BBB Accredited Business since

Dreamcatcher Remodeling Inc

Phone: (425) 823-8771 View Additional Phone Numbers Serving King County, Kirkland, WA 98034 http://www.dreamcatcherremodeling.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dreamcatcher Remodeling Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dreamcatcher Remodeling Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dreamcatcher Remodeling Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2004 Business started: 07/01/2003 Business started locally: 07/01/2003 Business incorporated 07/15/2003 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Johnathin Antis, Vice President Mrs. Jacqueline Antis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Johnathin Antis, Vice President
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Demolition Contractors Drywall Contractors Excavating Contractors Garage Builders Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Deck Builder Siding Contractors Basement Waterproofing Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Hardwood Floor Contractors Cabinets Windows Windows - Vinyl Ceiling Removal Tile & Marble Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Outdoor Kitchens Building Contractors Contractors - Acoustical Ceiling

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Additional Locations

  • Serving King County

    Kirkland, WA 98034 (425) 823-8771 (206) 316-2925

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In or around Nov/December/2013/we hired Mr. A**** for a basic kitchen remodel, it was supposed to be 4 to 5 weeks in completion. There was no major structural work: new countertops, spray painting our cabinets, new granite counters, new backsplash, new ceiling, no tearing down walls. After we signed the contract, Mr. A**** informed us he was leaving for a third world country to help children. We were then put in the hands of one of his minions, who had never seen our picture or knew what we wanted. Everything he and the subcontractors touched was damaged. We paid for appliances and he damaged them. We had our wood/tiles floors damaged and redone 4 times. Mr. A**** painted our floors blue and did not even paint behind the fridge and had the fridge shoved in thinking we would not notice. One of his subcontracotrs told another one, "paint in the spots with a sharpie pen." We spent 9 months without a kitchen and eating outside, Mr. A**** stopped responding to our emails, stopped coming over, I sent him an email, "Please respond." Nothing. Our $6,000.00 spraying of our cabinets chip at the slightest touch. We have had to pay to have our appliances put in, our lights put in, our backspash put in, our trim put in way over our budget. Mr. A**** got about 23,000.00 not to mention the 8 times approximately we had to spend at hotels with our dogs due to the floor never being done correctly, "cerused." This man just dumped us and left us floundering to try and finish this project, on our own. This man should be flagged for false business practices per his contract. "What Professional lets people live outside for 9 months on a basic kitchen remodel and dumps them." Their work is shoddy, horrible craftsmanship. He gave our key and alarm code to numerous people when we asked him not to due to our work that we do, and just chose never to come over This has been a disgusting experience.

Desired Settlement: Compensation/false adverstisement/bait and switch/reimbursement for payment of services not rendered

Business Response:

Client first contacted DreamCatcher Remodeling (DCR) in November of 2013. Due to illnesses on both sides, Johnathin A****' first meeting with client took place on December 16. After discussions to clarify the scope of work within client's budget, client signed the contract (attached) on January 16, 2014. Johnathin represented that either of our lead carpenters Travis A**** or Hai *** would be on site to complete the work and meet with subcontractors. Johnathin also explained that he was leaving for a 3 week mission trip in Guatemala from February 15 thru March 7 (attached) and that time was of the essence to begin work. Due to the client's scheduling, we were not permitted to begin work until January 28.

While Johnathin was in Guatemala, client met with flooring subcontractor #1. Client complained that there was "still lighter wood showing through,"(attached) so the subcontractor applied more and more of the stain to cover the wood grain. Upon Johnathin's return from Guatemala, it was discovered that what client meant was that the color itself was too brown, not that the flooring was showing through. So the flooring was sanded and restained with the darkest stain available to flooring subcontractor #1. Client was shown a test stain and agreed to the color. After the floors were finished, client was still dissatisfied. Johnathin agreed that the end product was not like the picture and to find a solution. And yes, we did include a hint of blue stain per the client's request - which she repeated in an email on March 29 (attached).

Flooring subcontractor #2 was contracted along with a cerusing specialist to sand and refinish the floor using a cerusing technique. The correct black stain was obtained from California and the customer approved of the sample. The stain was completed and the cerusing applied. Again, the client approved of the color. Then flooring subcontractor #2 applied the final coat too early and the cerusing bubbled up, distorting the final coat. So the floors were re-sanded and another attempt was made with the same result.

Because of the length of time involved in solving the flooring issues, the protective tape on the cabinets and tile had been left on too long, so that when it was removed, some of the finish came off when the tape was removed. Both the tile and cabinet finishes were solvable problems. At this point, Johnathin suggested the client contact a flooring subcontractor of her own choosing and one that she felt comfortable with. This flooring subcontractor (#3) determined that the flooring in the kitchen could not be sanded again. In an attempt to move quickly to a resolution and make the client happy, DCR agreed to pay for new flooring to be installed and finished in the kitchen, dining room and entry. The client decided to add on flooring in the hallway and bedrooms. Client decided to remove the dining room border tile and the entry tile and replace with flooring and DCR agreed to pay for this.

Travis A**** was on-site when flooring subcontractor #3's employees were removing the flooring and they asked him why this perfectly good flooring was being removed as they could tell it could be sanded and refinished as it was. Travis A**** also saw the test stain that the client had agreed to and cautioned them that this was not the color the client was looking for - it was, in fact, the color that flooring subcontractor #1 had applied and fully finished but which was subsequently rejected by the client.

Client interfered with our ability to complete the work on schedule by requiring non-industry-standard finishes such as perfectly round sheetrock holes for can lights (which trim pieces cover) and finishing the millwork behind appliances. DCR purchased, stained and installed base material to match the first floor color. When the floor color changed, client would not permit this base to be sanded, re-stained and re-installed so we purchased new base and stained to match the client's new window trim color. When flooring subcontractor #3 became involved, the client had changed flooring color again so this base could not be used. Flooring subcontractor #3 installed their own base.

Client further delayed our ability to complete the work on schedule by limiting our access to the project.

As there are with any project, a few minor issues occurred and each were addressed in turn at no additional cost to the client. A sink that was delivered with a scratch was returned, re-ordered and re-installed. Cabinet finish that was removed by a little excess countertop glue was refinished. Countertop seams that were unacceptable were polished smooth. DCR had no intention of ever leaving anything undone or unacceptable. But client would not permit DCR to finish the project.

In her complaint client accused DCR of:
1. Damaging her appliances - we reject this as false, it simply did not happen.
2. Rendering the kitchen unusable for 9 months - we reject this as false, it was useable for the vast majority of this time but client chose not to use it.
3. Use sharpie on the floor - if a subcontractor said it, DCR was not aware and sharpie was not used on the floor, period.
4. Cabinets "chip at the slightest touch" - we reject this as false. The subcontractor we used is a well-known, respected, high-end cabinet refinisher and client is over dramatizing the situation. The damage that occurred would have occurred on any stained cabinet and were not part of normal wear and tear of regular kitchen use. And, we fixed (or were willing to fix until we were barred from the project) any damaged finish at no additional cost to the client.
5. Dumping her - we reject this as false, she told us not to return.
6. Giving her alarm code to "numerous people" - we reject this as false, the only person outside of DCR staff (Johnathin, Travis and Hai) who was given the code was flooring subcontractor #2 at client's request and this was a code that client created specifically for this subcontractor.
7. Johnathin "just chose never to come over" - we reject this as false, Johnathin visited the project several times per week. Client was not home so cannot speak to Johnathin's presence. As a sampling, Johnathin has recorded these dates of visit to the project: 1/28, 1/30, 2/3, 2/5, 2/7, 2/10, 2/11, 2/13, 3/17, 3/19, 3/20, 3/21, 3/24, 3/25, 4/3, 4/4, 4/9, 4/14, 4/15, 4/17, 4/18, 4/22, 4/23...the space allowed for this response does not permit the listing of every recorded visit.

The full contract amount was $28,197.07, including sales tax. Client paid a total of $21,812.51. Below is a summary of the work completed, with the costs from the bid worksheet:

$214.50 Set Up
$191.25 Prep
$1,197.50 Demo
$1,083.00 Rough Electrical
$1,721.50 Sheetrock Work
$6,643.00 Cabinet Staining
$3,643.00 Flooring Repair/Refinish
$1,211.50 Millwork
$766.15 Plumbing Fixtures
$431.00 Finish Plumbing
$331.00 Finish Electrical
$100.00 Light Fixtures
$1,782.00 Tile Backsplash (tile only)
$542.00 Miscellaneous Repairs
PLUS EXTRAS (change orders after bid)
$800.00 Additional length of countertop
$139.80 Extra demo for countertop and base
$69.90 Install new valve behind frig
$609.70 Wine frig cabinet modification
$22,018.80 Subtotal
$24,110.59 with sales tax

We reject clients claim for damages or reimbursement for payment of services not rendered. In fact, DCR spent far more than we received from the client. Total out of pocket costs for labor, materials and allowances were $32,142.75. Even though DCR took a $12,222.38 loss on this project, we continued in good faith to work to make this client happy. However, client accused DCR of "purposely trying to ruin" her kitchen (attached) when she discovered a problem with the plumbing inside the walls - an area that we never touched. (We suspect that flooring subcontractor #3 punctured the line when installing their base.) Client instructed DCR not to return to finish the project and we obliged. The costs incurred by client to finish the project using another contractor were her choice and out of our control.

We regret that client's project ended the way that it did and that we were not able to work together. We feel we tried everything to satisfy the client and regret that we were unsuccessful in our attempts. DreamCatcher Remodeling, Inc. is a reliable, honest, fair and professional company that prides itself on quality craftsmanship and we have a loyal and satisfied client base who regularly refers friends and family. We are a referral-based company that has been in business since 2003.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again, Mr. A**** did not tell us he was leaving for Guatemala until we signed the contract. He assured us as we are police officers that he would be there to supervise his subcontractors and only he would have access to key and code. He gave the key and code to numerous people.

He picked the date January 28 not us. As far as him making the contract we waited in essence almost a month for him to send us a contract.

We showed him a picture of "******* ****," cerused new York floors, he promised us he could do this. Which he failed. He himself in emails, admitted that he screwed up.

His subcontractors painted our floors, either a muddy diarrhea brown or a bubblegum blue, they damaged our trim, wall ceiling, doors, with paint and tile

It was his idea to put the stupid can lights in. On his first visit, not ours. We told him we wanted the ceiling opening closed from the beginning. It took him 7 to 9 months to fix a basic job.

We asked for copper can lights, he put in cheap white ones with the price tagas on about 7 months after.

Our wine fridge was damaged by Hai, his worker, whome even the admitted, ******** up the job. and they should never have had him due our job.

While Johnathin was gone, Hai managed to damage our wine fridge, cut out a huge section of our cabinetry and install a huge obtuse section of wood that was put on our kitchen floor. After many mistakes by his workmanship, we wanted to wait to have Johnathin finish the work, as he was the one we signed the contract with. We had never met Hai or Travis during our initial interactions with him and did not know that he woud, "bait and switch."

Yes our cabinets chip at the sightest touch are not sanded or primed do not match. They cost $6,500.00

we have two huge light switches next to each other, now that we have to turn off and on without knowing which light will turn on , Hai did this, we did not know this would be incredibly ugly and no light cover can fit over it now as it doesn't even make sense.

Our new fridge bottom is missing its connectors, there are small blue paint from floor on it. So yes, our appliances were damaged.

We never asked our fireplace to be stained. Our tiles that were unique had to be replaced on our dime.

We stayed at hotels 8 times spending thousands of dollars due to our having pets. Johnathin stated he would pay for a night, which he did not.

Yes he did pay for the floors after they had been sanded down and ruined four times. because they promised they could achied cerused flooring, which they could not and should have been honest from the beginning.

Mr. A**** wsa rarely present once he returned from Guatemala. His subcontractor that stated he could do cerused flooring advised the other wood stained to fill in the white spots with sharpie pens.

Mr. A**** slandered me to the new floor people.

I have an email asking Mr. A**** to please respond in September either by email, voice mail to talk to me or my husband if he preferred and he stopped responding, clearly signaling to us he had dumped us.

He put in a new fridge copper cord to connect to our new fridge. Ironically when we called for somebody to fix the new copper sink that he or whomever he had install , the drains were incongruent, noticed it was dripping/leaking. We had to insall a new copper line.

After turning on our kitchen sink and having water gush out of the floor, we told Mr. A**** that we did not need his services anymore. He had not responded and everything he or his subcontractors did cost us more.

We had to get somebody to install our lights, because A**** had dumped us, he noticed the workmanship and stated, "it wasn't very good."

I talked to wood floorists two and three and both of them stated Mr. A**** was never there and he would just leave the key and code in our flower bucket.

They also stated that they had called Mr. A**** to explain the floor situation was not working and he told them to finish it or just never returned their calls.

I have pictures of his workmanship as well. I told Mr. A**** that we were using this money because my husbands' father had just died and it was important.

Mr. A**** blames his subcontractors that he hired for everything and did not take blame for his errors when basically he was invisible. We sat outside for 9 months eating and Mr. A**** did not care but during this time he posted pictures of his new bath remodel on *****.

Mr. A**** gave our key and code to himself, Hai, Travis, Humberto and James. Humberto would leave it in the basket for Humberto. Brian the wood floor person also had the key and code as well.

Yes it was 9 months without a kitchen, "no sink," No fridge, except in the garage, no stove, kitchen top, so yes, no countertops, so yes Mr. A**** and after you stopped responding to our last email pleading with you to please contact us, we were left flounding to try and fix our kitchen.

I could go on and on, but now lying about what happened, Shame on you.


Business Response: We feel that we have addressed all of the issues in our previous response. Her latest accusations are false.  We are at an impasse and have no further comment.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .********, , and find that arbitration is necessary.   A timeline with emails and pictures will reveal that the "Dreamcatcher,"s  response is false and I fear that future clients will have to go through this "switch and bait," experience that ended with 9 months without a kitchen and Mr. A**** refusing to contact us or come over, for 5 months to oversee, work, check the progress of our kitchen.  Leaving us to coordinate everything not to mention the shoddy workmanship.   In essence to make us so truly frustrated that we would have to severe ties.  Eating outside for 9 months is truly not enjoyable. Truly a fiasco.  Their rebuttal can and will be contested and proven to be false and defamatory as is evident with our corresponding emails/contracts/pictures/etc.  Also, "her claims are false," is not a reply, it is choosing to not address the facts, again unprofessional.

Sincerely,

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dreamcatcher Remodeling Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)