, this person pulled the permit online, then requested an inspection upon completion of ********** job. See the highlights on the permit? The inspector took his time and went to ********** home, and there was no access … maybe no one was home. Looks like **** ****** the Inspector for The City of Spokane attempted to contact ******** by phone on Jan 16, 2015, and haven’t heard back. Now, our permit department will manage the permit to make sure the inspection takes place. The inspector, after all, holds my company (and other electrical contractors) accountable to The National Electrical Code AND The WAC, Washington Administrative Code …. these are LAWS of electrical installation in which we must adhere to as electrical contractors.

 

I will shift gears now, and be less factual and talk to the human side of Customer Service. ********, my personal and business philosophies as a female owner of the electrical contracting company Mainstream Electric:

1. to positively impact every person we come into contact with

2. it’s not what we do (electrical work), but how we make people feel that’s memorable in customer service

 

 

Clearly we did not accomplish these two things, and that is gravely concerning to me. Prior to receiving this BBB complaint, we promptly attempted to call you a few times to have a discussion about your dissatisfaction. You do NOT answer your phone. (I’ve included ********** emails as an attachment, as well). We are human too, ********, and now are as frustrated as you are because you don’t answer or take our calls. A business relationship is two-sided, and so is communication. And to assume that we’ve deceived you in anyway (your words, not mine, per your statement in the Desired Settlement) is inaccurate. Here’s why:

  • You won’t talk with us, although we’ve made every attempt to communicate with you; we could ignore this whole thing & never respond!

  • We have a coveted A+ rating with the BBB since 2003!!

  • If you go to our website: www.866411ZAPP.com, you’ll see that there are 76 customer reviews stating that these wonderful people are satisfied with Mainstream Electric.

  • We’ve been in business for almost 15 years, & year after year approximately 65% of our customers are Repeat Business.

  • As a goodwill gesture, we did not even deposit your check of $560.53. It’s still stapled to your invoice until we come to a resolution.

********, these are not characteristics of a company who lures or deceives its customers. What it does boil down to is communication, which you’ve refused to do.

I’m not sure why the electrician didn’t mention the coupon … honestly, he may not have known there was one online. He is human.

Resolution Proposal:

1. refund $45 + tax for the online coupon. In addition, I will refund $25 + tax for the permit administrative fee as it doesn’t sound like it was clearly explained, and we like to be upfront about your charges. That equals $76.09 refunded.

2. Please follow through and get your ceiling fan inspected by The City of Spokane.

2. In the future, I am asking that you communicate in person or by phone with those whom you have concerns with or about and give them the benefit of the doubt. I believe most people are good and want to do the right thing. They are not “out to get you," and you do have choices.

Look forward to hearing if this offering is satisfactory. If it is, we’ll need to know if you’d like to issue a new check for $484.44?? Call into our office with a credit card for $484.44?? Or, simply deposit the check we have for $560.53, and then we’ll issue the refund of $76.09 to you?? Please let us know.

Sincerely,

****** ********* ***

President of Mainstream Electric Inc.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


******** *******

3/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

93 Customer Reviews on Mainstream Electric, Heating & Cooling
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart