BBB Accredited Business since

Orca Granite & Stone, LLC

Phone: (253) 535-6722 Fax: (253) 212-0144 10324 Canyon Rd E Ste 101, Puyallup, WA 98373 http://www.orcagranite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers kitchen counter top and vanity installation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Orca Granite & Stone, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Orca Granite & Stone, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Orca Granite & Stone, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 2002 Business started: 04/01/2000 Business started locally: 04/01/2000 Business incorporated 03/14/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Hoyt White, Owner Ms. Taylor Lawson, Office Manager Mrs. Danielle Siemers, Sales Manager Mr. Chase White, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hoyt White, Owner
Business Category

Countertops Countertop - Fabrication Stone - Natural Kitchen Cabinet Refacing Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing Granite

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:00pm

Saturday
10:00am - 4:00pm

Additional Locations

  • 10324 Canyon Rd E Ste 101

    Puyallup, WA 98373 (253) 535-6722

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the month of November 2013 we worked with a contractor to have my kitchen remodeled. The first steps were to pick out the cabinets, tile, counter tops, etc. He suggested Orca Granite and Stone (OGS) of XXXXX***************** Puyallup, WA (XXX) XXX-XXXX. We met with designer ****** (last name unknown) and was very happy with the assistance given. We ended up selecting a quartz counter top material made by the company ************ The instructions were clear, get the cabinets installed and they (OGS) would come out and do a template. In the mean time with the rough estimate of the cabinet dimensions OGS gave us an estimate of $3700 and one slab of material to do the countertops. After cabinet installation in mid-December 2013 we contacted OGS and were informed that the color we had chosen was on back order and would be delayed until January 2014. The entire kitchen design was based on a pallet of colors and changing this mid-stream was not acceptable. We decided to wait. When mid-January 2014 came and we inquired on the counter top we were told that there was none of the material color we wanted in the continental USA according to local *********** representatives. Then told due to manufacturing defects there would another yet another delay pushing the project into February. We were told this by OGS representative ****** (last name unknown). By this time we had already had OGS do the template. The estimate after the template process changed needing just one slab of material to do the countertops to needing to purchase 2 slabs of material for the countertops. This increased the job price to $4900, but that was a discount because they OGS were willing to sell us 1.5 slabs of material instead of 2 as a favor to us. It was explained that this material wasn't ever sold in ½ sheets. Unfortunately we had paid $2500 towards the job with OGS by this time and there was a push for a color change to get the project completed. We put the brakes on the project to consult with other companies about the particular color of *********** we wanted. Our first call to another install company resulted in no color match in stock or available. Our second call was to ***** at ***** ****** in Federal Way, WA and we were told they had 7 slabs of the particular color I wanted. I asked them to confirm before we went any further exploring the costs. They did and informed me that not only did they have 7 slabs, a shipment of *********** was arriving at the Port of Tacoma the next week (this was mid-February). We immediately called OGS and asked to cancel the job. ****** (last name unknown) was not happy about our decision and had no answer for how another company could have so much of the exact product we were looking for or how a shipment was due in the Port of Tacoma the very next week or how even the *********** representatives she had consulted were unaware that there was any in the USA. ****** went on to say that OGS had done a large amount of work on our behalf to this point. We said we understood we would need to pay for the template measurement. When we went to get the refund of our $2500 deposit, OGS would not return $500 of the deposit and said it was for services rendered. Those services have been described by ****** (last name unknown) as the template and "working hard to find the color we selected". We called ***** ******* XXXXX ******* *** S, Federal Way, WA XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX to find out what their template fee was - $150 (*****). We called *** *** ******** XXXXX ********* **** S ***** *****, Federal Way, WA XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX to find out what their template fee was - $200 (****). We called ********** ********** ****************, Tacoma, WA XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX to find out what their template fee was - included in total (****). Please feel free to call these businesses to confirm these facts. Let me describe points OGS makes on their website (which we have screen shots of): OGS offers free in home estimates - where they will measure your countertops to give you an idea of the cost Military Discount stated by ****** (last name unknown) of 10% Step 5 under their Info Center - Template. No mention of cost. We have talked to OGS three times since canceling the job. Once to pick up the refund check. Once on the phone to inquire as to why they thought their work on this job was worth $500 (spoke with ****** - who only reiterated what she had before about template fee and working hard to find our material). And again with ****** in person to find out how to get in touch with the owner (****** took our information and said she would pass *** request for them to call on). To this date - no call or contact from OGS. Not one company we spoke with said there would be fee outside of the template charge if we were to back out of the job after getting the final cost - please confirm with those listed. We would also like to mention that there is no signed contract between OGS and us. They claim the job is binding through our contractor. Our contractor claims the only paper work he has from OGS is a final total cost and he did not sign anything to have OGS proceed with this job. So, it might be something a court would determine to be non-binding. In closing, we are willing to settle this matter outside of a small claims court with the BBB's assistance if OGS will refund $300 of the $500 they kept when we canceled the job. That amount is the highest of three business we contacted, more than reasonable for the misinformation (some might call them lies), delays to this job, lack of Military discount, and inconvenience of not having a working kitchen for 3 months due to their inability to provide the material necessary. Last notes - OGS states on their website "We strive to exceed your expectations..." and "We have built strong partnerships with numerous slab suppliers..." we would beg to differ given our experience with OGS. ***** ****** not only did the job for less money after taxes, they were able to complete the job only needing to sell us 1 slab of material. We have the receipt; you have *****'s phone number at ***** ******* please feel free to verify. Also feel free to verify anything we have stated either with us, any of the other businesses mentioned, or our contractor (************* at XXX-XXX-XXXX).

Desired Settlement: As stated in our complaint detail - we are seeking a $300 refund of charges amounting to $500 we feel are unreasonable for the service rendered. We could go to small claims court and resolve this and feel Orca Granite and Stone would have difficulty proving a signed contract by anyone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/14) */ In November of 2013 when customer Retail Customer *** ******* ****** ******** ******* is the name she was referred to me by) came to my showroom looking for a price on countertops they let me know they were working with a Contractor ***** ******* (My Customer). I informed them that because they were referred to Orca Granite & Stone (OGS) by their contractor they needed to get pricing from him. ** ****** & her son pushed & pushed to get "rough" pricing & I let them know I could give them just that, only ROUGH pricing which was not anything that could be used as a contract. Just for clarification purposes I would like to re-specify that the Contractor ***** ******* is my customer (My Customer) & ****** ******** is his customer (RC). As I was working up their layout I questioned their measurements because they didn't seem right. I let them know that if their measurements were different in anyway (larger) this would change their rough price substantially. I showed them the drawing I created where I put their kitchen measurements on a slab of material to show exactly how close we were to needing a second slab. Months later when the cabinets were finally installed I was contacted by My Customer in order to setup a time where we could come out and template and to also get material on order. I once again reiterated that I wasn't confident that the measurements I was given were correct and I would not order anything until I had measurements from My Customer. Before getting me measurements so I could verify that the price was still the same, he still went ahead and scheduled for OGS to come out and do the template knowing that there was a cost to this and it was non refundable even if the final price came back higher. I made him aware of this because 1) I was not confident that the measurements I was given by his customer were correct and 2) because he had not given me any measurements at all to run numbers on. After template, I got measurements from My Customer and worked up the one and only firm and final price he had asked me for and found that the original set of measurements that were given to me (by ** ******* up until this point were in fact not right. The actual kitchen measurements were larger than the first set I was given by ** ****** which now required more material. This is why their price went up combined with the fact that what I initially gave her was per the ** ********* request A ROUGH IDEA. I gave this new revised price to My Customer. There is nothing I can do and I have no control about any mark up that was added to the price I gave out to My Customer. After this new price was given to My Customer I was informed by *********** that this material was on backorder and would be out until January. I knew this was the material that ** ****** wanted but gave her other color options anyway in case she couldn't or didn't want to wait for this material to come back in. On her own, she made the decision to wait for the color she had already selected to come in. Once that was done, we found out again that it was backordered once more; this time with no ETA due to an manufacturing issue at the plant. Before notifying the My Customer and ** ****** I contacted my customer service rep at *********** to find out if anyone in the area had this material in stock that I could borrow or buy a slab from so that I could keep My Customer & ** ****** from going elsewhere. My rep searched throughout the area to see if there was any material I could get a hold of and after searching the entire US he informed me that there was nothing available. I informed My Customer & ** ****** in order to find out where were needed to go from here. ** ****** & her son decided to hold off on going any further and they wanted to do some checking around to see if they could find the material they wanted. I let them know what I had found out from my *********** Rep about getting material from another distributor or fabricator. But I asked them to let me know if they heard anything. A day or so later ** ********* son contacted me and let me know they had found a company that had this material and they were going to switch. At this time, I immediately called my *********** rep to inform him that I was losing my customer because of this. He let me know that the material this company had was not anything they ************* showed in their system as a recent sale or shipment so they are not sure where these slabs came from but they were very apologetic about this issue. I explained this to ** ********* son and he let me know that if there was nothing I could do they would be going with this new company. I expressed my disappointment but let him know I understood. We discussed the refund of the deposit ** ****** had originally paid and at the same time, I informed him that we needed to be compensated for the template and time spent on this project and I would have to consult with ******** ******* (the Operations Manager) on what that would be cost withholding would be. When ** ****** came in to get the refund we explained this to her, that it wasn't just the cost of our drive time, time spent doing the template & template materials but this also included the time we spent coordinating this job within our office. A few days later ** ********* son came in asking why we withheld $500 from the deposit and I explained this exactly as I had to ** ******* This is also something I explained to the my customer contractor ***** ******* so that all parties involved knew what was going on and the reasoning behind it. Any further refund will not be issued as OGS as a business deserves to be compensated for time spent working on this project. It was ** ********* (and her sons) decision to go elsewhere, we did not make that decision for them or did we force it upon them so we shouldn't have to take a hit and go uncompensated for and work for free because they decided to take their business elsewhere. As for the points brought up from our website, we do strive to exceed all of our customers expectations, but if I am not given the proper information by my suppliers on material availability that is something that is out of my control. If I would have been told the first or second or third time that I asked *********** if there was any of this specific material available anywhere, I would have done and was trying to do everything I could to keep this job. I expressed great concern to Caesarstone when I found out this material was found elsewhere because I was told there wasn't any and that had a negative effect on the relationship I had built with my customer Contractor ***** ******* and Retail Customer ****** ********. OGS has in fact built strong partnerships with multiple slab suppliers; this particular situation doesn't at all disprove that point what-so-ever. This was not an issue with the working relationship we have with the *********** supplier by any means but merely an issue with the information my rep gave me in order to answer my questions about the material availability. *********** was not withholding or giving me false information, they were giving me the answers their order processing and computer system was giving them in regards to if there was any of this specific material available. Any issues when it comes to the price that was given to ** ******* should be taken up with their My Customer, Their Contractor ***** ******** As stated before because we are a wholesale and to the trade fabricator, MY customer is the Contractor ***** ******** I gave my final price to HIM. Whatever ** ****** was charged is between the Contractor ***** ******* and his customer ****** ******** and the contractual agreement they had together. There is not anything I can do, or to have to do with the price ** ****** paid as I was contracted by My Customer ***** ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We do not agree with several of the statements made by OSG representative ****** (last name unknown). The first one being that "My Customer" (MC) ************* was her customer. The initial meeting with ****** at OSG we stated we "Retail Customer" (****) ****** ******** would be using OSG to get the job done - NOT *************. If that changed somewhere along the way it wasn't by us. If OSG was working through ************* to do our project why would OSG supply the new total for the project of $4900 to us when asked? Why would they explain that it's due to needing multiple slabs of material. If ************* were their customer any inquiry by us should have been referred to their MC. In the OSG statement regarding measurements and needing more than one slab of material. Please explain why ***** ****** was able to template the same counter tops and only sell us one slab of material? Why did they do business with us - the **** and NOT the ****************? BECAUSE WE WERE THE CUSTOMER! Please confirm with ***** ****** per the information supplied in our previous submission about amount of counter top material bought. In the OSG statement about refunds - nowhere was their policy made aware to us before beginning to working with them (in person, in writing, on their website). Their MC said he is not aware of the OSG refund policy either and was never told. And what difference would it make to make us aware if they believed they were working with the MC? If auto dealers charge customers to test drive cars or to look up to see where a car is with the features a customer wants do you believe many cars would get sold? That's the crux of the issue. What's a reasonable amount to be paid for cancelling the project? Certainly other businesses operate differently, but if you contact any number of other companies that do this work (including those supplied in our first statement) the highest amount would be $200 for the template. No other hidden fees, or fees for "working hard to find...", or whatever. Question: OSG's <30 minute template visit to our residence where the owner ***** with the MC the entire time while someone measured the cabinets + ALL the work they did to find the material we wanted (and not finding it) is worth $300? No comment from OSG about a military discount. No comment about putting us in touch with the owner of this business. The request was made in person and we were assured our request to speak to them would be passed *** Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/06/02) */ As a good will gesture Orca Granite & Stone LLC is mailing a full refund of the customers full deposit. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) OGS is reconsidering our request of a partial refund and we are waiting to hear what the outcome of that conversation is before accepting the proposed resolution. Many additional facts were presented in this current reply from OGS that we were not aware of. The contract to do the kitchen remodel with MC ***** ******* DID NOT include the counter tops. While this is not of concern to OGS, it does back fill some obvious confusion about this entire job. Mainly that ** ***** ******* specifically said to us the counter tops were our responsibility and not included in the remodel bid / contract. We asked ***** ******* where he recommended us going and he suggested OGS. From the beginning we thought we were the MC with OGS, not ***** ******** The supplied information about OGS being a WHOLESALE TO THE TRADE FABRICATOR was never mentioned, that any of the three of us who met with ****** the first time heard, or if it was mentioned it was in a manner not understood. ***** ****** did the entire counter tops deal with us - not ***** ******* and didn't have issues with that arrangement. Not that they, OGS, works the same way, but we were always under the impression OGS was working for us. Why would OGS take our down payment? Shouldn't payment have come from their MC - ***** ******* - via us paying him? We never had a contract for counter tops with MC ***** ******** Thank you OGS for further considering our initial request. If the cost of the template work is $250 we would adjust our requested refund from $300 to $250. It was never our intent to not pay for that service...


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Orca Granite & Stone, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)