BBB Accredited Business since

Seaside Landscape & Excavation, Davis Brushcutting Inc

Phone: (360) 387-8662 Fax: (360) 387-6582 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 1676, Stanwood, WA 98292 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.seasidelandscape.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service landscape design and installation, landscape maintenance, brush cutting, and excavation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Seaside Landscape & Excavation, Davis Brushcutting Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Seaside Landscape & Excavation, Davis Brushcutting Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Seaside Landscape & Excavation, Davis Brushcutting Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000 Business incorporated 02/11/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chad Davis, President Ms. Jennifer Davis, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Davis, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Excavating Contractors Land Clearing & Leveling Parking Area Maintenance & Marking Patio & Deck Builders Pavement & Floor Marking Services Paving Contractors Road Building Contractors Property Maintenance Asphalt Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Lighting Snow Removal Service Street Cleaning Sweeping Service - Power Irrigation Systems & Equipment Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers Lawn & Tree Care Lawn Installation Service Contractors - Retaining Wall Landscape Contractors Hydroseeding Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Sod & Sodding Service Concrete Contractors


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 1676

    Stanwood, WA 98292 (800) 505-8662 (360) 652-8662 (360) 424-8662

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Topsoil was the material ordered for our backyard landscaping project. The material delivered had a lot of bark in it and consequently many things (including our lawn) aren't growing well. We told **** we didn't want bark and one time when he came to check things, he mentioned that we had put bark in. We told him it was the product delivered for the job he did. An even larger complaints that he told us that when changed were made, he would come over with a new quote to be initialed. This was not done. Then one day the laborer on the job asked for over $4000. We were told that he would be pulled off the job if it wasn't paid. This was for changes (not part of the initial quote).

Desired Settlement: I'd like them to make the lawn look presentable. I don't know exactly what this would entail. We had reseeded and fertilized but to no avail. Vegetables would not grow in our raised beds. We replaced the dirt and would like to reimbursed. Lasted, I would like them to go over the billing because I feel we were charged too much for the additional work that was done (when they demanded immediate payment).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 9, 2014/06/06) */ So in answer to the questions/concerns from the consumer; it was topsoil that was delivered to their job site (I have attached receipts showing this). I don't know why their grass doesn't look the way they want but in the past 2 years they have called me out to look at their lawn on more than one occasion the first time I was there was because their lawn was yellow I asked if they had been fertilizing, how often, what was their application rates, what products were they putting down on the lawn, how often were they watering, what time of day and night were the sprinklers coming on, they didn't seem to have many answers nor did they seem to fully understand what was needed to have a nice looking lawn, I at that time suggested hiring a company that could put them on a yearly fertilization plan (I don't know if they ever did this). Another time I was called by the consumer because one of their fruit trees died and they said the soil caused it to die so they asked if we would write them a check so they could go and buy a new fruit tree so we did that as well. Another time I visited because their lawn had dead spots all over it and they didn't know what was going on so we called the hydroseeder (who seeded the lawn) and he explained that their lawn had a disease called red thread (see below). I was asked by them to fertilize and overseed the lawn so we did and I haven't heard back from them until now. I honestly am surprised that we are still having this conversation as this job was finished and paid for over 2 years ago, also in regards to the additional charges that were paid in the amount of $4,435.59 these were all extras that were added (by the customer) and although this isn't stated on our contract we do inform all of our customers that if they make any changes to the job we will invoice them for these changes and full payment needs to be made before the work is done we will not do any additional work without full payment. We do this because many times over the years people will add things here and there during the job and then when the job is finished and it comes time for final payment they want to dispute some of the additional charges so we have made it a company policy that any additional work is to be paid in full before the work is done. The charges for this work that they added were all agreed upon by them and quote signed and payment was made nothing was overcharged.....had this been the case payment wouldn't have been made and or they would have disputed it at a later date when final payment was due. I would like nothing more to resolve all of these issues with the consumer my proposal is this: I need to have someone stop by and look at their lawn, this will be a company that we use to spray lawns for weeds and fertilizing and the hydroseeder, I want to get their opinion as to what they can do to make this lawn look the way the consumer wants it to look. If they say there is nothing they can do then I would like to have the company that I bought the topsoil form to stop by and look at the soil (possibly take some soil samples with them). Depending on what information is found out after these visits then we can come to a resolution of how to fix this situation. What is Red Thread? Red Thread is a fungal organism that causes patches of turf to turn brown and produce strands of red threadlike material. Red thread can be unsightly. In most cases, the grass will recover just fine when the temperature cools in the fall. Why do you have Red Thread? It is normal for lawns to get a mild dose of red thread when conditions are optimal. Red Threat is really a symptom of one or more of the following: improper watering, poor grass, poor soil or all of the above. Improper Watering The fungus thrives when the surface of the soil lawn is wet and the roots are dry. Water on the grass blades will cause red thread to get worse. Also, watering too often will cause the disease to get worse. Solution to Improper Watering: Don't water more than every 3 to 4 days and make sure to water in the morning or early afternoon only...so that the grass does not stay wet all night. Also, one or more liquid aeration treatments will help the water move down into the soil and can make the disease less severe. Poor Grass Red Thread is most severe on Perennial Ryegrass...which is also susceptible to a lot of diseases (Rust, Dollar Spot etc.). Builders and landscapers plant a lot of Perennial Ryegrass because it sprouts quickly. Homeowners often buy Perennial Ryegrass/Kentucky Blueegrass blend and seed it at a heavier rate than the manufacturer recommends. If a little is good, a lot is better. Right? Wrong...the ryegrass takes over because it comes up faster than the bluegrass. So even though they planted a blue/rye mix, they end up with a ryegrass lawn that is susceptible to Red Thread, Rust, Dollar Spot, Pink Patch etc. Solution to Poor Grass: If you have a lawn that is predominately Perennial Ryegrass, Red Thread and other diseases will always be a problem. We highly recommend Super Seeding in the late summer to get some different more resistant types of grass in your lawn. Poor Soil Newer lawns typically don't have the most biologically active soil and are therefore subject to disease issues. The more biologically active your soil is, the fewer problems your lawn will have. Solution to Poor Soil: Fertilizing organically will gradually build soil biology and improve your soil and your lawns disease resistance. To speed the process, consider a compost topdressing, liquid aeration, and/or traditional aeration. What can you do now about Red Thread? To help protect your lawn from Red Thread we recommend: 1. Don't water more than every 3-4 days...only in the morning or early afternoon 2. Clean off your mower in between mowing...bag clippings for awhile if Red Thread is severe 3. Feed your lawn organically (so you don't kill the good soil organisms that fight disease-causing fungi) 4. Add resistant grasses (Super Seeding really helps) 5. Minimize your thatch layer and improve your soil with Liquid Aeration 6. Topdress with compost in the fall to add beneficial biology Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2014/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We accept **** *****'s proposal if this is to be done at no expense to us. Please let us know when the person will be coming so we are sure to be here.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Seaside Landscape & Excavation, Davis Brushcutting Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)