Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Numerica Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 535-7613 View Additional Phone Numbers 14610 E Sprague Ave, Spokane Valley, WA 99216

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers a full line of financial products and services, including mortgages and a full line of business products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Numerica Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Numerica Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1937 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1937 Business incorporated 01/01/1937 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St, Alexandria VA 22314
Phone Number: 800-755-1030

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Kelli Hawkins, Communications Manager Ms. Karen Weis, AVP Risk Management Ms. Peggy Amicarella, Compliance Analyst Ms. Lynn Ciani, EVP - General Counsel Mr. Scott Phares, AVP Accounts Control
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelli Hawkins, Communications Manager
Principal: Ms. Karen Weis, AVP Risk Management
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Planning Consultants Insurance Companies Insurance - Life Insurance - Long Term Care Annuities Insurance - Disability Investment Securities Loans Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Mutual Funds Financial Services Business Services - General Credit Card - Merchant Services Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Numerica Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10618 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206

  • 1210 S Hayford Rd

    Airway Hgts, WA 99001

  • 14610 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Valley, WA 99216

  • 1916 W Francis Ave

    Spokane, WA 99205

  • 2030 Entiat Way

    Entiat, WA 98822

  • 2202 E 29th Ave

    Spokane, WA 99203

  • 303 E Lyons Ave

    Spokane, WA 99208

  • 3045 Duportail St

    Richland, WA 99352

  • 3115 W Kennewick Ave

    Kennewick, WA 99336

  • 405 E Farwell Rd

    Spokane, WA 99218

  • 465 W Bosanko Ave

    Coeur D Alene, ID 83815

  • 477 Grant Rd

    E Wenatchee, WA 98802

  • 4820 N Road 68

    Pasco, WA 99301

  • 4909 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99212

  • 502 W Riverside Ave

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • 615 N Emerson Ave

    Wenatchee, WA 98801

  • 722 N Sullivan Rd.

    Spokane Vly, WA 99216

  • 8370 N Cornerstone Dr

    Hayden, ID 83835

  • PO Box 4000

    Spokane Valley, WA 99037


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 22, 2015 I went to Numerica to open a checking account because I had a $3700.00 check to cash and didn't have an account. The man who helped me told me that the majority of my funds would be on hold for six days until the check cleared, but that I would have $200 available to me immediately. He was very friendly and helpful but he was new, so he asked several other associates to make sure that the $200 would be available right away and they all agreed. I went in today because I needed the available money to put down on a car that was being held for me by a private seller. They told me that none of my funds would be available until the check cleared, which is six business days. When I told them that I was informed that I would have access to part of my funds immediately by not one, but multiple associates, they told me that those people were new and that they couldn't help me. When I told the seller of the car that I wouldn't be able to give her the deposit to hold the car for me until the 30th of this month, she informed me that she had another interested party she was going to sell to instead.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to release my funds to me immediately so that I can find an honest banking establishment to put my money in. I would also like them to give me an extra $100 to make up for the inconvenience I've suffered as a result of this.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:
In regards to case ID ********, we have reviewed the account in question and have determined that the funds held in line with our funds availability notice and appropriate federal law. We apologize for the miscommunication that occurred at the time of the transaction and have taken steps to ensure that our staff is properly informed of how funds will be held and in what cases funds will not be available. 
In our funds availability notice that was provided to the member when he first opened his account with Numerica, we stated that “…the first $200 of your deposit will be available on the first business day when the deposit is made in person and deposited into the named payee’s account. If we are not going to make all of the funds available from your deposit available on the first business day, we will notify you at the time you make your deposit.” Additionally our notice also sets out rules for new accounts and states that “[f]unds from all other check deposits will be available no later than the ninth business day after the day of your deposit.”
The member in question came into our branch to open a checking account. As they did not have any accounts with us in the previous 30 days, the account was classified as new. Because of this the full check deposit was held. This hold was noted on the receipt. The funds were released on June 30, 2015.
We again apologize for the miscommunication and will strive to make sure that future notices of holds are better communicated. We have attached our funds availability policy.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Quoting policy to me does not fix the great disservice this encounter has done to me. An honest company would hold their employees accountable and fix the wrong they have done. People should be weary of doing business with a company who has this low of a standard. I appreciate the apology, but it does not fix what has been done. I was not complaining about your policy, but rather your service, so this response falls far short of what I would expect from a professional and honest company.


****** *******

Business Response: We are attempting to contact the member to discuss a resolution.

12/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talked with a loan rep on the week of Nov. 10th, made arrangements with them because my car loan/visa payment was 33 days past due. The lady I spoke with said that it would be alright to pay one payment for each on the 14th of Nov. and again on the 28th of Nov. They then proceeded to lock me out of my account until ALL payments were made. I would have appreciated someone telling me that was going to happen when I made the arrangements in the first place, and how are you going to tell someone it's okay to wait a week to make another payment because obviously money is tight and needed for other things, such as day to day living, and then all of the sudden I'm locked out of my debit card. Not only that, but I was also unable to log in online to even see my account. Then when I call they tell me it's automativ and all I can do is use checks. Who takes checks anymore? That is ridiculous, I just moved to all the way across the country to Florida and all the sudden I am CONSTANTLY having problems with being able to access my money. So fine, I call them on the Wednesday before thanksgiving because I was unexpectedly paid early. I called and asked the rep to please process payments for both my car and Visa card to bring everything up to date, and in fact PAID OFF the loan for my vehicle(or so I thought). I also asked him, I believe his name was ****, to make sure that my debit card and online access would both be unlocked since it was VERY IMPORTANT for me to be able to access my money over the holiday and Black Friday. He assured me they both would be working. A couple hours later or so I tried withdrawing $20 from an ATM and once again was declined. I'm not sure if that's ever happened to you in front of your friends before but it's really pretty embarrassing. I work hard for my money and have done nothing but cooperate and communicate with these people and they do nothing but cause me problems since I moved all the way across the U.S. When I called them today the lady told me for some reason there was still 3 cents owed on my car and asked if I would like to process that payment. I said are you kidding me? You guys RUINED my holiday over 3 cents when I just tried to PAY OFF one of my loans, and I asked the guy several times to MAKE SURE that everything was taken care of and I would have access to my money from my debit card.

Desired Settlement: I really feel like some sort of compensation should be done, I was not able to proceed with holiday plans my first year alone in a new state and will be spending a substantial amount more for holiday gifts this year as I was not able to participate in Black Friday sales.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern


In regards to complaint ID #******** we have reviewed the account in question and have determined that we have in fact made an error. A payment was made via phone on 11/26/14 that was intended to pay off the loan. The amount that was paid was miscalculated and was short $0.03. Because the loan payment was over 30 days delinquent, the system did not register this as paid in full and did not release the block on the debit card. The loan was paid in full on 11/29/14 and the block was released then. We are in the process of contacting our member to let her know of our error.

10/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am SO disgusted with Numerica Credit Union. I made some honest mistakes in my account and they closed it by leaving me a voicemail before I even had a chance to bring my account to a positive. This account carries my car loan, a personal loan and my direct deposit

Desired Settlement: Keep my account open

Consumer Response: I honestly wrote a check from the wrong account causing my account to overdraft, and I spoke to ****** ******** who was amazing but *** the supervisor was TERRIBLE! She closed my account by leaving me a voicemail this afternoon. Highly unprofessional! I wanted to make this right and she stated on my voicemail that she closed the account before I could even bring it to a positive balance. Never said what's going to happen to my car loan or personal loan. Just said on the message the account was now closed.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

In regards to case ID *******, we have reviewed the account in question and have determined that the account was terminated due to numerous instances of check kiting. Check Kiting is a violation of 18 USC **** and amounts to an act of forgery or fraud. This is a violation of section 27 of the member agreement which states,

            “We may terminate your account at any time without notice to you or may require you to close your account and apply for a new account if: …(2) there has been a forgery or fraud reported or committed involving your account; … (5) there are excessive returned unpaid items not covered by an overdraft protection plan; (6) there has been any misrepresentation or any other abuse of any of your accounts; or (7) we reasonably deem it necessary to prevent a loss to us...”

            Emphasis added

Our record shows multiple instances of check kiting. On 05-15-14, a check was returned to us, dated 5-7-14 and was paid to the order of the member by the member. A second check was returned on 5-16-14 dated 5-12-14 again paid to the order of the member by the member. In September, we received notice that the member was writing drafts, intentionally not signing them, and then demanding that we stop payment. On 10-7-14 the member requested two stop payments on two different checks. Both were drafted to be paid to the order of the member and drawn from the member’s account. Any one of these actions alone is a violation of Section 27 of the membership agreement and alone grounds for the termination of the account.

As such we have terminated the account due to the repeated check kiting and to reasonably protect Numerica Credit Union from potential losses. This termination only affects checking and savings accounts and does not affect any loans that the member has outstanding with Numerica.

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company is falsely posting negative information regarding late payments on my credit reports.

Desired Settlement: The information regarding late payments needs to be removed from my credit reports.

Business Response: Numerica has reviewed the complaint and has researched the member's payment history.  The negative information regarding late payments reported to the credit bureau was correct. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


***** ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Numerica Credit Union
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart