Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers financial services to members in the South Sound area.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that America's Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on America's Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 05, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1954 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1954
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St, Alexandria VA 22314
Phone Number: 800-755-1030

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985

Type of Entity

Cooperative Association

Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Leonard, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Leonard, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Products & Services

America's Credit Union offers the following product(s): Auto Loans, Certificates of Deposit, Checking Accounts, Money Market Accounts, Mortgage Loans, Personal Loans, Savings Accounts, Visa Credit Cards

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

America's Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12th and Pendleton, Building 2201

    Joint Base Lewis McChord, WA 98433 (253) 964-3113

  • PO Box 5060

    Dupont, WA 98327


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into a loan agreement with ACU a little over a year ago. I am a first time car buyer and had very little credit. My interest rate is quite high but I was working two jobs and figured I needed to start from somewhere. Unfornatuelty, I lost one of my jobs November 2013. I got evicted from my home and had to stay in motels until I was able to get back on my feet. I had to stop paying on my $362 car insurance in order to have a place to make it. Once i got on my feet a got insurance again but by that time ACU added over 4000 to my loan saying I had a laspe. That now incresed my $492 payment every month to over $1000. Unheard of and outrages so i ask for some time to pay it off. I payed most of it off within 4months by working over 70 hours a week offered by my employer. In october there was no more overtime so my checks were smaller. I ask if ACU cam work with me because i am single and its tough to pay 1000 car plus insurane plus maintain everyday. They were not willing to offer any type of customer service to me but threatin to repo my car if i did not make my full payments. I was very sad and frustrated that they could not give me a week longer to make my payment which would be the first time i was 30days late. I was only behind 360 dollars. I would not be late if they were willing to change my due date but they said they cannot change it until the laspe amount is paid off which i had ask themto do several months prior because I get commission at the last pay check of the month. So they repoed my car following a letter after repo to pay or i could face a repo. They told me in order to get my car back i needed to show proof of insurance which i did tthe next day. They gave me til Nov 14th 2014 to pay my balace which was the orginal date before repo i ask to make a payment. So i got the car back on the 14th now paying repo fees. This was a huge setback for me and once again i am now playing catch up but trying my best to take care of my responsibities. I made a partial payment on the 12th of Dec and ask if i can pay the remainder on the 26th of dec which would not put me past 30days late. A associate named ******** said she will give me til the 19th which makes no sense because i get paid on the 26th. I feel I have tried everythjng im my power but ACU sets me up for failure. This should be illegall practices. I work in a rental car buisness with many large corpate accounts ******* ********** Military families etc and i know what it takes to have customer service skills if you want loyal customers. Its sad that i have to experince such poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to be pratical and not repo my car when they know i have been compliant with everything they ask.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/26) */ Ms. ********'s loan came to America's Credit Union (ACU) through our sub-prime loan program. These are individuals that have some credit challenges and would normally receive financing if any through the secondary lending markets. Her loan was granted on August 22, 2013. Her first delinquent payment was made on November 29, 2013. This is 90 days into a 72 month contract. As of this response 8 of her first 14 payments have been 11-30 days past due. Our program allows members with credit challenges to get conventional financing at a much better rate than the traditional secondary market rates of 24-35% interest rates. As this program has risks while giving the borrower a chance to rebuild their credit our tolerance for delinquency is limited. As mentioned in her complaint she had challenges maintaining the required insurance needed to cover the car which forced us to protect the asset with forced placed insurance. We made many exceptions with the premium that was due trying to keep her in the car, but when she could not keep up on her arrangements her vehicle was repossessed on November 4, 2014. On November 6, 2014, we allowed her to redeem her vehicle with some additional exceptions to our normal guidelines. It was also made clear no more delinquency will be allowed. Her next due date after redeeming was December 6, 2014. This payment was not made and only a partial payment was received on December 12, 2014. On December 14, 2014 her delinquent loan rolled into the collection queues and as this was the 1st payment after redemption a strict demand was made. On December 16, 2014 she filed a complaint with BBB complaining we have not worked with her and that we have poor customer service. During the few days following her filing a complaint she has spoken with several collectors including the Assistant Collection Manager and called them about every name in the book. I am not sure if this is customary in the rental car business, but it is not accepted behavior in a Federal credit union. In conclusion, additional exceptions to guidelines were made allowing more time to bring her loan current. As of today her loan is current. Her next payment is due January 6, 2015. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

9/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I use to have an car loan and credit card with America's Credit Union. Back in May of 2010, my husband and I separated and two years later divorced. I had asked ACU to separate my account from my ex-husband. They did so I thought. Whenever I would electronically send my payment to them for both of the accounts, ACU would divert the payments to my ex-husband's car loan and credit card. They would then call me up and ask me when I would make a payment on my accounts. When I checked my bank account to see if I had missed the payments I noticed that I did not. I called them up and told them the amounts that was paid. As they checked on their end, they told me that they diverted the money to pay my ex's account. It took me two months to get them to stop with threats of reporting them. Back on October of 2013, someone used my credit card for a online purchase. I called and asked why was this still open when I had informed them in July 2012 that I wanted all of my accounts closed. They're answer was that they could not close the accounts until my ex had paid off his car loan. But his loan was paid but they still left my accounts open. Then in October of 2013, someone used my credit card from ACU. I called and asked how could this have happened when it was suppose to be closed. Their answer "I don't know". Now in January 2014, my ex-husband cashed a ***** ******** escrow check with both of our names on it at ACU. The joint account was never separated, my name was never changed back to my maiden name as I had give them a copy of the court order, and they never asked for my ID to verify my signature. Since I had changed my name, I would of signed the check in my former name and then sign it in my maiden name and present both IDs to the teller. I NEVER signed the check and never authorized my ex to sign it for me. I have NEVER seen or talked to him since our divorce back in July of 2012. I had to file a fraud complaint with ****** file a report to my local police here in NM and as well as in Lakewood,WA. Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Have ACU admit that they made mistake and pay for my identity theft protection for the next 10 years and if I need to obtain an attorney, they pay my attorney's fees. If ACU does not want to do this then I want their license to bank revoked and pay a hefty fine because they also disclosed my address to my ex-husband.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/21) */ ACU is responding to the items detailed in your BBB compliant. Here is a recap of the history on your accounts with ACU. In 2004 two accounts were opened at ACU. Both accounts were joint accounts with you and ****** *******. In April 2004 a joint Visa was opened with ******. An additional loan was funded on a Honda Civic in your name only with payments coming from ******s Account in which you were joint. The payments were set up to transfer monthly from your joint account with ****** as primary until November 2010. Washington is a community property state, so obligations which are joint and contracted as such are outside of the divorce degree, meaning both parties own the debt. In April of 2011 your loan became delinquent -it was determined at that time, the Bi-weekly payments on the loan were inconsistent & so in August of 2011 you completed a loan modification to change the payments from bi-weekly to monthly. The loan on the Honda was paid off in June of 2012. However, the joint visa was still open and no account ownership on the Visa had been changed. Both ******'s account and ******'s account were joint at this time. It was not until January of 2014 that ****** opened an individual account and applies to transfer the Visa. The Visa was transferred to ******s's new individual account on January 13, 2014. At this time you are no longer contractually obligated for this Visa. The check you reference was made payable to ****** and ****** ******. The check reflects both signatures and was deposited into the joint account. This is acceptable since both parties on the account have access to the funds. Additionally we can see from the account, your former name was ******. A letter dated April 14th, 2014 was sent to you following the research of this item, noting there was no breach of warranty claim on this check. Regarding your Visa dispute. ACU sent you the paper work on October 13th to begin the dispute process. On October 26th, you were contacted by ACU to follow up on the dispute paperwork and you indicated via email you had no intention of completing the dispute & your intentions were to pay off the Visa and close the account. This was done per your request. ACU is sorry for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. We are unable to meet your requested desired resolution based on the merits of the information. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When ACU started to take my money to pay *********** accounts after I had asked them and they said they did to separate our accounts. The payments were made to pay my Honda and Visa when the account number was on the EPay. They were not allowed to divert the money. The clerk had talked to their legal department. I had asked ACU to please close all accounts in my name. They said they did. I also at time of paying off my Honda loan provided them court papers changing my new last name. They have a copy. The clerk I had talked to on the phone told me that there was no signature card on me. And that they did not need my ID to cash the check. No letter was sent to me dating April 14,2014. If ACU gave my ex-husband my new address, they are in violation of disclosing private information. A violation of the Privacy Act 1974. My Visa was used on line and it was cheaper for me to pay it and close the account when I thought they did then to pay an attorney. It was that very same time again that I had asked to have ALL of my accounts closed as per MY REQUEST. Is ACU willing to pay to have my credit accounts protected? This is more than an "inconvenience"! If *********** was delinquent on his accounts and ACU wanted me to pay, I would of taken *********** back into court for disobeying court orders! Why did they separate the joint account when he asked and not when I had requested back in June 2012 and again October 2013? When I had called in March, the clerk told me that the joint account was close as of February 2014. She informed me that either one of us could of closed the account. Then why wasn't it closed back in 2012 or 2013? And if the joint account was still open, why was my name not changed? When I had given them a copy of my divorce decree, red flags should of been posted when a check with my old name was being cashed? They do not have a signature card with my new last name. ACU is wrong. The check reflects his signature and my forged signature. And if ACU did their job correctly, they would of notice that the signature did not match my signature card that they said they no longer have on file. And if my name was on the account they should of had a current signature card since my name was changed back in July of 2012. Forgery is a crime and I have filed a complaint with the local police. If ACU is not protecting their members, they should not be in business. If I sent ACU a check to pay on a loan with the loan number on it, ACU cannot divert the money to another account that is delinquent. I have always kept ACU up to date on my divorce proceedings and this is what I get. Glad I am not doing business with them anymore. My money is in a better bank that will protect my identity and interest. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/06/12) */ The responsibility to claim improper endorsement on the check falls under the responsibility of the issuer of the check. Ms. ********* needs to proceed with her claim with the escrow company. Again, the account was jointly owned at the time the deposit was made, allowing for her to have access to the funds deposited. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I called to ask how my credit card was used back in October 2013, the clerk told me that the card was used online and my account was not closed. Why? I asked if the Honda Element was paid. I was told yes. I then asked to have ALL of the accounts with my name on it to be closed. The clerk said that they needed a written request with my signature. I did that and on October 29, 2013 I received the return receipt. I called and the clerk said that they did not receive the written request. I informed her that I have the returned receipt in my hand. If all accounts including joint were closed, how did ACU accept the check? The check should of been endorsed in my former name and then in my new name before the clerk should of accepted it and ID should of been presented. I was also informed that either one of us could of closed the joint account of which I did when I requested that ALL my accounts to be closed. What part of ALL does the credit union not comprehend? If ALL accounts with my name was closed on October 2013, there should NOT of been a joint account still open for the EX to cash in a joint account. If ACU knew that I had changed my last name, the endorsement should of reflected that to protect BOTH parties. With the all time high of identity theft due to the ****** incident, ACU should of requested my ID. And since they have documentation showing that I had changed my last name, the check should of been endorsed with the new name. ACU did not protect me from identity theft. Every time I was there to pay my accounts, I HAD to present my ID for ALL the transactions. Why wasn't it done on January 14,2014? Since ACU knew that I was no longer married to **********, that I changed my last name, and that I had requested numerous times to have ALL of my accounts to be closed, they were complacent in identity theft. They have my phone number. They could of called to double check. And if the joint account could not have been closed or have my name removed, ACU should of informed me. Again they did not protect me as a member.

6/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a car loan with America's Credit Union. Every month on the 7th an automatic payment of $244.06 is made from my checking account. This month, I called on May 5th to see what my loan payoff balance was and it was $59.76. The teller on the phone did not say anything about having to stop automatic deductions nor did she give me any special instructions. On the 7th, they still deducted the full $244.06. I was able to log in to my web access account that evening and see that they placed the surplus funds into the savings account I opened with them just to secure the auto loan. I submitted an electronic request for those funds to be sent to me via check in the mail within 7 business days. (The only option available.) Hopefully they actually mail me my money. This morning when their customer service office opened I called to ask why this happened and also to get confirmation that they will no longer have access to my account. The teller was not helpful or apologetic for their error. The excuse was that auto-pay was not stopped until 5/7/14 and that as of now they will no longer be deducting funds from my checking account since the loan is paid in full. I asked if I could have something in writing or some other way to prove that they will not do this, she said they don't offer that and they would not. Her only suggestion was to ask my bank to reverse the auto-payment. So, now I have to pay an additional $35 fee to my bank to stop the payments and I wound up with an overdraft fee because I was expecting a $59 payment instead of $244.

Desired Settlement: I feel that they should: 1. Send me my $184.30 check today or even better, credit my checking account they took it from. 2. Send me written confirmation to ensure they the auto-pay is discontinued. 3. Offer to pay the service charge of $35 incurred at my bank because of their error and pay me an additional $35 to stop the auto-pay if they can't guarantee in writing that this is discontinued on their end. 4. Mail me the title to my car as soon as possible since it is paid in full.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/21) */ After research of this account, the overpayment was placed into the account on 5/8/2014, in which you transferred out via Home Banking. We have received the request to close the account through our message board and will honor your request and send you a check for the balance immediately. We have stopped the ACU on 5/7/2014, which eliminates the need for you to stop with your financial institution. ACU is willing to refund your expense of $35.00 for any NSF's which may have occurred based on the ACH amount of $244.06. Please mail a copy of this to ACU, attention ***** ******* & a check will be issued to you immediately. Effective 05/22/2014 your account with ACU has been closed.

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I changed my insurance on july 31 2013, I called ACU and gave them all requested info about my new insurance, they told me that I would not have to do anything else. Later I received in the mail that they did not get my ins info and were adding $807 to my loan. I called again and found that what ever I did before was no where to be documented and I now needed to have my ins fax in some info to prove I have had insurance on my car. I did this that day. I have just receive the letter in the mail that the $807 was removed from my loan. When I logged into my account to verify I see that I had a $25 fee put on my loan in oct. The lady on the phone said is was because I did not have ins and the fee could not be removed, she then transferred me to some other person so they could tell me that because I did not write the name of the person I talked to 5 months ago that the fee would not ne removed she also told me I need to check my mail more often since I was mailed info. I should NEVER have been mailed anything as I did what I was supposed to. The lady was beyond rude and kept asking the name of the people I had previously talked to even after I told her I did not remember!

Desired Settlement: I want the fee removed from my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/15) */ January 15, 2014 Case #XXXXXXXX I have had an opportunity to review *** ********'s concerns. Our insurance tracking department goes through a 90 day notice cycle when they are informed that a policy has canceled. *** ******** claims that ACU was notified right away after switching insurance company. Our insurance tracking department sends 3 separate letters with 1 being sent certified advising our member that the proper insurance information has not been received. It is after the certified letter that the actual premium is added to include a $25 handling charge for the expense to process the transaction and the letters being sent to notify the member. Our tracking department started the notice cycle on 7-31-13 and the premium was not issued until 10-24-13. On 11-1-13 we received proof from her new insurance company that she had insurance with an effective date of 7-31-13 so a refund was requested and received on 11-26-13. It was not until the premium was added that we got notified of the new insurance. As *** ******** has been a good member with good pay history we will reverse the $25 fee as a member courtesy. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on America's Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart