BBB Accredited Business since

McLeod Construction LLC

Phone: (206) 545-7837 Fax: (206) 545-7252 1115 N 140th St, Seattle, WA 98133 http://www.mcleodconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general construction, remodeling and remediation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McLeod Construction LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McLeod Construction LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McLeod Construction LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 2010 Business started: 03/01/2005 Business started locally: 03/01/2005 Business incorporated 02/15/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Andrea Goodmansen, Member Mr. Craig Goodmansen, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Andrea Goodmansen, Member
Business Category

Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Improvements Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Handyman Services Fire & Water Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Additional Locations

  • 1115 N 140th St

    Seattle, WA 98133 (206) 545-7837

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 8, 2014 a vehicle damaged a structural support beam and the integrity of a carport at ****** ***** ************* February 12, 2014 ******** received an estimate from McLeod Construction. McLeod Construction was the only one who examined the structure. February 17th the insurance company requested the property management company ******** ******** review the estimate via a voice mail. February 18, 2014 *** ******** of ******** ******** spoke with **** ****** of ******** and decided a payment for the estimate would be issued. February 19, 2014 payment was issued to ******** ******** by ******** for the repairs. February 26, 2014 after viewing the work done by the contractor including a leaning structural support beam and unrepaired supporting weight bearing cross beams I contacted the property management company expressing dissatisfaction with the work that was done. February 27, 2014 *** of ******** ******** stated he would be meeting with the contractors that day to review additional work they discovered that would need to be completed and it was their intention to get it completed correctly. Time passed and there was no work done on the structure. I grew concerned that maybe they were going to leave it the way it was. March 21, 2014 I contacted the Building Division of the City of ******* to see if they knew the status of the project and if they had already inspected it and signed off on it. They were unaware of the project (which required a permit which the contractors did not get) so they came out that day inspected the structure & determined it was structurally unsound. They issued a Stop Work order and red tagged the structure. As part of the permitting process they required an engineer's report due to the heavy load of the structure. I provided them the contact information for the Property Management Company and the name of the construction company. March 24, 2014 the contractors came out to finish the project unannounced & stated it would be finished that day. There were no structural support beams in their vehicles. I immediately contacted the City of ******* to see if permits had been obtained. They were not. Code Enforcement came out immediately and stopped the work and put up the red tag and taped off the structure. Permits were to be obtained within 15 days. April 17, 2014 McLeod Construction filed for the permits well after the required 15 days. April 24, 2014 unannounced and in direct violation of the stop work order McLeod Construction replaced the main supporting cross beam. April 30, 2014 unannounced and in direct violation of the stop work order McLeod Construction performed more work on the structure. May 1, 2014 the stop work order was removed. May 2, 2014 the carport is still not repaired. My complaint is: McLeod Construction was negligent and put the physical safety of myself and other homeowners at risk by not following outlined Codes & Ordinances. McLeod Construction did not obtain proper permits. McLeod Construction did not convey to anyone that the carport was structurally unsound and mark the area as dangerous and to keep out. For almost 2 months myself and other homeowners were parking under the structure unaware that our personal well being & physical property was in danger. We could have been seriously injured. McLeod Construction blatantly disregarded City Ordinance and violated a stop work order. As a licensed and bonded contractor it is their responsibility and area of expertise to ensure the safety of it's clients and that all state and local laws are followed. They clearly did not do this.

Desired Settlement: It is my understanding that even with their inadequacies brought to the attention of the HOA and Property Management Company that they will still be performing work at our complex. I would like a formal apology to the homeowners directly impacted by their negligence. I would like a formal apology to the HOA for their negligence which endangered persons and property and exposed them to significant liability. I would like a guarantee that all future work will be properly permitted, inspected and signed off on by the city. That no work will be done until properly permitted and that once permits are obtained copies are provided to Property Concepts. That structurally unsound and other areas that pose a danger to persons or property are properly secured and marked as so. That homeowners directly impacted by their work will be notified ahead of time when they will be onsite performing work. That they contact the City of Tukwila Building Division and Code Enforcement and review all the requirements they must meet and follow while working in the City so that future incidences such as these may be avoided and they have a working understanding of the laws they obviously have not been following.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/16) */ Thank you for contacting us regarding this matter. McLeod Construction would like to take this opportunity to address the circumstances surround the repairs to the carport structure at the **** ******** of ****** ***** condominiums. First and foremost, we would like to apologize to Ms. ******* for the difficulties this has caused her and any other members of the ****** ***** ***** HOA. We did make mistakes during this project; and we will be sending her a letter of apology specifically. In general, McLeod Construction found the additional damage to the structure and started the process to get the carport repaired correctly. However, at the time of initial temporary repairs, the structure should have been taped off. We should have checked specifically with the City of Tukwila with respect to permit requirements for this work. We apologize for these errors and will use this as a point to train our employees on the proper process for emergency structural repairs in the future. We do apologize for the non-communication with all homeowners affected by this repair. McLeod Construction was in contact with the property management company throughout the project as to the status of work, but in hindsight it would have been beneficial to also contact the homeowners. This is an area where we can also improve our processes, as our focus of construction is for condominium and homeowners associations. We have business licenses with all the cities in which we work (including Tukwila), and we have good historical records of permitting projects through to completion. It was our mistake to not check specifically with the City of Tukwila on this project. Our goal in this case was initially to stabilize the structure to make it safe, and to work as quickly as possible to restore the carport to usable condition. We will communicate this information in a letter to the homeowners affected and the HOA in general, and would be glad to personally meet with Ms. ******* or others who wish further information. We acknowledge this project took a long time to complete, and we respectfully submit our accounting of the sequence of events that is backed up by emails, our employees' timesheets and receipts. Our purpose in showing our timeline of events is that once we were notified of the permit requirement, we were in contact with the engineers and the City to ensure the work was done correctly and with the appropriate approvals. 2/10-2/27 McLeod Construction received a call to make temporary repairs to a damaged post on the specified carport. We responded the same day and temporarily supported the one broken post on February 10, 2014. We then gave the property manager a quote to repair/replace the post on that same date, February 10th. We received approval for the repair on February 19th. To give a time reference, this damage occurred during a February snowfall, and this was considered an emergency. We scheduled the work for the following Monday, February 24th. From 2/24 - 2/27, we had our carpenter onsite working on the replacement. While performing the original scope of work, to replace the broken post, our carpenter found that the structure was leaning and the top beam had been split by the impact. McLeod Construction immediately notified the property manager as well as the insurance company that there was additional damage and per protocol, sent a supplemental (request for additional work) to the insurance company to approve and waited for their approval. 2/27-3/24 Because we didn't have approval to perform additional work, we waited for that approval. We did meet *** ******** on 2/27 to discuss the additional damage. A change order was sent from ***** ********** on 3/12 stating specifically: "I was out on Friday with ****. We inspected the carport. I have attached the change order here. We are sending the change to the insurance company as the racking issue is a direct result of the car strike. There has been over time attempted fixes to repair this carport. I have attached photos in the following email for your records." We received a signed change order for the additional work on 3/17 and we scheduled the work for 3/24. We indicated at that point that we would need to have no cars parked under the carport for three days during the repair (Monday - Wednesday). On Monday, 3/24, we came out and the inspector from the City of ******* was there. She met us and indicated we would need a permit for this work, and at that time, she taped off the carport so that no cars could park there. We admitted that because the scope of work was small, we were unaware it required a permit. We notified the property manager that we would need a structural drawings and permit for the work. 3/25-4/15 We received approval on 3/25 to engage an engineer and we notified the adjuster for the insurance company at that point as well. The adjuster approved hiring the engineer. ******* *********** provided drawings for the permits. The engineer came out to inspect the carport on Tuesday, April 1st . He did not state the carport was unsafe for parking. We received the set of drawings on 4/15. These drawings indicated that the repair McLeod Construction had originally specified in the original scope of work and the subsequent change order was correct and was in line with the engineer's drawings. 4/16-5/2 We submitted the permit on 4/16. The City of Tukwila notified us the permits would be ready on 4/22. We scheduled the work for 4/24. Our office went to pick up the permit from the city and our carpenter started mobilizing to perform the work on the morning of 4/24. Upon picking up the permits, we found they would not be ready until the following week. We immediately called our carpenter on site to stop working, and we demobilized. We then waited for the city to contact us as to when the permits would be ready. The following Wednesday, (4/30), the city called us to say the permits were now approved and ready. We picked up the permit on Thursday, 5/1, and we completed the work on 5/2. We called the city of Tukwila for final inspection and it was signed off on 5/6 and copies of the finaled permits were sent to the property manager.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on McLeod Construction LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)